Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10-21-2024; 06-23-2025; 10-08-2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 22-23, 25, 27, 29-35, 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkley (US 2009/0078931 A1) in view of Boothby et al. (US 2020/0371974 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Berkley explicitly discloses:
a plurality of qubits including a first set of qubits and a second set of qubits; (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “At least one of the computation qubits may be a superconducting qubit, for example a superconducting flux qubit, superconducting charge qubit, superconducting phase qubit, or superconducting hybrid qubit…a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals; a first set of dummy latch qubits,…; and a second set of dummy latch qubits”)
at least one readout shift register, each readout shift register of the at least one readout shift register including: (Berkley, ¶[0026]: “At least one embodiment may be summarized as a superconducting readout system including a plurality of computation qubits; a measurement device for measuring a state of at least one of the computation qubits; and a shift register comprising a plurality of individual registers, wherein at least one register is communicatively coupled to each computation qubit and at least one register is communicatively coupled to the measurement device.”)
a respective set of latches corresponding to each qubit of the plurality of qubits, wherein the latches of each set of latches are communicatively coupled to one another in series, and, (Berkley, ¶[0025]: “The communicative coupling between the first latch qubit and at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device may include inductive coupling… The superconducting readout system may further include at least a second latch qubit communicatively coupled in series with the first latch qubit, wherein the computation qubit and the measurement device are each communicatively coupled to at least one of the first and the second latch qubit such that the first and the second latch qubits mediate the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”)
for each readout shift register:
at least one shift register stage of a respective first set of shift register stages is communicatively coupled to a respective qubit of the first set of qubits via a respective set of latches, (Berley, ¶[0026]: “a shift register comprising a plurality of individual registers, wherein at least one register is communicatively coupled to each computation qubit and at least one register is communicatively coupled to the measurement device.”, ¶[0024]: “wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”, ¶[0076]: “Shift register 801 operates in a similar manner to shift register 701 from FIG. 7, but readout system 800 includes mediating latch qubits 841-843 that were not included in readout system 700. Mediating latch qubit 841 may be used to mediate the coupling between computation qubit 821 and shift register 801”) [Examiner’s note: “first set of shift register stages” i.e., the administration latch stage of shift register 801 associated with qubit 821]
at least one shift register stage of a respective second set of shift register stages is communicatively coupled to a respective qubit of the second set of qubits via a respective set of latches, and (Berkley, ¶[0026]: “a shift register comprising a plurality of individual registers, wherein at least one register is communicatively coupled to each computation qubit and at least one register is communicatively coupled to the measurement device.”, ¶[0024]: “wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”¶[0076]: “Similarly, mediating latch qubit 842 may be used to mediate the coupling between computation qubit 822 and shift register 801”) [Examiner’s note: “second set of shift register stages” i.e., the administration latch stage of shift register 801 associated with qubit 822]
each shift register stage of a respective third set of shift register stages is communicatively coupled to at least one of: a shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages and a shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages, and (Berkley, ¶[0067]: “The structure of flux-based superconducting shift register 600 comprises a plurality of latch qubits arranged in a chain such that each latch qubit is configured to communicatively (i.e., inductively) couple to at least one neighboring latch qubit. In particular, each latch qubit in the chain is coupled to two other latch qubits in the chain, except at the beginning and end of the chain.”, ¶[0068]: “The embodiment shown in FIG. 6 uses latch qubits 601, 602, and 603 to each administer one bit of information to/from at least one device in the form of discrete magnetic flux quanta, while latch qubits 611, 612, 621, and 622 are used as "dummy latch qubits" for signal isolation and communication within shift register 600 itself. Because latch qubits 601, 602, and 603 are ultimately used to embody and administer signals, they are referred to herein as the "administration latch qubits."”, ¶[0069]: “In shift register 600, an input signal is propagated from left to right through the individual latch qubits in the following order: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603.”) [Examiner’s note: “first set of shift-register stages” i.e., one or more administration latch stages associated with the first qubit; “second set of shift-register stages” i.e., one or more administration latch stages associated with the second qubit; “third set of shift-register stages” i.e., the dummy latch stages that propagate signals between the administration stages]
to exclusively perform shift operations. (Berkley, ¶[0070]: “A latch qubit, such as any of those shown in FIG. 6, may hold a signal until it is specifically quenched by the corresponding clock-pulse. Furthermore, unlike standard logic gates, signal transfer between adjacent latch qubits is not biased in a preferred direction. A signal latched in a given latch qubit may travel backwards just as well as forwards (that is, right to left just as well as left to right in FIG. 6) depending on the clock-pulse synchronization. Implementing a system where at least two dummy latch qubits separate each pair of successive administration latch qubits allows the administration latch qubits to be sufficiently isolated so that a deliberate sequence of clock pulses permits only forward propagation (i.e., left to right in FIG. 6) of the input signal. This embodiment ensures that at least one layer of quenched latch qubits may separate adjacent administration latch qubits and thus stop reverse-coupling of logic signals. Three clock signal lines are used because latch qubits are two-terminal devices. Thus, neighboring latch qubits in shift register 600 are activated at different phases and logic signals are propagated from one active device to the next adjacent activated device”) [Examiner’s note: “shift operations” i.e., the clock-controlled transfer of qubit-state information from one shift register stage to the next adjacent stage]
Berkley fails to disclose:
a first set of shift register stages, a second set of shift register stages, and a third set of shift register stages; and
However, Boothby explicitly discloses:
a first set of shift register stages, a second set of shift register stages, and a third set of shift register stages; and, (Boothby, ¶[0054]: “Shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, and 216 may be controlled individually or as groups. For example, in the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, shift registers 210A, 210B, and 210C are controllable independently of each other, as are latches 214A, 214B, and 214C.”)
The combination of Berkley and Boothby are analogous art because they are in the same field of training time series data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Berkley and Boothby before them, to modify the teachings Berkley to include the teachings of Boothby to enable orderly and scalable readout of multiple qubit subsets while reducing the number of control lines and maintaining reliable transfer of qubit-state information to the readout interface.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
each shift register stage of each first set of shift register stages is communicatively coupled to one shift register stage of a respective second set of shift register stages and one shift register of a respective third set of shift register stages; and (Boothby, ¶[0054]: “Shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, and 216 may be controlled individually or as groups. For example, in the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, shift registers 210A, 210B, and 210C are controllable independently of each other, as are latches 214A, 214B, and 214C”, ¶[0056]: “it can be convenient to divide shift registers of bus 210 into at least three subsets and to provide at least three latches 212, 214, 216 for each qubit 220 so that each shift register and intermediate latches 214 is proximately coupled only to independently-controllable devices (e.g., so that a shift register 210A is proximately coupled to shift registers 210B, 210C and intermediate latch 214A is proximately coupled to latches 212, 216).”, ¶[0062]: “A corresponding to a first commonly-controlled subset of shift registers of bus 210 comprising shift register 210A) is written to bus 210, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of shift registers respectively) to suppress, a corresponding first subset of intermediate shift registers to suppress, and shift registers of bus 210 in the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., shift register 210Aand others in the subset labelled "1" in FIG. 2) to latch.”) [Examiner’s note: Boothby discloses each shift-register stage of a first subset, such as shift register 210A, communicatively coupled to a shift-register stage of a second subset, such as 210B, and a shift register stage of a third subset such as 210C]
each shift register stage of each second set of shift register stages is communicatively coupled to one shift register stage of a respective first set of shift register stages and one shift register of a respective second set of shift register stages. (Boothby, ¶[0054]: “Shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, and 216 may be controlled individually or as groups. For example, in the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, shift registers 210A, 210B, and 210C are controllable independently of each other, as are latches 214A, 214B, and 214C”, ¶[0056]: “it can be convenient to divide shift registers of bus 210 into at least three subsets and to provide at least three latches 212, 214, 216 for each qubit 220 so that each shift register and intermediate latches 214 is proximately coupled only to independently-controllable devices (e.g., so that a shift register 210A is proximately coupled to shift registers 210B, 210C and intermediate latch 214A is proximately coupled to latches 212, 216).”, ¶[0062]: “A corresponding to a first commonly-controlled subset of shift registers of bus 210 comprising shift register 210A) is written to bus 210, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of shift registers respectively) to suppress, a corresponding first subset of intermediate shift registers to suppress, and shift registers of bus 210 in the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., shift register 210Aand others in the subset labelled "1" in FIG. 2) to latch.”) [Examiner’s note: Boothby discloses each shift-register stage of a first subset, such as shift register 210A, communicatively coupled to a shift-register stage of a second subset, such as 210B, and a shift register stage of a third subset such as 210C]
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
all shift register stages of the first set of shift register stages are communicatively coupled to a first clock line, the first clock line operable to carry first clock signals to latch the first set of shift register stages; (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “The shift register may include a superconducting shift register. In embodiments that include a superconducting shift register, the superconducting shift register may include a flux-based superconducting shift register comprising: a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals; a first set of dummy latch qubits, each of the dummy latch qubits of the first set of dummy latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive first dummy clock signals”, ¶[0069]: “Each latch qubit in shift register 600 operates in a manner similar to latch qubit 300 of FIG. 3. That is, each latch qubit in shift register 600 is coupled to an input signal, an output signal, and a clock signal. In this embodiment, shift register 600 has three distinct clock signal lines, shown as Clock A, Clock B, and Clock C in FIG. 6”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”))
all shift register stages of the second set of shift register stages are communicatively coupled to a second clock line, the second clock line operable to carry second clock signals to latch the second set of shift register stages; and, (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “The shift register may include a superconducting shift register. In embodiments that include a superconducting shift register, the superconducting shift register may include a flux-based superconducting shift register comprising: : a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals … and a second set of dummy latch qubits, each of the dummy latch qubits of the second set of dummy latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive second dummy clock signals”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”)
all shift register stages of the third set of shift register stages are communicatively coupled to a third clock line, the third clock line operable to carry third clock signals that to latch the third set of shift register stages. (Berkley, ¶[0069]: “Each latch qubit in shift register 600 operates in a manner similar to latch qubit 300 of FIG. 3. That is, each latch qubit in shift register 600 is coupled to an input signal, an output signal, and a clock signal. In this embodiment, shift register 600 has three distinct clock signal lines, shown as Clock A, Clock B, and Clock C in FIG. 6”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 3 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
a first latch communicatively coupled to a respective qubit of the plurality of qubits; (Boothby, ¶[0020]: “…the plurality of latches may comprise a bus proximate latch, an intermediate latch, and a qubit proximate latch, the qubit proximate latch being coupled to the plurality of qubits”)
one or more intermediate latches, wherein at least one latch of the one or more intermediate latches is communicatively coupled to the first latch; and, (Boothby, ¶[0020]: “… the intermediate latch being coupled to the qubit proximate latch and the bus proximate latch”)
a final latch communicatively coupled to a respective shift register stage and at least one latch of the one or more intermediate latches, wherein: (Boothby, ¶[0020]: “… the intermediate latch being coupled to the qubit proximate latch and the bus proximate latch and the bus proximate latch being coupled to the bus, the bus may comprise a first plurality of shift registers arranged in series and wherein each latch of the plurality of latches comprises a second plurality of shift registers arranged in series”) [Examiner’s note: “final latch” i.e., the proximate latch]
all first latches are communicatively coupled to a first latch clock line operable to carry first latch clock signals to latch the first latches, (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “The shift register may include a superconducting shift register. In embodiments that include a superconducting shift register, the superconducting shift register may include a flux-based superconducting shift register comprising: a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals; a first set of dummy latch qubits, each of the dummy latch qubits of the first set of dummy latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive first dummy clock signals”, ¶[0069]: “Each latch qubit in shift register 600 operates in a manner similar to latch qubit 300 of FIG. 3. That is, each latch qubit in shift register 600 is coupled to an input signal, an output signal, and a clock signal. In this embodiment, shift register 600 has three distinct clock signal lines, shown as Clock A, Clock B, and Clock C in FIG. 6”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”))
all intermediate latches of the one or more intermediate latches are communicatively coupled to respective intermediate latch clock lines operable to carry intermediate latch clock signals to latch the at least one intermediate latches, and (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “The shift register may include a superconducting shift register. In embodiments that include a superconducting shift register, the superconducting shift register may include a flux-based superconducting shift register comprising: : a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals … and a second set of dummy latch qubits, each of the dummy latch qubits of the second set of dummy latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive second dummy clock signals”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”)
all final latches are communicatively coupled to a final latch clock line operable to carry final latch clock signals to latch the final latches, (Berkley, ¶[0069]: “Each latch qubit in shift register 600 operates in a manner similar to latch qubit 300 of FIG. 3. That is, each latch qubit in shift register 600 is coupled to an input signal, an output signal, and a clock signal. In this embodiment, shift register 600 has three distinct clock signal lines, shown as Clock A, Clock B, and Clock C in FIG. 6”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”)
each shift register stage of the first, the second, and the third sets of shift register stages of each readout shift register comprises a Josephson junction operable to communicably receive a respective one of the first clock signals, the second clock signals, and the third clock signals, and (Berkley, ¶[0024]: “and a first latch qubit comprising: a qubit loop formed by a first closed superconducting current path that includes at least two superconducting inductors coupled in series with each other in the qubit loop; a split junction loop or compound Josephson junction that interrupts the qubit loop, the compound Josephson junction formed by a second closed superconducting current path that includes at least two Josephson junctions coupled in series with each other in the compound Josephson junction and coupled in parallel with each other with respect to the qubit loop; and a first clock signal input structure configured to communicatively couple clock signals to the compound Josephson junction; wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”, ¶[0054]: “the circuit of latch qubit300 comprises a qubit loop 301 and a split junction loop or CJJ 302, where CJJ 302 includes two Josephson junctions 311 and 312… In this embodiment, CJJ 302 is itself configured to inductively couple to a clock signal line 307. Clock signals on the clock signal line 307 control the operation of latch qubit 300)
each latch of the first, the one or more intermediate, and the final latches of each set of latches comprises a Josephson junction operable to communicably receive a respective one of the first latch clock signals, the at least one intermediate latch clock signals, and the final latch clock signals. (Berkley, ¶[0024]: “and a first latch qubit comprising: a qubit loop formed by a first closed superconducting current path that includes at least two superconducting inductors coupled in series with each other in the qubit loop; a split junction loop or compound Josephson junction that interrupts the qubit loop, the compound Josephson junction formed by a second closed superconducting current path that includes at least two Josephson junctions coupled in series with each other in the compound Josephson junction and coupled in parallel with each other with respect to the qubit loop; and a first clock signal input structure configured to communicatively couple clock signals to the compound Josephson junction; wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”, ¶[0074]: “In shift register 701, administration latch qubit 711 latches the state of computation qubit 721 when there is a pulse in Clock A. Similarly, administration latch qubit 712 latches the state of computation qubit 722 when there is a pulse in Clock B. By controlled pulsing of the clock signals A-C as described for shift register 600 in FIG. 6, the states of computation qubits 721 and 722 may be shifted along shift register 701 to administration latch qubit 713, where the signals are read out by a measurement device such as magnetometer 731”)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 3 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
wherein each shift register stage of the first, the second, and the third sets of shift register stages of each shift register, and each latch of each of the sets of latches comprises a respective quantum flux parametron (QFP). (Berkley, ¶[0052]: “Circuit 150 shown in FIG. 1B may be used as a superconducting flux qubit, but it also resembles an embodiment of a quantum flux parametron (QFP)”, ¶[0020]: “The quantum flux parametron (QFP) is a superconducting Josephson junction device similar in structure to the compound rf-SQUID. The name "quantum flux parametron", however, encompasses both the operation and the structure of the Josephson junction device, not simply structure alone.”)
Regarding claim 22, Berkley explicitly discloses:
A method of transmitting data from a plurality of qubits including a first set of qubits and a second set of qubits, (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “At least one of the computation qubits may be a superconducting qubit, for example a superconducting flux qubit, superconducting charge qubit, superconducting phase qubit, or superconducting hybrid qubit…a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals; a first set of dummy latch qubits,…; and a second set of dummy latch qubits”)
wherein each qubit of the first set of qubits is communicatively coupled to a respective shift register stage of the set of first shift register stages via a set of latches, and (Berkley, ¶[0026]: “a shift register comprising a plurality of individual registers, wherein at least one register is communicatively coupled to each computation qubit and at least one register is communicatively coupled to the measurement device.”, ¶[0024]: “wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”, ¶[0076]: “Shift register 801 operates in a similar manner to shift register 701 from FIG. 7, but readout system 800 includes mediating latch qubits 841-843 that were not included in readout system 700. Mediating latch qubit 841 may be used to mediate the coupling between computation qubit 821 and shift register 801”) [Examiner’s note: “first set of shift register stages” i.e., the administration latch stage of shift register 801 associated with qubit 821]
each qubit of the second set of qubits is communicatively coupled to a respective shift register stage of the set of second shift register stages via a set of latches, the method comprising: (Berkley, ¶[0026]: “a shift register comprising a plurality of individual registers, wherein at least one register is communicatively coupled to each computation qubit and at least one register is communicatively coupled to the measurement device.”, ¶[0024]: “wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”¶[0076]: “Similarly, mediating latch qubit 842 may be used to mediate the coupling between computation qubit 822 and shift register 801”) [Examiner’s note: “second set of shift register stages” i.e., the administration latch stage of shift register 801 associated with qubit 822]
Berkley fails to teach:
wherein sets of latches communicatively couple the plurality of qubits to at least one shift register that comprises a first set of shift register stages, a second set of shift register stages, and a third set of shift register stages
shifting qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a respective holding latch of a corresponding set of latches
obtaining, by each shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages, qubit state information of each qubit of the first set of qubits from a respective holding latch via a respective final latch;
propagating the qubit state information of the first set of qubits along at least one shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages and at least one shift register stage of the third set of shift register stages to read out the qubit state information of the first set of qubits;
obtaining, by each shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages, qubit state information of each qubit of the second set of qubits from a respective holding latch via a respective final latch; and,
propagating the qubit state information of the second set of qubits along at least one shift register stage of the third set of shift register stages to read out the qubit state information of the second set of qubits
However, Boothby explicitly discloses:
wherein sets of latches communicatively couple the plurality of qubits to at least one shift register that comprises a first set of shift register stages, a second set of shift register stages, and a third set of shift register stages, (Boothby, ¶[0053]: “Bus 210 may comprise, for example, shift registers arranged in series. (Such a bus may be called a "street".) Bus 210 is in communication with a plurality of qubits 220, e.g. via one or more latches. In the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, bus 210 is in communication with each qubit 220 via a series of latches comprising bus-proximate latch 212, intermediate latch 214, and qubit proximate latch 216 (collectively and individually latches 212, 214, 216).”, ¶[0054]: “Shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, and 216 may be controlled individually or as groups. For example, in the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, shift registers 210A, 210B, and 210C are controllable independently of each other, as are latches 214A, 214B, and 214C.”)
shifting qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a respective holding latch of a corresponding set of latches; (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “FIGS. 4B-4E illustrate an example sequence of operations for performing acts 304 and 306 with system 200. In FIG. 4B, output state 400 is read out of qubits 220 into qubit-proximate latches 216.”)
obtaining, by each shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages, qubit state information of each qubit of the first set of qubits from a respective holding latch via a respective final latch; (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In FIG. 4B, output state 400 is read out of qubits 220 into qubit-proximate latches 216. In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch. In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress. In FIG. 4E, a portion of output state 400 (namely the portion comprising output state 400A corresponding to a first commonly-controlled subset of shift registers of bus 210 comprising shift register 210A) is written to bus 210, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2”, ¶[0063]: “Other portions of output state 400, such as portions comprising output state 400B and 400C corresponding to latches 214 outside of the first subset of latches 214 (e.g., latches 214B, 214C and those labelled "b" or "c" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of latches 214 respectively) may be returned to corresponding latches 214 as shown by setting qubit-proximate latches 216 to suppress and setting the corresponding intermediate latches 214 to latch.”) [Examiner’s note: “a respective holding latch” i.e., holding latch 214 because latch 214 temporarily stores or holds the qubit-state information until the corresponding shift-register subset is ready to receive it. “A respective final latch” i.e., latch 212 because ¶[0053] establishes the serial order: qubit 220->latch 216->latch 214->latch 212->bus stage 210]
propagating the qubit state information of the first set of qubits along at least one shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages and at least one shift register stage of the third set of shift register stages to read out the qubit state information of the first set of qubits; (Boothby, ¶[0065]: “In FIG. 4F, input state 410A is read in from higher-order I/0 system 202 (e.g., on the left) and the first subset of output state 400 (said subset comprising output state 400A) is shifted along the bus (e.g., to the right in the view of the drawing sheet). Further units of input state are introduced in subsequent figures and are referred to together with input state 410A, collectively and individually, as input state 410. Shifting state 400, 410 along bus 210 may be performed by, e.g., setting the third subset of shift registers ( comprising shift register 210A) and bus-proximate latches 214 to suppress and the second subset of shift registers (comprising shift register 210B) to latch.”, ¶[0066]: “FIGS. 4G-4Q each depict further iterations of shifting state 400,410 along bus 410 by setting shift registers 210 on the "right" (i.e., in the direction of the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for output and away from the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for input) of each unit of state 400, 410 to latch and setting shift registers on the "left" (i.e., the opposing direction along bus 210) to suppress. Additional units of input state 410 are read in from highe-rorder I/0 system 202 with spacing which corresponds to the spacing between shift registers of the first subset of shift registers, as shown in FIGS. 41, 4L, and 40. Units of output state 400 are read out by higher-order I/0 system 202 as they reach it, as shown in FIGS. 4J, 4M, 4P (and, subsequently, at 4S).”)
obtaining, by each shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages, qubit state information of each qubit of the second set of qubits from a respective holding latch via a respective final latch; and, (Boothby, ¶[0054]: “Qubits 220A, 220B, and 220C are proximately coupled to shift registers 210A, 210B, 210C, respectively, and are identified in FIG. 2 for ease of reference.”, ¶[0055]: “In some implementations, such as system 200 depicted in FIG. 2, intermediate latches 214A, 214B, and 214C are independently-controllable substantially as described above with reference to shift registers 210. In FIG. 2, the labels "a", "b", "c" connote commonly-controlled subsets of intermediate latches 214. In at least some implementations, such as is depicted in FIG. 2, commonly controlled subsets of intermediate latches 214 are aligned with commonly-controlled subsets of bus 210 (e.g., so that "a"-labelled latches 214A are in communication with bus 210 via corresponding "1"-labelled shift registers 210A, with "b" and "c" similarly corresponding to "2" and "3", respectively)”, ¶[0068]: “For example, returning to FIG. 4, FIG. 4T shows the result of repeating the foregoing twice (modifying, as necessary, the sequences of latch and suppress operations based on the different location of state 400, 410) to read-out the second subset of output state 400 (comprising state 400B) and the second subset of output state 400 ( comprising state 400C) and read-in corresponding second and third subsets of input state 410 (comprising state 410B, 410C, respectively).”) [Examiner’s note: Qubit 220B is approximately coupled to shift-register stage 210B, which belongs to the second commonly controlled subset. Intermediate latch 214B and its corresponding latch chain are aligned with second-subset shift-register stage 210B]
propagating the qubit state information of the second set of qubits along at least one shift register stage of the third set of shift register stages to read out the qubit state information of the second set of qubits. (Boothby, ¶[0065]: “In FIG. 4F, input state 410A is read in from higher-order I/0 system 202 (e.g., on the left) and the first subset of output state 400 (said subset comprising output state 400A) is shifted along the bus (e.g., to the right in the view of the drawing sheet). Further units of input state are introduced in subsequent figures and are referred to together with input state 410A, collectively and individually, as input state 410. Shifting state 400, 410 along bus 210 may be performed by, e.g., setting the third subset of shift registers ( comprising shift register 210A) and bus-proximate latches 214 to suppress and the second subset of shift registers (comprising shift register 210B) to latch.”, ¶[0066]: “FIGS. 4G-4Q each depict further iterations of shifting state 400,410 along bus 410 by setting shift registers 210 on the "right" (i.e., in the direction of the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for output and away from the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for input) of each unit of state 400, 410 to latch and setting shift registers on the "left" (i.e., the opposing direction along bus 210) to suppress. Additional units of input state 410 are read in from highe-rorder I/0 system 202 with spacing which corresponds to the spacing between shift registers of the first subset of shift registers, as shown in FIGS. 41, 4L, and 40. Units of output state 400 are read out by higher-order I/0 system 202 as they reach it, as shown in FIGS. 4J, 4M, 4P (and, subsequently, at 4S).”)
The combination of Berkley and Boothby are analogous art because they are in the same field of training time series data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Berkley and Boothby before them, to modify the teachings Berkley to include the teachings of Boothby to enable orderly and scalable readout of multiple qubit subsets while reducing the number of control lines and maintaining reliable transfer of qubit-state information to the readout interface.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 22 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
applying a first latch latching clock signal to a respective Josephson junction of each first latch of a respective set of latches to transmit the qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits to a respective first latch. (Berkley, ¶[0054]: “the circuit of latch qubit300 comprises a qubit loop 301 and a split junction loop or CJJ 302, where CJJ 302 includes two Josephson junctions 311 and 312… In this embodiment, CJJ 302 is itself configured to inductively couple to a clock signal line 307. Clock signals on the clock signal line 307 control the operation of latch qubit 300.”, ¶[0056]: “In this embodiment, when the clock signal steps up, the latch qubit loads the input signal at that instant, holds that instantaneous signal, and transmits it to the output for the duration of the clock pulse.”, ¶[0071]: “In some embodiments, the input signal is only administered to a given latch qubit if it coincides with a clock pulse into that device. For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601.”, ¶[0070]: “A latch qubit, such as any of those shown in FIG. 6, may hold a signal until it is specifically quenched by the corresponding clock-pulse. Furthermore, unlike standard logic gates, signal transfer between adjacent latch qubits is not biased in a preferred direction. A signal latched in a given latch qubit may travel backwards just as well as forwards (that is, right to left just as well as left to right in FIG. 6) depending on the clock-pulse synchronization.”)
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 23 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
loading the qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits held in a respective holding latch into a respective final latch of each set of latches; and; (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch. In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress.”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch 214; “final latch” i.e., bus-proximate latch 212]
loading the qubit state information of each qubit of the first set of qubits from a respective final latch to a respective shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages; (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch. In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress… e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of shift registers respectively) to suppress, a corresponding first subset of intermediate shift registers to suppress, and shift registers of bus 210 in the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., shift register 210Aand others in the subset labelled "1" in FIG. 2) to latch.”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch 214; “final latch” i.e., bus-proximate latch 212]
the loading the qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits held in a respective holding latch into a respective final latch of each set of latches comprises applying a final latch latching clock signal to a respective Josephson junction of each final latch; and, (Berkley, ¶[0054]: “the circuit of latch qubit300 comprises a qubit loop 301 and a split junction loop or CJJ 302, where CJJ 302 includes two Josephson junctions 311 and 312… In this embodiment, CJJ 302 is itself configured to inductively couple to a clock signal line 307. Clock signals on the clock signal line 307 control the operation of latch qubit 300.”, ¶[0056]: “In this embodiment, when the clock signal steps up, the latch qubit loads the input signal at that instant, holds that instantaneous signal, and transmits it to the output for the duration of the clock pulse.”, ¶[0071]: “In some embodiments, the input signal is only administered to a given latch qubit if it coincides with a clock pulse into that device. For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601.”)
the loading the qubit state information of each qubit of the first set of qubits from a respective final latch to a respective shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages comprises (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch. In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress… e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of shift registers respectively) to suppress, a corresponding first subset of intermediate shift registers to suppress, and shift registers of bus 210 in the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., shift register 210Aand others in the subset labelled "1" in FIG. 2) to latch.”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch 214; “final latch” i.e., bus-proximate latch 212]
applying a first latching clock signal to a respective Josephson junction of each shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages. (Berkley, ¶[0054]: “the circuit of latch qubit300 comprises a qubit loop 301 and a split junction loop or CJJ 302, where CJJ 302 includes two Josephson junctions 311 and 312… In this embodiment, CJJ 302 is itself configured to inductively couple to a clock signal line 307. Clock signals on the clock signal line 307 control the operation of latch qubit 300.”, ¶[0056]: “In this embodiment, when the clock signal steps up, the latch qubit loads the input signal at that instant, holds that instantaneous signal, and transmits it to the output for the duration of the clock pulse.”, ¶[0071]: “In some embodiments, the input signal is only administered to a given latch qubit if it coincides with a clock pulse into that device. For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601.”, ¶[0070]: “A latch qubit, such as any of those shown in FIG. 6, may hold a signal until it is specifically quenched by the corresponding clock-pulse. Furthermore, unlike standard logic gates, signal transfer between adjacent latch qubits is not biased in a preferred direction. A signal latched in a given latch qubit may travel backwards just as well as forwards (that is, right to left just as well as left to right in FIG. 6) depending on the clock-pulse synchronization.”)
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 22 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
shifting the qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits from a respective holding latch to a respective final latch of each set of latches; and; (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch. In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress.”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch 214; “final latch” i.e., bus-proximate latch 212]
loading the qubit state information of each qubit of the second set of qubits from a respective final latch to a respective shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages; (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch. In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress… e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of shift registers respectively) to suppress, a corresponding first subset of intermediate shift registers to suppress, and shift registers of bus 210 in the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., shift register 210Aand others in the subset labelled "1" in FIG. 2) to latch.”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch 214; “final latch” i.e., bus-proximate latch 212]
the shifting the qubit state information of each qubit of the plurality of qubits from a respective holding latch to a respective final latch of each set of latches comprises applying a final latch latching clock signal to a Josephson junction of each final latch and (Berkley, ¶[0054]: “the circuit of latch qubit300 comprises a qubit loop 301 and a split junction loop or CJJ 302, where CJJ 302 includes two Josephson junctions 311 and 312… In this embodiment, CJJ 302 is itself configured to inductively couple to a clock signal line 307. Clock signals on the clock signal line 307 control the operation of latch qubit 300.”, ¶[0056]: “In this embodiment, when the clock signal steps up, the latch qubit loads the input signal at that instant, holds that instantaneous signal, and transmits it to the output for the duration of the clock pulse.”, ¶[0071]: “In some embodiments, the input signal is only administered to a given latch qubit if it coincides with a clock pulse into that device. For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601.”)
applying a holding latch suppression clock signal to a Josephson junction of each holding
latch; and, (Boothby, ¶[0053]: “In the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, bus 210 is in communication with each qubit 220 via a series of latches comprising bus-proximate latch 212, intermediate latch 214, and qubit proximate latch 216 (collectively and individually latches 212, 214, 216).”, ¶[0057]: “In implementations where the shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, 216 comprise QFPs, setting these devices to suppressed and latched states may refer to controlling the circulating current within each QFP device. In particular, the circulating current may be controlled through flux bias lines in communication with a compound Josephson junction (CJJ) or another Josephson junction structure. A suppressed state is achieved where no flux is present in the CJJ, and no current is found in the loop of the QFP device”, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch]
the loading the qubit state information of each qubit of the second set of qubits from a respective final latch to a respective shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages comprises applying a second latching clock signal to Josephson junctions of each shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages. (Boothby, ¶[0053]: “Bus 210 is in communication with a plurality of qubits 220, e.g. via one or more latches. In the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, bus 210 is in communication with each qubit 220 via a series of latches comprising bus-proximate latch 212, intermediate latch 214, and qubit proximate latch 216 (collectively and individually latches 212, 214, 216).”, ¶[0054]: “For instance, shift register 210A may be controllable as a member of a first subset of commonly-controlled shift registers of bus 210; shift registers 210B and 210C may similarly be controlled as members of further such subsets. In at least one implementation, shift register 210A is controlled by the same control signal as other latches 210 labelled "1" in FIG. 2 (with shift registers 210B and 210C having similar relationships with other latches labelled "2" and "3", respectively). Qubits 220A, 220B, and 220C are proximately coupled to shift registers 210A, 210B, 210C, respectively”, ¶[0057]: “In implementations where the shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, 216 comprise QFPs, setting these devices to suppressed and latched states may refer to controlling the circulating current within each QFP device. In particular, the circulating current may be controlled through flux bias lines in communication with a compound Josephson junction (CJJ) or another Josephson junction structure”, ¶[0062]: “In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress… by setting shift registers of bus 210 outside of the first subset of shift registers ( e.g., the shift registers of subsets labelled "2" and "3" in FIG. 2, referred to herein as the second and third subsets of shift registers respectively)”, ¶[0068]: “For example, returning to FIG. 4, FIG. 4T shows the result of repeating the foregoing twice (modifying, as necessary, the sequences of latch and suppress operations based on the different location of state 400, 410) to read-out the second subset of output state 400 (comprising state 400B)”) [Examiner’s note: “final latch” i.e., the bus-proximate latch; “second latching clock signal” i.e., signal labeled “2”; “second subset of shift-register stages” i.e., the procedure is repeated for second output state portion 400B]
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 22 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
applying: a final latch suppression signal to a respective Josephson junction of each final latch, (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress.”, ¶[0057]: “In implementations where the shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, 216 comprise QFPs, setting these devices to suppressed and latched states may refer to controlling the circulating current within each QFP device. In particular, the circulating current may be controlled through flux bias lines in communication with a compound Josephson junction (CJJ) or another Josephson junction structure”) [Examiner’s note: Latch 212 is the “final latches” because they are the last latches in each qubit’s latch chain before bus 210]
a first suppression clock signal to Josephson junctions of each shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages, and (Boothby, ¶[0053]: “In the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, bus 210 is in communication with each qubit 220 via a series of latches comprising bus-proximate latch 212, intermediate latch 214, and qubit proximate latch 216 (collectively and individually latches 212, 214, 216).”, ¶[0057]: “In implementations where the shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, 216 comprise QFPs, setting these devices to suppressed and latched states may refer to controlling the circulating current within each QFP device. In particular, the circulating current may be controlled through flux bias lines in communication with a compound Josephson junction (CJJ) or another Josephson junction structure. A suppressed state is achieved where no flux is present in the CJJ, and no current is found in the loop of the QFP device”, ¶[0062]: “In at least one implementation, this comprises setting intermediate latches 214 to suppress (to avoid leakage of state) and qubit-proximate latches 216 to latch”) [Examiner’s note: “holding latch” i.e., intermediate latch]
one of a second or third latching clock signal to propagate qubit state information from each shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages to a communicatively coupled shift register stage of a respective one of the second or third sets of shift register stages; and (Boothby, ¶[0065]: “In FIG. 4F, input state 410A is read in from higher-order I/0 system 202 (e.g., on the left) and the first subset of output state 400 (said subset comprising output state 400A) is shifted along the bus (e.g., to the right in the view of the drawing sheet). Further units of input state are introduced in subsequent figures and are referred to together with input state 410A, collectively and individually, as input state 410. Shifting state 400, 410 along bus 210 may be performed by, e.g., setting the third subset of shift registers ( comprising shift register 210A) and bus-proximate latches 214 to suppress and the second subset of shift registers (comprising shift register 210B) to latch.”, ¶[0066]: “FIGS. 4G-4Q each depict further iterations of shifting state 400,410 along bus 410 by setting shift registers 210 on the "right" (i.e., in the direction of the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for output and away from the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for input) of each unit of state 400, 410 to latch and setting shift registers on the "left" (i.e., the opposing direction along bus 210) to suppress. Additional units of input state 410 are read in from highe-rorder I/0 system 202 with spacing which corresponds to the spacing between shift registers of the first subset of shift registers, as shown in FIGS. 41, 4L, and 40. Units of output state 400 are read out by higher-order I/0 system 202 as they reach it, as shown in FIGS. 4J, 4M, 4P (and, subsequently, at 4S).”)
applying: a final latch suppression signal to a respective Josephson junction of each final latch, (Boothby, ¶[0062]: “In FIG. 4C, output state 400 is shifted to intermediate latches 214, e.g., by setting bus-proximate latches 212 to suppress and intermediate latches to latch. In FIG. 4D, output state 400 is shifted to bus-proximate latches 212, e.g., by setting shift registers of bus 210 to latch and qubit proximate latches 216 to suppress.”, ¶[0057]: “In implementations where the shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, 216 comprise QFPs, setting these devices to suppressed and latched states may refer to controlling the circulating current within each QFP device. In particular, the circulating current may be controlled through flux bias lines in communication with a compound Josephson junction (CJJ) or another Josephson junction structure”) [Examiner’s note: Latch 212 is the “final latches” because they are the last latches in each qubit’s latch chain before bus 210]
a second suppression clock signal to Josephson junctions of each shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages and (Boothby, ¶[0056]: “For example, consider an implementation of system 200 wherein shift registers and latches 212, 214, 216 provide suppress and latch modes (e.g., as is the case for at least some QFPs), couplings between devices are undirected, and subsets of devices change modes substantially simultaneously”, ¶[0057]: “In implementations where the shift registers of bus 210 and latches 212, 214, 216 comprise QFPs, setting these devices to suppressed and latched states may refer to controlling the circulating current within each QFP device. In particular, the circulating current may be controlled through flux bias lines in communication with a compound Josephson junction (CJJ) or another Josephson junction structure. A suppressed state is achieved where no flux is present in the CJJ, and no current is found in the loop of the QFP device”)
one of a first or a third latching clock signal to propagate qubit state information from each shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages to a communicatively coupled shift register stage of a respective one of the first or third sets of shift register stages. (Boothby, ¶[0065]: “In FIG. 4F, input state 410A is read in from higher-order I/0 system 202 (e.g., on the left) and the first subset of output state 400 (said subset comprising output state 400A) is shifted along the bus (e.g., to the right in the view of the drawing sheet). Further units of input state are introduced in subsequent figures and are referred to together with input state 410A, collectively and individually, as input state 410. Shifting state 400, 410 along bus 210 may be performed by, e.g., setting the third subset of shift registers ( comprising shift register 210A) and bus-proximate latches 214 to suppress and the second subset of shift registers (comprising shift register 210B) to latch.”, ¶[0066]: “FIGS. 4G-4Q each depict further iterations of shifting state 400,410 along bus 410 by setting shift registers 210 on the "right" (i.e., in the direction of the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for output and away from the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for input) of each unit of state 400, 410 to latch and setting shift registers on the "left" (i.e., the opposing direction along bus 210) to suppress. Additional units of input state 410 are read in from highe-rorder I/0 system 202 with spacing which corresponds to the spacing between shift registers of the first subset of shift registers, as shown in FIGS. 41, 4L, and 40. Units of output state 400 are read out by higher-order I/0 system 202 as they reach it, as shown in FIGS. 4J, 4M, 4P (and, subsequently, at 4S).”)
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 22 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
wherein the at least one shift register comprises a plurality of shift registers that are parallel along a majority of a respective length of each shift register of the plurality of shift registers and (Boothby, ¶[0020]: “… the intermediate latch being coupled to the qubit proximate latch and the bus proximate latch and the bus proximate latch being coupled to the bus, the bus may comprise a first plurality of shift registers arranged in series and wherein each latch of the plurality of latches comprises a second plurality of shift registers arranged in series”)
at least two shift registers of the plurality of shift registers crosses each qubit of the first and the second sets of qubits, (Boothby, ¶[0053]: “Bus 210 may comprise, for example, shift registers arranged in series. (Such a bus may be called a "street".) Bus 210 is in communication with a plurality of qubits 220, e.g. via one or more latches. In the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, bus 210 is in communication with each qubit 220 via a series of latches comprising bus-proximate latch 212, intermediate latch 214, and qubit proximate latch 216 (collectively and individually latches 212, 214, 216).”)
the propagating the qubit state information of the first set of qubits and the propagating the qubit state information of the second set of qubits comprising: propagating qubit state information of each qubit along one of the at least two shift registers of the first plurality of shift registers that crosses said qubit, (Boothby, ¶[0059]: “When qubits 220 execute a problem, they can generate a classical state which can be transmitted to bus 210 (e.g., via latches 212, 214, 216) and transmitted along bus 210 to higher-order I/O system 202. For convenience, and without loss of generality, state will be described as being transmitted from left to right along bus 210 in FIG. 2, although other directions (such as right-to-left) are not excluded by the present disclosure.”)
each qubit being exclusively communicatively coupled to the one of the at least two shift registers, (Berkley, ¶[0026]: “a shift register comprising a plurality of individual registers, wherein at least one register is communicatively coupled to each computation qubit and at least one register is communicatively coupled to the measurement device.”, ¶[0024]: “wherein at least one of the computation qubit and the measurement device is communicatively coupled to the first latch qubit such that the first latch qubit mediates the communicative coupling between the computation qubit and the measurement device.”, ¶[0076]: “Shift register 801 operates in a similar manner to shift register 701 from FIG. 7, but readout system 800 includes mediating latch qubits 841-843 that were not included in readout system 700. Mediating latch qubit 841 may be used to mediate the coupling between computation qubit 821 and shift register 801”)
the propagating based on first, second, and third clock signals; (Berkley, ¶[0071]: “For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601. Similarly, if Clock C then pulses during the pulse of Clock B (that is, before Clock B returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 621 will latch the signal from latch qubit 611.”)
shifting the qubit state information from a terminating shift register stage of the one of the at least two shift registers to a shift register stage of a respectively communicatively coupled communication shift register; and, (Berkley, ¶[0070]: “This embodiment ensures that at least one layer of quenched latch qubits may separate adjacent administration latch qubits and thus stop reverse-coupling of logic signals. Three clock signal lines are used because latch qubits are two-terminal devices. Thus, neighboring latch qubits in shift register 600 are activated at different phases and logic signals are propagated from one active device to the next adjacent activated device.”, ¶[0056]: “The output signal terminates as the clock pulse steps down and no signal is transmitted while the clock remains quiescent.”)
propagating the qubit state information along the respective communication shift register to a respective readout interface based on first, second, and third communication clock signals. (Berkley, ¶[0071]: “For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601. Similarly, if Clock C then pulses during the pulse of Clock B (that is, before Clock B returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 621 will latch the signal from latch qubit 611.”)
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 30 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
wherein the propagating qubit state information of each qubit along one of the at least two shift registers of the plurality of shift registers that crosses said qubit comprises propagating qubit state information of all qubits coupled to a same one of the shift registers as one another along the shift register in a same direction as one another. (Berkley, ¶[0074]: “The operation of shift register 701 is very similar to that of shift register 600 from FIG. 6 except that data signals are input into shift register 701 through computation qubits 721 and 722 as opposed to through a single signal input line. In shift register 701, administration latch qubit 711 latches the state of computation qubit 721 when there is a pulse in Clock A. Similarly, administration latch qubit 712 latches the state of computation qubit 722 when there is a pulse in Clock B. By controlled pulsing of the clock signals A-C as described for shift register 600 in FIG. 6, the states of computation qubits 721 and 722 may be shifted along shift register 701 to administration latch qubit 713, where the signals are read out by a measurement device such as magnetometer”)
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 30 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
propagating qubit state information of qubits on a first side of a defined shift register location along the one of the at least two shift registers in a first direction; and, (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “In some implementations, setting the first subset of the plurality of shift registers to latch comprises setting a first latched shift register to latch, the first latched shift register neighboring a first holding shift register in a first direction”, ¶[0066]: “FIGS. 4G-4Q each depict further iterations of shifting state 400,410 along bus 410 by setting shift registers 210 on the "right" (i.e., in the direction of the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for output and away from the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for input) of each unit of state 400, 410 to latch and setting shift registers on the "left" (i.e., the opposing direction along bus 210) to suppress. Additional units of input state 410 are read in from higher order I/0 system 202 with spacing which corresponds to the spacing between shift registers of the first subset of shift registers, as shown in FIGS. 41, 4L, and 40. Units of output state 400 are read out by higher-order I/0 system 202 as they reach it, as shown in FIGS. 4J, 4M, 4P (and, subsequently, at 4S). Bus-proximate latches 212 remain set to suppress through the operations of FIGS. 4G-4Q.”)
propagating qubit state information of qubits on a second side of the defined shift register location along the one of the at least two shift registers in a second direction, wherein the second direction opposes the first direction. (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “setting the second subset of the plurality of shift registers to suppress comprises setting a first suppressed shift register to suppress, the first suppressed shift register neighboring the first holding shift register in a second direction opposing the first direction, the first holding shift register holding a unit of the first portion of the first input state.”, ¶[0066]: “FIGS. 4G-4Q each depict further iterations of shifting state 400,410 along bus 410 by setting shift registers 210 on the "right" (i.e., in the direction of the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for output and away from the link to higher-order I/0 system 202 used for input) of each unit of state 400, 410 to latch and setting shift registers on the "left" (i.e., the opposing direction along bus 210) to suppress. Additional units of input state 410 are read in from higherorder I/0 system 202 with spacing which corresponds to the spacing between shift registers of the first subset of shift registers, as shown in FIGS. 41, 4L, and 40. Units of output state 400 are read out by higher-order I/0 system 202 as they reach it, as shown in FIGS. 4J, 4M, 4P (and, subsequently, at 4S). Bus-proximate latches 212 remain set to suppress through the operations of FIGS. 4G-4Q.”)
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 22 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
wherein the at least one shift register comprises at least one shift register pair, (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “In some implementations, setting the first subset of the plurality of shift registers to latch comprises setting a first latched shift register to latch, the first latched shift register neighboring a first holding shift register in a first direction”)
shift registers of each shift register pair are communicatively coupled to one another via a respective interstitial bus, and, (Boothby, ¶[0010]: “In some implementations, the bus comprises a plurality of shift registers and transmitting the at least a first portion of the first input state along the bus synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state along the bus comprises synchronously shifting the first portion of the first input state and the first portion of the first output state along the bus.”)
for each shift register pair, the propagating the qubit state information of the first set of qubits and the propagating the qubit state information of the second set of qubits comprises: propagating the qubit state information along a first shift register of the shift register pair; (Boothby, ¶[0010]: “In some implementations, the bus comprises a plurality of shift registers and transmitting the at least a first portion of the first input state along the bus synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state along the bus comprises synchronously shifting the first portion of the first input state and the first portion of the first output state along the bus.”)
shifting the qubit state information from the first shift register of the shift register pair into a shift register stage of the interstitial bus; propagating the qubit state information along a first portion of the interstitial bus; (Boothby, ¶[0010]: “In some implementations, the bus comprises a plurality of shift registers and transmitting the at least a first portion of the first input state along the bus synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state along the bus comprises synchronously shifting the first portion of the first input state and the first portion of the first output state along the bus.”)
loading the qubit state information in the interstitial bus into a shift register stage of a communication shift register; (Boothby, ¶[0053]: “System 200 comprises a bus 210 in communication with higher-order I/O system 202. Bus 210 may comprise, for example, shift registers arranged in series. (Such a bus may be called a "street".) Bus 210 is in communication with a plurality of qubits 220, e.g. via one or more latches. In the exemplary system 200 of FIG. 2, bus 210 is in communication with each qubit 220 via a series of latches comprising bus-proximate latch 212, intermediate latch 214, and qubit proximate latch 216”, ¶[0065]: “In FIG. 4F, input state 410A is read in from higher-order I/0 system 202 (e.g., on the left) and the first subset of output state 400 (said subset comprising output state 400A) is shifted along the bus (e.g., to the right in the view of the drawing sheet).”)
propagating the qubit state information along the communication shift register; and, (Boothby, ¶[0010]: “In some implementations, the bus comprises a plurality of shift registers and transmitting the at least a first portion of the first input state along the bus synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state along the bus comprises synchronously shifting the first portion of the first input state and the first portion of the first output state along the bus.”)
shifting the qubit state information to a readout interface. (Berkley, ¶[0066]: “In such embodiments, it can be advantageous to use a set of latch qubits to construct a flux-based superconducting shift register. The plurality of computation qubits may then be latched into the shift register where the computation qubit signals may be shifted to a single measurement device for readout”, ¶[0076]: “In addition, mediating latch qubit 843 may be used to mediate the coupling between shift register 801 and a measurement device such as magnetometer 831… In this embodiment, a pulse on clock signal line Clock D also latches a signal or state from latch qubit 851 in shift register 801 and transmits the signal or state to magnetometer 831 for readout.”)
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 33 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
propagating the qubit state information along a second portion of the interstitial bus; (Boothby, ¶[0059]: “When qubits 220 execute a problem, they can generate a classical state which can be transmitted to bus 210 (e.g., via latches 212, 214, 216) and transmitted along bus 210 to higher-order I/O system 202. For convenience, and without loss of generality, state will be described as being transmitted from left to right along bus 210 in FIG. 2, although other directions (such as right-to-left) are not excluded by the present disclosure.”)
shifting the qubit state information from the interstitial bus to a communicatively coupled shift register stage of a second shift register of the shift register pair; and (Berkley, ¶[0070]: “This embodiment ensures that at least one layer of quenched latch qubits may separate adjacent administration latch qubits and thus stop reverse-coupling of logic signals. Three clock signal lines are used because latch qubits are two-terminal devices. Thus, neighboring latch qubits in shift register 600 are activated at different phases and logic signals are propagated from one active device to the next adjacent activated device.”, ¶[0056]: “The output signal terminates as the clock pulse steps down and no signal is transmitted while the clock remains quiescent.”)
propagating the qubit state information along the second shift register of the shift register pair in a direction opposing a direction of propagation along the first shift register of the shift register pair. (Boothby, ¶[0059]: “When qubits 220 execute a problem, they can generate a classical state which can be transmitted to bus 210 (e.g., via latches 212, 214, 216) and transmitted along bus 210 to higher-order I/O system 202. For convenience, and without loss of generality, state will be described as being transmitted from left to right along bus 210 in FIG. 2, although other directions (such as right-to-left) are not excluded by the present disclosure.”)
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 33 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
The method of claim 33, wherein the at least one shift register comprises a first plurality of shift registers, and (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “In some implementations, setting the first subset of the plurality of shift registers to latch comprises setting a first latched shift register to latch, the first latched shift register neighboring a first holding shift register in a first direction”)
each pair of nearest-neighbor shift registers of the first plurality of shift registers is communicatively coupled by a respective interstitial bus, (Boothby, ¶[0010]: “In some implementations, the bus comprises a plurality of shift registers and transmitting the at least a first portion of the first input state along the bus synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state along the bus comprises synchronously shifting the first portion of the first input state and the first portion of the first output state along the bus.”)
wherein the propagating the qubit state information of the first set of qubits and the propagating the qubit state information of the second set of qubits further comprises: propagating qubit state information of qubits coupled to a first subset of shift registers of the first plurality of shift registers along a respectively coupled shift register in a first direction; and (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “In some implementations, setting the first subset of the plurality of shift registers to latch comprises setting a first latched shift register to latch, the first latched shift register neighboring a first holding shift register in a first direction,”)
propagating qubit state information of qubits coupled to a second subset of shift registers of the first plurality of shift registers along a respectively coupled shift register in a second direction, wherein the second direction opposes the first direction. (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “setting the second subset of the plurality of shift registers to suppress comprises setting a first suppressed shift register to suppress, the first suppressed shift register neighboring the first holding shift register in a second direction opposing the first direction, the first holding shift register holding a unit of the first portion of the first input state.”)
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 33 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
wherein the at least one shift register comprises a first plurality of shift registers, and (Boothby, ¶[0014]: “In some implementations, setting the first subset of the plurality of shift registers to latch comprises setting a first latched shift register to latch, the first latched shift register neighboring a first holding shift register in a first direction”)
each pair of nearest-neighbor shift registers of the first plurality of shift registers is communicatively coupled by a respective interstitial bus, (Boothby, ¶[0010]: “In some implementations, the bus comprises a plurality of shift registers and transmitting the at least a first portion of the first input state along the bus synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state along the bus comprises synchronously shifting the first portion of the first input state and the first portion of the first output state along the bus.”)
wherein the plurality of qubits comprises: a first plurality of qubits including a first subset of qubits of the first and the second sets of qubits; (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “At least one of the computation qubits may be a superconducting qubit, for example a superconducting flux qubit, superconducting charge qubit, superconducting phase qubit, or superconducting hybrid qubit…a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals; a first set of dummy latch qubits,…; and a second set of dummy latch qubits”)
a second plurality of qubits including a second subset of qubits of the first and the second sets of qubits; and, (Boothby, ¶[0006]: “and executing the problem and thereby generate a second output state based on the first portion of the first input state.”)
a third plurality of qubits including a third subset of qubits of the first and the second sets of qubits, (Boothby, ¶[0017]: “executing the problem and thereby generate a third output state based on the first portion of the second input state.”)
wherein each qubit coupled to a same shift register of the first plurality of shift registers belongs to a same one of the first, the second, and the third pluralities of qubits, (Berkley, ¶[0074]: “The operation of shift register 701 is very similar to that of shift register 600 from FIG. 6 except that data signals are input into shift register 701 through computation qubits 721 and 722 as opposed to through a single signal input line. In shift register 701, administration latch qubit 711 latches the state of computation qubit 721 when there is a pulse in Clock A. Similarly, administration latch qubit 712 latches the state of computation qubit 722 when there is a pulse in Clock B. By controlled pulsing of the clock signals A-C as described for shift register 600 in FIG. 6, the states of computation qubits 721 and 722 may be shifted along shift register 701 to administration latch qubit 713, where the signals are read out by a measurement device such as magnetometer”)
wherein the obtaining, by each shift register stage of the first set of shift register stages, qubit state information of each qubit of the first set of qubits from a respective holding latch via a respective final latch comprises: (Boothby, ¶[0054]: “Qubits 220A, 220B, and 220C are proximately coupled to shift registers 210A, 210B, 210C, respectively, and are identified in FIG. 2 for ease of reference.”, ¶[0055]: “In some implementations, such as system 200 depicted in FIG. 2, intermediate latches 214A, 214B, and 214C are independently-controllable substantially as described above with reference to shift registers 210. In FIG. 2, the labels "a", "b", "c" connote commonly-controlled subsets of intermediate latches 214. In at least some implementations, such as is depicted in FIG. 2, commonly controlled subsets of intermediate latches 214 are aligned with commonly-controlled subsets of bus 210 (e.g., so that "a"-labelled latches 214A are in communication with bus 210 via corresponding "1"-labelled shift registers 210A, with "b" and "c" similarly corresponding to "2" and "3", respectively)”, ¶[0068]: “For example, returning to FIG. 4, FIG. 4T shows the result of repeating the foregoing twice (modifying, as necessary, the sequences of latch and suppress operations based on the different location of state 400, 410) to read-out the second subset of output state 400 (comprising state 400B) and the second subset of output state 400 ( comprising state 400C) and read-in corresponding second and third subsets of input state 410 (comprising state 410B, 410C, respectively).”) [Examiner’s note: Qubit 220B is approximately coupled to shift-register stage 210B, which belongs to the second commonly controlled subset. Intermediate latch 214B and its corresponding latch chain are aligned with second-subset shift-register stage 210B]
obtaining qubit state information of qubits of the first set of qubits belonging to one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits; and, (Boothby, ¶[0006]: “synchronously with transmitting the first portion of the first output state, transmitting at least a first portion of a first input state along the bus from an input source; writing the first portion of the first input state to the first subset of the qubits”)
wherein the obtaining, by each shift register stage of the second set of shift register stages, qubit state information of each qubit of the second set of qubits from a respective holding latch via a respective final latch comprises: (Boothby, ¶[0054]: “Qubits 220A, 220B, and 220C are proximately coupled to shift registers 210A, 210B, 210C, respectively, and are identified in FIG. 2 for ease of reference.”, ¶[0055]: “In some implementations, such as system 200 depicted in FIG. 2, intermediate latches 214A, 214B, and 214C are independently-controllable substantially as described above with reference to shift registers 210. In FIG. 2, the labels "a", "b", "c" connote commonly-controlled subsets of intermediate latches 214. In at least some implementations, such as is depicted in FIG. 2, commonly controlled subsets of intermediate latches 214 are aligned with commonly-controlled subsets of bus 210 (e.g., so that "a"-labelled latches 214A are in communication with bus 210 via corresponding "1"-labelled shift registers 210A, with "b" and "c" similarly corresponding to "2" and "3", respectively)”, ¶[0068]: “For example, returning to FIG. 4, FIG. 4T shows the result of repeating the foregoing twice (modifying, as necessary, the sequences of latch and suppress operations based on the different location of state 400, 410) to read-out the second subset of output state 400 (comprising state 400B) and the second subset of output state 400 ( comprising state 400C) and read-in corresponding second and third subsets of input state 410 (comprising state 410B, 410C, respectively).”) [Examiner’s note: Qubit 220B is approximately coupled to shift-register stage 210B, which belongs to the second commonly controlled subset. Intermediate latch 214B and its corresponding latch chain are aligned with second-subset shift-register stage 210B]
obtaining qubit state information of qubits of the second set of qubits belonging to the one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits. (Boothby, ¶[0017]: “transmitting at least a first portion of a second input state along the bus from the input source; writing the first portion of the second input state to the first subset of the qubits”)
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 37 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
wherein: the obtaining qubit state information of qubits of the first set of qubits belonging to one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits comprises applying a first set of latching clock signals to a subset of the first shift register stages that are correspondingly communicatively coupled to the qubits of the first set of qubits belonging to the one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits; (Berkley, ¶[0069]: “Each latch qubit in shift register 600 operates in a manner similar to latch qubit 300 of FIG. 3. That is, each latch qubit in shift register 600 is coupled to an input signal, an output signal, and a clock signal. In this embodiment, shift register 600 has three distinct clock signal lines, shown as Clock A, Clock B, and Clock C in FIG. 6”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”)
the obtaining qubit state information of qubits of the second set of qubits belonging to the one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits comprises applying a second set of latching clock signals to a subset of the second shift register stages that are correspondingly communicatively coupled to the qubits of the second set of qubits belonging to the one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits; and, (Berkley, ¶[0027]: “The shift register may include a superconducting shift register. In embodiments that include a superconducting shift register, the superconducting shift register may include a flux-based superconducting shift register comprising: : a set of administration latch qubits, each of the administration latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive administration clock signals … and a second set of dummy latch qubits, each of the dummy latch qubits of the second set of dummy latch qubits communicatively coupled to receive second dummy clock signals”, ¶[0070]: “If the sequence of latch qubits in FIG. 6 (that is: 601, 611, 621, 602, 612, 622, 603) is read as Admin0, 1Dum0, 2Dum0, Admin1, 1Dum1, 2Dum1, and Admin2, then the clock signals are coupled into shift register 600 such that Admin0, Admin1, and Admin2 are all coupled to a first clock line (Clock A); 1Dum0 and 1Dum1 are both coupled to a second clock line (Clock B); and 2Dum0 and 2Duml are both coupled to a third clock line (Clock C). Thus, latch qubits that are in the same relative position in the line of communicatively (e.g., inductively) coupled latch qubits are all coupled to the same clock signal line.”)
the propagating the qubit state information of the first set of qubits and the propagating the qubit state information of the second set of qubits comprising applying suppression clock signals to at least one of: (Berkley, ¶[0070]: “Implementing a system where at least two dummy latch qubits separate each pair of successive administration latch qubits allows the administration latch qubits to be sufficiently isolated so that a deliberate sequence of clock pulses permits only forward propagation (i.e., left to right in FIG. 6) of the input signal. This embodiment ensures that at least one layer of quenched latch qubits may separate adjacent administration latch qubits and thus stop reverse-coupling of logic signals”, Berkley, ¶[0071]: “For example, if a high input signal is coupled into latch qubit 601, the signal will be latched by latch qubit 601 only when Clock A pulses to establish a barrier in the potential energy curve. Now, if Clock B pulses during the pulse of Clock A ( that is, before Clock A returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 611 will latch the signal from latch qubit 601. Similarly, if Clock C then pulses during the pulse of Clock B (that is, before Clock B returns to the quenched state), then latch qubit 621 will latch the signal from latch qubit 611”)
shift register stages of the first and the second sets of shift register stages that are adjacent to a communication shift register and are communicatively coupled to the other ones of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits, and at least one shift register stage of each interstitial bus. (Boothby, ¶[0056]: “In such implementations, it can be convenient to divide shift registers of bus 210 into at least three subsets and to provide at least three latches 212, 214, 216 for each qubit 220 so that each shift register and intermediate latches 214 is proximately coupled only to independently-controllable devices (e.g., so that a shift register 210A is proximately coupled to shift registers 210B, 210C and intermediate latch 214A is proximately coupled to latches 212, 216).”, ¶[0065]: “Shifting state 400, 410 along bus 210 may be performed by, e.g., setting the third subset of shift registers ( comprising shift register 210A) and bus-proximate latches 214 to suppress and the second subset of shift registers (comprising shift register 210B) to latch.”)
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all the limitations of claim 37 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further discloses:
propagating the qubit state information of the qubits belonging to the one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits on a first side of a defined shift register location along shift registers that are communicatively coupled to the one of the first, the second, and the third pluralities of qubits in a first direction; and, (Boothby, ¶[0059]: “When qubits 220 execute a problem, they can generate a classical state which can be transmitted to bus 210 (e.g., via latches 212, 214, 216) and transmitted along bus 210 to higher-order I/O system 202. For convenience, and without loss of generality, state will be described as being transmitted from left to right along bus 210 in FIG. 2, although other directions (such as right-to-left) are not excluded by the present disclosure.”)
propagating the qubit state information of the qubits belonging to the one of the first, the second, or the third pluralities of qubits on a second side of the defined shift register location along shift registers that are communicatively coupled to the one of the first, the second, and the third pluralities of qubits in a second direction that opposes the first direction. (Boothby, ¶[0059]: “When qubits 220 execute a problem, they can generate a classical state which can be transmitted to bus 210 (e.g., via latches 212, 214, 216) and transmitted along bus 210 to higher-order I/O system 202. For convenience, and without loss of generality, state will be described as being transmitted from left to right along bus 210 in FIG. 2, although other directions (such as right-to-left) are not excluded by the present disclosure.”)
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkley (US 2009/0078931 A1) in view of Boothby et al. (US 2020/0371974 A1) and further in view of Whittaker et al. (US 2020/0411937 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Berkley and Boothby discloses all limitations of claim 1 (as shown in the rejections above).
Berkley in view of Boothby further teaches:
wherein for each readout shift register, at least one terminating shift register stage is communicatively coupled to a respective communication shift register, and (Berkley, ¶[0070]: “This embodiment ensures that at least one layer of quenched latch qubits may separate adjacent administration latch qubits and thus stop reverse-coupling of logic signals. Three clock signal lines are used because latch qubits are two-terminal devices. Thus, neighboring latch qubits in shift register 600 are activated at different phases and logic signals are propagated from one active device to the next adjacent activated device.”, ¶[0056]: “The output signal terminates as the clock pulse steps down and no signal is transmitted while the clock remains quiescent.”)
each communication shift register is communicatively coupled to a respective readout interface, (Berkley, ¶[0066]: “In such embodiments, it can be advantageous to use a set of latch qubits to construct a flux-based superconducting shift register. The plurality of computation qubits may then be latched into the shift register where the computation qubit signals may be shifted to a single measurement device for readout”, ¶[0076]: “In addition, mediating latch qubit 843 may be used to mediate the coupling between shift register 801 and a measurement device such as magnetometer 831… In this embodiment, a pulse on clock signal line Clock D also latches a signal or state from latch qubit 851 in shift register 801 and transmits the signal or state to magnetometer 831 for readout.”)
Berkley in view of Boothby further teaches:
wherein each readout interface comprises a superconducting microwave resonator comprising a first and a second superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) arranged in series along a superconducting loop, and
the terminating shift register stage of a respective communication shift register is inductively coupled to the second SQUID of the superconducting microwave resonator to transmit qubit state information corresponding to qubits of the plurality of qubits to the readout interface.
However, Whittaker explicitly teaches:
wherein each readout interface comprises a superconducting microwave resonator comprising a first and a second superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) arranged in series along a superconducting loop, and (Whittaker, ¶[0006]: “a first DC superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) coupled between the resonator inductance and the first node via a superconductive path, in parallel with the shunt capacitance of the superconducting resonator and in series with the resonator inductance of the superconducting resonator; and a second DC superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) coupled between the first DC SQUID and the first node via a superconductive path, in parallel with the shunt capacitance of the superconducting resonator and in series with the resonator inductance of the superconducting resonator and in series with the first DC SQUID of the superconducting resonator.”, ¶[0009]: “The transmission line may be a microwave transmission line, and the superconducting resonator is a microwave superconducting resonator.”)
the terminating shift register stage of a respective communication shift register is inductively coupled to the second SQUID of the superconducting microwave resonator to transmit qubit state information corresponding to qubits of the plurality of qubits to the readout interface. (Whittaker, ¶[0065]: “Circuit 100a further comprises a transmission line 110, a coupling capacitance 112, and a last shift register stage 114 (also referred to in the present application as a final shift register stage). Last shift register stage 114 comprises inductances 116 and 118, SQUID loop 120 and interface 122. Last shift register stage 114 may, for example, take the form of a Quantum Flux Parametron (QFP). Last shift register stage 114 is the endpoint of a shift register comprising one or more stages. Last shift register stage 114 is a stage that can be communicatively coupled to superconducting resonator 102 for the purposes of reading out the state of a superconducting device.”, ¶[0169]: “Superconducting circuit 800a includes a superconducting resonator 202a ( comprising elements encompassed by a broken-line box in FIG. SA) that includes two SQUID loops 204a and 204b.”, ¶[0170]: “SQUID loop 204b is inductively coupled to a last shift register stage 114.”) [Examiner’s note: “the second SQUID” i.e., SQUID loop 204b]
The combination of Berkley, Boothby and Whittaker are analogous art because they are in the same field of training time series data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Berkley, Boothby and Whittaker before them, to modify the teachings Berkley, Boothby to include the teachings of Whittaker to provide sensitive, rapid and frequency-multiplexed detection of qubit-state information transmitted by the shift registers, thereby improving readout scalability and reducing the number of external readout lines.
Conclusion
/AMY TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126