DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
New claims 14-26 are presently under consideration and claims 1-13 are cancelled as set forth in the preliminary amendment filed 14 May 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer passivating the absorber layer is a deposited silicon-based layer”, where it’s not clear if the recitation of “and/or at least one passivation layer” is a required or optional limitation in the claim. It’s unclear from the wording if claim 14 requires at least one passivation layer in the perovskite solar cell that is optionally a silicon-based material or if the passivation layer is not required if the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer is a deposited silicon-based layer. As such, the scope of claim 14 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 15-26 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 14.
Claim 15 recites an amorphous p-doped silicon (p-aSi:H) and an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) where each of these recitation includes a narrower hydrogenated material in parentheses. It’s unclear if the limitation in parentheses are further required limitations in the claim and if the amorphous silicon is open to inclusion of further elements or alloying such as further including oxygen or carbon. As such, the scope of claim 15 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 16 recites “wherein a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material” but claim 16 lacks antecedent basis for the recitation “the electron transport material” and it’s not clear what the electron transport material is meant to reference.
Claim 16 recites and an undoped (i-aSi:H) and an n-doped aSi-layer (n-aSi:H) where each of these recitation includes a narrower hydrogenated material in parentheses. It’s unclear if the limitation in parentheses are further required limitations in the claim and if the amorphous silicon is open to inclusion of further elements or alloying such as further including oxygen or carbon.
As such, the scope of claim 16 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 17 is also rendered indefinite for the same reasons as claim 16 above by depending from indefinite claim 16.
Claim 18 recites “wherein a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material” but claim 18 lacks antecedent basis for the recitation “the electron transport material” and it’s not clear what the electron transport material is meant to reference. As such, the scope of claim 18 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 18 recites an undoped-n-doped aSi-gradient layer (n*-a-Si:H) where each of this recitation includes a narrower hydrogenated material in parentheses. It’s unclear if the limitation in parentheses is a further required limitation in the claim and if the amorphous silicon is open to inclusion of further elements or alloying such as further including oxygen or carbon. As such, the scope of claim 18 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite
Claim 19 recites “n*-a-Si” and “n*-aSi” where it’s not clear what materials these recitations encompass, if it’s n-type amorphous silicon or if the * means to represent an additional limitation. As such, the scope of claim 19 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 21 recites “wherein at least one out of the n-Si layer and/or p-Si layer is a nano- or microcrystalline silicon layer or silicon alloy layer” but claim 21 previously defines multiple n-Si layers and multiple p-Si layers and thus it’s not clear which n-Si layer and/or p-Si layer is being referenced by the n-Si layer and/or p-Si layer. As such, the scope of claim 21 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 23 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 21
Claim 24 recites “all layers of the solar cell” but claim 14 from which claim 24 depends recites “the perovskite solar cell is either a single-junction solar cell or at least one sub-cell of a multi-junction solar cell” which makes it unclear if “all layers of the solar cell” in claim 24 means all layers of the perovskite solar cell as the single-junction solar cell or includes all layer of the multi-junction solar cell. As such, the scope of claim 24 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 25-26 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 14 Mishima discloses a perovskite solar cell, wherein the perovskite solar cell is either a single-junction solar cell or at least one sub-cell of a multi-junction solar cell (Fig. 1), wherein the perovskite solar cell has:
an absorber made from a perovskite material ([0026], Fig. 1 see: perovskite light absorption layer 11),
an electron transport layer, connected in a conductive manner with at least one negative contact of the perovskite solar cell ([0028] Fig. 1 see: charge transport layer 12 which can function as an electron transport layer connected to electrode 5),
a hole transport layer, connected in a conductive manner with at least one positive contact of the perovskite solar cell ([0030], Fig. 1 see: intermediate layer 3 functions as a charge transport layer for holes when p-type connected to electrode 6),
wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer passivating the absorber layer is a deposited silicon-based layer ([0030], Fig. 1 see: intermediate layer 3 is a silicon-based thin film).
The claim 14 recitation “wherein the electron transport layer is used as a hole reflector and the hole transport layer is used as an electron reflector” is directed to an intended use of the claimed electron transport layer and hole transport layer. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
The electron transport layer of Mishima is consider fully capable of the use as a hole reflector and the hole transport layer of Mishima is considered fully capable of the use as an electron reflector (paras [0004], [0029]).
Regarding claim 20 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer, passivating the absorber layer, is a hydrogenated nanocrystalline silicon layer (ncSi:H) or microcrystalline silicon layer (ucSi:H) ([0030], [0033], [0035], Fig. 1 see: intermediate layer 3 is a microcrystalline silicon and is hydrogenated).
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn et al (US 2020/0176618).
Regarding claim 14 Ahn discloses a perovskite solar cell, wherein the perovskite solar cell is either a single-junction solar cell (Fig. 2) or at least one sub-cell of a multi-junction solar cell (Fig. 3), wherein the perovskite solar cell has:
an absorber made from a perovskite material ([0054], Fig. 2 see: perovskite layer 124),
an electron transport layer, connected in a conductive manner with at least one negative contact of the perovskite solar cell ([0054], Fig. 2 see: electron transport layer 125 connected to electrode 127,
a hole transport layer, connected in a conductive manner with at least one positive contact of the perovskite solar cell ([0054], Fig. 2 see: p-type hole transport layer 123 and having a composition containing silicon (Si) connected to transparent electrode 122),
wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer passivating the absorber layer is a deposited silicon-based layer ([0054], [0022] Fig. 2 see: p-type hole transport layer 123 and having a composition containing silicon (Si) and electron transport layer 125 may also have a composition containing silicon (Si)).
The claim 14 recitation “wherein the electron transport layer is used as a hole reflector and the hole transport layer is used as an electron reflector” is directed to an intended use of the claimed electron transport layer and hole transport layer. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
The electron transport layer of Ahn is considered fully capable of the use as a hole reflector and the hole transport layer of Ahn is considered fully capable of the use as an electron reflector.
Regarding claim 20 Ahn discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer, passivating the absorber layer, is a hydrogenated nanocrystalline silicon layer (ncSi:H) or microcrystalline silicon layer (ucSi:H) ([0083], [0126] see: n-type or p-type microcrystalline silicon as the material of the electron transport layer or hole transport layer considered hydrogenated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and further in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170).
Regarding claim 15 modified Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, wherein the material of the hole transport layer is an amorphous p-doped silicon (p-aSi:H) ([0015], [0030], [0047], Fig. 1 see: intermediate layer 3 is a silicon-based thin film that can be p-type and include amorphous silicon),
Mishima does not explicitly disclose wherein an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) is arranged as a passivation layer between the absorber and the p-doped amorphous silicon.
Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell which is sandwiched between n-type and p-type semiconducting layers as selective electron and hole extraction layers which may each be amorphous-Si and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si).
Snaith and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith such that the solar cell of Mishima further includes an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) is arranged as a passivation layer between the absorber and the p-doped amorphous silicon as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include a p-type semiconducting layer of amorphous-Si as a selective hole extraction layer and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at an interface of the amorphous p-doped silicon layer and absorber in Mishima.
Alternatively, where the intermediate layer 3 is an n-doped silicon based thin film and the charge transport layer 12 is the p-type hole transport layer, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith such that the solar cell of Mishima further includes an amorphous p-doped silicon (p-aSi:H) and intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) is arranged as a passivation layer between the absorber and the p-doped amorphous silicon as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include a p-type semiconducting layer of amorphous-Si as a selective hole extraction layer and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at an interface of the amorphous p-doped silicon layer and absorber in Mishima.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, in further view of HU (CN 104157789A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0175450) and further in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170).
Regarding claim 16 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, and although Mishima teaches the same material (zinc oxide) can be used for a TCO contact (para [0053]) and electron transport material (para [0029]) Mishima does not explicitly disclose wherein a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material and an undoped (i-aSi:H) and an n-doped aSi-layer (n-aSi:H) is arranged between the absorber layer and the TCO contact layer.
HU teaches a perovskite solar cell where a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material (HU, Abstract, [0015], Figs. 1-3 see: TCO-1 layer functioning as front electrode and electron transport materials (ETM)).
HU and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of HU such that a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material as in HU (HU, Abstract, [0015], Figs. 1-3 see: TCO-1 layer functioning as front electrode and electron transport materials (ETM)) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known TCO and ETM material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result of simplifying ETM and TCO manufacture.
Modified Mishima does not explicitly disclose an undoped (i-aSi:H) and an n-doped aSi-layer (n-aSi:H) is arranged between the absorber layer and the TCO contact layer.
Kim discloses a charge transport layer deposited over a perovskite absorber can be formed of an n-type silicon containing material such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)).
Kim and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Kim such that the charge transport layer 12 of Mishima comprises amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) as part of the electron transport layer between a TCO contact and the perovskite absorber as taught by Kim (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known perovskite solar cell electron transport material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of transporting electrons and blocking holes.
Furthermore Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell which is sandwiched between n-type and p-type semiconducting layers as selective electron and hole extraction layers which may each be amorphous-Si and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si).
Snaith and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith such that the solar cell of Mishima further includes an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) is arranged as a passivation layer between the absorber and the n-doped aSi-layer (n-aSi:H) in solar cell of modified Mishima as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include an n-type semiconducting layer of amorphous-Si as a selective electron extraction layer and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at an interface of the amorphous n-doped silicon layer and absorber in modified Mishima.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of HU (CN 104157789A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0175450) in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170) as applied to claims 14, 16, and 20 above, and further in view of Johnson et al (US 2007/0023081).
Regarding claim 17 modified Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 16, and regard the claim 17 limitation “wherein the sum of the undoped (i-aSi:H) and the n-doped aSi layer (n-aSi:H) is thinner than 2 nm”
Johnson discloses such amorphous silicon layers thicknesses are generally less than or equal to 350 angstroms and photoelectric conversion efficiency of the device, as well as its open circuit voltage (V.sub.OC) and short circuit current (I.sub.SC) are variables that can be optimized by varying and selecting an appropriate thickness of the amorphous silicon layers (Johnson, [0031]). The thickness sum of the undoped (i-aSi:H) and the n-doped aSi layer (n-aSi:H) is therefore a result effective variable. The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See Jn re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and in further view of HU (CN 104157789A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0175450) and further in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170) and further in view of Johnson et al (US 2007/0023081).
Regarding claim 18 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, and although Mishima teaches the same material (zinc oxide) can be used for a TCO contact (para [0053]) and electron transport material (para [0029]) Mishima does not explicitly disclose wherein a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material and an undoped-n-doped aSi-gradient layer (n*-aSi:H) is arranged between the absorber layer and the TCO contact layer.
HU teaches a perovskite solar cell where a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material (HU, Abstract, [0015], Figs. 1-3 see: TCO-1 layer functioning as front electrode and electron transport materials (ETM)).
HU and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of HU such that a TCO contact layer of the perovskite solar cell is simultaneously also the electron transport material as in HU (HU, Abstract, [0015], Figs. 1-3 see: TCO-1 layer functioning as front electrode and electron transport materials (ETM)) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known TCO and ETM material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result of simplifying ETM and TCO manufacture.
Hu disclose where graded n/n + back electric fields improve carrier collection efficiency (Hu, [0019]), but does not explicitly disclose an undoped-n-doped aSi-gradient layer (n*-aSi:H) is arranged between the absorber layer and the TCO contact layer.
Kim discloses a charge transport layer deposited over a perovskite absorber can be formed of an n-type silicon containing material such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)).
Kim and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Kim such that the charge transport layer 12 of Mishima comprises amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) as part of the electron transport layer between a TCO contact and the perovskite absorber as taught by Kim (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known perovskite solar cell electron transport material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of transporting electrons and blocking holes.
Furthermore Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell which is sandwiched between n-type and p-type semiconducting layers as selective electron and hole extraction layers which may each be amorphous-Si and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si).
Additionally Johnson teaches such amorphous silicon semiconductor layers can be compositionally graded from intrinsic to doped to avoid the additional interface between the intrinsic layer and overlying amorphous region to minimize the problem of charge-carrier recombination at various interface regions between semiconductor layers to improve device performance (Johnson, Abstract, [0011]-[0012]).
Modified Mishima and Snaith and Johnson are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith and Johnson such that the amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) layer of the electron transport layer of Mishima is an undoped-n-doped aSi-gradient layer (n*-aSi:H) as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include an n-type semiconducting layer of amorphous-Si as a selective electron extraction layer and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and Johnson teaches such amorphous silicon semiconductor layers can be compositionally graded from intrinsic to doped to avoid the additional interface between the intrinsic layer and overlying amorphous region to minimize the problem of charge-carrier recombination at various interface regions between semiconductor layers to improve device performance (Johnson, Abstract, [0011]-[0012]). Thus one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at an interface of the amorphous n-doped silicon layer and absorber in modified Mishima.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and further in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0175450) and further in view of Johnson et al (US 2007/0023081).
Regarding claim 19 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, wherein the perovskite solar cell is arranged as a perovskite sub-cell on a silicon heterojunction sub-cell in a tandem solar cell, wherein the tandem solar cell is a two-terminal tandem solar cell, which has the following layer construction in Fig. 1 and paras [0015], [0021], [0023]-[0024], [0030], [0047], [0052]:
TCO (transparent conductive layer 61)/p-aSi (p-type amorphous silicon thin film 25)/i-aSi (intrinsic amorphous silicon thin film 23)/n-Si-wafer (n-type single crystal silicon substrate 21)/n*-a-Si/p-aSi(intermediate layer 3 is a silicon-based thin film that can be p-type and include amorphous silicon)/i-aSi/absorber(perovskite light absorbing layer 11)/n*-aSi(8)/TCO(transparent conductive layer 51).
However, Mishima does not explicitly disclose that the perovskite subcell has a layer “n*-aSi(8)” between the TCO and perovskite layer, or an i-aSi between the p-aSi and perovskite solar cell, or that the n-type amorphous silicon thin film 24 and intrinsic silicon thin film 22 on the front surface of the crystalline silicon wafer are a single layer “n*-a-Si”.
Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell which is sandwiched between n-type and p-type semiconducting layers as selective electron and hole extraction layers which may each be amorphous-Si and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si).
Snaith and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith such that the solar cell of Mishima further includes an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) is arranged as a passivation layer between the absorber and the p-doped amorphous silicon as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include a p-type semiconducting layer of amorphous-Si as a selective hole extraction layer and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at an interface of the amorphous p-doped silicon layer and absorber in Mishima.
Kim discloses a charge transport layer deposited over a perovskite absorber can be formed of an n-type silicon containing material such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)).
Kim and modified Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Kim such that the charge transport layer 12 of Mishima comprises amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) as part of the electron transport layer between a TCO contact and the perovskite absorber as taught by Kim (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known perovskite solar cell electron transport material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of transporting electrons and blocking holes.
Additionally Johnson teaches such amorphous silicon semiconductor layers can be compositionally graded from intrinsic to doped to avoid the additional interface between the intrinsic layer and overlying amorphous region to minimize the problem of charge-carrier recombination at various interface regions between semiconductor layers to improve device performance (Johnson, Abstract, [0011]-[0012]).
Johnson and modified Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith and Johnson such that the amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) layer of the electron transport layer of Mishima is an undoped-n-doped aSi-gradient layer (n*-aSi:H) as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include an n-type semiconducting layer of amorphous-Si as a selective electron extraction layer and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and Johnson teaches such amorphous silicon semiconductor layers can be compositionally graded from intrinsic to doped to avoid the additional interface between the intrinsic layer and overlying amorphous region to minimize the problem of charge-carrier recombination at various interface regions between semiconductor layers to improve device performance (Johnson, Abstract, [0011]-[0012]). Thus one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at an interface of the amorphous n-doped silicon layer and absorber in modified Mishima.
Likewise it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Johnson such that the n-type amorphous silicon thin film 24 and intrinsic silicon thin film 22 on the front surface of the crystalline silicon wafer of Mishima are a single layer graded n*-a-Si as Johnson teaches such compositionally graded amorphous silicon semiconductor layers avoid the additional interface between the intrinsic layer and overlying amorphous region to minimize the problem of charge-carrier recombination at various interface regions between semiconductor layers to improve device performance (Johnson, Abstract, [0011]-[0012]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0175450) and further in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170).
Regarding claim 21 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 20, wherein the perovskite solar cell is arranged as a perovskite sub-cell on a silicon heterojunction sub-cell in a tandem solar cell, wherein the tandem solar cell is a two-terminal tandem solar cell, which has the following layer construction in Fig. 1 and paras [0015], [0021], [0023]-[0024], [0030], [0047], [0052]:
TCO(transparent conductive layer 61)/p-Si (p-type silicon thin film 25)/i-aSi(intrinsic amorphous silicon thin film 23)/n-Si-wafer (n-type single crystal silicon substrate 21)/i-aSi (intrinsic silicon thin film 22)/n-Si (n-type silicon thin film 24)/p-Si(intermediate layer 3 is a silicon-based thin film)/i-aSi(7)/absorber(perovskite light absorbing layer 11)/i-aSi/n-Si/TCO (transparent conductive layer 51),
wherein at least one out of the n-Si layer and/or p-Si layer is a nano- or microcrystalline silicon layer or silicon alloy layer ([0030], [0033], [0035], Fig. 1 see: intermediate layer 3 is a microcrystalline silicon).
However, Mishima does not explicitly disclose that the perovskite subcell has a layer “n-Si” between the TCO and perovskite layer, or an i-aSi between the p-Si and perovskite absorber and the n-Si and the perovskite absorber.
Kim discloses a charge transport layer deposited over a perovskite absorber can be formed of an n-type silicon containing material such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)).
Kim and modified Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Kim such that the charge transport layer 12 of Mishima comprises amorphous silicon (n-a-Si) as part of the electron transport layer between a TCO contact and the perovskite absorber as taught by Kim (Kim, [0096], [0172], [0187]-[0188] Fig. 12 see: second conduction-type charge transport layer 123 including silicon (Si) such as amorphous silicon (n-a-Si)) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known perovskite solar cell electron transport material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of transporting electrons and blocking holes.
Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell which is sandwiched between n-type and p-type semiconducting layers as selective electron and hole extraction layers which may each be amorphous-Si and can include an undoped (intrinsic) amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si).
Snaith and modified Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Snaith such that the solar cell of Mishima further includes an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (i-aSi:H) arranged as a passivation layer between the perovskite absorber and the p-doped silicon layer and between the perovskite absorber and the n-doped amorphous silicon as Snaith teaches a perovskite solar cell absorber can further include a n-type and p-type semiconducting layers of (amorphous-Si for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si ([0687], [0204]-[0206], [0225] Fig. 1a see: light absorbing perovskite is sandwiched between one n-type and one p-type semiconducting layer (amorphous-Si) for selective electron and hole extraction respectively where said n-type and one p-type semiconducting layers can also include an undoped amorphous Si) and Mishima notes intrinsic amorphous silicon is already known to provide surface passivation to suppress recombination and impurity diffusion in crystalline silicon/doped thin film silicon interfaces ([0024]) and one having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in a similar effect at the respective interfaces of the p-doped silicon layer and n-doped amorphous silicon layer with the perovskite absorber in modified Mishima.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and further in view of VAN ROOSMALEN et al (WO 2017105247A1).
Regarding claim 22 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer, passivating the absorber layer, is a hydrogenated nanocrystalline silicon layer doped with oxygen (ncSiOx:H).
VAN ROOSMALEN discloses a silicon/perovskite tandem solar cell where a charge transport layer of the perovskite absorber (Page 14/Lines6-7) can be a nanocrystalline silicon layer (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page14/Lines 24-32 to Page15/L1-5 Fig. 1 see: fourth electrode layer 138 comprises doped nano-crystalline Si).
VAN ROOSMALEN and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of VAN ROOSMALEN such that the intermediate layer of Mishima is a nanocrystalline silicon layer as in VAN ROOSMALEN (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page14/Lines 24-32 to Page15/L1-5 Fig. 1 see: fourth electrode layer 138 comprises doped nano-crystalline Si) and is doped with oxygen and hydrogenated as Mishima teaches the silicon material of the intermediate layer is preferably hydrogenated and alloyed with oxygen (para [0033]) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known silicon material for its intended use in the known environment of a silicon/perovskite tandem cell to serve its role as a charge transport layer in the perovskite subcell.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and further in view of Puaud et al (US 2024/0121969 A1).
Regarding claim 22 Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electron transport layer and/or the hole transport layer and/or at least one passivation layer, passivating the absorber layer, is a hydrogenated nanocrystalline silicon layer doped with oxygen (ncSiOx:H).
Puaud teaches a silicon/perovskite tandem solar cell where a rear charge transport layer of the perovskite solar cell that also serves a role as a tunnel junction layer is a nanocrystalline silicon layer doped with oxygen (Puaud, [0092], [0105], Fig. 3A see: N-type nanocrystalline or microcrystalline silicon 122 preferably nc-SiOy).
Puaud and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of Puaud such that the intermediate layer of Mishima is a nanocrystalline silicon layer doped with oxygen as in Puaud (Puaud, [0092], [0105], Fig. 3A see: N-type nanocrystalline or microcrystalline silicon 122 preferably nc-SiOy) which is also hydrogenated as such a selection would have amounted to the use of a known silicon alloy material for its intended use in the known environment of a silicon/perovskite tandem cell to serve its role as a charge transport layer in the perovskite subcell and as a tunnel junction layer, and further as Mishima notes such silicon alloy layers can be hydrogenated (para [0033]) which provides the known effect of passivating dangling bonds within the silicon material.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Kim (US 2021/0175450) in view of Snaith et al (US 2015/0249170) as applied to claims 14 and 20-21 above, and further in view of VAN ROOSMALEN et al (WO 2017105247A1)
Regarding claim 23 modified Mishima discloses the perovskite solar cell according to claim 21, wherein the perovskite solar cell is arranged as a perovskite sub-cell on a silicon heterojunction sub-cell in a tandem solar cell, wherein the tandem solar cell is a two-terminal tandem solar cell, which has the following layer construction:
TCO/p-ncSiOx/i-aSi/n-Si-wafer/i-aSi/n-ncSiOx/p-ncSiOx/i-aSi/absorber/i-aSi/n-aSi/TCO with the exception that modified Mishima does not explicitly disclose where silicon-based thin films 25 and 24 are p-ncSiOx and n-ncSiOx respectively or where the intermediate layer 3 is p-ncSiOx.
VAN ROOSMALEN discloses a silicon/perovskite tandem solar cell where a charge transport layer of the perovskite absorber (Page 14/Lines6-7) can be a nanocrystalline silicon layer (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page14/Lines 24-32 to Page15/L1-5 Fig. 1 see: fourth electrode layer 138 comprises p-doped nano-crystalline Si) and where the tunnel junction layer below is n-ncSiOx (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page15/L1-5 see: recombination layer 120 is n+ nano-crystalline SiOx:H) and the rear contact layer of the silicon solar cell is a nanocrystalline silicon film (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page 14/Lines11-16 Fig. 1 see: second electrode layer 118 can further be doped nanocrystalline silicon).
VAN ROOSMALEN and Mishima are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mishima in view of VAN ROOSMALEN such that the silicon-based thin film 24 of Mishima is n-ncSiOx as taught by VAN ROOSMALEN (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page15/L1-5 see: recombination layer 120 is n+ nano-crystalline SiOx:H), the silicon-based thin film 25 of Mishima is doped nanocrystalline silicon as taught by VAN ROOSMALEN (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page 14/Lines11-16 Fig. 1 see: second electrode layer 118 can further be doped nanocrystalline silicon) and the intermediate layer 3 of Mishima is a nanocrystalline silicon layer as in VAN ROOSMALEN (VAN ROOSMALEN, Page14/Lines 24-32 to Page15/L1-5 Fig. 1 see: fourth electrode layer 138 comprises doped nano-crystalline Si) where the silicon-based thin film 25 and intermediate layer 3 are doped with oxygen as Mishima teaches the silicon material of the intermediate layer and silicon-based thin film 25 is preferably alloyed with oxygen (paras [0033], [0023]) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of known silicon materials for their intended use in the known environment of a silicon/perovskite tandem cell to serve as charge transport and/or tunnel junction layers.
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima et al (JP 2017168498A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 14 and 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0175450) and in further view of Mailoa (US 2016/0163904).
Regarding claim 24 Mishima discloses a method for producing a perovskite solar cell according to claim 14, and Mishima discloses wherein all layers of the solar cell are produced in corresponding method sub-steps using vacuum methods (Mishima, [0027], [0037], [0053] see: perovskite absorber is formed by a dry method (vacuum method), intermediate layer 3 is formed by plasma CVD, and transparent conductive layer 51 is formed by a dry method such as a CVD method, a sputtering method, or an ion plating method) except for the layers of metal electrode 52 and the charge transport layer 12 to which Mishima is silent to the method of manufacture.
Kim discloses a charge transport layer deposited over a perovskite absorber can be formed of an n-type silicon containing