DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 and 15 in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of the Application
The status of the claims stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-20
Withdrawn claims: 11-14 and 16-20
Canceled claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 1-10 and 15
Currently rejected claims: 1-10 and 15
Allowed claims: None
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim states “an additional step f) of concentrating or drying the phycobiliprotein-containing micro-organism-based composition obtained in step c) and/or step e) or the pasteurized phycobiliprotein-containing micro-organism-based composition obtained in step e)”. The first recitation of “step e)” appears to be intended to refer to “step d)” in light of the subsequent limitation also directed to step e).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 4-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paul et al. (U.S. 2019/0352509 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Paul et al. discloses a method of producing a phycobiliprotein-containing microorganism-based composition, the method comprising (i) reacting phycobiliprotein-containing microorganisms, water, and a salt for at least 1 hour to provide an aqueous suspension, (ii) obtaining an acidic aqueous suspension having a pH between 2 and 7 starting from the aqueous suspension, and (iii) removing the solids from the acidic aqueous suspension to obtain the phycobiliprotein-containing microorganism-based composition ([0312], [0004]).
As for claim 2, Paul et al. discloses the salt as being an alkaline earth metal salt (specifically, calcium chloride) and acidification occurs via adding an acidifier to the aqueous suspension to obtain the acidic aqueous suspension having a pH between 2 and 5 ([0312]).
As for claim 4, Paul et al. discloses cyanobacteria are used to prepare a cyanobacteria-based composition ([0002], [0031]).
As for claim 5, Paul et al. discloses fresh phycobiliprotein-containing microorganisms are used as the source material ([0405]).
As for claim 6, Paul et al. discloses concentrating and drying the phycobiliprotein-containing microorganism-based composition to obtain a concentrated or dried phycobiliprotein-containing microorganism-based composition ([0314], [0316], [0318])).
As for claim 7, Paul et al. discloses separating the acidic aqueous suspension into an aqueous water soluble extract composition and a non-water soluble extract composition ([0312], [0053]).
As for claim 8, Paul et al. discloses the separation step as being performed via centrifugation ([0312]).
As for claim 15, Paul et al. discloses heating the phycocyanin material at 80-85°C for 8 hours ([0320]), which encompasses and thus anticipates the claimed pasteurization protocol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (U.S. 2019/0352509 A1) in view of Sakakibara et al. (U.S. 2006/0210545 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Paul et al. discloses the method of claim 1.
Paul et al. does not disclose the step of obtaining an acidic aqueous suspension as comprising adding lactic acid bacteria and allowing it to ferment until a pH between 2 to 5 is obtained.
However, Sakakibara et al. discloses mixing spirulina with lactic acid bacteria and fermenting ([0009]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to ferment lactic acid bacteria in the mixture of Paul et al. First, Paul et al. indicates that phycocyanin is useful as a natural pigment in food products ([0004]). A skilled practitioner would be motivated to ensure the component did not exhibit ancillary undesired properties, such as a poor taste, and would be motivated to consult Sakakibara et al. for further clarification regarding extraction of phycocyanin. Since Sakakibara et al. discloses that addition of lactic acid bacteria and subsequent fermentation to a mixture comprising spirulina reduces odor/taste of the spirulina, resulting in spirulina that “is readily amenable for use in health foods and other food-related products” ([0009]), a skilled practitioner would find adding lactic acid bacteria to the aqueous suspension of Paul et al. and allowing it to ferment until a pH between 2 and 5 is obtained to be obvious.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (U.S. 2019/0352509 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Paul et al. discloses the method of claim 1.
Paul et al. does not specifically disclose the obtained composition as having color values as presently claimed.
However, Paul et al. does disclose a phycocyanin is useful as blue-colored pigment ([0008]), which would encompass values that fall within the claimed a* and b* color values according to the CIELAB color space. The claimed ranges of a* of between -10 and -4 and b* of between 10 and -40 are thus considered obvious to a skilled practitioner.
Regarding claim 10, Paul et al. discloses the method of claim 1. Paul et al. further discloses that during the reaction step the pH is >5 and the temperature range from about 10-25°C ([0062]).
Paul et al. does not specifically disclose the temperature as being at most 5°C.
However, the instruction in Paul et al. that the temperature may be “about 10° C” suggests temperatures below 10° C are considered to be encompassed within the disclosed range. Also, MPEP 2144.05 II A states: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’” The disclosed range is thus considered adequate to deem the claimed temperature of at most 5°C during the reaction step obvious.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793