DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, 15-17 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by RAGHAVAN (US 20210409128 A1).
Regarding claim 1, RAGHAVAN teaches a method for calibrating antennas, applied to a terminal (RAGHAVAN discloses a method of wireless communication for a user equipment (UE), which acts as a terminal, to assist in online antenna calibration, para. 0014-22), comprising:
receiving a calibration resource set transmitted from a network device, wherein the calibration resource set is configured to indicate configuration information associated with a calibration pilot signal (RAGHAVAN teaches the UE receiving a request to perform antenna calibration measurements during measurement gaps for two or more transmission reception points (TRPs). Under BRI, this request acts as a calibration resource set that configures the measurement gaps for making the measurements. The request indicates configuration information, such as quasi-co-location (QCL) mapping and timing information, for the reference signals. These reference signals act as the calibration pilot signals, para. 0084-89,111-123); and
receiving a downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting an uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set, to assist the network device in performing antenna calibration (RAGHAVAN discloses both receiving a downlink calibration pilot signal and transmitting an uplink calibration pilot signal to assist the network. RRAGHAVAN teaches that the UE performs antenna calibration measurements on reference signals received from the two or more TRPs during the measurement gaps. Furthermore, RAGHAVAN teaches transmitting a request for the UE to transmit reference signals to two or more TRPs during measurement gaps for antenna calibration, and the UE transmitting those reference signals during the gaps. A base station calibrates the antenna elements of the TRPs based on these antenna calibration measurements, para. 0108-123).
Regarding claim 2, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the calibration resource set comprises one or more of the following: a calibration resource set for transmission, wherein the calibration resource set for transmission is configured to indicate configuration information associated with the downlink calibration pilot signal; a calibration resource set for reception, wherein the calibration resource set for reception is configured to indicate configuration information associated with the uplink calibration pilot signal; or, a calibration resource set for transmission and reception, wherein the calibration resource set for transmission and reception is configured to indicate configuration information associated with the downlink calibration pilot signal and the uplink calibration pilot signal (RAGHAVAN teaches a calibration resource set configured for indicating information for both downlink and uplink calibration pilot signals. Specifically, RAGHAVAN teaches configuring measurement gaps wherein the network coordinates transmission of reference signals to the UE (downlink). RAGHAVAN also teaches configuring measurement gaps specifically for the UE to transmit reference signals to the TRPs for antenna calibration measurements (uplink), para. 0111-123).
Regarding claim 3, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the configuration information associated with the calibration pilot signal comprises one or more of the following: a type of the calibration pilot signal; a frequency domain resource occupied by the calibration pilot signal; a timing for transmitting the calibration pilot signal; the number of symbols occupied by the calibration pilot signal; the number of offset symbols corresponding to the calibration pilot signal; a period for transmitting the calibration pilot signal; a subframe interval for transmitting the calibration pilot signal; the number of times for transmitting the calibration pilot signal; or, a sequence of transmission calibration and reception calibration (RAGHAVAN explicitly teaches providing timing information for the reference signals. It also teaches determining a periodicity (i.e., a period for transmitting) for the measurement gaps based on capabilities like the number of panels or required array gains. Additionally, RAGHAVAN discloses the type of calibration pilot signal used, indicating that the reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), para. 0084-111).
Regarding claim 4, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving indication information transmitted from the network device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to perform antenna calibration (RAGHAVAN teaches the terminal (UE) receiving a request from the network device (base station/TRPs) instructing it to perform antenna calibration measurements. Under BRI, this "request" maps to the "indication information", "The method may include receiving a request to perform antenna calibration measurements during measurement gaps, for two or more transmission reception points (TRPs)", "The request 720 may be a RRC message or a MAC control element (MAC-CE)”, para. 0084-89).
Regarding claim 8, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the indication information comprises one or more of downlink control information (DCI) or media access control control element (MAC CE). R1 explicitly teaches that the request (indication information) to perform antenna calibration measurements may be transmitted as a MAC CE (RAGHAVAN teaches "The request 720 may be a RRC message or a MAC control element (MAC-CE)”, para. 0084-89).
Regarding claim 9, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the calibration pilot signal occupies all subcarriers in a frequency domain wherein the calibration pilot signal is located (RAGHAVAN discloses transmitting reference signals (such as CSI-RS) mapped to OFDM subcarriers in a resource grid, para. 0062,84).
Regarding claim 10, RAGHAVAN teaches a method for calibrating antennas, applied to a network device, comprising:
transmitting a calibration resource set to a terminal, wherein the calibration resource set is configured to indicate configuration information associated with a calibration pilot signal (RAGHAVAN teaches the base station transmitting a request configuring measurement gaps and indicating timing/QCL mapping for reference signals (the calibration pilot signals) to the UE. "The method may include transmitting a request for one or more user equipment (UEs) to perform antenna calibration measurements, for two or more transmission reception points (TRPs), during measurement gaps." "The request 720 may configure the measurement gaps for making the antenna calibration measurements. In some implementations, the request 720 includes a joint QCL mapping for reception of transmissions from the TRPs 412, 414 to the one or more UEs 104.", para. 0084-89); and
performing antenna calibration based on an uplink calibration pilot signal transmitted from the terminal and/or a measurement result corresponding to a downlink calibration pilot signal (RAGHAVAN teaches calibrating antennas based on both a measurement report of downlink reference signals and the UE transmitting uplink reference signals, para. 0014-22).
Regarding claim 16, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: performing a dynamic update for a set of auxiliary calibration terminals based on a signal measurement result reported from the terminals and/or a measurement result obtained by measuring a signal transmitted from the terminal (RAGHAVAN teaches selecting a group of UEs to assist the TRPs based on capabilities, power/thermal overheads, and data rate requirements, para. 0080-83).
Regarding claim 26, RAGHAVAN teaches a network device, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (RAGHAVAN, para. 0013,18), and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the method of claim 10.
Regarding claims 11-13 and 15, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2-4 and 8, respectively.
Regarding claim 17, RAGHAVAN teaches a terminal, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (RAGHAVAN, para. 0013,18), and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations of:
receiving a calibration resource set transmitted from a network device, wherein the calibration resource set is configured to indicate configuration information associated with a calibration pilot signal (RAGHAVAN teaches the UE receiving a request to perform antenna calibration measurements during measurement gaps for two or more transmission reception points (TRPs). Under BRI, this request acts as a calibration resource set that configures the measurement gaps for making the measurements. The request indicates configuration information, such as quasi-co-location (QCL) mapping and timing information, for the reference signals. These reference signals act as the calibration pilot signals, para. 0084-89,111-123); and
receiving a downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting an uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set, to assist the network device in performing antenna calibration (RAGHAVAN discloses both receiving a downlink calibration pilot signal and transmitting an uplink calibration pilot signal to assist the network. RRAGHAVAN teaches that the UE performs antenna calibration measurements on reference signals received from the two or more TRPs during the measurement gaps. Furthermore, RAGHAVAN teaches transmitting a request for the UE to transmit reference signals to two or more TRPs during measurement gaps for antenna calibration, and the UE transmitting those reference signals during the gaps. A base station calibrates the antenna elements of the TRPs based on these antenna calibration measurements, para. 0108-123).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAGHAVAN as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of JIANG (US 20190349098 A1)
Regarding claim 5, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 4.
RAGHAVAN is silent to teaching that wherein the indication information is first indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration;
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set comprises:
determining an antenna calibration type based on the calibration resource set; and
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the antenna calibration type, the first indication information and the calibration resource set.
In the same field of endeavor, JIANG teaches a method wherein the indication information is first indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration (JIANG describes a "calibration confirmation indication" which "may indicate that the second radio node is acknowledges (or rejects) the calibration". Under BRI, an indication that acknowledges or rejects the calibration process equates to indicating the starting or stopping of the calibration, para. 0040-47);
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set comprises:
determining an antenna calibration type based on the calibration resource set (JIANG teaches that a calibration configuration (which maps to the calibration resource set) provides parameters for the calibration signaling. Specifically, it states that "The calibration configuration may for example indicate and/or comprise the density of the time/frequency resources of calibration signaling... and/or the trigger type for transmitting the calibration signaling (e.g., event-based or periodical)". Under BRI, determining an event-based or periodical "trigger type" from the configuration reads on determining an antenna calibration type, para. 0022-31); and
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the antenna calibration type, the first indication information and the calibration resource set (JIAN teaches that the node performs transmission of the calibration signaling according to the calibration configuration. The initiation of this signaling is predicated on the node receiving the confirmation indication and utilizing the configured parameters (such as the trigger type/calibration type, para. 0040-47).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to combine the multi-TRP measurement gap calibration method of RAGHAVAN with the flexible, confirmation-based calibration protocol of JIANG.
While RAGHAVAN effectively teaches scheduling measurement gaps to perform calibration without interrupting standard data signaling, it lacks a dynamic, explicit handshake mechanism to immediately halt or confirm the calibration procedure based on instantaneous network assessments (such as the "first indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration"). JIANG identifies the problem that "too frequent calibration will bring too much overhead," noting that UEs with high RF quality or low speed do not need frequent calibrations. JIANG solves this by introducing a confirmation bit that allows the network to explicitly indicate whether the node shall continue to proceed with calibration.
A POSITA would recognize that incorporating JIANG’s explicit confirmation signaling (start/stop bit) into RAGHAVAN’s measurement gap framework would provide the network with tighter, more dynamic control over the calibration process. The predictable result of this combination would be optimized network resource utilization and reduced power consumption at the UE. By allowing the base station to explicitly signal the UE to stop or abort an impending calibration measurement if real-time conditions (e.g., sudden heavy traffic load or a determination that the UE is moving too slowly to warrant recalibration) deem it unnecessary, the combined system prevents the waste of valuable measurement gaps and saves the UE's battery life.
Regarding claim 6, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 4.
RAGHAVAN is silent to teaching that wherein the indication information comprises second indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration, and third indication information indicating an antenna calibration type;
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set comprises:
determining the antenna calibration type based on the third indication information; and
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the antenna calibration type, the second indication information and the calibration resource set.
In the same field of endeavor, JIANG teaches a method wherein the indication information comprises second indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration, and third indication information indicating an antenna calibration type (JIANG teaches a "calibration configuration" message that can "include and/or indicate whether or not a UE (as first radio node) needs calibration," which maps to the second indication information indicating starting/stopping calibration. Furthermore, this same configuration indicates the "trigger type of the calibration (event or periodical)," which maps to the third indication information indicating a calibration type, para. 0022-59);
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set comprises:
determining the antenna calibration type based on the third indication information (JIANG determines how to perform the calibration based on the indicated "trigger type" (e.g., event-based or periodical) extracted from the configuration, para. 0022-31); and
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the antenna calibration type, the second indication information and the calibration resource set (JIANG discloses "transmitting, to the first radio node, calibration signaling according to the calibration configuration". Because the calibration configuration contains the time/frequency resources (the resource set), the trigger type (calibration type), and the need for calibration (start/stop), transmitting according to this configuration satisfies the limitation, para. 0011-31).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to combine the multi-TRP measurement gap calibration method of RAGHAVAN with the flexible, confirmation-based calibration protocol of JIANG.
While RAGHAVAN effectively teaches scheduling measurement gaps to perform calibration without interrupting standard data signaling, it lacks a dynamic, explicit handshake mechanism to immediately halt or confirm the calibration procedure based on instantaneous network assessments (such as the "first indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration"). JIANG identifies the problem that "too frequent calibration will bring too much overhead," noting that UEs with high RF quality or low speed do not need frequent calibrations. JIANG solves this by introducing a confirmation bit that allows the network to explicitly indicate whether the node shall continue to proceed with calibration.
A POSITA would recognize that incorporating JIANG’s explicit confirmation signaling (start/stop bit) into RAGHAVAN’s measurement gap framework would provide the network with tighter, more dynamic control over the calibration process. The predictable result of this combination would be optimized network resource utilization and reduced power consumption at the UE. By allowing the base station to explicitly signal the UE to stop or abort an impending calibration measurement if real-time conditions (e.g., sudden heavy traffic load or a determination that the UE is moving too slowly to warrant recalibration) deem it unnecessary, the combined system prevents the waste of valuable measurement gaps and saves the UE's battery life.
Regarding claim 7, RAGHAVAN teaches the method of claim 4.
RAGHAVAN is silent to teaching that wherein the indication information is fourth indication information indicating starting or stopping antenna calibration of a specified type;
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set comprises:
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the fourth indication information and the calibration resource set.
In the same field of endeavor, JIANG teaches a method wherein the indication information is fourth indication information indicating starting or stopping antenna calibration of a specified type (JIANG teaches a "calibration configuration" message that "include[s] and/or indicate[s] whether or not a UE (as first radio node) needs calibration," which serves as the indication to start or stop the calibration. In that same message, it indicates the "trigger type of the calibration (event or periodical)," which under BRI maps to indicating an antenna calibration of a "specified type". Thus, the configuration message acts as the fourth indication information, para. 0093-99);
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the calibration resource set comprises:
receiving the downlink calibration pilot signal and/or transmitting the uplink calibration pilot signal based on the fourth indication information and the calibration resource set (JIANG teaches that the calibration configuration indicates the "density of the time/frequency resources of calibration signaling" (the calibration resource set). The source further discloses "transmitting, to the first radio node, calibration signaling according to the calibration configuration". Because the configuration dictates the start/stop need, the trigger type, and the resources, transmitting the calibration signaling according to this configuration satisfies the limitation of transmitting based on the fourth indication information and the calibration resource set, para. 0011-30).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have been motivated to combine the multi-TRP measurement gap calibration method of RAGHAVAN with the flexible, confirmation-based calibration protocol of JIANG.
While RAGHAVAN effectively teaches scheduling measurement gaps to perform calibration without interrupting standard data signaling, it lacks a dynamic, explicit handshake mechanism to immediately halt or confirm the calibration procedure based on instantaneous network assessments (such as the "first indication information indicating starting or stopping calibration"). JIANG identifies the problem that "too frequent calibration will bring too much overhead," noting that UEs with high RF quality or low speed do not need frequent calibrations. JIANG solves this by introducing a confirmation bit that allows the network to explicitly indicate whether the node shall continue to proceed with calibration.
A POSITA would recognize that incorporating JIANG’s explicit confirmation signaling (start/stop bit) into RAGHAVAN’s measurement gap framework would provide the network with tighter, more dynamic control over the calibration process. The predictable result of this combination would be optimized network resource utilization and reduced power consumption at the UE. By allowing the base station to explicitly signal the UE to stop or abort an impending calibration measurement if real-time conditions (e.g., sudden heavy traffic load or a determination that the UE is moving too slowly to warrant recalibration) deem it unnecessary, the combined system prevents the waste of valuable measurement gaps and saves the UE's battery life.
Regarding claim 14, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 5-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20230327783A1, US20220386146A1, US20230268967A1, US20210076370A1 and US20230198637A1 teach antenna calibrations
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648