Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over TANG(CN205105071U).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a rotor(10) of a brushless motor(title), comprising a rotor core (1), multiple first magnets (8) for generating first magnetic fields in a radial direction of the rotor core (1), and multiple second magnets (2) for generating second magnetic fields in a tangential direction of the rotor core (1), wherein the multiple first magnets (8) and the multiple second magnets (2) are alternately arranged one by one in a circumferential direction of the rotor core (1) so that the first magnetic fields and the second magnetic fields are mixed to form a hybrid magnetic field(Fig. 1-5).
Regarding claim 2/1, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 1.
Tang further teaches wherein the first magnets (8) and the second magnets (2) are all bar shaped magnets(Fig. 5), each of the first magnets (2) has a first width direction and a first thickness direction perpendicular to the first width direction(Fig. 5); the first width direction is perpendicular to the radial direction of the rotor core (1), and the first thickness direction is perpendicular to the tangential direction of the rotor core (1); each of the second magnets (20) has a second width direction and a second thickness direction perpendicular to the second width direction(Fig.5); the second width direction is perpendicular to the tangential direction of the rotor core (1), and the second thickens direction is perpendicular to the tangential direction of the rotor core (1)(Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3/1, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 1.
Tang further teaches wherein the rotor core (1) is configured as a hollow structure with a hollow space extending through the two ends of the rotor core (1)(Rotor core is formed around a central shaft 3, meaning the rotor body contains an internal cavity accommodating the shaft); multiple first limiting slots (81) in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple first magnets (8) are formed in an inner wall surface of the rotor core (1)(Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4/3, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 1.
Tang further teaches wherein multiple second limiting slots (21) in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple second magnets (2) are formed in the inner wall surface of the rotor core (1),the multiple first limiting slots (81) and the multiple second limiting slots (21) are alternately arranged one by one in the circumferential direction of the rotor core (1)(Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 10/1, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 1.
Tang further teaches a stator(9) assembled with the rotor(10)(Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11/10, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 10.
Tang further teaches wherein the first magnets(8) and the second magnets(2) are all bar shaped magnets(Fig. 5); each of the first magnets (8) has a first width direction and a first thickness direction perpendicular to the first width direction; the first width direction is perpendicular to the radial direction of the rotor core (1), and the first thickness direction is perpendicular to the tangential direction of the rotor core (1); each of the second magnets (2) has a second width direction and a second thickness direction perpendicular to the second width direction; the second width direction is perpendicular to the tangential direction of the rotor core (1), and the second thickens direction is perpendicular to the tangential direction of the rotor core (1)(Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12/10, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 10.
Tang further teaches wherein the rotor core (1) is configured as a hollow structure with a hollow space extending through the two ends of the rotor core (1)(Rotor core is formed around a central shaft 3, meaning the rotor body contains an internal cavity accommodating the shaft); multiple first limiting slots (81) in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple first magnets (8) are formed in an inner wall surface of the rotor core (1)(Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13/12, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 12.
Tang further teaches wherein multiple second limiting slots (21) in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple second magnets (2) are formed in the inner wall surface of the rotor core (1),the multiple first limiting slots (81) and the multiple second limiting slots (21) are alternately arranged one by one in the circumferential direction of the rotor core (1)(Figs. 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over TANG(CN205105071U) in view of HURST(US200700138891A1).
Regarding claim 5/1, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 1.
Tang dos not explicitly teach comprising a housing sleeved around an outside of the rotor core.
However, Hurst teaches comprising a housing(17) sleeved around an outside of the rotor core(13)(Fig. 1).
Hurst is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tang because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tang wherein comprising a housing sleeved around an outside of the rotor core, as taught by Hurst. One would be motivated to do this in order to prevent magnet detachment during high speed rotation and to increase mechanical strength of the rotor core.
Regarding claim 6/5, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 5.
Hurst further teaches wherein positioning structures(45, 49, 25) are arranged on the housing (17) and the rotor core (13); the positioning structures(45, 49, 25) comprise a bulge (25) arranged on an outer wall surface(23) of the rotor core (13) and protruding in the radial direction, and a positioning groove (45) formed in an inner wall surface of the housing (17) and corresponding to the bulge (25)(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7/5, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 5.
Hurst further teaches wherein comprising a rotary shaft (112) with two ends extending out of the rotor core (13);wherein the housing (17) comprises a body (body of 17), an opening (area wherein housing receives rotor core) formed at one end of the body to allow for insertion of the rotor core (13) into the body, and a through hole (21) formed in the other end of the housing (17) to allow the rotary shaft (112) to extend out(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14/10, Tang teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 10.
Tang dos not explicitly teach comprising a housing sleeved around an outside of the rotor core.
However, Hurst teaches comprising a housing(17) sleeved around an outside of the rotor core(13)(Fig. 1).
Hurst is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tang because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tang wherein comprising a housing sleeved around an outside of the rotor core, as taught by Hurst. One would be motivated to do this in order to prevent magnet detachment during high speed rotation and to increase mechanical strength of the rotor core.
Regarding claim 15/10, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 10.
Hurst further teaches wherein positioning structures(45, 49, 25) are arranged on the housing (17) and the rotor core (13); the positioning structures(45, 49, 25) comprise a bulge (25) arranged on an outer wall surface(23) of the rotor core (13) and protruding in the radial direction, and a positioning groove (45) formed in an inner wall surface of the housing (17) and corresponding to the bulge (25)(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16/15, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 15.
Hurst further teaches wherein comprising a rotary shaft (112) with two ends extending out of the rotor core (13);wherein the housing (17) comprises a body (body of 17), an opening (area wherein housing receives rotor core) formed at one end of the body to allow for insertion of the rotor core (13) into the body, and a through hole (21) formed in the other end of the housing (17) to allow the rotary shaft (112) to extend out(Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over TANG(CN205105071U) in view of HURST(US200700138891A1) and further in view of LI(CN209134186U).
Regarding claim 8/7, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 7.
Tang in view of Hurst does not teach wherein further comprising an anti-slip sleeve arranged in the through hole and sleeved around the rotary shaft.
However, Li teaches wherein further comprising an anti-slip sleeve (8) arranged in the through hole (center hole of motor casing 4 via bearing 5) and sleeved around the rotary shaft (drive shaft of drive motor)(Fig. 1).
Li is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tang in view of Hurst because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tang in view of Hurst wherein further comprising an anti-slip sleeve arranged in the through hole and sleeved around the rotary shaft, as taught by Li. One would be motivated to do this in order to support and stabilize the rotating shaft to improve mechanical alignment.
Regarding claim 17/15, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 15.
Tang in view of Hurst does not teach wherein further comprising an anti-slip sleeve arranged in the through hole and sleeved around the rotary shaft.
However, Li teaches wherein further comprising an anti-slip sleeve (8) arranged in the through hole (center hole of motor casing 4 via bearing 5) and sleeved around the rotary shaft (drive shaft of drive motor)(Fig. 1).
Li is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tang in view of Hurst because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tang in view of Hurst wherein further comprising an anti-slip sleeve arranged in the through hole and sleeved around the rotary shaft, as taught by Li. One would be motivated to do this in order to support and stabilize the rotating shaft to improve mechanical alignment.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over TANG(CN205105071U) in view of HURST(US200700138891A1) and further in view of TANIGUCHI(US8796897B2).
Regarding claim 9/7, Tang in view of Hurst teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 7.
Tang in view of Hurst does not teach wherein surfaces, facing each other, of two of the second magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the first magnet are identical in magnetic polarity, surfaces, facing the rotary shaft, of two of the first magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the second magnet are opposite in magnetic polarity.
However, Taniguchi teaches wherein surfaces, facing each other, of two of the second magnets (31) located on two opposite sides of each of the first magnet (33) are identical in magnetic polarity, surfaces, facing the rotary shaft (50), of two of the first magnets (33) located on two opposite sides of each of the second magnet (31) are opposite in magnetic polarity(Para[0040-0042]).
Taniguchi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tang in view of Hurst because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tang in view of Hurst wherein surfaces, facing each other, of two of the second magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the first magnet are identical in magnetic polarity, surfaces, facing the rotary shaft, of two of the first magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the second magnet are opposite in magnetic polarity, as taught by Taniguchi. One would be motivated to do this in order to reduce the number of permanent magnets required and improve magnetic flux efficiency.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over TANG(CN205105071U) in view of HURST(US20070138891A1) and further in view of LI(CN209134186U and TANIGUCHI(US8796897B2).
Regarding claim 18/17, Tang in view of Hurst and Li teaches the rotor of a brushless motor according to claim 17.
Tang in view of Hurst and Li does not teach wherein surfaces, facing each other, of two of the second magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the first magnet are identical in magnetic polarity, surfaces, facing the rotary shaft, of two of the first magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the second magnet are opposite in magnetic polarity.
However, Taniguchi teaches wherein surfaces, facing each other, of two of the second magnets (31) located on two opposite sides of each of the first magnet (33) are identical in magnetic polarity, surfaces, facing the rotary shaft (50), of two of the first magnets (33) located on two opposite sides of each of the second magnet (31) are opposite in magnetic polarity(Para[0040-0042]).
Taniguchi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tang in view of Hurst and Li because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tang in view of Hurst and Li wherein surfaces, facing each other, of two of the second magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the first magnet are identical in magnetic polarity, surfaces, facing the rotary shaft, of two of the first magnets located on two opposite sides of each of the second magnet are opposite in magnetic polarity, as taught by Taniguchi. One would be motivated to do this in order to reduce the number of permanent magnets required and improve magnetic flux efficiency.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834