DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 4, 6, 19 recite “a sensor body contact plate”, however, the corresponding structure is not present in the specification.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kropelnicki et al. (US 2019/0341419 A1; pub. Nov. 7, 2019) in view of Nelhiebel et al. (US 2021/0183732 A1; pub. Jun. 17, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: A device comprising: a substrate, the substrate includes a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) region, wherein the CMOS region includes transistor regions with transistors, and a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) region, wherein the MEMS region includes (Abstract, para. [0019], [0028])
a lower sensor cavity (Abstract, para. [0019], [0028]),
a free-standing sensor disposed over the lower sensor cavity, wherein the free-standing sensor is devoid of a support dielectric between the sensor and lower sensor cavity, wherein the free- standing sensor improves response time and sensor sensitivity (para. [0028], fig.2 items 250 & 260);
a back-end-of-line (BEOL) dielectric disposed on the substrate (abstract, para. [0042]).
Kropelnicki et al. are silent about:
a back-end-of-line (BEOL) dielectric disposed on the substrate having a pre-metal dielectric layer with pre-metal contacts, and a plurality of inter metal dielectric (IMD) layers disposed over the pre-metal dielectric layer, wherein the IMD layers includes metal and via levels, the metal levels include metal lines and the via levels include via contacts for interconnecting the components of the device via the pre-metal dielectric layer.
In a similar field of endeavor Nelhiebel et al. disclose: a back-end-of-line (BEOL) dielectric disposed on the substrate having a pre-metal dielectric layer with pre-metal contacts, and a plurality of inter metal dielectric (IMD) layers disposed over the pre-metal dielectric layer, wherein the IMD layers includes metal and via levels, the metal levels include metal lines and the via levels include via contacts for interconnecting the components of the device via the pre-metal dielectric layer (para. [0025]) motivated by the benefits for enabling complex chiplet integration, multi-layered wiring, and better performance/cost.
In light of the benefits for enabling complex chiplet integration, multi-layered wiring, and better performance/cost, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kropelnicki et al. with the teachings of Nelhiebel et al.
Regarding claim 2, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: the free-standing sensor comprises an infra-red imaging sensor (para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: the free-standing infra-red imaging sensor includes a sensor body, the sensor body comprises:
a first body segment, the first body segment is a first polarity type body segment (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]);
a second body segment, the second body segment is a second polarity type body segment (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]);
a body segment gap separating the first and second body segments, the body segment gap is disposed between adjacent edges of the first and second body segments (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]); and
a sensor body contact, the sensor body contact electrically coupling the first and second body segments (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: the free-standing infra-red imaging sensor includes a sensor body (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]), the sensor body comprises:
a first body segment, the first body segment is a first polarity type body segment (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]), wherein the first body segment includes
a first main body segment, a first lead body segment, the first lead body segment extends from the first main body segment, wherein an end of the first lead body segment serves as a first sensor a second body segment, the second body segment is a second polarity type body segment (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]), wherein the second body segment includes
a second main body segment,
a second lead body segment, the second lead body segment extends from the first main body segment, wherein an end of the second lead body segment serves as the second sensor terminal (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]);
a body segment gap separating the first and second main body segments, the body segment gap is disposed between adjacent edges of the first and second main body segments; and a sensor body contact, the sensor body contact electrically coupling the first and second body segments (para. [0028]-[0030], [0077]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 10, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: the sensor body is doped to produce an ambient sheet resistance to serve as an absorber (para. [0039], [0117]).
Regarding claim 11, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: a bottom of the lower sensor cavity comprises a reflector (fig.2 item 241); and the absorber (fig.2 item 241), the reflector and a depth of the cavity are part of an interferometric absorption system to improve absorption of infra-red radiation (para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Kropelnicki et al. and Nelhiebel et al. disclose: A method for forming a device comprising: providing a substrate prepared with a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) region and a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) region; processing the CMOS region, wherein processing the CMOS region comprises includes forming first and second types of transistors in first and second transistor regions of the CMOS region; processing the MEMS region, wherein processing the MEMS region includes forming a lower sensor cavity trench filled with a cavity trench fill, forming a sensor support dielectric layer over the lower sensor cavity on top of the trench fill, forming a sensor on the sensor support dielectric layer; forming a back-end-of-line (BEOL) dielectric disposed on the substrate having a pre-metal dielectric layer with pre-metal contacts, and a plurality of inter metal dielectric (IMD) layers with metal and via levels, the metal levels include metal lines and the via levels include via contacts for interconnecting the components of the device via the pre-metal dielectric layer: patterning the BEOL dielectric to form a sensor opening in the BOEL dielectric, wherein patterning the BEOL dielectric also forms release openings to expose the cavity trench fill, performing a first release to remove the cavity trench fill to form the lower sensor cavity; and performing a second release to remove sensor support dielectric to form a free-standing sensor, wherein the free-standing sensor improves sensor sensitivity and response time (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 15, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: forming the sensor comprises forming an infrared sensor comprising an absorber (fig.2 item 257).
Regarding claim 16, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: forming a reflector (fig.2 item 241) on a bottom surface of the lower sensor cavity.
Regarding claim 17, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: the absorber, the reflector and a depth of the cavity are part of an interferometric absorption system to improve absorption of infra-red radiation (para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Kropelnicki et al. disclose: forming the sensor comprises: forming a first body segment, the first body segment is a first polarity type body segment, wherein the first body segment includes
a first main body segment,
a first lead body segment, the first lead body segment extends from the first main body segment, wherein an end of the first lead body segment serves as a first sensor terminal;
forming a second body segment, the second body segment is a second polarity type body segment, wherein the second body segment includes
a second main body segment,
a second lead body segment, the second lead body segment extends from the first main body segment, wherein an end of the second lead body segment serves as the second sensor terminal, wherein a body segment gap separating the first and second main body segments, the body segment gap 1s disposed between adjacent edges of the first and second main body segments; and
forming a sensor body contact, the sensor body contact electrically coupling the first and second body segments (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 5, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Claims 4, 6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kropelnicki et al. (US 2019/0341419 A1; pub. Nov. 7, 2019) in view of Nelhiebel et al. (US 2021/0183732 A1; pub. Jun. 17, 2021) and further in view of Kropelnicki et al. (1) (US 2019/0027522 A1; pub. Jan. 24, 2019).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references are silent about: a sensor body contact plate disposed above the sensor body over the sensor body gap;
first and second sensor body via contacts, the first and second via contacts disposed between the first and second body segments and the sensor body contact plate.
In a similar field of endeavor Kropelnicki et al. (1) disclose: a sensor body contact plate disposed above the sensor body over the sensor body gap;
first and second sensor body via contacts, the first and second via contacts disposed between the first and second body segments and the sensor body contact plate (para. [0035]) motivated by the benefits for a cost effective and compact infrared detector (Kropelnicki et al. (1) para. [0003]).
In light of the benefits for a cost effective and compact infrared detector as taught by Kropelnicki et al. (1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kropelnicki et al. and Nelhiebel et al. with the teachings of Kropelnicki et al. (1).
Regarding claim 6, the combined references are silent about: the sensor body contact comprises: a sensor body contact plate disposed above the sensor body over the sensor body gap; first and second sensor body via contacts, the first and second via contacts disposed between the first and second body segments and the sensor body contact plate.
In a similar field of endeavor Kropelnicki et al. (1) disclose: the sensor body contact comprises: a sensor body contact plate disposed above the sensor body over the sensor body gap; first and second sensor body via contacts, the first and second via contacts disposed between the first and second body segments and the sensor body contact plate (para. [0035]) motivated by the benefits for a cost effective and compact infrared detector (Kropelnicki et al. (1) para. [0003]).
In light of the benefits for a cost effective and compact infrared detector as taught by Kropelnicki et al. (1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kropelnicki et al. and Nelhiebel et al. with the teachings of Kropelnicki et al. (1).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kropelnicki et al., Nelhiebel et al. and Kropelnicki et al. (1) disclose: forming the sensor body contact comprises: forming first and second sensor body via contacts, on first and second main body segments; and
forming a sensor body contact plate on the first and second body via contacts to electrically couple the first and second body segments (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 4, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Claims 7 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kropelnicki et al. (US 2019/0341419 A1; pub. Nov. 7, 2019) in view of Nelhiebel et al. (US 2021/0183732 A1; pub. Jun. 17, 2021) in view of Kropelnicki et al. (1) (US 2019/0027522 A1; pub. Jan. 24, 2019) and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0367362 A1; pub. Nov. 19, 2020).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: the first and second body via contacts comprise loop contacts, wherein a loop contact comprises a conductive outer loop filled with a dielectric fill, the loop contact provides mechanical support for the free-standing sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor Kim discloses: the first and second body via contacts comprise loop contacts, wherein a loop contact comprises a conductive outer loop filled with a dielectric fill, the loop contact provides mechanical support (para. [0110]-[0114]) motivated by the benefits for a cost effective device (Kim para. [0012]).
In light of the benefits for a cost effective device as taught by K Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kropelnicki et al., Nelhiebel et al. and Kropelnicki et al. (1) with the teachings of Kim.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kropelnicki et al., Nelhiebel et al., Kropelnicki et al. (1) and Kim disclose: forming the first and second body via contacts comprises forming device of claim 6 wherein the first and second body via loop contacts, wherein a loop contact comprises a conductive outer loop filled with a dielectric fill, the loop contact provides mechanical support for the free-standing sensor (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 4, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Claims 8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kropelnicki et al. (US 2019/0341419 A1; pub. Nov. 7, 2019) in view of Nelhiebel et al. (US 2021/0183732 A1; pub. Jun. 17, 2021) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0082866 A1; pub. Mar. 18, 2021).
Regarding claim 8, the combined references are silent about: the pre-metal dielectric layer and BEOL dielectric comprises a protection wall surrounding the MEMS region, the protection wall is configured to protect the pre-metal dielectric layer and the BEOL dielectric in the CMOS region from damage from etchants during a second release process to form the free-standing sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor Chen et al. disclose: forming a stop layer over a semiconductor substrate (para. [0011]) motivated by the benefits for mitigating damage to the semiconductor layers (Chen et al. para. [0011]).
In light of the benefits for mitigating damage to the semiconductor layers as taught by Chen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kropelnicki et al. and Nelhiebel et al. with the teachings of Chen et al.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kropelnicki et al., Nelhiebel et al. and Chen et al. disclose: forming the pre-metal dielectric layer and BEOL dielectric comprises forming a protection wall surrounding the MEMS region, the protection wall is configured to protect the pre-metal dielectric layer and the BEOL dielectric in the CMOS region from damage from etchants during the second release process to form the free-standing sensor (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 8, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Claims 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kropelnicki et al. (US 2019/0341419 A1; pub. Nov. 7, 2019) in view of Nelhiebel et al. (US 2021/0183732 A1; pub. Jun. 17, 2021) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0082866 A1; pub. Mar. 18, 2021) and further in view Leduc et al. (US 2018/0331155 A1; pub. Nov. 15, 2018).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: the protection wall is a double protection comprising: an inner protection wall; and an outer protection wall, wherein the inner protection wall and outer protection wall are configured with inner protection wall openings and outer protection wall openings are configured to provide electrical connections to the free-standing sensor without shorting, and extend an etchant flow path of the etchants of the second release to prevent damaging the pre-metal dielectric layer and BEOL dielectric in the CMOS region.
In a similar field of endeavor Leduc et al. disclose: a first etch stop layer (fig.1H item 29), a second etch stop layer (fig.1H item 34), forming an opening (fig.1F item 36, para. [0075]-[0076]) for providing electrical connection (para. [0021], [0076]) motivated by the benefits for protecting electrical interconnect (Leduc et al. para. [0067]).
In light of the benefits for protecting electrical interconnect as taught by Leduc et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kropelnicki et al., Nelhiebel et al. and Chen et al. with the teachings of Leduc et al.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kropelnicki et al., Nelhiebel et al., Chen et al. and Leduc et al. disclose: forming the protection wall comprises: forming inner and outer protection walls, the inner protection wall is disposed within the outer protection wall, wherein forming the inner protection wall includes forming inner protection wall openings, and forming the outer protection wall includes forming outer protection wall openings; and wherein forming the inner and outer protection wall openings facilitate electrical connections to the sensor without shorting outer protection wall openings, and extend an etchant flow path of the etchants of the second release process to prevent damaging the pre-metal dielectric layer and the BEOL dielectric in the CMOS region (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 9, the claim is therefore rejected on the same basis).
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884