DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2021/0301167 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okada teaches a liquid treatment composition containing an aliphatic diisocyanate, a compound selected from the group consisting of multivalent metal salts and cationic polymers, and water (Abstract). This liquid treatment composition may further comprise resin particles ([0048]) and is applied to a cloth prior to an inkjet ink composition ([0007]), wherein the inkjet ink may contain water ([0123]). Together, the liquid treatment composition and the inkjet ink read on the claimed “ink fluid set,” wherein the liquid treatment composition reads on the claimed “2-part aqueous primer coating fluid” and the inkjet ink reads on the claimed “aqueous inkjet ink.”
The instant Specification specifically states that multivalent metal salts fall within the category of “aggregating agent” compounds (c.f. instant Specification at p. 7, lines 2-3); therefore, the multivalent metal salts of Okada read on the claimed “aggregating agent.” Furthermore, the aliphatic diisocyanate of Okada reads on the claimed “water dispersible co-reactant” because it is a polyisocyanate, which reads on the claimed listing of “water dispersible co-reactant” compounds. Finally, the resin particles of Okada read on the claimed “water insoluble polymer binder” because Okada states that they may be in the form of an emulsion (as opposed to a solution), and they may optionally include urethane and acrylic resins ([0049]) which read on the claimed listing of polymer binders.
Regarding the limitation that the claimed “aqueous primer coating fluid” is a “2-part” product, which is mixed together in a claimed ratio range of “from 100:1 to 100:20,” Okada teaches that the pretreatment liquid is formed by mixing the constituents one after another and stirring ([0134]). Furthermore, it is prima facie obvious to select any order of mixing (see MPEP 2144.04.IV.C.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to mix the multivalent metal salt/cationic polymer and resin particles together with water, followed by the subsequent addition and mixing of the diisocyanate component to form the inventive pretreatment liquid. In so doing, the composition of Okada also reads on the limitations requiring parts A and B (which are arbitrarily assigned given that prima facie the order of mixing is rendered obvious). Okada teaches that the aggregating agent may specifically be incorporated in amounts ranging from 1.0 to 3.0 wt% of the treatment liquid ([0043]), the resin particles may specifically be included in amounts ranging from 1.5 to 2.5 wt% of the treatment liquid ([0058]), and the diisocyanate may specifically be included in amounts ranging from 0.5 to 2.0 wt% of the treatment liquid ([0021]). In total the combined parts of the resin particles and aggregator (which read on the claimed part “A”) therefore constitute 2.5 to 5.5 wt% of the treatment liquid while the diisocyanate (which reads on the claimed part “B”) constitutes 0.5 to 2.0 wt% of the treatment liquid. The ratio of these two ranges therefore spans from 5.5:0.5 to 2.5:2.0, equivalent to a ratio range of 100:9.1 to 100:80. This range overlaps the claimed range of “from 100:1 to 100:20,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
As described above, Okada also teaches an inkjet ink ([0007]). The inkjet ink includes a pigment ([0105]) and a polymer which may be any of the same polymers used in the treatment composition described above ([0121]), which includes polyurethanes and acrylates ([0049]). As described above, the inkjet ink may contain water ([0123]). The inkjet ink may also include a water-soluble organic solvent ([0123]), and the inkjet ink therefore contains on the claimed “aqueous vehicle” because the instant Specification states that an “aqueous vehicle” refers to a water or a mixture of water and at least one water-soluble organic solvent (c.f. instant Specification at p. 5, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 2, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles, which read on the claimed “water insoluble polymer binder in part A” may be urethane resin, which reads on a “polyurethane polymer” ([0049]).
Regarding claim 3, as described above, Okada teaches the specific incorporation of an aliphatic diisocyanate (Abstract), which reads on the claimed “polyisocyanate.”
Regarding claim 4, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles within the inkjet ink may be the same particles as those of the treatment liquid ([0121]), and said resin particles may be urethane resin, which reads on a “polyurethane polymer” ([0049]).
Regarding claim 5, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles within the inkjet ink may be the same particles as those of the treatment liquid ([0121]), and said resin particles may be acrylic resin ([0049]), which reads on the claimed “acrylic polymer.”
Regarding claim 6, as described above, the resin particles within the treatment liquid may be acrylic resin ([0049]), which reads on the claimed “acrylic polymer.”
Regarding claim 7, as described above, Okada teaches the specific incorporation of an aliphatic diisocyanate (Abstract), which reads on the claimed “polyisocyanate.”
Regarding claim 8, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles within the inkjet ink may be the same particles as those of the treatment liquid ([0121]), and said resin particles may be urethane resin, which reads on a “polyurethane polymer” ([0049]).
Regarding claim 9, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles within the inkjet ink may be the same particles as those of the treatment liquid ([0121]), and said resin particles may be acrylic resin ([0049]), which reads on the claimed “acrylic polymer.”
Regarding claim 10, Okada additionally teaches that the resin particles within the treatment liquid may be ethylene vinyl acetate resin ([0049]), which reads on the claimed “polyvinyl acetate copolymer.”
Regarding claim 11, as described above, Okada teaches the specific incorporation of an aliphatic diisocyanate (Abstract), which reads on the claimed “polyisocyanate.”
Regarding claim 12, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles within the inkjet ink may be the same particles as those of the treatment liquid ([0121]), and said resin particles may be urethane resin, which reads on a “polyurethane polymer” ([0049]).
Regarding claim 13, as described above, Okada teaches that the resin particles within the inkjet ink may be the same particles as those of the treatment liquid ([0121]), and said resin particles may be acrylic resin ([0049]), which reads on the claimed “acrylic polymer.”
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762