DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is written in response to an amendment filed on 8/4/2026. As directed by amendment: Claims 1, 10-11, and 14-15 were amended. No new claims were added and no claims were cancelled. Thus, Claims 1-15 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 10 and 14-15 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it/they use(s) the term “configured to” with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Regarding Claim 10, “means for receiving a user input indicative of first data to be transmitted to the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for transmitting a first indication associated with the user input to the remote communication system for processing, prior to sending the first data to the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Transmitting” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for receiving second data from the implant; means for transmitting, without accessing the second data, a second indication associated with the second data to the remote communication system for processing”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
Regarding Claim 14, “means for receiving, from the local communication system, a first indication indicative of a user input associated with first data to be transmitted toy an implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for sending a first response to the local communication system based at least in part on the first indication and stored data associated with the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Sending” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for receiving, from the local communication system, a second indication associated with second data that was received by the local communication system from an implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for sending a second response to the local communication system based at least in part on the second indication and stored data associated with the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Sending” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
Regarding Claim 15, “means for receiving, from the local communication system, a first indication indicative of a user input associated with first data to be transmitted to the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for sending a first response to the local communication system based at least in part on the first indication and stored data associated with the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Sending” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for receiving, from the local communication system, a second indication associated with second data that was received by the local communication system from the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for sending a second response to the local communication system based at least in part on the second indication and stored data associated with the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Sending” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for receiving a user input indicative of first data to be transmitted to the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for transmitting a first indication associated with the user input to the remote communication system for processing, prior to sending the first data to the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Transmitting” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for receiving second data from the implant”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Receiving” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
“means for transmitting, without accessing the second data, a second indication associated with the second data to the remote communication system for processing”. Corresponding structure is shown in the PGPUB (US 20250023728) of the application, Fig. 1A, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 62-69; par 72; par 82. “Transmitting” is viewed as a coextensive function and therefore no algorithm is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masoud et al (“Masoud”, US 20160330573, included in the IDS filed 5/15/2024) in view of Fenner et al (“Fenner”, US 20140273824).
Regarding Claim 1, Masoud teaches a method for communication, by a local communication system, with an implant and with a remote communication system, comprising:
receiving a user input indicative of first data to be transmitted to the implant, transmitting a first indication associated with the user input to the remote communication system for processing, prior to sending the first data to the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8.);
and/or receiving second data from the implant, without accessing the second data, transmitting a second indication associated with the second data to the remote communication system for processing (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The remote communication system is the remote server 300.).
remote communication system (Fig. 8B, element 300, par 74-76; The remote communication system is the remote server 300.);
Masoud does not explicitly teach manually activating a communication pairing mode of the implant to enable the implant to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system.
Fenner teaches manually activating a communication pairing mode of the implant to enable the implant to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system (Fig. 11, elements 1100-1108, par 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud with the NFC of Fenner because it allows for convenient data transfer between devices with enhanced security.
Regarding Claim 2, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 1.
Masoud teaches further comprising receiving a first response from the remote communication system to the first indication (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8. The first response is the connection secret at step 4.).
Regarding Claim 3, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 2.
Masoud teaches further comprising sending the first data to the implant upon receiving the first response (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8. The first response is the connection secret at step 4.).
Regarding Claim 5, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 1.
Masoud further teaches wherein the receiving the second data includes receiving the second data in an encrypted manner (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The remote communication system is the remote server 300.).
Regarding Claim 6, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 1.
Masoud teaches further comprising receiving a second response from the remote communication system upon the second indication (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The local communication system is the portable device 200. The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The second response is the processed/decrypted data.).
Regarding Claim 7, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 6.
Masoud further teaches wherein the second response includes the second data in a decrypted manner (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The local communication system is the portable device 200. The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The second response is the processed/decrypted data.).
Regarding Claim 8, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 6.
Masoud teaches further comprising providing a display based on the second response (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 75; The local communication system is the portable device 200. The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The second response is the processed/decrypted data.).
Regarding Claim 9, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 1.
Masoud further teaches wherein communication between the local communication system and the remote communication system is encrypted (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300.).
Regarding Claim 10, Masoud teaches a local communication system for communication with an implant and with a remote communication system, comprising:
means for receiving a user input indicative of first data to be transmitted to the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8.);
means for transmitting a first indication associated with the user input to the remote communication system for processing, prior to sending the first data to the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8.);
and/or means for receiving second data from the implant; means for transmitting, without accessing the second data, a second indication associated with the second data to the remote communication system for processing (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The remote communication system is the remote server 300.);
remote communication system (Fig. 8B, element 300, par 74-76; The remote communication system is the remote server 300.).
Masoud does not explicitly teach wherein a communication pairing mode of the implant is manually activatable to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system via the local communication system.
Fenner teaches wherein a communication pairing mode of the implant is manually activatable to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system via the local communication system (Fig. 11, elements 1100-1108, par 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud with the NFC of Fenner because it allows for convenient data transfer between devices with enhanced security.
Regarding Claim 11, Masoud teaches a method for communication, by a remote communication system, with a local communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from the local communication system, a first indication indicative of a user input associated with first data to be transmitted to the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8.),
sending a first response to the local communication system based at least in part on the first indication and stored data associated with the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8. The first response is the connection secret at step 4.);
and/or receiving, from the local communication system, a second indication associated with second data that was received by the local communication system from an implant (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data.);
sending a second response to the local communication system based at least in part on the second indication and stored data associated with the implant (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The local communication system is the portable device 200. The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The second response is the processed/decrypted data.);
remote communication system (Fig. 8B, element 300, par 74-76; The remote communication system is the remote server 300.).
Masoud does not explicitly teach manually activating a communication pairing mode of an implant to enable the implant to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system via the local communication system.
Fenner teaches manually activating a communication pairing mode of an implant to enable the implant to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system via the local communication system (Fig. 11, elements 1100-1108, par 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud with the NFC of Fenner because it allows for convenient data transfer between devices with enhanced security.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 15, Masoud teaches a system for communicating with an implant, comprising at least two of the following:
a remote communication system for communication with a local communication system, the remote communication system comprising (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300.):
means for receiving, from the local communication system, a first indication indicative of a user input associated with first data to be transmitted to the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8.);
means for sending a first response to the local communication system based at least in part on the first indication and stored data associated with the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8. The first response is the connection secret at step 4.);
and/or means for receiving, from the local communication system, a second indication associated with second data that was received by the local communication system from the implant (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data.);
means for sending a second response to the local communication system based at least in part on the second indication and stored data associated with the implant (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The local communication system is the portable device 200. The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The second response is the processed/decrypted data.);
and the local communication system for communication with the implant and with the remote communication system, comprising: means for receiving a user input indicative of first data to be transmitted to the implant; means for transmitting a first indication associated with the user input to the remote communication system for processing, prior to sending the first data to the implant (Fig. 8A, elements {100, 200, 300, 400}, par 71-73; The implant is the sensor device 100. The local communication system is the portable device 200. The remote communication system is the remote server 300. The user input is the user credentials entered at step 6. The first indication is the user credentials. The first data is the connection question at step 8.);
and/or means for receiving second data from the implant (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data.);
means for transmitting, without accessing the second data, a second indication associated with the second data to the remote communication system for processing (Fig. 8B, elements {100, 200, 300}, par 74-76; The second data is the double encrypted sensor data. The second indication is the single encrypted sensor data. The remote communication system is the remote server 300.);
remote communication system (Fig. 8B, element 300, par 74-76; The remote communication system is the remote server 300.).
Masoud does not explicitly teach an implant having one or more communication pairing processors that are configured to be manually activated to enable the implant to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system.
Fenner teaches an implant having one or more communication pairing processors that are configured to be manually activated to enable the implant to receive and/or transmit data from/to the communication system (p Fig. 11, elements 1100-1108, par 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud with the NFC of Fenner because it allows for convenient data transfer between devices with enhanced security.
Claims 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masoud and Fenner in view of Graafstra et al (“Graafstra”, US 20190386987).
Regarding Claim 4, Masoud and Fenner teach the method of claim 2.
Masoud and Fenner do not explicitly teach wherein the first response includes the first data in an encrypted manner.
Graafstra teaches wherein the first response includes the first data in an encrypted manner (par 16; par 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud and Fenner with the encryption of Graafstra because it provides easy, secure, and effective transfer of critical data in a frictionless, management-free, and cryptographically-secure manner (Graafstra; par 65).
Regarding Claim 12, Masoud and Fenner teach the method according to claim 11.
Masoud and Fenner do not explicitly teach wherein the first response comprises the first data.
Graafstra teaches wherein the first response comprises the first data (par 16; par 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud and Fenner with the encryption of Graafstra because it provides easy, secure, and effective transfer of critical data in a frictionless, management-free, and cryptographically-secure manner (Graafstra; par 65).
Regarding Claim 13, Masoud, Fenner, and Graafstra teach the method according to claim 12.
Masoud and Fenner do not explicitly teach wherein the first data is encrypted.
Graafstra teaches wherein the first data is encrypted (par 16; par 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Masoud and Fenner with the encryption of Graafstra because it provides easy, secure, and effective transfer of critical data in a frictionless, management-free, and cryptographically-secure manner (Graafstra; par 65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kawamura et al (US 20100220857), Abstract - A secret key registration system which registers a secret key in a portable key device and vehicle. A first transformation equation is stored in a writer and the vehicle. A second transformation equation is stored in the portable key device and the vehicle. The writer transmits a registration code to the portable key device and generates intermediate data with the first transformation equation of the writer. The intermediate data is transmitted to the portable key device, which generates the secret key from the intermediate data with the second transformation equation. The portable key device transmits the registration code to the vehicle. The vehicle generates intermediate data from the registration code with the first transformation equation of the vehicle, and then generates the secret key from the intermediate data with the second transformation equation.
Chen et al (US 20160065544), Abstract - The claimed subject matter provides systems and/or methods that effectuate a simple protocol for tangible security on mobile devices. The system can include devices that generate sets of keys and associated secret identifiers, employs the one or more keys to encrypt a secret and utilizes the identifiers and encryptions of the secret to populate a table associated with a security token device that is used in conjunction with a mobile device to release sensitive information persisted on the mobile device for user selected purposes.
Konrad et al (US 20110170692), Abstract - A method and system establishing cryptographic communications between a remote device and a medical device, with the medical device having less processing power than the remote device are disclosed. The method may comprise establishing unencrypted communication between the remote device and the medical device, generating an asymmetric key pair by the remote device comprising a public key and a private key, generating a key request message and sending of the key request message together with the public key to the medical device, generating a pre-master key and encryption of the pre-master key with the received public key by the medical device, generating a key response message and sending of the key response message together with the encrypted pre-master key from the medical device to the remote device, decrypting the encrypted pre-master key with the private key by the remote device, and deriving a master key as a symmetric key from the pre-master key.
Doerr et al (US 20090018598), Abstract - The invention comprises a system and a method for secure remote programming of an implant. For this purpose, a TAN list is generated on the part of the programming device and both stored in the implant (10) and also provided to a physician. The TAN list is preferably indexed and the implant predefines the index of a TAN in each case, which a physician must input to have a programming instruction executed by the implant.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444