Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 06/23/2026.
Claims 1 and 17 have been amended (as previously presented on 02/09/2026).
Claims 11-12 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-10, and 13-17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10, and 13-17 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s arguments to the claims have been fully considered and found not persuasive; therefore, the rejections have been maintained as previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action filed 03/24/2026 and repeated below.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Valisalo does not teach the valve pressure passage, piston upper hat and piston housing directly connected to each other as required by claim 1 is further limiting than the claim language (emphasis added by the Examiner). Specifically, claim 1 recites “a jet element is disposed directly within the outer cylinder and located between the element gland and the inner cylinder.” The claim does not require a direct contacting connection between all elements and only requires the jet element to be within the outer cylinder while being positioned between the element gland and the inner cylinder. As recited, “disposed directly within” requires containment within and “located between” describes a relative position. There is no reference to a direct shared structural connection between the jet element, element gland and inner cylinder. Valisalo’s valve pressure passage is directly within the bore of adapter (contained within) and located between piston upper hat and inner cylinder (relative position). Therefore, Valisalo teaches “a jet element is disposed directly within the outer cylinder and located between the element gland and the inner cylinder” as the claim allows. Furthermore, the Applicant is arguing this direct connection “enable[s] the Coanda effect used to move the piston”. This argument is not persuasive as there is no structural link in the claim between the positioning of the piston relative to the jet element, nor are the central hole and shunt holes related to any other structure in the claim (see claim objection below). Additionally, the specification also does not make any structural connections between enabling the Coanda effect, as argued by the Applicant, therefore, this argument is further limiting than not only the claimed invention but the disclosed invention. The argument has been fully considered and found not persuasive; therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Applicant’s argument that Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwillinger does not teach “using the Coanda effect” is correct. However as rejected in the office action, the combination of Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwillinger, and Gotlib (emphasis added) teaches the Coanda effect (see rejection of claim 1). The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwillinger, and Gotlib teaches “wherein the central hole and the plurality of shunt holes guide a fluid into the jet element to move the piston along the axis using the Coanda effect.” Valisalo discloses, as mapped, “wherein the central hole (23: second fluid pressure supply passage, Fig. 3A) and the plurality of shunt holes (25: third fluid pressure passage, Fig. 3A; plurality of passages illustrated around the second fluid pressure supply passage) guide a fluid (abstract) into the jet element (valve unit, [0008]; valve unit comprises of (39) valve pressure passage, Fig. 4A) to move the piston (78: first end of piston, Fig. 2) along the axis ([0138])” and Gotlib teaches, as mapped, “using the Coanda effect (Fig. 1, [0020-0022]).” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fluid flow of the valve unit of Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger to include the Coanda effect as taught by Gotlib with a reasonable expectation of success to create a fluid flow to reciprocate the piston as taught by Gotlib (Fig. 1, [0020-0022]) because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). To further clarify the rejection based upon the prior art, the motivation to modify the fluid flow of Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger to include the Coanda effect as taught by Gotlib has been updated as shown below.
Applicant further argues that a person of ordinary skill would not be motivated to rearrange Valisalo’s internal components. Examiner does not find this argument persuasive because such rearrangement is not required by the claim nor by the combination of teachings presented in the rejection. Applicant’s assertion that Valisalo already produces a percussive motion is spurious to the presented rejection. As discussed above regarding the basis for a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, a person of ordinary skill can identify another means of producing the same functional outcome, making that limitation in the claim an obvious modification to a base device.
Applicant further argues the combination of Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger and Gotlib would likely create an unstable or unpredictable fluid flow, and therefore that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the references. The combination does not require one to create a new or unpredictable fluid flow as the Valisalo already discloses a fluid operated percussion drilling device in which pressurized fluid is directed through passages to produce repeated piston movement and percussion. Thus, the primary reference already establishes the repeated piston movement and percussion is achieved using a pressurized fluid. Gotlib likewise discloses a fluidic pressure pulse device in which a pressurized fluid stream is directed through a fluidic switching arrangement to alternatively affect a piston. The reference expressly teaches the Coanda effect to cause the fluid stream to switch between flow paths and produce piston reciprocation. Thus, the applied modification would involve applying a known fluidic switching technique to an existing fluid operated percussion drilling device. Accordingly, the Examiner maintains one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating the fluidic switching of Gotlib into the fluid operation percussion drilling device of Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger. The arguments have been fully considered and found not persuasive; therefore, the rejections are maintained.
Examiner would note that the specification merely states “[t]he jet element (214) may operate using the Coanda effect.” Specifically, “an inlet (not pictured) of the jet element (214) receives a continuous flow of fluid from the element gland (300)” (emphasis added). The Applicant’s own disclosure fails to provide the details that Applicant is now arguing. It is improper for the Examiner to impart limitations from the specification, however, the Examiner, in the interest of compact prosecution, has attempted to show a continuous flow of fluid as described in the instant specification. There is nothing in the specification noting specific structures performing specific functions or arranged in specific manners that create this effect, only noting that the Coanda effect “may” be used.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 and 17 recite the central hole and the plurality of shunt holes. These limitations lack antecedent basis. Examiner is reading these claims as “a central hole and a plurality of shunt holes.”
Claim 1 and 17 recite guide a fluid. Examiner is reading as “guide the fluid.”
Claims 2-10, and 13-16 are objected to for being dependent on an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valisalo (US2020/0347678) in view of Yeung (US2019/0011051), Terwilliger et al. (US2020/0149362), and Gotlib et al. (US2016/0312559).
Claim 1. Valisalo discloses: A tubular apparatus (9: hammer, Fig. 4A) comprising:
an upper joint (14: back head, Fig. 4A) connected to an outer cylinder (68: adapter, Fig. 4A);
an inner cylinder (20: piston housing, Fig. 2), having a cavity (inner annulus of (20) piston housing), disposed within the outer cylinder (Fig. 2);
a piston (78: first end of piston, Fig. 2), having a piston rod (62: upper part of piston, Fig. 2), the piston disposed within the cavity of the inner cylinder and moveable along an axis (Fig. 2);
the piston rod extends through the cylinder gland (seals at distal end of (20) piston housing, Fig. 2) to a hammer (60: lower part of piston, Fig. 2) and a portion of the hammer is disposed within an outer tube (10: main body, Fig. 2);
a bearing (86: piston guide bearing, Fig. 2) disposed between the hammer and the outer tube (Fig. 2); and
an anvil, having a bit head (24: drill bit, Fig. 2), connected to the hammer (Fig. 2),
wherein the cylinder gland comprises a plurality of outer ring cuts (35: axial exhaust passage, Fig. 5B) configured to allow a fluid to flow around the cylinder gland and provide a pressure balance within the tubular apparatus (pressure above and below the cylinder gland is equal, Fig. 2) and
an element gland (66: piston upper hat, Fig. 3A),
wherein a jet element (valve unit, [0008]; valve unit comprises of (39) valve pressure passage, Fig. 4A) disposed directly within the outer cylinder (68: adapter, Fig. 4A) and located between the element gland (66: piston upper hat, Fig. 3A) and the inner cylinder (20: piston housing, Fig. 2),
wherein the central hole (23: second fluid pressure supply passage, Fig. 3A) and the plurality of shunt holes (25: third fluid pressure passage, Fig. 3A; plurality of passages illustrated around the second fluid pressure supply passage) guide a fluid (abstract) into the jet element (valve unit, [0008]; valve unit comprises of (39) valve pressure passage, Fig. 4A) to move the piston (78: first end of piston, Fig. 2) along the axis ([0138]).
Valisalo does not disclose: a metal seal, a spiral ring groove configured to create a seal via a throttling effect of a fluid, or using the Coanda effect.
Yeung discloses an improved packing assembly comprising a metal seal for sealing a cylindrical reciprocating plunger withing a cylinder for high pressure and high flow rate pumps.
Yeung teaches: a metal seal (637: metal seal, Fig. 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the seals at the distal end of the piston housing of Valisalo with the improved packing assembly and metal seal as taught by Yeung with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ease of replacement due to wear or damage as taught by Yeung ([0164]).
Valisalo in view of Yeung does not teach: a spiral ring groove configured to create a seal via a throttling effect of a fluid.
Terwilliger discloses an apparatus to create a seal between differing pressure volumes using spiral groove channels on the outer diameter of a fluid seal used for fluid pumping systems.
Terwilliger teaches: a spiral ring groove (432: channels can be spiral, Fig. 5; [0075]) configured to create a seal (430: fluid seal includes one or more 432 channels, Fig. 5; [0075]) via a throttling effect of a fluid ([0075-0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the piston upper hat of Valisalo to include the spiral groove channels as taught by Terwilliger with a reasonable expectation of success to create a fluid seal between the piston upper hat and the outer cylinder as taught by Terwilliger ([0075-0076]).
Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger does not teach: using the Coanda effect.
Gotlib discloses a pressure pulse tool and techniques that allow for a reciprocating piston at a frequency independent of a flow rate of fluid which powers the reciprocating. The architecture of the tool and techniques employed may take advantage of a Coanda effect to alternatingly divert fluid flow between pathways in communication with the piston in order to attain the reciprocation.
Gotlib teaches: using the Coanda effect (Fig. 1, [0020-0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fluid flow of the valve unit of Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger to include the Coanda effect as taught by Gotlib with a reasonable expectation of success to create a fluid flow to reciprocate the piston as taught by Gotlib (Fig. 1, [0020-0022]) because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 9. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 1, an element gland (Valisalo: 66: piston upper hat, Fig. 3A) having a central hole (Valisalo: 23: second fluid pressure supply passage, Fig. 3A) and a plurality of shunt holes disposed axially around the central hole (Valisalo: 25: third fluid pressure passage, Fig. 3A; plurality of passages illustrated around the second fluid pressure supply passage).
Claim 10. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 9, the element gland (Valisalo: 66: piston upper hat, Fig. 3A) is disposed within the outer cylinder (Valisalo: 68: adapter, Fig. 4A) and adjacent to a distal portion of the upper joint (Valisalo: 14: back head, Fig. 3A).
Claim 13. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 1, outer cylinder (Valisalo: 68: adapter, Fig. 4A) and the outer tube (Valisalo: 10: main body, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib does not teach: a middle joint.
Valisalo teaches the claimed invention except for a middle joint threaded into the outer cylinder and the outer tube. However, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the outer tube separable or modular, rather than unitary or integral, as it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure as various discrete elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179; In re Fridolph, 309 F.2d 509, 50 CCPA 745; In re Larson, 52 C.C.P.A. 930, 340 F.2d 965, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965).
Claim 14. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 13, a second portion of the hammer (Valisalo: 60: lower portion of piston, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib does not teach: disposed within the middle joint. However, as stated in the rejection above, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of succuss, to have made the outer tube separable or modular, rather than unitary or integral, as it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure as various discrete elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179; In re Fridolph, 309 F.2d 509, 50 CCPA 745; In re Larson, 52 C.C.P.A. 930, 340 F.2d 965, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965).
Claim 17. Valisalo discloses: A method for extending a wellbore (abstract), the method comprising:
providing a tubular apparatus (9: hammer, Fig. 4A) comprising:
an upper joint (14: back head, Fig. 4A) threaded into an outer cylinder (68: adapter, Fig. 4A);
an inner cylinder (20: piston housing, Fig. 2), having a cavity (inner annulus of (20) piston housing), disposed within the outer cylinder (Fig. 2);
a piston (78: first end of piston, Fig. 2), having a piston rod (62: upper part of piston, Fig. 2), the piston disposed within the cavity of the inner cylinder and moveable along an axis (Fig. 2);
wherein the piston rod extends through the cylinder gland (seals at distal end of (20) piston housing, Fig. 2) to a hammer (60: lower part of piston, Fig. 2) and a portion of the hammer is disposed within an outer tube (10: main body, Fig. 2);
a bearing (86: piston guide bearing, Fig. 2) disposed between the hammer and the outer tube (Fig. 2); and
an anvil, having a bit head (24: drill bit, Fig. 2), connected to the hammer (Fig. 2),
wherein the cylinder gland comprises a plurality of outer ring cuts (35: axial exhaust passage, Fig. 5B) configured to allow a fluid to flow around the cylinder gland and provide a pressure balance within the tubular apparatus (pressure above and below the cylinder gland is equal, Fig. 2) and,
an element gland (66: piston upper hat, Fig. 3A),
wherein a jet element (valve unit, [0008]; valve unit comprises of (39) valve pressure passage, Fig. 4A) disposed directly within the outer cylinder (68: adapter, Fig. 4A) and located between the element gland (66: piston upper hat, Fig. 3A) and the inner cylinder (20: piston housing, Fig. 2),
wherein the central hole (23: second fluid pressure supply passage, Fig. 3A) and the plurality of shunt holes (25: third fluid pressure passage, Fig. 3A; plurality of passages illustrated around the second fluid pressure supply passage) guide a fluid (abstract) into the jet element (valve unit, [0008]; valve unit comprises of (39) valve pressure passage, Fig. 4A) to move the piston (78: first end of piston, Fig. 2) along the axis ([0138]),
running the tubular apparatus into the wellbore ([0017]);
actuating the tubular apparatus to hammer the bit head against a bottom of the wellbore ([0017]);
pumping a fluid (44: fluid pressure supply unit, Fig. 1) along a flow path (18: fluid pressure supply passage, Fig. 1) within the tubular apparatus (fluid operated device using pressurized fluid, [0017]; [0056], Fig. 3A); and
breaking down the bottom of the wellbore to extend the wellbore ([0017]);
wherein pumping the fluid along the flow path further comprises driving the piston along the axis ([0134-0138], Fig. 2; (0056], Fig. 3A),
Valisalo does not disclose: a metal seal, a spiral ring groove configured to create a seal via a throttling effect of a fluid, or using the Coanda effect.
Yeung further teaches: a metal seal (637: metal seal, Fig. 30; see previously rejected claim 1).
Valisalo in view of Yeung does not teach: a spiral ring groove configured to create a seal via a throttling effect of a fluid.
Terwilliger further teaches: a spiral ring groove (432: channels can be spiral, Fig. 5; [0075]) configured to create a seal (430: fluid seal includes one or more 432 channels, Fig. 5; [0075]) via a throttling effect of a fluid ([0075-0076]; see previously rejected claim 1).
Valisalo in view of Yeung and Terwilliger does not teach: or using the Coanda effect.
Gotlib further teaches: using the Coanda effect (Fig. 1, [0020-0022] see previously rejected claim 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valisalo (US2020/0347678) in view of Yeung (US2019/001105), Terwilliger et al. (US2020/0149362), Gotlib et al. (US2016/0312559), and further in view of Bassinger (US2756723).
Claim 2. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 1, bearing (Valisalo: 86: piston guide bearing, Fig. 2) and outer tube (Valisalo: 10: main body, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib does not teach: a plurality of balls evenly spaced in at least one ring shape on an inner circumferential surface.
Bassinger teaches an impact tool used for drilling bore hole comprising of ball bearing such that the bearings are utilized to prevent sliding faces from developing excessive friction.
Bassinger teaches: a plurality of balls (19: bearings, Fig. 1B) evenly spaced in at least one ring shape on an inner circumferential surface (Fig. 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the piston guide bearing of Valisalo with the ball bearings of Bassinger with a reasonable expectation of success, to prevent axial misalignment and reduce friction between the parts of a fluid actuated impact tool as taught by Bassinger (Col. 5, lines 23-36).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valisalo (US2020/0347678) in view of Yeung (US2019/001105), Terwilliger et al. (US2020/0149362), Gotlib et al. (US2016/0312559), and further in view of Lyon (US2009/0321143).
Claim 3. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 1, bearing (Valisalo: 86: piston guide bearing, Fig. 2), outer tube (Valisalo: 10: main body, Fig. 2), and hammer (Valisalo: 60: lower part of piston, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib does not teach: a shield ring.
Lyon teaches a hydraulic downhole drill hammer comprising of ball bearings and a locking sleeve utilized for limiting the movement of a piston to the axial direction.
Lyon teaches: a shield ring (30: locking sleeve, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the piston guide bearing of Valisalo with the ball bearings and locking sleeve of Lyon, with a reasonable expectation of success to limit the movement of the piston to the axial direction for a down hole drill hammer as taught by Lyon ([0034]).
Claim 4. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib, and further in view of Lyon teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 3, hammer (Valisalo: 60: lower part of piston, Fig. 2), lubricant (Valisalo: [0133]), and cavity (Valisalo: 12: hollow interior, Fig. 2; defined by (86) piston guide bearing, (60) hammer, (10) main body, and (20) piston housing).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib does not teach: shield ring.
Lyon further teaches: a shield ring (30: locking sleeve, Fig. 2).
Claim 5. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib, and further in view of Lyon teach teaches: The tubular apparatus of claim 3 or 4, and bearing.
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib does not teach: a plurality of balls disposed along an inner circumferential surface of the shield ring.
Lyon further teaches: a plurality of balls disposed along an inner circumferential surface of the shield ring (30: locking sleeve, Fig. 2; Figures 8-9 illustrates a plurality of balls along the inner surface of the locking ring).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valisalo (US2020/0347678) in view of Yeung (US2019/001105), Terwilliger et al. (US2020/0149362), Gotlib et al. (US2016/0312559), and further in view of McPherson (US4764036).
Claim 6. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 1, bearing (Valisalo: 86: piston guide bearing, Fig. 2) and hammer (Valisalo: 60: lower part of piston, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib does not teach: at least one pillar.
McPherson teaches an apparatus comprising of mesas and PDC inserts moving within an inner surface wherein the mesas and PDC inserts are utilized to centralize and prevent wear on contacting surfaces.
McPherson teaches: at least one pillar (67: mesas, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the mesas, bearing elements, and the centralizing function of the mesas between the drive shaft and bearing surface of McPherson onto the piston of Valisalo and substitute the stationary bearing surface of McPherson for the piston guide bearing of Valisalo, with a reasonable expectation of success, for a wear resistant bearing as taught by McPherson (Col. 1, lines 33-37).
Claim 7. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib, and further in view of McPherson teaches: The tubular apparatus of claim 6, hammer (Valisalo: 60: lower part of piston, Fig. 2) and outer tube (Valisalo: 10: main body, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib does not teach: one pillar is disposed between.
McPherson further teaches: one pillar is disposed between (67: mesas, Fig. 5; the centralizing function of the mesas between the drive shaft and bearing surface ).
Claim 8. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib, and further in view of McPherson teaches The tubular apparatus of claim 6 or 7, bearing (Valisalo: 86: piston guide bearing, Fig. 2), inner circumferential surface of outer tube (Valisalo: 10: main body, Fig. 2).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib does not teach: a plurality of reinforcement blocks machined into the at least one pillar and an inner circumferential surface.
McPherson further teaches: a plurality of reinforcement blocks (69: pdc inserts, Fig. 6) machined into the at least one pillar (67: mesas, Fig. 5) and an inner circumferential surface (15: stationary radial bearing, Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 39-43).
Claim 15-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valisalo (US2020/0347678) in view of Yeung (US2019/001105), Terwilliger et al. (US2020/0149362), Gotlib et al. (US2016/0312559), and further in view of Purcell et al. (US2020/0224502).
Claim 15. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 1, outer tube (Valisalo: 10: main body, Fig. 2) and sleeve (Valisalo: 54: drill bit nut).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, and Gotlib does not teach: an octagonal.
Purcell teaches a drill bit assembly for a fluid operated percussion drill tools wherein the drill bit compromises an octagonal shank for engagement purposes.
Purcell teaches: octagonal (405: hollow cylindrical chuck, Fig. 7; [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the octagonal profile of Purcell, where Purcell teaches using an octagonal profile between a drill bit and a fluid operated percussion drill, into the drill bit nut of Valisalo, with a reasonable expectation of success, to create an octagonal engagement between the drill bit and drill bit nut in order to transmit rotational to be drill bit as taught by Purcell ([0050]).
Claim 16. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib, and further in view of Purcell teach: The tubular apparatus of claim 15, anvil (Valisalo: 24: drill bit, Fig. 2), sleeve (Valisalo: 54: drill bit nut), and groove (Valisalo: groove on (54) drill bit nut, Fig. 3B).
Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib does not teach: spiral groove configured to seal, octagonal sleeve. Valisalo in view of Yeung, Terwilliger, Gotlib is silent on a groove between the drill bit and drill bit nut however, Fig. 3b of Valisalo illustrates a groove between the respective parts.
Purcell teaches: octagonal (see previously rejected claim 15).
Terwilliger teaches: a spiral ring groove configured to seal (see previously rejected claim 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676