Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 24, 26, 28, 30, 33, 34, 35, 37, 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergmann et al (U.S. Patent No. 20140373892).
Regarding claim 1, Bergmann et al teaches a device for producing solar modules from electrically interconnected solar elements (Abstract), the device comprising:
a feed device (TB10) for feeding the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) for an assembly of solar modules (Paragraph 0102, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0111, lines 1-7; Fig. 1, element TB10; Fig. 1a, elements TB10, DSZ10, DSZ20),
the feed device (TB10) comprises a magnetically guided planar drive with at least two magnetically driven sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30), wherein each of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) has a respective workpiece receptacle on which at least one support point for at least one of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) is formed (Paragraph 0075, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0076, lines 1-4; Fig. 1, elements TB10, SZS10, SZS20, SZS30).
Regarding claim 4, Bergmann et al teaches the magnetically guided planar drive has a drive surface on which the at least two sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) can be positioned independently of each other (Fig. 1, elements SZS10, SZS20, SZS30; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 6, Bergmann et al teaches a pick-and-place device (SE10), with which the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) arranged on the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) are removable from the support points and placed on a base for the assembly of solar modules, and the pick-and-place device (SE10) has at least one gripper (H10, H20), which is movable in at least two degrees of freedom (Paragraph 0105, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0106, lines 1-25; Fig. 1, element SE10, SZS10, SZS20, SZS30; Fig. 1a, elements DSZ10, DSZ20, H10, H20).
Regarding claim 7, Bergmann et al teaches a transport unit (TB20) on which the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) for the assembly of solar modules are placeable (Paragraph 0112, lines 1-9; Fig. 1, element TB20).
Regarding claim 8, Bergmann et al teaches a suction device (H10, H20) with a vacuum source and a suction means, which is assigned to the transport unit and is adapted to fix solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) placed on the transport unit by applying a vacuum to the transport unit, and the suction means extends into an effective range of a heater (SWQ10) which is provided for curing a bond between solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) of an assembled solar module (Paragraph 0106, lines 1-11; Paragraph 0084, lines 1-6; Paragraph 0114, lines 1-6; Fig. 1, elements SWQ10; Fig. 1a, elements H10, H20, DSZ10, DSZ20).
Regarding claim 9, Bergmann et al teaches the drive surface is formed between a supply station (BE10) for the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) and the pick-and-place device (SE10) (Paragraph 0105, lines 1-7; Fig. 1, element SE10; Fig. 1a, elements BE10, H10, H20; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 10, Bergmann et al teaches at least one handling device (SE10) with at least one gripper (H10, H20), with which the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are depositable successively or simultaneously on the support points of the workpiece receptacles of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) located in the pick-up position (Paragraph 0105, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0106, lines 1-25; Fig. 1, element SE10, SZS10, SZS20, SZS30).
Regarding claim 13, Bergmann et al teaches an adhesive station which has at least one dispensing nozzle (SE10) for dispensing electrically conductive adhesive onto at least one of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) arranged at the support point (Paragraph 0085, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0103, lines 1-6; Paragraph 0104, lines 1-6, 18-25; Fig. 1, element VE10).
Regarding claim 14, Bergmann et al teaches the adhesive station has a number of the dispensing nozzles (VE10, VE20) which corresponds to a number of the support points on the workpiece receptacle, and at least two of the dispensing nozzles (VE10, VE20) are arranged offset relative to one another in a direction of movement of the sliders through the adhesive station (SE10) (Paragraph 0104, lines 1-6, 18-25; Fig. 1, elements SE10, VE10, VE20).
Regarding claim 24, Bergmann et al teaches a method for producing solar modules, the method comprising: fitting solar modules with solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20), and feeding the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) for the assembly of the solar modules with magnetically driven sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) of a magnetically guided planar drive (Paragraph 0102, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0111, lines 1-7; Fig. 1, element TB10; Fig. 1a, elements TB10, DSZ10, DSZ20; Paragraph 0075, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0076, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 26, Bergmann et al teaches placing the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) on support points on workpiece receptacles of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) (Paragraph 0105, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0106, lines 1-25; Paragraph 0110, lines 1-10; Fig. 1, elements SZS10, SZS20, SZS30).
Regarding claim 28, Bergmann et al teaches applying electrically conductive adhesive form at least one dispensing nozzle (VE10) of an adhesive station (SE10) to the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) which are positioned on the support points of the workpiece receptacles of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30), wherein at least one of the adhesive is applied during a transfer movement of the slider (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) relative to the dispensing nozzle (VE10), or a defined distance between the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) and the at least one dispensing nozzle (VE10) is set by moving the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) along an axis of movement of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) (Paragraph 0085, lines 1-7; Paragraph 0103, lines 1-6; Paragraph 0104, lines 1-6, 18-25; Fig. 1, element SE10, SZS10, SZS20, SZS30, VE10; Fig. 1a, elements DSZ10, DSZ20).
Regarding 30, Bergmann et al teaches the workpiece receptacles of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) are loaded with solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) and moved with the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) into a transfer position such that solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) on two of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) arranged next to each other in the transfer position form at least one row of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) (Paragraph 0116, lines 5-11; Fig. 1, elements SZS10, SZS20, SZS30).
Regarding claim 33, Bergmann et al teaches at least one of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) executes an evasive movement before moving the slider (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) into the target position next to one of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) already in the transfer position in order to avoid a collision between solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) placed at the support points of the workpiece receptacles (Paragraph 0102, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0107, lines 6-13; Fig. 1, elements FR10, SZS10, SZS20, SZS30).
Regarding claim 34, Bergmann et al teaches the evasive movement of the at least one slider (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) is at least one of a tilting movement about an axis of movement of the at least one slider (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) or a linear movement in a spatial axis about an axis of movement aligned in a direction of movement of the one slider (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) into the target position (Paragraph 0107, lines 6-13).
Regarding claim 35, Bergmann et al teaches one of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30), before being moved into the target position between two of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) already in the transfer position, is at least one of tilted about an axis of movement into the target position, or is at least one of raised or lowered in order to avoid a collision between the at least one solar element (DSZ10, DSZ20) arranged on the workpiece receptacle and ones of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) arranged on the workpiece receptacles of the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) already in the transfer position (Paragraph 0107, lines 6-13; Paragraph 0110, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 37, Bergmann et al teaches the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are fed for an assembly of the solar modules by transport means including the sliders (SZS10, SZS20, SZS30) of the magnetically guided planar drive, wherein the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are jointly picked up by at least two transport of the means (H10, H20) located in a transfer position and are combined to form a row of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) for the assembly of one of the solar modules (Paragraph 0075, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0076, lines 1-4; Paragraph 0106, lines 1-25; Fig. 1, elements TB10, SZS10, SZS20, SZS30; Fig. 1a, elements DSZ10, DSZ20, H10, H20).
Regarding claim 39, Bergmann et al teaches the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are placed during the assembly of one of the solar modules such that the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) overlap already placed ones of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) and/or the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are glued together during the assembly of the solar module (Paragraph 0043, lines 1-10; Paragraph 0044, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 40, Bergmann et al teaches the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are placed on already positioned ones of the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) during the assembly of one of the solar modules such that undersides thereof form an acute angle with a base on which the solar elements (DSZ10, DSZ20) are deposited while being placed (Paragraph 0112, lines 17-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 11, 12, 16, 21, 22, 23, 25, 27, 31, 36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann et al in view of Sun et al (CN 112093477).
Regarding claim 2, Bergmann et al fails to teach support points. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein at least two of the support points for the at least one solar element are arranged on each of the workpiece receptacles (2-5) (Page 7, paragraph 5; Fig. 2, element 2-5; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of support points that can hold thee lens in place in preparation for transfer as taught by Sun et al (Page 8, paragraphs 9, 11).
Regarding claim 3, Bergmann et al fails to teach the positioning of each slider. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein the planar drive (2-2-1, 2-2-3) is adapted for multi-coordinate positioning of the at least two sliders (2-6) (Page 7, paragraphs 7-9; Fig. 2, elements 2-2-1, 2-2-3, 2-6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a positioning system that can provide a consistent feeding position for the lens as taught by Sun et al (Page 7, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 5, Bergmann et al fails to teach a transfer area. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein a transfer area (2-1) is defined on the drive surface, in which at least two of the sliders (2-6) are positionable next to one another in rows to configure the solar elements arranged on the support points of the respective workpiece receptacles (2-5) (Page 7, paragraph 5; Fig. 2, elements 2-1, 2-5, 2-6; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a surface that can transfer multiple solar elements as taught by Sun et al (Page 2, paragraph 11; Page 7, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 11, Bergmann et al fails to teach an alignment device. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device with an alignment determination device (7-1, 7-5) for determining an alignment of the solar elements on the handling device (Page 3, paragraph 2; Page 9, paragraphs 3-5; Fig. 6, elements 7-1, 7-5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of an alignment device that can correct the position of the lens as taught by Sun et al (Page 3, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 12, Bergmann et al fails to teach a control unit. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device with a control unit (9) which is configured to position at least one of the sliders (2-6) as a function of a determined alignment of the solar element on the handling device in the pick-up position such that the solar element is placed in the correct alignment on the support point, without realignment of the solar element on and/or with the handling device (Page 10, paragraph 1; Fig. 8, element 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of an alignment device that can improve the automation level of the production process as taught by Sun et al (Page 3, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 16, Bergmann et al fails to teach a matrix pattern. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein the workpiece receptacles (2-5) of the sliders (2-6) are adapted to receive a matrix pattern comprising a plurality of solar elements (Fig. 2, elements 2-5, 2-6; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a matrix arrangement that allows for the transfer of multiple lenses as taught by Sun et al (Page 4, paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 21, Bergmann et al fails to teach a pick-and-place device with two sets of grippers. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device with a pick-and-place device, with which solar elements held ready in an output arrangement are picked up and placed in a defined target arrangement for the assembly of one of the solar modules, which has at least two groups of grippers (3-3, 4-2), a distance between which is variable in order to pick up the solar elements in an output arrangement and deliver them in a target arrangement, which differs from the output arrangement, for the assembly of the solar module (Page 8, paragraphs 9-11; Fig. 3, element 3-3; Fig. 4, element 4-2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a pick-and-place device that can receive multiple lenses at once as taught by Sun et al (Page 8, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 22, Bergmann et al fails to teach a linear guide for the pick-and-place device. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein the pick-and-place device has at least one of a linear guide (3-1) along which the groups of grippers (3-3) are arranged so as to be displaceable relative to one another in a first direction, or a transfer guide (4-1) along which the groups of grippers (4-2) are displaceable in a second direction (Page 8, paragraphs 9, 10; Fig. 3, elements 3-1, 3-3; Fig. 4, elements 4-1, 4-2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a linear guide that can aid the pick-and-place device in transporting lenses as taught by Sun et al (Page 8, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 23, Bergmann et al fails to teach groups of grippers. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein the groups of grippers (3-3, 4-2) are movable at least one of transversely or at right angles to a transport direction of one transport unit (2-6) downstream of the pick-and-place device or in a transfer direction (Page 8, paragraphs 9, 10; Fig. 1, elements 2-6, 3-1, 3-3; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a grippers that can align their position with the lenses as taught by Sun et al (Page 4, paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 25, Bergmann et al fails to teach a row of elements. Sun et al teaches a method for producing lens which includes arranging the solar elements with the sliders (2-6) in at least one row or transporting the solar elements (2-5) to a transfer position on a pick-and-place device (Page 7, paragraph 5; Page 9, paragraph 9; Fig. 1, elements 2-5, 2-6, 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of an arrangement that allows multiple lenses to be transferred at once as taught by Sun et al (Page 4, paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 27, Bergmann et al fails to teach determining an alignment of the solar elements. Sun et al teaches a method for producing lens which includes determining an alignment of the solar elements before the solar elements are placed on the support points and the controlling and aligning sliders (2-6) before the solar elements are placed on the support points such that a detected misalignment of the solar elements is compensated for when they are placed on the support points (Page 9, paragraph 9; Fig. 1, elements 2-6; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of an alignment device that can correct the position of the lens as taught by Sun et al (Page 3, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 31, Bergmann et al fails to teach a matrix pattern. Sun et al teaches a lens feeding device wherein the receptacles (2-5) of the sliders (2-6) are adapted to receive a matrix pattern comprising a plurality of solar elements. Sun et al does not teach the dimensions of the solar elements. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create solar elements with differing dimensions since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to create a plate with differing edge lengths on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 36, Bergmann et al fails to teach a matrix pattern. Sun et al teaches a method for arranging lens which includes arranging the solar elements in a matrix arrangement on a workpiece receptacle (2-5) of at least one of the sliders (2-6) (Fig. 2, elements 2-5, 2-6; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a matrix arrangement that allows for the transfer of multiple lenses as taught by Sun et al (Page 4, paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 38, Bergmann et al fails to teach two groups of grippers. Sun et al teaches a method for arranging lens which includes picking up the solar elements together with at least two groups of grippers (3-3, 4-2) of a pick-and-place device and are combined by a relative movement of the groups of grippers (3-3, 4-2) to form the row of the solar elements (Page 8, paragraphs 9-11; Fig. 3, element 3-3; Fig. 4, element 4-2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sun et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a pick-and-place device that can transport multiple lenses at once as taught by Sun et al (Page 8, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 17, 18, 19, 20 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann et al in view of Schaertl et al (WO 2010031571).
Regarding claim 17, Bergmann et al fails to teach a testing station. Schaertl et al teaches a production device for solar modules with at least one testing device (16) for testing the solar elements (4) for at least one of damage, dimensional accuracy, or geometry (Page 5, paragraph 1; Page 9, paragraph 6; Fig. 15, element 16).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Schaertl et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a testing device that can ensure the solar elements are formed properly as taught by Schaertl et al (Page 9, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 18, Bergmann et al discloses the claimed invention except for a testing station. Schaertl et al teaches a production device for solar modules with at least one testing station (16) which is configured for at least one of testing an adhesive application on the solar elements (4) arranged on the tool receptacles (23, 24) or testing the solar elements (4) arranged on the tool receptacles (23, 24) (Page 5, paragraph 1; Page 9, paragraph 6; Fig. 16, elements 23, 24).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Schaertl et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a testing device that can improve manufacturing quality as taught by Schaertl et al (Page 3, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 19, Bergmann et al fails to teach a testing device. Schaertl et al teaches a production device for solar modules wherein the testing station (16) has at least one sensor for testing the solar elements (4) and/or an adhesive application on the solar elements (4) (Page 9, paragraph 6; Fig. 15, element 16).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Schaertl et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a sensor that aids the test device in finding defects as taught by Schaertl et al (Page 9, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 20, Bergmann et al fails to teach a testing station. Schaertl et al teaches a production device for solar modules wherein the testing station (16) is assigned a removal device (9) which is adapted to eject improper solar elements (4), and the removal device (9) has at least one gripper (10) (Page 5, paragraph 1; Page 8, paragraphs 6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Schaertl et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a removal device that aids with solar cell processing as taught by Schaertl et al (Page 2, paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 29, Bergmann et al fails to teach a testing station. Schaertl et al teaches a production device for solar modules which includes feeding the solar elements (4) with the sliders (11) to a testing station (16), in which an inspection of at least one of the solar elements (4) or of an adhesive application on the solar elements is carried out (Page 5, paragraph 1; Page 9, paragraph 6; Fig. 15, element 16).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Schaertl et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of a testing device that can improve manufacturing quality as taught by Schaertl et al (Page 3, paragraph 1).
Claim(s) 15 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann et al in view of Everett et al (WO 2006015430).
Regarding claim 15, Bergmann et al fails to teach an electrostatic station. Everett et al teaches a method for producing solar cell sub-modules with an electrostatic station which is adapted for electrostatically charging and/or electrostatically discharging the workpiece receptacles (12306) of the sliders (12303), and the electrostatic station has at least one charging contact and/or at least one discharging contact (Page 17, paragraph 4; Page 37, paragraph 8; Fig. 33, elements 12303, 12306).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Everett et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of an electrostatic station that can secure the solar cells as taught by Everett et al (Page 38, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 32, Bergmann et al fails to teach an electrostatic station. Everett et al teaches a method for producing solar cell sub-modules which includes electrostatically charging the workpiece receptacles (12306) of the sliders (12303) for transport fixing of the solar elements (12202) on the support points (Page 17, paragraph 4; Page 37, paragraphs 8, 9; Page 38, paragraph 1; Fig. 33, elements 12202, 12303, 12306).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Everett et al in Bergmann et al to facilitate the creation of an electrostatic station that can maintain the orientation and position of the solar cell during transfer as taught by Everett et al (Page 17, paragraph 4).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654