DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a feature point detection tracking unit”, “a feature point movement amount calculation unit”, “a determination unit” in claim 1.
“a feature point detection area setting unit” in claim 2.
“a size calculation unit” in claim 7.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-16, are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 10, lines 1-3, recites “A computer-readable non-transitory recording medium storing computer- executable program instructions that when executed by a processor cause a computer to execute a program generation method comprising:”, however should recite “A computer-readable non-transitory recording medium storing computer- executable program instructions that when executed by a processor cause a computer to execute a the method comprising:”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 11-16, objected based on their dependency on the objected claim and inherent the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, recites the limitation "the clipped frame" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 11-16, rejected based on their dependency on the rejected claim and inherent the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12, and 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US PGPUB 2020/0228726 A1) and further in view of Noguchi (US PGPUB 2011/0211038 A1).
As per claim 1, Misawa discloses an image processing device for outputting a frame at a timing when a predetermined part of an object is displaced by a predetermined amount (as a clipped frame) from a moving image formed by a plurality of frames and capturing the object while a viewpoint is moved (Misawa, please see Fig. 5 and Fig. 7, and related description), the device comprising:
a feature point detection tracking unit that detects a feature point in a first frame that is a frame at a first time, tracks the feature point from the first time to a second time later than the first time, and calculates a two-dimensional vector indicating a motion of the feature point (Misawa, Fig. 5, and paragraph 66);
a feature point movement amount calculation unit that calculates a movement amount of the feature point based on the calculated two-dimensional vector (Misawa, paragraphs 66 and 71); and
Misawa does not explicitly disclose a predetermined part of an object is displaced by a predetermined amount as a clipped frame from a moving image;
a determination unit that determines whether the calculated movement amount is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value, and outputs a second frame as the clipped frame, the second frame being a frame at the second time, when the movement amount is determined to be equal to or greater than the threshold value.
Noguchi discloses a predetermined part of an object is displaced by a predetermined amount as a clipped frame from a moving image (Noguchi, Figs. 5-12, and related description);
a determination unit that determines whether the calculated movement amount is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value, and outputs a second frame as the clipped frame, the second frame being a frame at the second time, when the movement amount is determined to be equal to or greater than the threshold value (Noguchi, Figs. 4-13, and related description).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Misawa teachings by implementing a control circuit to the system, as taught by Noguchi.
The motivation would be to provide an improved imaging technique to inhibit blurring of the scene image (paragraph 32), as taught by Noguchi.
As per claim 2, Misawa in view of Noguchi further discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a feature point detection area setting unit that sets a feature point detection area that is an area where the feature point is detected in the frame (Misawa, please see Fig. 7), wherein the feature point detection tracking unit detects and tracks the feature point in the set feature point detection area (Misawa, paragraphs 66 and 81).
As per claim 3, Misawa in view of Noguchi further discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the feature point detection tracking unit calculates, in a case where the plurality of feature points are detected in the first frame, the two-dimensional vector for each of the plurality of detected feature points (Misawa, paragraphs 66 and 81), and the feature point movement amount calculation unit calculates an average value of magnitudes of the two-dimensional vectors calculated for each of the plurality of feature points as the movement amount (Misawa, paragraphs 66 and 81).
As per claim 5, Misawa in view of Noguchi further discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the feature point movement amount calculation unit calculates the movement amount using only a vector component in a specific direction among vector components of the two- dimensional vector (Noguchi, paragraph 46 and 55).
As per claim 8, please see the analysis of claim 1.
As per claim 10, Misawa discloses a computer-readable non-transitory recording medium storing computer- executable program instructions that when executed by a processor cause a computer to execute a program generation method (Misawa, paragraph 24) comprising:
For rest of claim limitations please see the analysis of claim 1.
As per claim 11, please see the analysis of claim 2.
As per claim 12, please see the analysis of claim 3.
As per claim 14, please see the analysis of claim 5.
Claim(s) 6, and 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US PGPUB 2020/0228726 A1) and further in view of Noguchi (US PGPUB 2011/0211038 A1) and further in view of Wang (EP 3232371 A1).
As per claim 6, Misawa in view of Noguchi further discloses the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the feature point movement amount calculation unit divides the frame into a plurality of areas (Noguchi, Figs. 9-12), and
Misawa in view of Noguchi does not explicitly disclose adjusts a magnitude of two-dimensional vector according to an area including the two- dimensional vector.
Wang discloses adjusts a magnitude of two-dimensional vector according to an area including the two- dimensional vector (Wang, paragraphs 38-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Misawa teachings by implementing a control circuit to the system, as taught by Noguchi.
The motivation would be to improve the accuracy of object recognition (paragraph 18), as taught by Wang.
As per claim 15, please see the analysis of claim 6.
Claim(s) 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US PGPUB 2020/0228726 A1) and further in view of Noguchi (US PGPUB 2011/0211038 A1) and further in view of Kuhn (US PGPUB 2008/0043848 A1).
As per claim 21, Misawa in view of Noguchi further discloses the image processing device according to 1, wherein Misawa in view of Noguchi does not explicitly disclose a synthetic vector of the two-dimensional vectors is calculated from a first time to a second time for one feature point.
Kuhn discloses a synthetic vector of the two-dimensional vectors is calculated from a first time to a second time for one feature point (Kuhn, paragraphs 147-148).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Misawa teachings by extracting motion parameters, as taught by Kuhn.
The motivation would be to provide motion estimation with reduced cost and time (paragraph 159), as taught by Kuhn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 17-20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note: Claims 13 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also by overcoming the objections and the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection as being set forth above.
Conclusion
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633