DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/710,309 filed on 06/23/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 18, 23-26 and 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (US 20250008537, Jan. 2, 2025) in view of Shimoda et al. (U.S 20220132460, Apr. 28, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Sahin discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, Sidelink (SL) communications (UE-to-UE communications) are communications directly between UEs to perform SL communications with one or more other nearby UEs), comprising determining a position of the UE based on a first positioning synchronization source(page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes include, information indicating sidelink positioning reference signals; that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source);
while determining the position of the UE based on the first positioning synchronization source(page 5, par(0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes include, information indicating of the following for the other user node: whether the other user node transmit and receive a sidelink positioning reference signal used for positioning; supported sidelink positioning methods that are supported by the other user node; the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source),
wherein the first sidelink coordination group uses a second positioning synchronization source that is different than the first positioning synchronization source(page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source);
transitioning from using the first positioning synchronization source to use of the first sidelink coordination group for determining the position of the UE(page 7, par (0054), line 1-10, the first user node to at least the target user node via a sidelink channel, a sidelink positioning reference signal, to enable the target user node to determine a positioning measurement of the target user node).
Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except pre-configuring a first sidelink coordination group for use by the UE prior to an occurrence of one or more first triggering events, and in response to a determination that the one or more first triggering events has occurred.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches pre-configuring a first sidelink coordination group for use by the UE prior to an occurrence of one or more first triggering events(page 17, par (0322), line 1-10, the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE, and positioning of the UE which is triggered by a predetermined event),
and in response to a determination that the one or more first triggering events has occurred (page 17, par (0322), line 1-10, the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE, and positioning of the UE which is triggered by a predetermined event).
Sahin and Shimoda are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify in the response to a determination that the one or more first triggering events has occurred the teaching of Sahin to include the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE teaching of Shimoda because it is providing a host device of a plurality of base station configured to perform radio communication with a communication terminal, wherein the host device selects, from among the plurality of base stations, a positioning base station.
Regarding Claim 2, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first positioning synchronization source is at least one of a base station or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS).
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches the first positioning synchronization source is at least one of a base station or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generates the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information obtained from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)).
Regarding Claim 3, Sahin discloses the position of the UE using the first positioning synchronization source is determined in a UE-assisted positioning mode (page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes include, information indicating sidelink positioning reference signals; that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source).
Regarding Claim 4, Sahin discloses the position of the UE using the first sidelink coordination group is determined in a UE-based positioning mode (page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source).
Regarding Claim 6, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending one or more positioning capabilities of the UE to a location server.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches sending one or more positioning capabilities of the UE to a location server (page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generates the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information obtained from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), time information signaled from a location information server to the base station).
Regarding Claim 7, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, by the UE, a recommended triggering event for transitioning to use of the first sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches determining, by the UE, a recommended triggering event for transitioning to use of the first sidelink coordination group (page 17, par (0322), line 1-10, the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE, and positioning of the UE which is triggered by a predetermined event); and sending an indication of the recommended triggering event to a location server (page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generate the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information obtained from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), time information signaled from a location information server to the base station).
Regarding Claim 8, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except monitoring sidelink resources of the first sidelink coordination group to pre-configure the first sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches monitoring sidelink resources of the first sidelink coordination group to pre-configure the first sidelink coordination group (page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Regarding Claim 9, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending, to a location server, an indication of one or more preferred sidelink devices for use in the first sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches sending, to a location server(page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generate the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information signaled from a location information server to the base station), an indication of one or more preferred sidelink devices for use in the first sidelink coordination group (page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Regarding Claim 10, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving, from a location server, an indication of sidelink resources for the first sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches receiving, from a location server (page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generate the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information signaled from a location information server to the base station), an indication of sidelink resources for the first sidelink coordination group(page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Regarding Claim 11, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining the first sidelink coordination group at the UE; and sending an indication of the first sidelink coordination group to a location server.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches determining the first sidelink coordination group at the UE (page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB);
and sending an indication of the first sidelink coordination group to a location server (page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, the base station generates the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information signaled from a location information server to the base station).
Regarding Claim 12, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except pre-configuring the first sidelink coordination group based, at least in part, on sidelink discovery operations conducted by the UE.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches pre-configuring the first sidelink coordination group based, at least in part, on sidelink discovery operations conducted by the UE (page 26, par (0467-0468), line 1-5, A physical sidelink discovery channel (PSDCH) carries a sidelink discovery message from the UE, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) carries control information from the UE for the sidelink communication and the V2X sidelink communication).
Regarding Claim 13, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except pre-configuring sidelink resources of a second sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches pre-configuring sidelink resources of a second sidelink coordination group (page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Regarding Claim 14, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except using the first sidelink coordination group for positioning while monitoring sidelink resources of the second sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches using the first sidelink coordination group for positioning while monitoring sidelink resources of the second sidelink coordination group (page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Regarding Claim 18, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending, to a location server, an indication of one or more preferred sidelink devices for use in one or more sidelink coordination groups.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches sending, to a location server(page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generate the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information obtained from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS), time information signaled from a location information server to the base station), an indication of one or more preferred sidelink devices for use in one or more sidelink coordination groups(page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Regarding Claim 23, Sahin discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (page 3, par (0026), line 1-10, Sidelink (SL) communications (UE-to-UE communications) are communications directly between UEs to perform SL communications with one or more other nearby UEs), comprising determining a position of the UE based on a first positioning synchronization source(page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes include, information indicating sidelink positioning reference signals; that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source);
while determining the position of the UE based on the first positioning synchronization source(page 5, par(0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes include, information indicating of the following for the other user node: whether the other user node transmit and receive a sidelink positioning reference signal used for positioning; supported sidelink positioning methods that are supported by the other user node; the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source),
wherein the first sidelink coordination group uses a second positioning synchronization source that is different than the first positioning synchronization source(page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source);
transitioning from using the first positioning synchronization source to use of the first sidelink coordination group for determining the position of the UE(page 7, par (0054), line 1-10, the first user node to at least the target user node via a sidelink channel, a sidelink positioning reference signal, to enable the target user node to determine a positioning measurement of the target user node).
Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except pre-configuring a first sidelink coordination group for use by the UE prior to an occurrence of one or more first triggering events, and in response to a determination that the one or more first triggering events has occurred.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches pre-configuring a first sidelink coordination group for use by the UE prior to an occurrence of one or more first triggering events(page 17, par (0322), line 1-10, the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE, and positioning of the UE which is triggered by a predetermined event),
and in response to a determination that the one or more first triggering events has occurred (page 17, par (0322), line 1-10, the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE, and positioning of the UE which is triggered by a predetermined event).
Sahin and Shimoda are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify in the response to a determination that the one or more first triggering events has occurred the teaching of Sahin to include the positioning of the UE semi-statically performed of the semi-static positioning of the UE include periodic positioning of the UE teaching of Shimoda because it is providing a host device of a plurality of base station configured to perform radio communication with a communication terminal, wherein the host device selects, from among the plurality of base stations, a positioning base station.
Regarding Claim 24, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first positioning synchronization source is at least one of a base station or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS).
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches the first positioning synchronization source is at least one of a base station or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (page 27, par (0481), line 1-5, The base station generate the timing reference to be transmitted from the base station to the UE using, time information obtained from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)).
Regarding Claim 25, Sahin discloses the position of the UE using the first positioning synchronization source is determined in a UE-assisted positioning mode (page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes include, information indicating sidelink positioning reference signals; that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source).
Regarding Claim 26, Sahin discloses Sahin is the same field of invention teaches the position of the UE using the first sidelink coordination group is determined in a UE-based positioning mode (page 5, par (0040), line 1-10, the sidelink positioning capability information received by the target user node from the one or more other user nodes that are supported by the other user node; whether the other user node is synchronized and an indication of its synchronization source).
Regarding Claim 28, Sahin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the at least one processor is further configured to: determine the position of the UE based on the first positioning synchronization source while monitoring sidelink resources of the first sidelink coordination group to pre-configure the first sidelink coordination group.
Shimoda is the same field of invention teaches at least one processor is further configured to: determine the position of the UE based on the first positioning synchronization source while monitoring sidelink resources of the first sidelink coordination group to pre-configure the first sidelink coordination group (page 26, par (0472), line 1-10, A sidelink shared channel (SL-SCH) supports broadcast transmission, the SL-SCH supports both of the UE autonomous resource selection and the resource allocation scheduled by the eNB).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 5 or 15 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 23 would be allowable if (i) claim 27 is incorporated into independent claim 23.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 19-22 and 29 are allowed.
Claims 19 and 29 are allowed over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose wherein the positioning pre- configuration is based on pre-configuring the UE while the UE is determining a position of the UE based on a first positioning synchronization source; and sending, to the UE, an indication of one or more triggering events to be used by the UE to initiate a transition from using the first positioning synchronization source to use of a first sidelink coordination group of the one or more sidelink coordination groups for determining the position of the UE, wherein the first sidelink coordination group uses a second positioning synchronization source that is different than the first positioning synchronization source.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464