DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2024 and 08/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Please refer to applicant’s copy of the 1449 herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 6, 8, 11, 14-16, 18-20, 22, 29, 31, 33 in the reply filed on 02/05/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 14-16, 18-20, 22, 29, 31, 33, 45, 47-48 and 51 remain pending in the application. Claims 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 17, 21, 23-28, 30, 32, 34-44, 46, 49-50 and 52-56 is/are cancelled. Claims 45, 47, 48 and 51 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected locally crystallized glass article, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Note: the Examiner produced an error in Group I claims, not including Claims 1-3 om the Restriction Election Requirement. PTO-413 Interview Summary (dates 03/16/2026) confirms Claims 1-3 are included in the Group I election without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0115] paragraph appears unfinished/incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claim 6 – cites surface tension values of the slurry. The Examiner understands the surface tension to be static surface tension, not dynamic surface tension.
Regarding Claim 20 - “Etching” is referenced in the specification in [0024], [0025], [0047], [0048], [0076], [00107], [00108], [00115], [00116], and is not properly described in the application as filed. It is unclear if the etching is wet etching or dry etching, and what general process parameters are used. For example, wet etching may be HF acid or a combination of HF acid or other acids at various temperatures. For the purposes of prosecution and prior art, the Examiner understands etching to be any method that removes material.
Regarding Claim 22 – “ a first glass article” and “ a second glass article” is understood by the Examiner to mean simply that there are two glass articles, where the terms “first” and “second” have relative meaning only.
Regarding Claim 22 – “depositing a nuclear catalyst” is understood by the Examiner to mean
an addition of the nuclear catalyst in the glass during forming, where the nuclear catalyst would be throughout the glass and present at all surfaces. Or,
an addition of a nuclear catalyst after glass forming. Or,
both a) and b).
Examiner Note: A method is defined as a series of actions (MPEP 2106 (I), i.e., “processes…defines “actions”; inventions that consist of a series of steps or acts to be performed). Thus, since methods are defined by actions, the method is given weight only to the extent that it impacts the method in a manipulative sense. See Ex parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31, noting “recited structural limitations must affect method in manipulative sense and not amount to mere claiming of a use of a particular structure”.
Regarding Claim 18 – “a chemical composition of the crystalline phase is substantially the same as a chemical composition of the non-crystalline phase” is an outcome of the method and does not affect the method in a manipulative sense and is a mere claiming of a particular structure.
Regarding Claim 19 - “a chemical composition of the crystalline phase is different from a chemical
composition of the non-crystalline phase” is an outcome of the method and does not affect the method
in a manipulative sense and is a mere claiming of a particular structure.
Examiner Note: The art does not recognize any distinction between coating and impregnating. In re
Marra et al., 141 USPQ 221.
Regarding Claims 1 and 22 – “to form an at least partially coated surface”.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities. The form below is read/Examiner suggestion:
Regarding Claim 14: heating the glass article/heating the glass article to the nucleation temperature (2x).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 20, 22 recite the term “locally”, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “locally crystallized glass article” is rendered indefinite. . For the purposes of prosecution and prior art, the Examiner understands that the term “locally” to mean any location in the glass article where there is crystallization of any amount/size/shape/volume.
Claims 1 and 22 recite the term “adjacent”, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “adjacent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “locally crystallized glass article adjacent to the nucleation catalyst” is rendered indefinite. For the purposes of prosecution and prior art, the Examiner understands that the term “adjacent” to mean any location the locally crystallized glass article can be referenced from the nucleation catalyst.
Claim 11 – recites “one or more of a (i) liquidus temperature from 1100°C to 1750°C and (ii) a liquidus viscosity of greater than 35,000 poise”. It is unclear if the liquidus temperature and liquidus viscosity are both required to meet the claim, due to the use of the phrases “one or more of” and “and”, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of prosecution and prior art, the Examiner understands that the claim requirements are met if either a (i) liquidus temperature from 1100°C to 1750°C or (ii) a liquidus viscosity of greater than 35,000 poise is present, or, if both a (i) liquidus temperature from 1100°C to 1750°C and (ii) a liquidus viscosity of greater than 35,000 poise is present.
All dependent claims not cited but dependent on the independent and dependent claims above are also hereby rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11, 15-16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated U.S. Patent 3,464,880 by Rhinehart (herein “Rhinehart”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Rhinehart teaches,
a method for producing localized crystallization in a glass article; Col 2 lines 55-56, “The present invention is an improvement in the field of strengthening glasses by surface crystallization”.
the method comprising,
o depositing a nucleation catalyst onto at least a portion of a surface of the glass article to form an at least partially coated surface; Col 2 lines 65-68, “According to the present invention, strengthened glass articles can be produced by coating the surface of a transparent crystallizable glass with a nucleating compound…”
wherein,
o the nucleation catalyst is in a solution or in a slurry; Col 2 lines 71-72, Col 8 lines 10-12, “For example, this may be done by depositing a film of titanium dioxide (a Group IV metal, and a metal oxide) on the surface of the glass…”, “The coating operation can be conducted conveniently by forming a solution, dispersion, etc., of the titanium containing compound or composition…”
o heating the glass article to a nucleation temperature; Col 2 lines 65-70, Col 3 lines 2-3, 60-68, “According to the present invention, strengthened glass articles can be produced by coating the surface of a transparent crystallizable glass with a nucleating compound and heating the treated coated glass to effect the surface crystallization…”, “This results in the increase in the number of nucleation sites at the surface of the glass…”, “…coating lithia-alumina-magnesia silica glass containing…a titanium containing material……and heat treating the coated glass at a temperature which is sufficient to effect surface crystallization…the heat treating is conducted at temperatures ranging from 1300 to 1575°F (704°C to 857°C ).”
o holding the glass article at the nucleation temperature to form a locally crystallized glass article comprising, a crystalline phase and a non-crystalline phase; Col 3 lines 68 , “…for time periods ranging from 5 to 30 minutes to grow surface crystallized zones ranging from 10 to 50 microns in thickness”. As the crystalline zones are 10-50um in thickness, the remainder of the thickness is a non-crystalline phase.
wherein,
o one or more portions of the locally crystallized glass article adjacent to the nucleation catalyst comprise the crystalline phase and a remainder of the locally crystallized glass article comprises the non-crystalline phase; Col 11 lines 6-18, Col 3 lines 68 ,“ A method of forming a transparent strengthened glass article having a compression layer contiguous with the surface of said article…comprising forming a coating of a crystal nucleating agent on a base of a crystallizable glass of the lithia-alumina-silica glass family wherein crystals form having a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than said glass upon crystallizing…until a layer of crystals is formed at said glass surface and in a region subjacent thereto…”, “… to grow surface crystallized zones ranging from 10 to 50 microns in thickness”. As the crystalline zones are 10-50um in thickness, the remainder of the thickness is a non-crystalline phase.
o and cooling the locally crystallized glass article; Col 11 lines 16-18, “…until a layer of crystals is formed at said glass surface and in a region subjacent thereto, and thereafter cooling said glass…”.
Regarding Claim 2 - Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
the nucleation catalyst comprises a Group 1 metal, a Group 2 metal, a Group 3 metal, a Group 4
metal, or Group 5 metal, or combinations thereof; Rhinehart teaches the instant claim
previously in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
the nucleation catalyst comprises one of(i) lithium, sodium, cesium, calcium, magnesium,
strontium, scandium, yttrium, titanium, niobium, or combinations thereof, (ii) a metal
carbonate, a metal nitrate, or combinations thereof, or (iii) a metal oxide; Rhinehart teaches
the instant claim previously in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
the glass article comprises fused silica or aluminosilicate glass; Col 4 lines 15-16, “Preferred
crystallizable base glasses contain 54 to 65 weight percent Si02, 17 to 35 weight percent
A1203…”
Regarding Claim 11 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teach all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
the glass article has one or more of (i) a liquidus temperature from 1,100 °C to 1,750 °C and (ii) a
liquidus viscosity of greater than 35,000 poise; Table I, Composition G converting °F to
°C is 1143°C.
Regarding Claim 15 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
the holding the glass article at the nucleation temperature comprises holding the glass article at
the nucleation temperature for a time in a range from 1 minute to 60 minutes; Rhinehart
teaches the instant claim previously in Claim 1 “..from 5 to 30 minutes to grow surface
crystallized zones…”
Regarding Claim 16 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
the nucleation temperature is from 650 °C to 1400 °C; Rhinehart teaches the instant claim
previously in Claim 1, ““…and heat treating the coated glass at a temperature which is sufficient
to effect surface crystallization…the heat treating is conducted at temperatures ranging from
1300 to 1575°F (704°C to 857°C ).”
Regarding Claim 18 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein,
a chemical composition of the crystalline phase is substantially the same as a chemical
composition of the non-crystalline phase; Claim18 is considered to be directed to a structural
limitation only; See Claim Interpretation.
Regarding Claim 19 - Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches wherein
a chemical composition of the crystalline phase is different from a chemical composition of the
non-crystalline phase; Claim19 is considered to be directed to a structural limitation only; See
Claim Interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Rhinehart (herein “Rhinehart”) and in further view of NPL “High photocatalytic efficiency of inkjet printed patterns by formulation of eco-friendly TiO2-based inks” by Yus et. al. (herein “Yus”).
Regarding Claim 6 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches a titanium containing material that is organic or inorganic (Col 7 lines 20-34) and
forming a solution/dispersion/etc., for dipping the glass article to coat the glass article or for spraying
the solution on the glass to coat the glass article. Further that the solvent or dispersion medium can be
selected from a wide variety of materials (organic solvents such as methanol, ethanol, propanol, etc.)
in accordance to known methods of providing coatings of the given titanium compound or composition
(Col 8 lines 10-20), as well as a titanium weight concentration range up to 5% or usually up to 2% (Col 8
line 34-36). Further Rhinehart teaches a desire for TiO2 film thickness of .001 to .05um (Col 7 lines 48-
49). While it is known in the art that solutions/slurries/coating mixtures must have certain rheological
properties for the particular coating process, Rhinehart fails to teach wherein,
the solution or the slurry (i) further comprises water and diethylene glycol;
and a weight ratio of water to diethylene glycol is from 2:1 to 1:2;
and (ii) has a viscosity from 1 centipoise to 25 centipoise;
and a surface tension from 20 dynes/centimeter to 50 dynes/centimeter;
In an analogous endeavor of coating FTO glass with a material ink, Yus teaches,
a variety of ways to immobilize particles on a substrate (Page 1 Col 2 Para. 2), including dip
coating.
the ink contains TiO2 (Abstract, lines 1-2).
the TiO2 is used for a catalytic activity (Page 2 Col 1, Para.3)
The above provides a nexus for Yus.
To coat glass withTiO2, , Yus deploys an inkjet technique to print desired patterns (Abstract lines 1-2.
Page 3 Col 2, Para.2). Fig 2b illustrates a 15 wt% inkjettable TiO2 ink with a viscosity of 10 mPa-s (= 10
centipoise); Fig. 2a illustrates a 40 wt% inkjettableTiO2 ink with associated viscosity at H2O: DEG
(diethylene glycol) ratios, including 7:3 ( = 2.3:1 ) and 1:1, and associated surface tension values from
29 to 50 mN/m (= 29 to 50 dynes/centimeter). Yus discloses the claimed invention using inkjet
technology except for the above noted values for viscosity, surface tension and a weight ratio of water
to diethylene glycol from 2:1 to 1:2 for the exact TiO2 formulation of Rhinehart.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to use the inkjet technique of Yus in the method of Rhinehart, as one would
be motivated to do so for the purpose of fabrication of a well-defined TiO2 pattern to improve the
specific active surface of the print, control over deposited material amount, pattern design precision,
and a zero-waste process. As well, for the common industrial reasons of being a cost-effective manner
for mass production, as noted by Yus (Page 2 Col 1, Para. 1).
Continuing, viscosity, surface tension and H2O: DEG ratio are considered result effective variables, in
that the selection of chemicals that provide the inks with ideal properties is relevant for a successful
process, as noted by Yus (Page 2, Col 1, Para. 1, lines 14-15). It would have been obvious to one having
ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimized the
viscosity , surface tension, and H2O:DEG ratio for inkjetting the formulation of Rhinehart, since it has
been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in
the art. One would have been motivated to optimize the viscosity , surface tension, and H2O:DEG ratio
for inkjetting the formulation of Rhinehart as non-Newtonian inkjet inks and formulations must be
adapted and optimized by combining different organic solvents and additives to fit the printer
requirements. Further, the use of a glycol co-solvent with water helps to change the evaporation rate of
the mix to minimize drying at the printer nozzles and supports proper viscosity and surface tension, as
noted by Yus (Page 2, Col 1 lines 10-13, 16-22). A particular parameter must first be recognized as a
result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination. In
re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). It is well settled that determination of optimum
values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing
in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Rhinehart (herein “Rhinehart”) and in further view of U.S. Patent 2,998,675 by Scott et. al. (herein “Scott”).
Regarding Claim 14 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches the lithium-alumino-silicate (LAS) glass compositions with different forming methods
(Col 3 lines 38-40), (Col 4 lines 68-72), (Col 5 lines 18-22) (Col 5 lines 3-6) with heating to induce
crystallization. A PHOSITA at the time of the invention would know drawn or cast glass sheet provides a
thickness 100microns-10mm.
Yet Rhinehart fails to teach wherein,
the heating the glass article comprises heating the glass article at a rate from 1 °C/minute to 10
°C/minute;
In an analogous endeavor of forming a crystallization layer on a layer of glass, Scott teaches,
LAS glass
LAS glass (Table I, batch composition 2, where the SiO2 wt. % , wt % of Al2O3 and LiO2 is similar to
Rhinehart composition G.
a crystallization catalyst from a selection that comprises TiO2 (Col 1 lines 68-72).
heating the glass for crystallization, batch composition 2 (Table II).
The above provides a nexus for Scott.
Scott discloses preferably heating articles continually at a controlled rate to induce surface
crystallization. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
control the rate of heating as motivated of a thickness of ¼ inch or more to a maximum of
5ºC/minute to avoid excessive thermal gradients. Therefore, one would have been motivated to
optimize the heating rate of the glass article of Rhinehart based on the thickness of the Rhinehart
sheet for the purpose of avoiding excessive thermal gradients and achieving desired surface
crystallization. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not
inventive to discover optimum working ranges by routine experimentation in the absence of a
showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
Regarding Claim 20 – Rhinehart in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Rhinehart teaches there are many processes that can provide for a strengthened glass body with a
compressive stress in the surface (Col 1 lines 32-33, 43-45, Col 2 lines 4-5, 19-25). While not mentioned,
etching of glass surfaces, typically with a type(s) of acid, is a common-known in the art method of
enhancing surface strength of glass. Yet, Rhinehart fails to teach wherein,
the method further comprises etching the locally crystallized glass article to remove at least a
portion of the crystalline phase or at least a portion of the non-crystalline phase.
Scott further teaches that the glass may have microscopic cracks in the surface of the glass before heat
treatment that may have a weakening effect on the modulus of rupture of the finished article. To
eliminate the cracks, the glass article is acid washed in aqueous hydrofluoric acid (HF) (Col 4 lines 15-24).
Scott disclosed the claimed invention except for occurring after crystallization. It would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to use the acid wash of Scott to eliminate surface cracks of the glass article after the
crystallization method of Rhinehart (and remove at least a portion of the crystalline phase), as one
would be motived to do so for the purpose of further enhancing/preserving surface strength of the
crystallized glass article. Acid etching glass is a commonly known method in the art. A person of ordinary
skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the
anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense."
KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 22, 29, 31, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 3,507,737 by Busdiecker et. al. (herein “Busdiecker”) in further review of U.S. Patent 3,464,880 by Rhinehart (herein “Rhinehart”).
Regarding Claim 22 – Busdiecker teaches a method for producing localized crystallization in a glass
article, the method comprising,
fusing a second glass article to the first glass article to form a fused glass article wherein the at
least partially coated surface is positioned at an interface between the first glass
article and the second glass article ; Col 3 lines 15-18, Sheet 2 element 28 with elements 25 and
26 (faces of ) located on the face of element 28; “The object of this invention to provide a
method of sealing two thermally crystallizable glass parts along adjoining contacting surfaces….”
depositing a nucleation catalyst onto at least a portion of a surface of a first glass article to form
an at least partially coated surface wherein the nucleation catalyst is in a solution or in a slurry;
Col 10, Table A; cites a lithium-aluminosilicate glass with 0-6% TiO2. Per the Claim
Interpretation, a glass containing titania (i.e. considered impregnated with titania) does not
distinguish itself from a coating, as the function of providing a coated surface with a nucleation
catalyst is similar to the function of a glass containing a nucleation catalyst – to provide a surface
that is crystallized. Further, it is known in the art that titania is a nucleation catalyst. The titania
in the glass can be considered in the solution of the glass.
heating the fused glass article to a nucleation temperature; holding the fused glass article at the
nucleation temperature to form a locally crystallized glass article, Col 7 lines 52-55, 63-66, Col 8
lines 1-2 “ After fusion, the bonded assembly is subjected to the thermal in situ nucleation and
crystallization heat treatment schedule to bring about the proper amount of nucleation and
subsequent crystallization to produce a low expansion telescope mirror blank”, ‘…the fused
assembly can be cooled well below the nucleation step temperature range and below the
annealing point, and even to room temperature, if desired. “
cooling the locally crystallized glass article.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at some point the locally crystallized glass article is
cooled to room temperature as motivated to transport said article or handle and use the article.
Regarding Claim 29 – Busdiecker and Rhinehart in the rejection of Claim 22 above teach all of the limitations of claim 22.
Busdiecker teaches wherein,
one or both of the first glass article and the second glass article comprises fused silica; Col 4,
line 3. It is not indicated the SiO2 is made from cullet or has impurities and prior to
crystallization considered fused silica, “[T]he reference need not satisfy an ipsissimis verbis
test,” 1.c., identity of terminology is not required. In re Gleave, 560 F.3d 1331, 1334 (Fed.
Cir. 2009).
Regarding Claim 31 – Busdiecker and Rhinehart in the rejection of Claim 22 above teach all of the limitations of claim 22.
Busdiecker teaches wherein,
one or both of the first glass article and the second glass article comprises an aluminosilicate
glass; Col 3 lines 15-18, Col 9 lines 47-50, Table A/ Table B, “…the object of this invention to
provide a method of sealing two thermally crystallizable glass parts along adjoining
contacting surfaces without obtaining premature crystallization of the glass parts”, “Broadly,
these are thermally crystallizable glasses having a composition consisting essentially of the
following components, present in the glass in the following weight percentages…”
Regarding Claim 33 – Busdiecker and Rhinehart in the rejection of Claim 22 above teach all of the limitations of claim 22.
Busdiecker teaches wherein,
a composition of the first glass article may be is substantially the same as a composition of
the second glass article; Busdiecker teaches the instant claim previously in Claim 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. Patent 4,814,297 teaches a method of producing a lithium aluminosilicate glass body integral with a compressive semicrystalline layer where there is a controlled crystallization procedure completed in a relatively short time.
U.S. Patent 3,582 385 teaches a method for the production of lithium barium aluminosilicate glass nucleated with TiO2 to provide a low coefficient of thermal expansion.
USPGPUB 20160194235A1 teaches the crystallization of laminate glass articles and crystallizing a portion of one of the glass articles, where there is a semicrystalline surface portion integral with the bulk glass article.
USPGPUB 20050153142A1 teaches a product and a method of a lithium aluminosilicate glass where there is a surface layer with a degree of crystallization greater than within the glass ceramic body.
/CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741