Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terminology “the liquid phase” in claim 1 lacks antecedent basis. Therefore, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
As claims 2-15 depend from claim 1, they are rejected for the same issue discussed above.
The terminology “the chemolysis reactor” in claim 7 lacks antecedent basis. Therefore, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 103275349A) in view of Simon (Waste Management 2018, 76, 147-171; cited 5/15/2024). As the cited CN publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 11-13, Yang teaches methods of recovering polyols from polyurethane products (¶ 17). Yang describes examples where rigid polyurethane foam product based on isocyanate and polyol components is provided, the foam is reacted with excess ethylene glycol and water at 210 degrees C, ethylene acetate (bp ~ 77 degrees C) organic solvent is added to provide polyol phase with organic solvent and aqueous phase, and the polyol phase is worked up via distillation to dryness to obtain recovered polyol (¶ 58). There is no perceived substantial difference in protocol between what is instantly claimed and what is set forth by Yang. Thus, the polyol phase of Yang is seen to intrinsically possess some quantity of amine in addition to ethyl acetate and polyol and the aqueous phase of Yang is seen to possess water, ethylene glycol, and amine. The distillation purification of polyol is seen to intrinsically separate off organic solvent and amine since distillation is continued to dryness to afford polyol. Yang alludes to no heating/cooling when extracting and thus, room temperature is implied. Yang differs from the subject matter claimed in that 1) catalyst is not indicated and 2) the identity of isocyanate/amine for the rigid polyurethane foam is not identified.
In this regard, the use of catalysts in polyurethane hydrolysis/hydroglycolysis is well known in the art. See for instance Page 154 of Simon where base catalysts such as sodium hydroxide are indicated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further incorporate catalysts within the reaction mixtures of Yang, thereby predictably increasing reaction rates associated with polyurethane degradation. Simon teaches the isocyanate mainly used for rigid polyurethane foams is widely known to be polymeric MDI (Section 3.1.2). See also the use of polymeric MDI within ¶ 102 with respect to the creation of new rigid polyurethane foams. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat rigid polyurethane foams formed from MDI (corresponding diamine 4,4’-methylenedianiline; bp ~ 398 degrees C), thereby facilitating the recycling of common rigid polyurethane foam substrates.
Regarding Claim 4, since ethylene glycol has a higher boiling point than ethyl acetate, ethyl acetate would logically be distilled off first prior to any residual ethylene glycol present.
Regarding Claim 6, Yang teaches mixing ethylene glycol with water and then polyurethane is added (¶ 58). Thus, Yang differs from the subject matter claimed solely by the order of mixing, whereby the claims require that polyurethane first be added to ethylene glycol and then water is added to the resulting mixture. It has been held that any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C). Thus, it would have been obvious that any order of mixing polyurethane, water, and alcohol can be performed within the protocols of Yang, inclusive of polyurethane first being added to ethylene glycol and then water is added to the resulting mixture, with an expectation of chemolysis/recovering recycled alcohol would result in the absence of evidence showing the claimed order of addition to be critical.
Regarding Claim 7, Yang teaches components are mixed, the reactor sealed, and is then heated at 210 degrees C (¶ 58). Yang therefore implies mixing prior to sealing/heating occurs at room temperature. Yang is seen to suggest water is added in one portion.
Regarding Claim 8, as option α is met, any further limitations concerning option β is seen to be met by the prior art since claim 8 does not explicitly require the protocol of option β.
Regarding Claim 14, while Yang does not specify the type of polyol, Simon teaches the use of polyether and polyester polyols are routinely used in the creation of rigid polyurethane foams (Section 3.1.2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize rigid polyurethane foams of polyether and polyester polyols thereby facilitating the recovery of such polyols for re-use.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 103275349A) in view of Simon (Waste Management 2018, 76, 147-171; cited 5/15/2024) and Steffens (WO 2020/260387 A1). As the cited CN publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to. As the cited WO document is in a non-English language, the English equivalent, US 2022/0251328 A1 has been utilized in place of the WO document. All citations are made with respect to the above-mentioned US document.
The discussion regarding Yang and Simon within ¶ 13-19 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, to the extent Yang differs from the subject matter claimed with respect to recycling extraction solvent or recovered glycol for re-use, Steffens also pertains to the recovery of polyols from polyurethanes involving extraction workup (Abstract). Steffens teaches it was known in the art solvent and/or glycol recovered from extractions can be separated off and re-used for further extractions/reactions (Figure 1; ¶ 134, 137). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recover and re-use the extraction solvents and/or glycols of Yang because doing so would avoid costs associated with solvent/glycol purchase/waste/disposal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,692,359 in view of Yang (CN 103275349A). As the cited CN publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Specifically, claim 1 of ‘359 pertains to a process of recovering raw materials from polyurethane foams based on isocyanate and polyol components, comprising conducting chemolysis with water and alcohol in the presence of catalyst to obtain a mixture of amine, polyol, water, and alcohol; which is then worked up at step (C) and polyols are recovered at step (D). Claim 1 requires a mass ratio of alcohol and water to PUR foam in the range of 0.5-2.5 and a mass of water is 4-10 wt% of alcohol, which is the same ranges instantly claimed (see instant claim 10). Therefore, ‘359 is seen to suggest the use of excess alcohol and water.
Various amines of diisocyanates are disclosed such as toluenediaimne / toluenediisocyanate (Claims 2-5), which exhibits the boiling point characteristic of claim 1. Working up step (C) can comprise mixing the product mixture with organic solvent, upon which separation of phases occurs with a polyol phase and amine phase (Claim 13) after which the polyol is recovered from polyol phase via distillation (Claim 14). While the ‘359 claims do not identify the exact components of the polyol phase (e.g. polyol phase also has organic solvent and some amine) and does not indicate amine/solvent is removed via distillation when recovering the polyol, the ‘359 patent suggests substantially same protocols and materials as set forth within the instant specification/claims. Thus, such characteristics are seen to necessarily be present in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
‘359 differs from the subject matter claimed in that the claims do not specify particular organic solvents or extraction temperatures. Yang also pertains to recovering polyols from polyurethanes via hydroalcoholysis followed by extraction (¶ 5; Examples). Yang teaches extraction with solvents such as ethyl acetate (bp ~ 77 degrees C) facilitates the removal of polyol, which can be isolated via distillation/evaporation (¶ 16, 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the organic solvents of Yang within the protocols of ‘359, thereby predictably affording polyol phases for purification as taught by Yang. Yang does not indicate any heating/cooling during extractions (Examples), implying extractions at room temperature. The remaining limitations claimed are found within the ‘359 claims.
Regarding Claim 4, claim 8 of ‘359 suggests alcohols such as ethylene glycol, which exceeds the boiling point of ethyl acetate. Thus, the combination would suggest instances where organic solvent would be distilled off first followed by alcohol over the course of isolating polyol.
Claims 3 and 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,692,359 in view of Yang (CN 103275349A) and Steffens (WO 2020/260387 A1). As the cited CN publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to. As the cited WO document is in a non-English language, the English equivalent, US 2022/0251328 A1 has been utilized in place of the WO document. All citations are made with respect to the above-mentioned US document.
The discussion regarding the ‘359 patent and Yang within ¶ 25-28 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, to the extent the ‘359 claims differs from the subject matter claimed with respect to recycling extraction solvent or recovered glycol for re-use, Steffens also pertains to the recovery of polyols from polyurethanes involving extraction workup (Abstract). Steffens teaches it was known in the art solvent and/or glycol recovered from extractions can be separated off and re-used for further extractions/reactions (Figure 1; ¶ 134, 137). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recover and re-use the extraction solvents and/or glycols of ‘359 because doing so would avoid costs associated with solvent/glycol purchase/waste/disposal.
Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pizzini (U.S. Pat. No. 3,441,616) describes hydrolyzing polyurethanes followed by polyol extraction with organic solvent. Hydroglycolysis is not described.
Gerlock (U.S. Pat. No. 4,336,406) describes hydroglycolyzing polyurethanes followed by polyol extraction with organic solvent. However, Gerlock removes water prior to extraction. Gerlock notes “any water present in solution must be removed. If this is not done, spattering will take place when the solution and the alkane are combined” (Col. 5, Lines 31-34).
Verbergen (US 2021/0214518 A1) describes alcoholysis of polyurethanes followed by extraction purification. The use of excess water during alcoholysis is not seen to be described.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 would be allowable if 1) rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and 2) a terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759