DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: curtain “10”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 66, 71, and 90 recite language in the format of “at least one of X and Y” or “one of X and Y.” The Examiner is interpreting the claims to require at least one X or at least one Y as consistent with the disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claims 83, 86, 87, 88 are objected to for reciting “the curtain” which should instead read --a curtain—since the claims do not previously recite a curtain.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 65, 66 76-81, 91, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serbu (US 3,827,019).
Regarding claim 65, Serbu discloses a system, comprising:
a magnetic door (11, 12) having a top, a bottom, a left side, and a right side (Fig 5), the magnetic door having an opening (between 13 and 14) extending to the bottom of the magnetic door between the left side and the right side of the magnetic door (Fig 1) from a position below the top of the magnetic door (Fig 5),
the opening having a left seam (27) and a right seam (28), the left seam comprising a first magnet (21), the right seam comprising a second magnet (22) (col 4, lines 34-39 and col 6, lines 14-19 and Fig 3), wherein the first and second magnets are constructed and arranged to be magnetically coupled (Figs 1-3), and
Col 4:
Col 6:
an enclosure (41) coupled to the magnetic door (11, 12; Fig 5),
wherein the magnetic door comprises an aperture (according to different interpretations, 1) an aperture is between the magnets; 2) an aperture is one of the openings receiving 15, 16, 21, or 22; and 3) an aperture is one of the openings in the mesh material).
Regarding claim 66, Serbu discloses wherein the enclosure (41) is at least one of sewn to the magnetic door and taped to the magnetic door (col 6, lines 41-46).
Regarding claim 76, Serbu discloses wherein the magnetic door comprises a material selected from a durable material, a ruggedized nylon material, a nylon-taffeta, a rip-stop material, a synthetic material, a natural fabric material, a plastic material (col 4, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 77, Serbu discloses wherein the first and second magnets comprise an elongated body having a north pole and a south pole (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 78, Serbu discloses wherein the first and second magnets each comprise a plurality of magnets positioned along the left or right seam (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 79, Serbu discloses wherein the left and right seams comprise corresponding magnets at corresponding vertical positions and wherein north and south poles of the corresponding magnets are configured to be of opposite polarity so that the corresponding magnets attract each other (Figs 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 80, Serbu discloses further comprising an attachment mechanism (top and sides of 11 and 12) configured to couple (via sewing) the magnetic door (11, 12) to a mounting surface (surface of the tent 41, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 81, Serbu discloses wherein the attachment mechanism comprises a plurality of attachment mechanisms (top and sides of 11 and 12 connected to tent 41).
Regarding claim 91, Serbu discloses wherein the opening (between 11 and 12) is positioned at a center of a width of the magnetic door such that a width of the left side is substantially the same as a width of the right side (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 92, Serbu discloses wherein the enclosure (41) surrounds the aperture (as pointed out above, even with the multiple interpretations, the enclosure tent 41 surrounds the aperture as evident in Fig 5 in which the tent has a portion around the magnetic door and thus around the apertures of the magnetic door).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 65 and 67-92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittemore (US 10,781,597), hereinafter referred to as Whittemore ‘597, in view of Whittemore (WO 2020/146904), hereinafter referred to as Whittemore ‘904.
Regarding claims 65 and 69, Whittemore ‘597 discloses a system (Fig 1D), comprising:
a magnetic door (112) having a top, a bottom, a left side, and a right side, the magnetic door having an opening (between magnetic seams) extending to the bottom of the magnetic door between the left side and the right side of the magnetic door from a position below the top of the magnetic door (Fig 1E),
the opening having a left seam (at 38A) and a right seam (at 38B), the left seam comprising a first magnet (Fig 5A), the right seam comprising a second magnet (Fig 5A), wherein the first and second magnets are constructed and arranged to be magnetically coupled.
Whittemore ‘597 fails to disclose an enclosure coupled to the magnetic door, wherein the magnetic door comprises an aperture and a base positioned at the aperture and configured to support an air duct. However, Whittemore ‘904 teaches that it is known for a system providing a partition to include an enclosure (800) (Figs 11 and 12), an aperture (cutout) (Fig 5A) and a base (402) (Fig 8) in order to provide a means of connection and support of an air duct (500) (Fig 11).
It would be desirable to provide Whittemore ‘597 which has the purpose of providing a construction site with a partition with the elements taught by Whittemore ‘904 since Whittemore ‘904 also teaches providing a construction site with partition with the added improvement of providing an enclosure, aperture, and base positioned at the aperture configured to support an air duct in order to provide movement of air and ventilation of the enclosed area. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Whittemore ‘597 in view of the teachings of Whittemore ‘904 and combine the known elements in order to provide means for movement of air and ventilation. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 67, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches that the enclosure (800) comprises a flexible fabric.
Regarding claim 68, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches that the enclosure (800) comprises a retractable member, the retractable member comprising an adjustable inner width (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 70, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the base (402) is integral (forms a single unit) with the partition material, therefore as modified above, the base would be integral with the magnetic door of Whittemore ‘597.
Regarding claim 71, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the base comprises at least one of a circular shape (Fig 6), a ring, half of a ring, a channel, a rectangular shape and a square shape.
Regarding claim 72, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the base comprises an aperture (Fig 8) .
Regarding claim 73, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the base comprises a flange comprising a seat (Fig 8) and further comprising: the enclosure having an opening constructed and arranged to be secured at the seat (Fig 12); and a coupling mechanism (801) that secures the enclosure to the seat (Fig 12).
Regarding claim 74, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the coupling mechanism (801) comprises a hose clamp.
Regarding claim 75, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the enclosure comprises: a first end coupled to the base (Fig 12); and a second end comprising a retractable member (Fig 10), the retractable member comprising an adjustable inner width.
Regarding claim 76, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the magnetic door comprises a material selected from a durable material, a ruggedized nylon material, a nylon-taffeta, a rip-stop material, a synthetic material, a natural fabric material, a plastic material col 16, lines 13-26).
Regarding claim 77, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the first and second magnets comprise an elongated body having a north pole and a south pole (Figs 5A and 5B).
Regarding claim 78, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the first and second magnets each comprise a plurality of magnets positioned along the left or right seam.
Regarding claim 79, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the left and right seams comprise corresponding magnets at corresponding vertical positions and wherein north and south poles of the corresponding magnets are configured to be of opposite polarity so that the corresponding magnets attract each other.
Regarding claim 80, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses further comprising an attachment mechanism (clips or magnets or mounting straps) configured to couple the magnetic door to a mounting surface.
Regarding claim 81, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the attachment mechanism comprises a plurality of attachment mechanisms (tops and sides have attachment mechanisms).
Regarding claim 82, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the attachment mechanism comprises a first member and a second member (Figs 15Ai-15Eiv).
Regarding claim 83, as best understood, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the first member is positioned at a curtain (110) and the second member is positioned between the first member and the magnetic door.
Regarding claim 86, as best understood, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses the attachment mechanism secures the magnetic door directly to a curtain (110).
Regarding claim 87, as best understood, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the attachment mechanism removably secures the magnetic door to the curtain.
Regarding claim 88, as best understood, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the magnetic door is supported exclusively by the curtain and the attachment mechanism.
Regarding claim 89, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses further comprising a curtain (110), wherein the attachment mechanism configured to couple the magnetic door to the curtain.
Regarding claim 90, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses the opening is positioned at a center width of the magnetic door and fails to disclose wherein the opening is off-center about a width of the magnetic door such that a width of one of the left side and the right side has a greater width than the other of the left side and the right side. However, such modification to provide an off-center opening with sides of different widths would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since such modification involves a mere change in size (dimensions of width) without producing any new or unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 91, modified Whittemore ‘597 discloses wherein the opening is positioned at a center of a width of the magnetic door such that a width of the left side is substantially the same as a width of the right side.
Regarding claim 92, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches wherein the enclosure surrounds the aperture.
Claims 66, 84, and 85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whittemore ‘597, and Whittemore ‘904, as applied in claim 65, 80, and 82 above, in further view of Whittemore (US 9,115,539), hereinafter referred to as Whittemore ‘539.
Regarding claim 66, Whittemore ‘597 as modified with the teachings of Whittemore ‘904, Whittemore ‘904 teaches the enclosure is attached but fails to specifically disclose that the enclosure is at least one of sewn to the magnetic door and taped to the magnetic door. However, Whittemore ‘539 teaches a known attachment means in the form of tape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a known alternative attachment means without producing any new or unpredictable results.
Regarding 84, modified Whittemore ‘597 fails to disclose wherein the first member comprises duct tape and the second member comprises double-sided tape. However, Whittemore ‘539 teaches a known attachment means in the form of duct tape and double-sided tape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a known alternative attachment means without producing any new or unpredictable results.
Regarding 85, modified Whittemore ‘597 fails to disclose wherein the attachment mechanism comprises double- sided tape. However, Whittemore ‘539 teaches a known attachment means in the form of double-sided tape. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a known alternative attachment means without producing any new or unpredictable results.
Conclusion
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634