DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/15/2024 and 6/24/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 and 6, recites "a mounting interface" however, this limitation is already introduced in claim 1, therefor proper antecedent is recommend. The office recommends amending to recites "the mounting interface"
Regarding claim 12 and 13, "the components" lacks antecedent.
Regarding claim 28, "a switching cabinet" already is recited in claim 1, therefore the office recommends amending to have proper antecedent, one recommendation "the switching cabinet".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-14, 16-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatramani et al. US Pub 2022/0302694 in view of Huang et al. US Pub 2021/0216104.
Regarding claim 1, Venkatramani teaches,
A low-voltage device (Fig. 1, LS) for electrical distribution boards and switching cabinet installations with components comprised in a housing of the low-voltage device wherein the housing (Housing structure of figure 1, LS ) of the low-voltage device (1) comprises:
a mounting interface (Figure 3, paragraph 57-58) for mounting the housing (figure 3) to a corresponding mating interface of the electrical distribution board or the switching cabinet (figure 3, paragraph 57) or to a component installed in the electrical distribution board or in the switching cabinet;
a display housing portion (the region of figure 1, where DISP is mounted to the LS, region where ETU is indicated) of the housing, which is provided for a display unit (DISP) of the low-voltage device.
Venkatramani does not teach one or more flexibly formed bendable and foldable display units, the flexible display unit being provided bent to fit a contour of the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device, or (emphasis added) folded on the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device and is unfoldable there to enlarge a display surface of the display unit. However, providing specific type of display is not new to substitute one type with another.
Huang in similar field of a low voltage device (paragraph 3, devices such as mobile phone, wearable device are low voltage device) and in the field of display devices teaches, a display unit (figure 1-4, element 100), one or more flexibly formed bendable and foldable display units (element 1), folded on the display housing portion (as seen in at least figure 3, the flexible display is folded on to the housing 3) of the housing of the low-voltage device and is unfoldable there to enlarge a display surface of the display unit (figure 1-2 and 4 shows the unfolded configuration). The office notes the applicant has used "or" to be selected between the curved/contour display (figure 1-2 of present application) vs foldable display (figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Huang, specifically the display unit of Huang as the display of Venkatramani such that the display unit of Venkatramani comprises one or more flexibly formed bendable and foldable display units, folded on the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device and is unfoldable there to enlarge a display surface of the display unit as taught by Huang, such modification will increase the user experience (paragraph 166) and provide larger screen (paragraph 3) such that desired information is viewed.
Regarding claim 4, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
Wherein the flexible display unit comprises a touch-sensitive display layer (paragraph 42, 45 and 48 of Huang) describes the touch display screen and input) for user input by a user and for displaying information to a user.
Regarding claim 6,
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches the housing of the low voltage device comprises (a)the mounting interface (as described in claim 1) for mounting the low-voltage device to a mounting plate of the switching cabinet (switching cabinet CAB, figure 3, thus the area that the housing is engaged to the cabinet of Venkatramani is consider the mounting plate of).
Regarding claim 7, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the flexible display unit (the modified flexible display unit as described in claim 1) is detachably attached to a data interface (figure 3 of Venkatramani, paragraph 68, display DISP connected to the display housing portion via ES1) provided on the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device and/or to a power supply interface,
wherein the flexible display unit stays switched on after detachment from the housing of the low-voltage device (figure 6, paragraphs 22 and 71 teaches wireless connection thus display unit stays switched on after detachment), wherein data is exchanged via a wired or wireless data connection (wireless connection paragraphs 22, 71, 75) and wherein a power supply (figure 6, NT, paragraph 72) to the display unit detached from the housing of the low-voltage device is realized via a power connection or by an energy storage unit integrated in the display unit (paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 8, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device consists of a transparent material in which the flexible display layer of the display unit is embedded (the office notes this claim limitation is towards the bent display that fits a contour of the display housing portion (supported by figure 4b) of claim 1 which is an alternative limitation not being selected, therefore the limitation are made in light of rejection of claim 1. The office furthermore notes Huang teaches OLED display (paragraph 168), similar to figure 4b's disclosure of present application).
Regarding claim 9, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the flexible display layer of the display unit comprises an OLED display layer (paragraph 168 of Huang teaches flexible display screen 1 as described in claim 1 is OLED display).
Regarding claim 10, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
in which the components in the housing of the low-voltage device comprise components of the low-voltage device that generate heat (Figure 1-2, 6 of Venkatramani components such as the LKE or the processor provided in the LS, which is provided in the electronic control unit are components that generate heat) or warmth during operation of the low-voltage device.
Regarding claim 11, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device provided for the flexible display unit (as described in claim 1, and as seen in figure 1-2 of Venkatramani the display housing portion provided for flexible display unit DISP as modified by Huang) or (emphasis added) the display unit is thermally insulated from the power components of the low-voltage device by a thermal insulation for the protection of the flexible display unit
Regarding claim 12, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the components contained in the housing of the low-voltage device comprise a control unit (MCU1, figure 1-2, 5-6 of Venkatramani), which exchanges data with the flexible display unit provided on the display housing portion via a data interface provided in the display housing portion of the housing of the low-voltage device (figure 5-6, the communication between the display unit DISP as modified in claim 1 with teaching of Huang and the data exchange with the data interface (wireless at least described in claim 7 or wired)).
Regarding claim 13, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the components contained in the housing of the low-voltage device comprise a transceiver (figure 5-6, paragraph 71, LKE communication unit),
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches does not teach a wireless communication link with a control unit of the switching cabinet or (emphasis added) of the electrical distribution board via a transceiver of the switching cabinet or the electrical distribution board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use provide a control unit within the switching cabinet of Venkatramani such that the transceiver provided in the housing of the low-voltage device can easily communication with the switching cabinet and thereby provide more effective way and cost effective means by avoiding cables and cost of operators (paragraph 74), thereby rendering the Venkatramani as modified by Huang low-voltage device to have a wireless communication link with a control unit of the switching cabinet.
Regarding claim 14, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein in the display area of the flexible display unit a camera is integrated, which generates camera images in the visible frequency range (the modified device of claim 1 such that Huang teaches flexible display unit 1 a camera (paragraphs 11, 58 and 60) is integrated) or in an invisible frequency range.
Regarding claim 16, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the low-voltage device further comprises: a load-break switch with fuses, a fuse switch disconnector, a switch disconnector, a circuit breaker (LS is a circuit breaker of Venkatramani), a motor control unit, a power supply unit, a frequency converter and/or (emphasis added on the OR) a power feed-in module.
Regarding claim 17, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein a data and control interface (figures 1-2, ES2 used to connected resistive load, i.e., anything connecting to the port ES2 is a load) for connecting a capacitive, inductive or resistive load to the low-voltage device is provided in the housing of the low-voltage device.
Regarding claim 18, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the information displayed on the flexible display unit of the low-voltage device comprises: status information of the low-voltage device (paragraphs 13-16, data of the breaker) or other low-voltage devices mounted in the switching cabinet, configuration details of the low-voltage device or other low-voltage devices mounted in the switching cabinet, measurement data of the low-voltage device or other low-voltage devices mounted in the switching cabinet, a circuit diagram of the low-voltage device and/or another low-voltage device mounted in the switching cabinet or a circuit diagram of the low-voltage devices mounted in the switching cabinet, operating instructions for operating the low-voltage device or the switching cabinet, a service number for a maintenance service for servicing the switching cabinet and/or the low-voltage device or other low-voltage devices within the switching cabinet and/or (emphasis added) status information of a load connected to the low-voltage device.
Regarding claim 19, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the unfolded flexible display unit is pivotably attached to the housing of the low-voltage device (the modified device of claim 1 such that Huang teaches the two section of the flexible display units (11/15 or 23/25 being pivotally attached to the housing, thus the modified device of Venkatramani as described in claim 1 thereby unfolded flexible display unit is at least pivotally attached to the housing LS and specifically at the displaying housing portion).
Regarding claim 20, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein an unfolded flexible display unit of the low-voltage device forms, together with another unfolded flexible display unit of a low-voltage device mounted adjacently on the rail of the switching cabinet, a composite display unit with a large display area (Venkatramani as modified in claim 1 and as disclosed in figure 3 shows that multiple low voltage device (LS) can be provided in the cabinet CAB, thereby the modified housing of the low-voltage device as described in claim 1 such that as the unfolded flexible display unit of Huang is provided the adjacent will can be unfolded and thereby providing large display area. The office notes this limitation is an operational limitation of the plural adjacent low-voltage device).
Regarding claim 21, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the low-voltage device comprises a control unit (MCU1, figure 1-2, 5-6 of Venkatramani) integrated into the housing, wherein the control unit is connected to the display unit (figure 1-2 of Venkatramani, however, specifically the modified structure of claim 1 such that the display of Huang is provided in the device of Venkatramani) and to a camera (the modified device of claim 1 such that Huang teaches flexible display unit 1 a camera (paragraphs 11, 58 and 60)) via a data and control interface.
Regarding claim 22, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the control unit comprises an artificial intelligence module for classifying the image data provided by the camera (modified structure of claim 1, paragraphs 54-60 of Huang controller, the camera and the sensor classifying the image data such that it can determine face, pupil or other biometric feature, thus this controller, sensor is the artificial intelligence module).
Regarding claim 23, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the display unit of the low-voltage device is connected via a wired or wireless bus system of the switching cabinet with other devices of the switching cabinet, in particular with other low-voltage devices of the switching cabinet, for data transmission (paragraphs 16 and 57 describes plurality of circuit breakers connected in the cabinet, furthermore the display unit is displaying information of the breaker and the cabinet thus at least providing connection to adjacent low-voltage device).
Regarding claim 24, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the display unit of the low-voltage device is connected to an intranet of an automation system and/or to the Internet via a gateway (Venkatramani as modified by Huang, paragraph 3 of Huang, mobile phone or tablet computer both comprises connection to the internet via a gateway, thus the display unit of Huang as used in Venkatramani teaches display unit connected to internet via a gateway).
Regarding claim 25, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the display unit is coupled to a user interface of the low-voltage device (Venkatramani as modified such that figure 1-3, the display unit DISP connected to the ETU, via at least the user interface as seen in figures 5-6) and/or of the switching cabinet.
Regarding claim 26, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the flexible display unit comprises a flexible rear support layer (figure 1 of Huang, element 2) for supporting the display layer of the display unit and a flexible front transparent protective layer (paragraph 168, the flexible display unit is an OLED, thus transparent protective layer is provided in OLED devices) for protecting the display layer of the display unit.
Regarding claim 27, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
wherein the display unit can be folded along at least one folding line with a certain bending radius in each case (figure 3, the folded configuration thus the display unit can be folded along at least one folding line with bending radius as seen in the region of 14 and 12 of Huang figure 3).
Regarding claim 28, Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches,
A(the) switching cabinet(figure 3, CAB) comprising: rails and/or mounting plates(switching cabinet CAB, figure 3, thus the area that the housing is engaged to the cabinet of Venkatramani is consider the mounting plate of); and at least one low-voltage device according to claim 1 mounted on said rails and/or mounting plates (figure 3 and as described in claim 6).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatramani et al. US Pub 2022/0302694 in view of Huang et al. US Pub 2021/0216104 in view of Hiroki US Pub 2016/0157372.
Regarding claim 2,
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches the flexible display unit comprises a display layer (the display panel of the display unit elemetn 1 of Huang).
Venkatramani as modified by Huang does not teach the display layer with thickness of preferably less than 1 mm.
Hiroki in similar field of flexible display device teaches the display layer with thickness of preferably less than 1mm (paragraph 99).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use to make the thickness of display layer of Benkatramani as modified by Huang as less than 1mm as disclosed by Hiroki, since providing thin display layer will provide the desired bendability/flexibility furthermore provide a compact component.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatramani et al. US Pub 2022/0302694 in view of Huang et al. US Pub 2021/0216104 in view of Rothkopf et al. US Pub 2017/0013729.
Regarding claim 3,
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches the flexible display unit comprises a display layer (the display panel of the display unit element 1 of Huang) comrpises some value of bending radius (figure 1-4).
Venkatramani as modified by Huang does not teach the bending radius of preferably less than 10mm.
Rothkopf in similar field of flexible display device teaches (figure 3, bent portion 44) the bending radius of preferably less than 10mm (paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the bending radius of Venkatramani as modified by Huang such that the bending radius is less than 10mm as taught by Rothkopf, such modification will provide compact display and thereby providing a compact low-voltage device.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatramani et al. US Pub 2022/0302694 in view of Huang et al. US Pub 2021/0216104 in view of Rane et al. US Patent 6472620.
Regarding claim 5,
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches the housing of the low voltage device comprises (a)the mounting interface (as described in claim 1) for mounting the low-voltage device to the switching cabinet (switching cabinet CAB) and for electrically contacting the conductor of the cabinet (figure 3).
Venkatramani as modified by Huang does not explicitly teach at least one current busbar of a current busbar system of the switching cabinet and for electrically contacting the current busbar.
Rane in similar field teaches circuit breaker connected to one or more busbars in a switchgear (Col. 1, lines 20-34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of busbars as disclosed by Rane with the low voltage device of Venkatramani as modified by Huang such that the housing of Venkatramani as modified that is connected to the switching cabinet as described above, is explicitly connecting to at least one current busbar of a current busbar system of the switching cabinet and for electrically contacting the current busbar, such would ensure there is direct connection to the busbar and thereby avoid any loss in current transmission.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatramani et al. US Pub 2022/0302694 in view of Huang et al. US Pub 2021/0216104 in view of Jin CN 209434127 (original and translation provided by the office).
Regarding claim 15,
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches the housing of the low-voltage device (as described in claim 1).
Venkatramani as modified by Huang does not teach the housing of the low-voltage device is made of an electrically insulating and fireproof material. However, providing an electrically insulating and fireproof material as the material of choice is not new in the art of low-voltage device.
Jin in similar field of low-voltage device teaches a housing (breaker, abstract) made of electrically insulating and fireproof material (abstract fireproof plastic shell).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to the material of electrically insulating and fireproof material as taught by Jin as the material choice for the housing of the low-voltage device of Venkatramani as modified by Huang, such modification will ensure immediately extinguishing the fire (described under contents of this utility model of Jin).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatramani et al. US Pub 2022/0302694 in view of Huang et al. US Pub 2021/0216104 in view of Li et al. US Pub 2021/0119156.
in the case applicant disagrees with the interpretation of claim 26 provided above.
Regarding claim 26,
Venkatramani as modified by Huang teaches wherein the flexible display unit comprises a flexible rear support layer (figure 1 of Huang, element 2) for supporting the display layer of the display unit.
Venkatramani as modified by Huang does not explicitly teach a flexible front transparent protective layer for protecting the display layer of the display unit.
Li teaches a flexible display unit comprising OLED (abstract, figure 1, paragraph 2, 40), a flexible rear support layer (500/600) and a flexible front transparent protective layer (100, figure 1) for protecting the display layer of the display unit.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to the material use the flexible front transparent protective layer as disclosed by Li with the flexible display unit (OLED) comprising a flexible rear support layer of Venkatramani as modified by Huang, such modification will ensure the display unit has desired flexibility by having double layer flexible substrate (paragraph 2 of Li).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hiroki US Pub 2016/0073519 (figure 1) teaches a curved flexible foldable display within a housing.
Lee et al. US Pub 2021/0034121 (at least figure 1) teaches curved flexible display.
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841