DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction Requirement
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 11-21, in the reply filed on 7/27/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that: a) Cao, the prior art cited in the restriction requirement, does not disclose a liquid bandage nor film forming components; b) Gao, a secondary prior art cited in the restriction requirement, does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Cao where the functions of the components disclosed by Gao are different from the those instantly claimed; c) Mu, another secondary prior art cited in the restriction requirement, does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Cao and Gao where Mu further discloses additional agents, namely PVA, unrecited by the instant claims and therefore, allegedly, does not teach the components as instantly claimed; and d) one of ordinary skill in the art would not have utilized routine optimization to arrive at claimed amounts of components . This is not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to Cao not disclosing a liquid bandage, the Examiner submits that reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim. See MPEP § 2111. Additionally, although a claim should be interpreted in light of the specification disclosure, it is generally considered improper to read limitations contained in the specification into the claims. See MPEP § 2173.05(q). Upon examination of the instant claims, one would find that the instant claims recite a hemostatic composition, and Cao discloses a hemostatic plaster.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Cao does not disclose the film forming components, the Examiner submits that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See MPEP § 7.37.13. As previously stated in the Restriction Requirement, and as discussed below, claim 11 does not constitute a special technical feature (i.e., is rendered obvious) over the combined teachings of Cao, Gao, and Mu, because it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bandage of Cao to comprise the film forming components because they are known and effective adhesives, moisturizing agents/humectants, and/or solid dispersion materials as taught by Gao.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Gao does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Cao, the Examiner submits that Gao cures any alleged deficiencies of Cao where Gao discloses that 0.5 parts curcumin, 1.0-2.5 parts Bletilla striata, polyvinylpyrrolidone, 5.0-15.0 parts polyethylene glycol, and 1.0-5.0 parts poloxamer, since they are known and effective antioxidants, skin actives, adhesives, moisturizing agent or humectant, and/or solid dispersion material and amounts thereof for use in skin bandages/patches.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the components disclosed by Gao have a different function than that intended by Applicant, the Examiner submits that the composition of Cao in view of Gao and Mu preferably comprises polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyethylene glycol, and poloxamer. Therefore, the presence of these components would meet the limitation of “film forming components”, if it were recited, because the polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyethylene glycol, and poloxamer would perform this function because this would be a property of these components, whether the prior art discloses such use or not.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Mu does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Cao, the Examiner submits that Mu cures any alleged deficiencies of Cao where Mu discloses motivation to include 1-10 parts Corydalis extract and anhydrous ethanol.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to Mu further disclosing the use of a film-former such as PVA, the Examiner submits that as disclosed by Mu, this is a preferred embodiment. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2123 (II). As such, this preferred embodiment would not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosure of Mu. Moreover, Applicant is reminded that a skilled artisan is not an automaton, but a person having ordinary skill in the art and is capable of fitting teachings of multiple prior art documents together like pieces of a puzzle. See MPEP § 2143.03. Therefore, a skilled artisan would be highly capable of combining the teachings of Cao, Gao, and Mu to arrive at the claimed hemostatic composition. Since the cited prior art teaches each of the instantly recited limitations, a prima facie case of obviousness is established.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to routine optimization, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Where Cao in view of Gao and Mu disclose that PVP is an adhesive and ethanol is a solvent for active ingredients, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the amounts of these components to arrive at the desired adhesive profile and active ingredient solubility.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 22-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “extractextract;” in line 9 should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
2. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Immediately preceding “wherein the purity” in line 10 is missing “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "wherein the film forming time of the composition" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11, from which claim 21 depends, makes no mention of any film forming whatsoever.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 11-14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 111991604, Nov. 27, 2020) (hereinafter Cao) in view of Gao et al. (CN 102284012, May. 15, 2013) (hereinafter Gao) and Mu et al. (CN 105687730, Jun. 22, 2016) (hereinafter Mu).
Cao discloses a cannabidiol based woundplast (Abstract). The band aid comprises cannabidiol oil as well as Panax notoginseng extract (Ref. Claim 1). A band-aid is also known as "hemostatic plaster" (Background Technique). Cannabidiol has high medical value, among which cannabidiol has anti-inflammatory and analgesic effects and has been used in clinical treatment (Background Technique). The band aid comprises: 1mg-100mg of cannabidiol oil, 10-100mg of Houttuynia cordata extract, 10-100mg of honeysuckle extract, and 10-100mg of Panax notoginseng extract (Summary of the Invention).
Cao differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the bandage comprises Bletilla striata extract, Corydalis yanhusuo, polyvinylpyrrolidone, poloxamer, an antioxidant, polyethylene glycol, or ethanol.
However, Gao discloses a gel patch containing curcumin and striata gum (Technical Field). Curcumin has choleretic, lipid lowering, anti-inflammatory, anti-rheumatic, antibacterial, anti-cancer, and antioxidant functions (Background Technique). Bletilla striata is a dried tuber of the orchid family Bletilla which has the functions of astringent hemostasis, swelling and muscle growth. It can treat bleeding, lung disease, burns, etc. It can also be used in cosmetics to protect the skin and delay the effect of aging (Background Technique). The patch comprises 0.2-0.5 parts curcumin, 1.0-2.5 parts Bletilla striata, an adhesive such as polyvinylpyrrolidone, a moisturizing agent or a humectant such as polyethylene glycol, and 1.0-5.0 parts of a solid dispersion material such as poloxamer (Summary of the Invention). Examples contained polyethylene glycol 6000 (Ex. 5). An embodiment contained 5.0 -15.0 parts polyethylene glycol (Ref. Claim 1)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the bandage of Cao to comprise 1.0-2.5 parts Bletilla striata motivated by the desire to utilize its therapeutic benefits such as astringent hemostasis, treating bleeding, burns, as well as protecting the skin and delaying the effect of aging as taught by Gao. It would have further been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Cao to comprise 0.5 parts curcumin, polyvinylpyrrolidone, 5.0-15.0 parts polyethylene glycol 6000, and 1.0-5.0 parts poloxamer, since they are known and effective antioxidants, adhesives, moisturizing agent or humectant, and/or solid dispersion material and amounts thereof for use in skin bandages/patches as taught by Gao.
The combined teachings of Cao and Gao do not disclose wherein the composition comprises Corydalis yanhusuo or ethanol.
However, Mu discloses a compound for local analgesia (Technical Field). Corydalis, a dry tuber of the poppy family is a commonly used medicine for pain relief (Background Technique). Preferably, the composition of the Chinese herbal extract of Corydalis yanhusuo contains, by weight 1-30 parts of Corydalis extract (Summary of the Invention). The composition may in a pharmaceutically acceptable dosage form such as a film coating agent where it comprises 1-10 parts of Corydalis extract and a volatile organic solvent (Summary of the Invention). The volatile organic solvent in the coating agent functions to dissolve the drug (Summary of the Invention). Preferably, the volatile organic solvent in the coating agent is anhydrous ethanol (Summary of the Invention).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the bandage of Cao to comprise 1-10 parts Corydalis extract motivated by the desire to utilize the Corydalis’ analgesic properties and anhydrous ethanol motivated by the desire to dissolve the active as taught by Gao.
Regarding the amount of cannabidiol and Panax notoginseng recited in claims 11-14, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, Cao’s formulation comprises 1mg-100mg of cannabidiol oil, 10-100mg of Houttuynia cordata extract, 10-100mg of honeysuckle extract, and 10-100mg of Panax notoginseng extract. This would result in an 0.25-25 parts cannabidiol and 2.5-25 parts Panax notoginseng. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amount of Bletilla striata extract, polyethylene glycol, poloxamer, and antioxidants recited in instant claim 11, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao and Mu comprises 0.5 parts curcumin, 1.0-2.5 parts Bletilla striata, 5.0-15.0 parts polyethylene glycol, and 1.0-5.0 parts poloxamer. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amounts of polyvinylpyrrolidone (i.e., PVP) recited in instant claims 11-14, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, PVP is an adhesive, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the resulting adhesive nature of the bandage/patch. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of PVP to yield the desired adhesive profile.
Regarding the amount of Corydalis yanhusuo recited in instant claims 11-14, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao and Mu comprises 1-10 parts of Corydalis extract. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amounts of ethanol recited in instant claims 11-14, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, ethanol is a volatile organic solvent that functions to dissolve active agents, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the active agent dissolution. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of ethanol to yield the desired active agent dissolution profile.
Regarding the amounts of Bletilla striata recited in instant claims 12-14, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, Bletilla striata is a skin active which can treat bleeding, burns and can also be used in cosmetics to protect the skin and delay the effect of aging, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the therapeutic effect of the component. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of Bletilla striata to yield the desired therapeutic effect.
Regarding the amount of polyethylene glycol, poloxamer, and antioxidants recited in instant claim 12, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao and Mu comprises 0.5 parts curcumin, 5.0-15.0 parts polyethylene glycol, and 1.0-5.0 parts poloxamer. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amount of polyethylene glycol recited in instant claims 13-14, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao and Mu comprises 5.0-15.0 parts polyethylene glycol. As such, since the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu are close to the claimed amounts, the claimed amounts would have been obvious, and the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amount of poloxamer and antioxidants recited in instant claims 13-14, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao and Mu comprises 0.5 parts curcumin and 1.0-5.0 parts poloxamer. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao and Mu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding claim 21, a rejection can be made when the prior art product seems to be identical except that the prior art is silent as to an inherent characteristic. See MPEP 2112(II) and (III). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Further, if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. See MPEP 2112.01(II). The composition of Cao in view of Gao and Mu comprises substantially the same components where it comprises cannabidiol, Bletilla striata, Panax notoginseng, Corydalis yanhusuo, polyvinylpyrrolidone, poloxamer, an antioxidant, polyethylene glycol, and ethanol. Accordingly, it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the composition of Cao in view of Gao and Mu would have the same film forming time as that instantly claimed.
Accordingly, the combined teachings of Cao, Gao, and Mu render obvious claims 11-14 and 21.
2. Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 111991604, Nov. 27, 2020) (hereinafter Cao) in view of Gao et al. (CN 102284012, May. 15, 2013) (hereinafter Gao) and Mu et al. (CN 105687730, Jun. 22, 2016) (hereinafter Mu) and further in view of Niu et al. (CN 113491675, Oct. 12, 2021) (hereinafter Niu), James (US 2012/0121721, May 17, 2012) (hereinafter James), Han et al. (Plant Cell, Tissue and Organ Culture, 2018, 132, 425–432) (hereinafter Han), and Qu et al. (US 10,662,137, May 26, 2020) (hereinafter Qu).
The teachings of Cao, Gao, and Mu are discussed above. As discussed above, Cao, Gao, and Mu disclose wherein the composition comprises PEG 6000.
The combined teachings of Cao, Gao, and Mu do not disclose wherein the composition comprises polyvinylpyrrolidone K60, poloxamer 407, dibutyl hydroxytoluene, or wherein the polysaccharide content of the Bletilla striata extract is higher than 60% or the purity of the cannabidiol is not less than 90%.
However, Niu discloses a microneedle adhesive bandage for preventing scars (Abstract). The patch comprises a hydrophilic polymer material (Summary of the invention). The ingredient with the scar-inhibiting effect of the needle tip is at least one active ingredient such as panax notoginseng (Summary of the invention). Suitable hydrophilic polymer material include polyvinylpyrrolidone such as polyvinylpyrrolidone K60 (Summary of the invention).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Cao, Gao, and Mu disclose wherein the composition comprises polyvinylpyrrolidone. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Cao, Gao, and Mu to comprise polyvinylpyrrolidone K60, since it is a known polyvinylpyrrolidone for use in bandages comprising panax notoginseng as taught by Niu.
The combined teachings of Cao, Gao, Mu, and Niu do not disclose wherein the composition comprises poloxamer 407, dibutylhydroxytoluene, or wherein the polysaccharide content of the Bletilla striata extract is higher than 60% or the purity of the cannabidiol is not less than 90%.
However, James discloses skin care products and treatments (¶ [0002]). In a preferred embodiment, the composition can include a skin care agent (¶ [0005]). The composition can also be administered topically with an adhesive skin patch or bandage (¶ [0022]). Preferable skin care agents include antioxidants (¶ [0034]). The composition may comprise a surfactant/emulsifying agent (¶ [0040]). Suitable surfactant/emulsifying agents include poloxamers such as poloxamer 407 (¶ [0043]). Suitable antioxidants include butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) (¶ [0046]). The components may be included in an amount of between 0.001% and 100%, as desired (¶ [0053]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Cao, Gao, and Mu disclose wherein the composition comprises poloxamers and antioxidants. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Cao, Gao, Mu, and Niu to comprise poloxamer 407 since it is a known poloxamer for use in compositions applied as bandages as taught by James.
It would have further been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Cao, Gao, Mu, and Niu to comprise butylated hydroxytoluene since it is a known and effective skin care agent for compositions applied as bandages as taught by James.
The combined teachings of Cao, Gao, Mu, Niu, and James do not disclose wherein the polysaccharide content of the Bletilla striata extract is higher than 60% or the purity of the cannabidiol is not less than 90%.
However, Han discloses that the polysaccharide is the main effective component of B. striata which plays an important role in wound healing. Polysaccharide in B. striata possesses obvious curative effects on postponing cutaneous caducity, curing or preventing cutaneous chilblain and chap, accelerating blood cycle and improving cutaneous nutrition status without reported side effect. Therefore, the extraction of higher content and better quality of polysaccharide from B. striata could increase the economic value (Pg. 425).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the composition of Cao, Gao, Mu, Niu, and James to comprise a Bletilla striata extract with a polysaccharide content that is higher than 60%, or 70%, or 99%, motivated by the desire to achieve the desired wound healing properties as well as the positive skin and blood cycle effects and economic value as taught by Han.
The combined teachings of Cao, Gao, Mu, Niu, James, and Han do not disclose wherein the purity of the cannabidiol is not less than 90%.
However, Qu discloses that cannabinoids (CBs) isolated from marijuana plants are of more than 80 kinds, which mainly includes tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabidiol (CBD), cannabinol (CBN), cannabichromene (CBC) and the like, where the contents of THC and CBD are the highest (col 1, line 21-26). CBD also has anticonvulsive, sedative-hypnotic, anxiolytic, antipsychotic, anti-inflammatory and neuroprotective effects, and is a natural active ingredient that is highly promising in the field of medicine (col 1, line 38-43). It is a premise for the development and application of CBD to remove THC and other ingredients with hallucinogenic and addictive effects as much as possible, so as to obtain a high-purity product (col 1, line 44-47). To solve such technical problems, Qu provides a method for preparing high-purity CBD, wherein the product prepared has CBD purity of more than 98% and THC is only detected in trace amounts, or not detected at all (col 2, line 13-17).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have utilized a high purity CBD with a purity of more than 98% such as Qu’s motivated by the desire to utilize a product that contains all the advantageous effects of CBD while avoiding the hallucinogenic and addictive effects of THC and other impurities that can be present in cannabinoids as taught by Qu.
Regarding the amount of cannabidiol and Panax notoginseng recited in claim 20, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, Cao’s formulation comprises 1mg-100mg of cannabidiol oil, 10-100mg of Houttuynia cordata extract, 10-100mg of honeysuckle extract, and 10-100mg of Panax notoginseng extract. This would result in an 0.25-25 parts cannabidiol and 2.5-25 parts Panax notoginseng. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amounts of Bletilla striata recited in instant claim 20, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, Bletilla striata is a skin active which can treat bleeding, burns and can also be used in cosmetics to protect the skin and delay the effect of aging, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the therapeutic effect of the component. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of Bletilla striata to yield the desired therapeutic effect.
Regarding the amounts of polyvinylpyrrolidone (i.e., PVP) recited in instant claim 20, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, PVP is an adhesive, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the resulting adhesive nature of the bandage/patch. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of PVP to yield the desired adhesive profile.
Regarding the amount of Corydalis yanhusuo recited in instant claim 20, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu comprises 1-10 parts of Corydalis extract. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amounts of ethanol recited in instant claim 20, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, ethanol is a volatile organic solvent that functions to dissolve active agents, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the active agent dissolution. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of ethanol to yield the desired active agent dissolution profile.
Regarding the amount of polyethylene glycol recited in instant claim 20, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, polyethylene glycol is a moisturizing agent or a humectant, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the moisturizing effect. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amounts of polyethylene glycol to yield the desired active agent moisturizing effect.
Regarding the amount of poloxamer recited in instant claim 20, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu comprises 1.0-5.0 parts poloxamer. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Regarding the amount of dibutylhydroxytoluene recited in instant claim 20, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the formulation of Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu comprises 0.001 %. and 100% BHT. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims overlap with the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu, the amounts disclosed by Cao in view of Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu meet the instantly recited limitations.
Accordingly, the combined teachings of Cao, Gao, Mu, Niu, James, Han, and Qu render obvious claims 15-20.
Conclusion
Claims 11-21 are rejected.
Claims 22-24 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612