CTNF 18/710,482 CTNF 89706 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the application filed on 15 May 2024. Claims 16-32 are under examination. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 May 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 16-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elkot by et al. (WO 2020/131907) . With respect to claims 16 and 24, Elkotby teaches A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), (active WTRU, Paragraph 3) the WTRU comprising: a main receiver; (active receiver, Paragraph 3) a low power receiver; (A passive receiver or zero-energy (ZE) receiver is a type of radio frequency (RF) circuitry that can process received RF waveforms in absence of an active power supply, Paragraph 2) and a processor (processor, Paragraph 4) configured to: receive, via the main receiver, an indication of a set of baseline configurations, wherein the set of baseline configurations comprises a first baseline configuration and a second baseline configuration; (three system information sets, if the WTRU moves from the cell #1 in the mobility area #1 to the cell #2 within in the mobility area, then the WTRU may receive, using the active receiver, the system information set B (i.e., the second system information set received at 1005) as the currently valid system information set, Paragraph 243) transition to a low power mode in which the main receiver is in an inactive state; (entering idle mode using the ZE Rx and disabling cellular TRX, Paragraph 266) receive, via the low power receiver, an indication of the first baseline configuration; (acquiring, using the passive receiver, a basic set of system information (BSSI), Paragraph 266) configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the first baseline configuration; ( camping the WTRU on a cell using cellular RRCJDLE procedure based on the updated version of system information set, Paragraph 266) receive, via the low power receiver, first update information that indicates a first change to a first information element of the first baseline configuration; (the third system information may comprise: a first parameter comprising a system information set identifier, cell access evaluation criteria/parameters, cell reselection thresholds, etc. In an embodiment, if the WTRU determines to use the second approach to update the stored system information, it may use backscattering technology to, for example, reflect waveforms or signals back to a base station which transmitted the BSSI in order to request a system information update. In another embodiment, the WTRU may tune the passive receiver based on those parameters in the BSSI (e.g., transmission characteristics) in order to receive a system information update, Paragraph 247) update the first baseline configuration in accordance with the first update information; (the validity of these incremental updates with respect to the stored version) and acquire an updated version of system information set; at 1206, storing the updated version of system information set in a shared memory between the active receiver and the passive receiver, Paragraph 266 ) and configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the first updated first baseline configuration. (reactivating the active receiver to receive a second system information set as a currently valid system information set for the WTRU, paragraph 252) With respect to claims 17 and 25, Elkotby teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the low power receiver, second update information that indicates a second change to a second information element of the first updated first baseline configuration; update the first updated first baseline configuration in accordance with the second update information; and configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the second updated first baseline configuration. (second update is received via passive receiver and store the updated information and configured receiver based on the update, figure 10A) With respect to claims 18 and 26, Elkotby teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the low power receiver, an indication of the second baseline configuration; and configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the second baseline configuration. (fourth system information set is received via passive receiver and is configured based on the fourth system information set, figure 11A) With respect to claims 19 and 27, Elkotby teaches Wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, via the low power receiver, second update information that indicates a change to an information element of the second baseline configuration; update the second baseline configuration in accordance with the second update information; and configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the updated second baseline configuration. (update fourth system information set is received via passive receiver, store the update and is configured based on the updated fourth system information set, figure 11A) With respect to claims 20 and 28, Elkotby teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that second update information was not received; determine that a latency associated with the first updated first baseline configuration is above a threshold; in response to the latency being above the threshold, send a wake-up signal to the main receiver; and send, via the main receiver, a request for retransmission of the second update information. (the WTRU may fail to detect the presence of a paging notification message using a well-determined and/or a set of pre-configured ZE paging notification transmission formats for a specific period of time that can be either determined by the WTRU or signaled by the network to the WTRU, Paragraph 164. a WTRU that detects a paging notification reception failure and has not recently detected a system information modification notification that might be related to ZE paging notification transmission format and/or schedule, or a change in the tracking area identifier, can initiate a paging failure fallback procedure. In this procedure, the WTRU can wake-up the main cellular modem and acquire system information to detect any changes to the current ZE paging notification configuration. If the WTRU detects a change in the configuration, it may update the system information and resume passive receiver operation Otherwise the WTRU may decide to continue in RRCJDLE using the main cellular modem, Paragraph 169) With respect to claims 21 and 29, Elkotby teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:determine that a latency associated with the first updated first baseline configuration is above a threshold; in response to the latency being above the threshold, send a wake-up signal to the main receiver; and send, via the main receiver, a request for second update information. (the WTRU may fail to detect the presence of a paging notification message using a well-determined and/or a set of pre-configured ZE paging notification transmission formats for a specific period of time that can be either determined by the WTRU or signaled by the network to the WTRU, Paragraph 164. a WTRU that detects a paging notification reception failure and has not recently detected a system information modification notification that might be related to ZE paging notification transmission format and/or schedule, or a change in the tracking area identifier, can initiate a paging failure fallback procedure. In this procedure, the WTRU can wake-up the main cellular modem and acquire system information to detect any changes to the current ZE paging notification configuration. If the WTRU detects a change in the configuration, it may update the system information and resume passive receiver operation Otherwise the WTRU may decide to continue in RRCJDLE using the main cellular modem, Paragraph 169) With respect to claims 22 and 30, Elkotby teaches wherein the first update information indicates for the WTRU to change a value of the first information element of the first baseline configuration to a value of an information element of the second baseline configuration. (using a combination of information elements in the first system information set and information elements in the fourth system information set as the currently valid system information set. Accordingly, on a condition that the difference is not greater than the threshold value, the processor is further configured to determining whether a first parameter in the fourth system information set matches the first parameter in the BSSI, on a condition that the first parameter in the fourth system information set matches the first parameter in the BSSI, the processor is further configured to use a combination of information elements in the first system information set and information elements in the fourth system information set as the currently valid system information set. For example, the currently valid system information set may comprise cell reselection thresholds from the first system information set and a system information version identifier from the fourth system information set. It should be noted that the above example of the combination of information elements from the first system information set and the fourth system information is only given by way of example, and it is not intended to be exclusive. The WTRU may select other combinations of information elements from those two system information set as the currently valid system information set based on different scenarios, Paragraph 256) With respect to claims 23 and 31, Elkotby teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a validity timer and a system information signaling periodicity; on a condition that the system information signaling periodicity is longer than an amount of time remaining before the validity timer expires, determine that a latency associated with the first updated first baseline configuration is above a threshold; and in response to the latency being above the threshold, send a wake-up signal to the main receiver. (The WTRU may also determine that the required system information set for the current serving cell is not periodically broadcast over the ZE air interface and that backscattering-based system information request is not supported, therefore it reactivates the active receiver to receive the desired system information update, Paragraph 279) With respect to claim 32, Elkotby teaches A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), (active WTRU, Paragraph 3) the WTRU comprising: a main receiver; (active receiver, Paragraph 3) a low power receiver; (A passive receiver or zero-energy (ZE) receiver is a type of radio frequency (RF) circuitry that can process received RF waveforms in absence of an active power supply, Paragraph 2) and a processor (processor, Paragraph 4) configured to: receive, via the main receiver, an indication of a first baseline configuration and a second baseline configuration; (three system information sets, if the WTRU moves from the cell #1 in the mobility area #1 to the cell #2 within in the mobility area, then the WTRU may receive, using the active receiver, the system information set B (i.e., the second system information set received at 1005) as the currently valid system information set, Paragraph 243) receive, via the low power receiver, an indication of the first baseline configuration; (acquiring, using the passive receiver, a basic set of system information (BSSI), Paragraph 266) configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the first baseline configuration; ( camping the WTRU on a cell using cellular RRCJDLE procedure based on the updated version of system information set, Paragraph 266) receive, via the low power receiver, first update information that indicates a change to an information element of the first baseline configuration; (the third system information may comprise: a first parameter comprising a system information set identifier, cell access evaluation criteria/parameters, cell reselection thresholds, etc. In an embodiment, if the WTRU determines to use the second approach to update the stored system information, it may use backscattering technology to, for example, reflect waveforms or signals back to a base station which transmitted the BSSI in order to request a system information update. In another embodiment, the WTRU may tune the passive receiver based on those parameters in the BSSI (e.g., transmission characteristics) in order to receive a system information update, Paragraph 247) configure at least one of the main receiver or the low power receiver based on the first baseline configuration and the update information. (reactivating the active receiver to receive a second system information set as a currently valid system information set for the WTRU, paragraph 252) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda et al. (US Publication 2023/0345430) discloses for the purpose of power saving, at least one of System Information (SI) updates, and Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS)/Commercial Mobile Alert Service (CMAS) notices may be based on the SIB1 WUS . Cheng et al. (US Publication 2024/0015655) discloses when the RSRP of LP-WUS is lower than a configured threshold provided by network node via RRC or system information block (SIB), the LP-WUR may wake up the main transceiver (or main radio) for a possible cell ID change. Any inquiry concerning this communication from the examiner should be directed to ABDULLAHI AHMED whose telephone number is (571) 270-3652. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00AM-4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Khalid Kassim can be reached on 571-270-3370. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 2 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 3 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 4 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 5 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 6 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 7 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 8 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 9 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/710,482 Page 10 Art Unit: 2475