DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 37-39 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, cited in the IDS (Information Disclosure Statement), English machine translation mailed on 01/12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1).
As to claim 27, Chen et al. teaches a method, applied to an electronic device ([0104]: electronic device), wherein the electronic device comprises a first display and a second display ([0098-0099]: dual-screen terminal; [0112]: first display panel 341, second display panel 342), the first display is electrically connected to the second display ([0100]: touchscreens connected), and the method comprises: determining second display data based on first display data in response to an operation on a display window on the first display ([0024]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI), wherein the first display data is displayed in the display window on the first display ([0024-0025]: the first GUI displayed on the first display panel), the second display data corresponds to a selected control in the first display data ([0024-0025]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI), and the second display data is smaller or simpler than the first display data (Abstract;[0024]: second display object comprising a partial image of the first display object); displaying, on the second display, a window corresponding to the second display data ([0024-0025]: A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI;[0050];[0124]:GUI includes window); but does not explicitly disclose in response to a slide operation on the second display, scrolling the second display to display a first plurality of display windows, wherein the first plurality of display windows do not overlap on the second display, and wherein a second plurality of display windows is displayed on the second display prior to receiving the slide operation, and the first plurality of display windows and the second plurality of display windows have a preset quantity of display windows. However, Chaudhri teaches in response to a slide operation on the second display ([0049];[0052]: the device uses at least one common physical user-interface device, such as the touch-sensitive surface; note that at least one means one or more common physical user-interface device, such as touch-sensitive surfaces;[0055];[0224]: swipe gesture) , scrolling the second display to display a first plurality of display windows ([0049];[0052];[0055];[0224]: FIG. 5EE illustrates that swipe gesture 529 can be detected on touch screen at a location that corresponds to mail application view 5008-10, and in FIG. 5FF, in response to detecting swipe gesture 529, application views (e.g., 5008-10 and 5008-12) are scrolled, and a portion of map application view 5008-6 is displayed;[0241]: In FIG. 5OO, in response to detecting swipe gesture 565 (FIG. 5NN), images 5008-12, 5008-10, and 5008-6 are scrolled so that image 5008-12 is scrolled off touch screen 112 and a portion of image 5008-11 is scrolled in onto touch screen 112) , wherein the first plurality of display windows do not overlap on the second display ([0049];[0052];[0055];Fig. 5OO show the first plurality of display windows 5008-6 and 5008-11 do not overlap on the display), and wherein a second plurality of display windows is displayed on the second display prior to receiving the slide operation ([0049];[0052];[0055];Fig. 5FF shows a second plurality of display windows 5008-12, 5008-10 is displayed on the display prior to receiving the slide operation), and the first plurality of display windows and the second plurality of display windows have a preset quantity of display windows (Figs. 5FF and 5NN shows a second plurality of display windows 5008-12 and 5008-10; Fig. 5OO show the first plurality of display windows 5008-6 and 5008-11 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. such that in response to a slide operation on the second display, scrolling the second display to display a first plurality of display windows, wherein the first plurality of display windows do not overlap on the second display, a second plurality of display windows is displayed on the second display prior to receiving the slide operation, and the first plurality of display windows and the second plurality of display windows have a preset quantity of display windows as taught by Chaudhri in order to produce a more efficient user interface.
As to claim 37, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method according to claim 27, wherein displaying, on the second display, the window corresponding to the second display data comprises: in response to detecting that a running application is in a preset list, or in response to detecting that the electronic device is in a preset mode, displaying, on the second display, the window corresponding to the second display data (Chen et al., [0172]: dual screen mode selection, second display panel display same GUI as first display interface;[0200-0201];[0251-0252]). As to claim 38, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method as discussed above, further comprising: obtaining information sent by at least one terminal (Chen et al., [0172]: a user presses a preset shortcut key or a combination of shortcut keys, the processor 380 detects the corresponding key event to determine the instruction corresponding to the key event. Dual screen mode selection, second display panel display same GUI as first display interface; [0201]: user drags the icon 701, first touch panel detects the drag event and sends it the processor. The processor determines photo corresponding to the icon 701 as the second display object according to the instruction) and displaying, on the second display, the information sent by the at least one terminal (Chen et al., [0172]: a user presses a preset shortcut key or a combination of shortcut keys, the processor 380 detects the corresponding key event to determine the instruction corresponding to the key event. Dual screen mode selection, second display panel display same GUI as first display interface; [0201]: user drags the icon 701, first touch panel detects the drag event and sends it the processor. The processor determines photo corresponding to the icon 701 as the second display object according to the instruction).
As to claim 39, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method according to claim 38, wherein obtaining the information sent by the at least one terminal comprises: obtaining information sent by a plurality of terminals, wherein the plurality of terminals comprise a first terminal and a second terminal (Chen et al., [0213]: when the user touches or approaches the display on the first display panel, the first touch panel detects the touch event on or near it, and the processor determines the command corresponding to the touch event. When the user touches or approaches the display on the second display panel, the second touch panel detects the touch event on or near it, and the processor determines the command corresponding to the touch event) ; and displaying, on the second display, the information sent by the at least one terminal comprises: displaying, in a second window on the second display, information sent by the first terminal (Chen et al., [0172]: a user presses a preset shortcut key or a combination of shortcut keys, the processor 380 detects the corresponding key event to determine the instruction corresponding to the key event. Dual screen mode selection, second display panel display same GUI as first display interface; [0201]: user drags the icon 701, first touch panel detects the drag event and sends it the processor. The processor determines photo corresponding to the icon 701 as the second display object according to the instruction); and displaying, in the second window and in response to a switch operation on the second window, information sent by the second terminal (Chen et al., [0235]: user touches or approaches the "Photo" icon 701 displayed on the second display panel. The second touch panel detects the touch event on or near it and transmit it to the processor to determine the instruction corresponding to the touch event. Processor 380 calls the GUI of the "Photo" application stored in the memory according to the instruction (i.e., the launch instruction of the "Photo" application), and displays the GUI as shown in Figure 20b-2 on the second display panel).
As to claim 43, Chen et al. teaches an electronic device ([0104]: electronic device), wherein
the electronic device comprises a first display, a second display ([0098-0099]: dual-screen terminal;
[0112]: first display panel 341, second display panel 342), at least one memory ([0023]: memory), and
one or more processors ([0023]: processor), wherein the at least one memory stores code associated
with a graphical user interface (GUI) of an application ([0023]: memory is used to store code which
includes instructions. When the processor executes the instructions, displaying a GUI on the first display
panel and the second display panel), and the one or more processors are configured to execute the code
associated with the graphical user interface stored in the at least one memory ([0023]: memory is used
to store code which includes instructions. When the processor executes the instructions, displaying a
GUI on the first display panel and the second display panel), to: display the graphical user interface on the first display or the second display ([0023]: displaying a GUI on the first display panel and the second display panel); determine second display data based on first display data in response to an operation on a display window on the first display ([0024]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI), wherein the first display data is displayed in the display window on the first display ([0024-0025]: the first GUI displayed on the first display panel), the second display data corresponds to a selected control in the first display data ([0024-0025]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI), and the second display data is smaller or simpler than the first display data (Abstract;[0024]: second display object comprising a partial image of the first display object); display, on the second display, a window corresponding to the second display data ([0024-0025]: A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI;[0050];[0124]:GUI includes window), but does not explicitly disclose in response to a slide operation on the second display, scrolling the second display to display a first plurality of display windows, wherein the first plurality of display windows do not overlap on the second display, and wherein a second plurality of display windows is displayed on the second display prior to receiving the slide operation, and the first plurality of display windows and the second plurality of display windows have a preset quantity of display windows. However, Chaudhri teaches in response to a slide operation on the second display ([0049];[0052]: the device uses at least one common physical user-interface device, such as the touch-sensitive surface; note that at least one means one or more common physical user-interface device, such as touch-sensitive surfaces;[0055];[0224]: swipe gesture) , scrolling the second display to display a first plurality of display windows ([0049];[0052];[0055];[0224]: FIG. 5EE illustrates that swipe gesture 529 can be detected on touch screen at a location that corresponds to mail application view 5008-10, and in FIG. 5FF, in response to detecting swipe gesture 529, application views (e.g., 5008-10 and 5008-12) are scrolled, and a portion of map application view 5008-6 is displayed;[0241]: In FIG. 5OO, in response to detecting swipe gesture 565 (FIG. 5NN), images 5008-12, 5008-10, and 5008-6 are scrolled so that image 5008-12 is scrolled off touch screen 112 and a portion of image 5008-11 is scrolled in onto touch screen 112) , wherein the first plurality of display windows do not overlap on the second display ([0049];[0052];[0055];Fig. 5OO show the first plurality of display windows 5008-6 and 5008-11 do not overlap on the display), and wherein a second plurality of display windows is displayed on the second display prior to receiving the slide operation ([0049];[0052];[0055];Fig. 5FF shows a second plurality of display windows 5008-12, 5008-10 is displayed on the display prior to receiving the slide operation), and the first plurality of display windows and the second plurality of display windows have a preset quantity of display windows (Figs. 5FF and 5NN shows a second plurality of display windows 5008-12 and 5008-10; Fig. 5OO show the first plurality of display windows 5008-6 and 5008-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. such that in response to a slide operation on the second display, scrolling the second display to display a first plurality of display windows, wherein the first plurality of display windows do not overlap on the second display, a second plurality of display windows is displayed on the second display prior to receiving the slide operation, and the first plurality of display windows and the second plurality of display windows have a preset quantity of display windows as taught by Chaudhri in order to produce a more efficient user interface.
Claim(s) 29, 31-33, 35-36, 45 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, English machine translation mailed on 01/12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1) in view of King et al. (KR 20110066165 A, English machine translation mailed on 01//12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Matthews et al. (WO 2005/029312 A1), and further in view of Schrock et al. (WO 2012/068407 A2).
As to claim 29, Chen et al. teaches the method as discussed above, wherein the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises at least one of: a drag operation, a close operation, a minimize operation, a control selection, a file selection, a play operation, a gesture operation, or a fold operation ([0014]: drag); and the drag operation is moving the display window after the display window is selected ([0195]: user drags the image selection window 604 to control the image selection window 604 to move on the display panel;[0250]: user touches the reading window and drags the reading window), the control selection is selecting a control in the display window ([0111]: signal inputs related to user settings and function control;[0141]: user touches mirror mode option), the file selection is selecting a file displayed in the display window ([0124]: manipulate icon-based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), the gesture operation is formed by a gesture for controlling the display window ([0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface;[0195]: user drags the image selection window 604 to control the image selection window 604 to move on the display panel;[0250]: user touches the reading window and drags the reading window), but does not explicitly disclose the close operation is closing the display window, and the play operation is playing data displayed in the display window.
However, Chaudhri teaches the close operation is closing the display window ([0265]: in response to detecting lift off of contact 581 from touch screen 112, the device closes the application that corresponds to representation 5008-17, ceases to display representation 5008-17), and the play operation is playing data displayed in the display window ([0008];[0205];[0284]: music player application, playing music;[0289]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. such that close operation is closing the display window, and the play operation is playing data displayed in the display window as taught by Chaudhri in order to produce a more efficient user interface.
Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the fold operation is adjusting an included angle between the first display and the second display.
However, King et al. teaches the fold operation is adjusting an included angle between the first display and the second display ([0020]: first panel 102 is folded about the second panel 104 according to the first folded position 110, at an angle 420 that is less than 180 degrees and greater than 0 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri such that the fold operation is adjusting an included angle between the first display and the second display as taught by King et al. in order to receive user input and provide easy maneuverability. Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri and King et al. teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the minimize operation is hiding the display window.
However, Matthews et al. teaches the minimize operation is hiding the display window (claim 5: hiding an application window upon receiving the minimize command). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri and King et al. such that the minimize operation is hiding the display window as taught by Matthews et al. in order to present information for selection and interaction by end user.
Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. and Matthews et al. teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the drag operation terminates on the second display.
However, Schrock et al. teaches the drag operation terminates on the second display (page 47, lines 14-16: drag functionality span display devices, terminating in a second display).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. and Matthews et al. such that the drag operation terminates on the second display as taught by Schrock et al. in order to move messages, folders, attachments, or other elements without limitation.
As to claim 31, Chen et al. teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the close operation or the minimize operation.
However, Chaudhri teaches the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the close operation or the minimize operation ([0265]: in response to detecting liftoff of contact 581 from touch screen 112, the device closes the application that corresponds to representation 5008-17, ceases to display representation 5008-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. such that the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the close operation or the minimize operation as taught by Chaudhri in order to produce a more efficient user interface.
Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: obtaining the second display data by: scaling up or scaling down at least one type of data in the first display data, or deleting the at least one type of data in the first display data. However, King et al. teaches determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: obtaining the second display data by: scaling up or scaling down at least one type of data in the first display data, or deleting the at least one type of data in the first display data ([0088-0089]: when a particular motion of the application window 3516 traversing the gap 3414 occurs, the electronic device 3201 closes the application and the application window 3516, and return the representative application icon 3206 to its original position on the leftmost surface panel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri such that determining the
second display data based on the first display data comprises obtaining the second display data by
scaling up or scaling down at least one type of data in the first display data, or deleting the at least one
type of data in the first display data as taught by King et al. in order to provide easy maneuverability and
functionality.
As to claim 32, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. teaches the method as discussed above, wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the file selection (Chen et al., [0124]: manipulate icon-based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), and a text in the display window is selected (Chen et al., [0124]: user manipulate text-based option to perform operation such as file access), and determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: using the selected text as the second display data; or translating the selected text, to obtain the second display data based on a translation result; or obtaining the second display data based on a search result by performing searching based on the selected text; or obtaining the second display data, the second display data obtained by arranging the selected text; or wherein the selected text comprises a value, obtaining the second display data by performing exchange rate conversion on the value (Chen et al., note the recited words “or” recited in the claim; [0024]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel which includes first display object. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI including second display object, wherein the second display object includes the first display object; [0123-0124]: GUI in the form of text and icon; [0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface) . As to claim 33, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. teaches the method as discussed above, wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the file selection (Chen et al., [0124]: manipulate icon-based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), and an image in the display window is selected (Chen et al., [0024];[0123-0124]: manipulate icon-based touch screen), and determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: using the selected image as the second display data; or obtaining the second display data based on a related image by searching for the related image using the selected image; or obtaining the second display data by performing target detection on the selected image; or obtaining the second display data based on a recognized text by performing text recognition on the selected image (Chen et al., note the recited words “or” recited in the claim; [0024]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel which includes first display object. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI including second display object, wherein the second display object includes the first display object; [0123-0124]; [0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface).
As to claim 35, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. teaches the method as discussed above, wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the gesture operation (Chen et al., [0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface; [0195]: user drags the image selection window 604 to control the image selection window 604 to move on the display panel;[0250]: user touches the reading window and drags the reading window), determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: in response to detecting that a gesture corresponding to the gesture operation comprises the preset gesture, using at least one type of data in the first display data as the second display data (Chen et al., [0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface;[0194-0195]: photo 603 displayed on first display panel, user drags the image selection window displayed on first display panel so that different details of the photo 603 can be displayed on second display panel).
As to claim 36, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method as discussed above, wherein, determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: using the first display data as the second display data (Chen et al., [0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface;[0194-0195]), but does not explicitly disclose the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the fold operation, and the included angle between the first display and the second display is within a preset range.
However, King et al. teaches the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the fold operation ([0013-0014];[0032]: fold configuration), and the included angle between the first display and the second display is within a preset range ([0071]: degree of fold within a range of approximately -180 degrees to 180 degrees; [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri such that the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the fold operation, and the included angle between the first display and the second display is within a preset range as taught by King et al. in order to provide easy maneuverability and enable interaction with software applications via an expanded user interface.
As to claim 45, Chen et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 43, wherein the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises at least one of: a drag operation, a close operation, a minimize operation, a control selection, a file selection, a play operation, a gesture operation, or a fold operation ([0014]: drag); and the drag operation is moving the display window after the display window is selected ([0195]: user drags the image selection window 604 to control the image selection window 604 to move on the display panel;[0250]: user touches the reading window and drags the reading window), the control selection is selecting a control in the display window ([0111]: signal inputs related to user settings and function control;[0141]: user touches mirror mode option), the file selection is selecting a file displayed in the display window ([0124]: manipulate icon-based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), the gesture operation is formed by a gesture for controlling the display window ([0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface;[0195]: user drags the image selection window 604 to control the image selection window 604 to move on the display panel;[0250]: user touches the reading window and drags the reading window), but does not explicitly disclose the close operation is closing the display window, and the play operation is playing data displayed in the display window.
However, Chaudhri teaches the close operation is closing the display window ([0265]: in response to detecting liftoff of contact 581 from touch screen 112, the device closes the application that corresponds to representation 5008-17, ceases to display representation 5008-17), and the play operation is playing data displayed in the display window ([0008];[0205];[0284]: music player application, playing music;[0289]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. such that close operation is closing the display window, and the play operation is playing data displayed in the display window as taught by Chaudhri in order to produce a more efficient user interface.
Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the fold operation is adjusting an included angle between the first display and the second display.
However, King et al. teaches the fold operation is adjusting an included angle between the first display and the second display ([0020]: first panel 102 is folded about the second panel 104 according to the first folded position 110, at an angle 420 that is less than 180 degrees and greater than 0 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri such that the fold operation is adjusting an included angle between the first display and the second display as taught by King et al. in order to receive user input and provide easy maneuverability. Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri and King et al. teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the minimize operation is hiding the display window.
However, Matthews et al. teaches the minimize operation is hiding the display window (claim 5: hiding an application window upon receiving the minimize command). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri and King et al. such that the minimize operation is hiding the display window as taught by Matthews et al. in order to present information for selection and interaction by end user.
Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri and King et al. and Matthews et al. teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the drag operation terminates on the second display.
However, Schrock et al. teaches the drag operation terminates on the second display (page 47, lines 14-16: drag functionality span display devices, terminating in a second display).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. and Matthews et al. such that the drag operation terminates on the second display as taught by Schrock et al. in order to move messages, folders, attachments, or other elements without limitation.
As to claim 47, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al.
teaches the electronic device according to claim 45, wherein the operation on the display window
corresponding to the first display data comprises the file selection (Chen et al., [0124]: manipulate icon-
based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), and a text in the display window is
selected (Chen et al., [0124]: user manipulate text-based option to perform operation such as file
access), and determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: using the
selected text as the second display data (Chen et al., [0024]: first instruction input by the user on the
first GUI displayed on the first display panel which includes first display object. A second display panel is
configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI including second display object,
wherein the second display object includes the first display object; [0123-0124]: GUI in the form of text
and icon; [0172]: second display panel display same GUI as first display interface).
Claim(s) 30 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, English machine translation mailed on 01/12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1) in view of King et al. (KR 20110066165 A, English machine translation mailed on 01//12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Matthews et al. (WO 2005/029312 A1), in view of Schrock et al. (WO 2012/068407 A2) and further in view of Louch et al. (US 2014/0365957 A1).
As to claim 30, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. , Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. teaches the method according to claim 29, wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the drag operation (Chen et al., [0014]: drag), and determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: using at least one type of data in the first display data as the second display data (Chen et al., [0024]: first display panel is used to display a first GUI, which includes a first display object. Second display panel is configured display a second GUI including a second display object. The second display object includes the entire image of the first display object, or the second display object includes a portion of the image of the first display object); and displaying, on the second display, the window corresponding to the second display data (Chen et al.,[0024-0025]: A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI;[0050];[0124]:GUI includes window), but does not explicitly disclose comprises: determining a location, on the second display, of the display window of the second display data based on a location in the second display at which a cursor is released.
However, Louch et al. teaches comprises: determining a location, on the second display, of the display window of the second display data based on a location in the second display at which a cursor is released ([0003]: drag and drop operation in which the first window is dragged from the first display region to the second display region;[0028-0029]: the cursor itself which is associated with the window or a part of the window, such as a center location of the title bar of the window or a touch input location on the window (e.g., the location on the window which has received a touch input to drag or move the window across a display device;[0031]: dragging the window 207 from the first display device 201 to the second display device 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. , Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. by determining a location, on the second display, of the display window of the second display data based on a location in the second display at which a cursor is released as taught by Louch et al. so that a user can select a window, apply an input associated with the window, and the input can indicate a movement of the window from for example, the first display region to the second display region.
As to claim 46, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. , Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. teaches the electronic device according to claim 45, wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the drag operation (Chen et al., [0014]: drag), and determining the second display data based on the first display data comprises: using at least one type of data in the first display data as the second display data (Chen et al., [0024]: first display panel is used to display a first GUI, which includes a first display object. Second display panel is configured display a second GUI including a second display object. The second display object includes the entire image of the first display object, or the second display object includes a portion of the image of the first display object); and displaying, on the second display, the window corresponding to the second display data (Chen et al.,[0024-0025]: A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI; [0050];[0124]: GUI includes window), but does not explicitly disclose comprises: determining a location, on the second display, of the display window of the second display data based on a location at which a cursor is released in the second display.
However, Louch et al. teaches comprises: determining a location, on the second display, of the display window of the second display data based on a location at which a cursor is released in the second display ([0003]: drag and drop operation in which the first window is dragged from the first display region to the second display region;[0028-0029]: the cursor itself which is associated with the window or a part of the window, such as a center location of the title bar of the window or a touch input location on the window (e.g., the location on the window which has received a touch input to drag or move the window across a display device;[0031]: dragging the window 207 from the first display device 201 to the second display device 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al. , Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. by determining a location, on the second display, of the display window of the second display data based on a location at which a cursor is released in the second display as taught by Louch et al. so that a user can select a window, apply an input associated with the window, and the input can indicate a movement of the window from for example, the first display region to the second display region.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, English machine translation mailed on 01/12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1) in view of King et al. (KR 20110066165 A, English machine translation mailed on 01//12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Matthews et al. (WO 2005/029312 A1) in view of Schrock et al. (WO 2012/068407 A2) and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2020/0358896 A1).
As to claim 34, Chen et al. teaches the method as discussed above, determining the second display data based on the first display data (Chen et al., [0024]: first instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI), but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the play operation.
However, Chaudhri teaches wherein: the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the play operation ([0205];[0284]: music player application, playing music;[0289]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. such that the operation on the display window corresponding to the first display data comprises the play operation as taught by Chaudhri in order to produce a more efficient user interface.
Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. teaches the method as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose obtaining the second display data by obtaining, from the first display data, data related to a picture played on the first display.
However, Kwon et al. teaches obtaining the second display data by obtaining, from the first display data, data related to a picture played on the first display ([0349]: transmitting video playback screen displayed on display unit 250 to display unit 151;[0352]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al. by obtaining the second display data by obtaining, from the first display data, data related to a picture played on the first display as taught by Kwon et al. in order to expand usability and convenience for the user.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, English machine translation mailed on 01//12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1) and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2021/0252389 A1).
As to claim 40, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri teaches the method according to claim 38, wherein displaying, on the second display, the information sent by the at least one terminal comprises: information generated by a first application, and the first application is in a preset list (Chen et al., [0141]: menu 408. Display GUI of the application; [0172]: a user presses a preset shortcut key or a combination of shortcut keys, the processor 380 detects the corresponding key event to determine the instruction corresponding to the key event, second display panel display same GUI as first display interface), but does not explicitly disclose:
detecting that a fourth terminal is in a screen-off state, displaying, on the second display, information sent by the fourth terminal, wherein the fourth terminal comprises any terminal of the at least one terminal; or
wherein information sent by the fourth terminal comprises information generated by a first application, and displaying, on the second display, the information sent by the fourth terminal; or
detecting that the fourth terminal is in the screen-off state, and information sent by the fourth terminal comprises information generated by the first application, displaying, on the second display, the information sent by the fourth terminal. However, Suzuki et al. teaches wherein information sent by the fourth terminal (12a in Fig. 15) comprises information generated by a first application ([0146-0149]: object image Is displayed), and displaying, on the second display (12b in Fig. 15), the information sent by the fourth terminal ([0146-0149]: By this slide operation, the object image is displayed while making a drag movement on display 12a. Then, the object image is displayed again on display 12b where a touch-on is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri such that information sent
by the fourth terminal comprises information generated by a first application, and displaying, on the
second display, the information sent by the fourth terminal as taught by Suzuki et al. in order to display
the object image and set positional relationship between plurality of terminals.
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, English machine translation mailed on 01/12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1) in view of King et al. (KR 20110066165 A, English machine translation mailed on 01//12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Matthews et al. (WO 2005/029312 A1) in view of Schrock et al. (WO 2012/068407 A2) and further in view of Li (CN 108664475 A, attached English machine translation is used in the rejection).
As to claim 48, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al.
teaches the electronic device according to claim 45, wherein the operation on the display window
corresponding to the first display data comprises the file selection (Chen et al., [0124]: manipulate icon-
based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), and a text in the display window is
selected (Chen et al., [0124]: user manipulate text-based option to perform operation such as file
access), determining the second display data based on the first display data (Chen et al., [0024]: first
instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel
is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI; [0146]), but does not explicitly
disclose comprises: translating the selected text, to obtain the second display data based on a
translation result.
However, Li teaches comprises: translating the selected text, to obtain the second display data based on a translation result ([0029]: select the text, and translate it;[0049];[0052];[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al.
and Schrock et al. by translating the selected text to obtain the second display data based on a
translation result as taught by Li in order to improve reading experience.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN108323197A, English machine translation mailed on 01/12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Chaudhri (US 2014/0282208 A1) in view of King et al. (KR 20110066165 A, English machine translation mailed on 01//12/2026 is used in the rejection) in view of Matthews et al. (WO 2005/029312 A1) in view of Schrock et al. (WO 2012/068407 A2) and further in view of Park et al. (US 2016/0309090 A1).
As to claim 49, Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al. and Schrock et al.
teaches the electronic device according to claim 45, wherein the operation on the display window
corresponding to the first display data comprises the file selection (Chen et al., [0124]: manipulate icon-
based touch screen to perform operation such as file access), and a text in the display window is
selected (Chen et al., [0124]: user manipulate text-based option to perform operation such as file
access), determining the second display data based on the first display data (Chen et al., [0024]: first
instruction input by the user on the first GUI displayed on the first display panel. A second display panel
is configured to, in response to the first instruction, display a second GUI; [0146]), but does not explicitly
disclose comprises: obtaining the second display data based on a search result by performing searching based on the selected text.
However, Park et al. teaches comprises: obtaining the second display data based on a search result by performing searching based on the selected text ([0136]: search result regarding the text selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen et al. in view of Chaudhri, King et al., Matthews et al.
and Schrock et al. by obtaining the second display data based on a search result by performing searching
based on the selected text as taught by Park et al. in order to display more information simultaneously.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 41 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27, 29-40, 43, and 45-49 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624