Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claim Objections
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous objections to claims 1-10 are hereby withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 is allowable over the cited art of record, once the above stated claim objection is corrected, for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest a holographic recording media, wherein an adhesive force between the photopolymer and the adhesive protective layer before light irradiation is 500 to 5,000 gf/20nm and wherein a haze value of the photopolymer layer is 3% or less, as generally set forth in claim 1, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claim 1.
Claims 2-10 are allowable over the cited art of record, once the above stated claim objection is corrected, for at least the reason that they depend from an allowable claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7 of the remarks, filed 8 July 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 11-13 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LG Chem (KR 10-2106544) made of record in the IDS filed 5/15/2024, Kim et al. (US 2019/0339612), and Yamate (US 2023/0120998).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG Chem (KR 10-2106544, all citations are to the English language machine translation) made of record in the IDS filed 5/15/2024 (hereafter LG), in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0339612) (hereafter Kim) and Yamate (US 2023/0120998) (hereafter Yamate).
Regarding claims 11 and 13¸ LG discloses a photopolymer composition for hologram formation comprising a polymer matrix or a precursor thereof; a photoreactive monomer including a monofunctional monomer and a polyfunctional monomer; and a photoinitiator (see at least claims 1, 10, and production example 1), wherein: the photopolymer composition for hologram formation further includes a non-reactive fluorinated compound (see at least claims 13 and 14 on the last page).
LG does not specifically disclose that a ratio of the monofunctional monomer among the photoreactive monomers is more than 40% by weight and 70% by weight or less and that the photoreactive monomer includes a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer and a monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer.
However, Kim teaches a photopolymer composition for hologram formation (see at least the abstract) comprising a polymer matrix or a precursor thereof; a photoreactive monomer including a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer and a monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer; and a photoinitiator (see at least paragraph [0012]), wherein a ratio of the monofunctional monomer among the photoreactive monomers is more than 40% by weight and 70% by weight or less (see at least paragraph [0012], where a content of the monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer is 60 wt% or more).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of LG to include the teachings of Kim so that a ratio of the monofunctional monomer among the photoreactive monomers is more than 40% by weight and 70% by weight or less and that the photoreactive monomer includes a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer and a monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer for the purpose of using a known ratio of a known material in order to obtain predictable results such as providing a high refractive index modulation (see at least paragraph [0008] of Kim).
LG as modified by Kim does not specifically disclose an adhesive additive.
However, Yamate teaches an adhesive composition comprising a monofunctional (meth)acrylate monomer, a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer (see at least paragraphs [0022]-[0025]), and an adhesive additive (see at least paragraph [0100], where a silane coupling agent can be included as an additive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photopolymer composition of Lg as modified by Kim to include the teachings of Yamate so that the composition includes an adhesive additive for the purpose of providing adhesion properties to the composition which can be useful when bonding a resulting film with other elements.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG Chem (KR 10-2106544, all citations are to the English language machine translation) made of record in the IDS filed 5/15/2024 (hereafter LG), in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0339612) (hereafter Kim) and Yamate (US 2023/0120998) (hereafter Yamate) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Maruyama et al. (US 2020/0026189) (hereafter Maruyama).
Regarding claim 12, LG as modified by Kim and Yamate discloses all of the limitations of claim 11.
LG as modified by Kim and Yamate does not specifically disclose that the adhesive additive includes a polydimethylsiloxane-based additive.
However, Maruyama teaches a photosensitive resin (see at least the abstract) that can include a silane coupling agent such as polydimethylsiloxane (see at least paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of LG as modified by Kim and Yamate to include the teachings of Maruyama so that the adhesive additive includes a polydimethylsiloxane-based additive for the purpose of using a known material in order to obtain predictable results such as strength and tackiness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0115592 to Kim teaches adding polydimethylsiloxane to an adhesive composition (see at least paragraph [0057]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/Derek S. Chapel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872