DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 5/15/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 7 and 10 were amended and new claims 11-17 were added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “On the Use of Pulse Width Modulation Method for the Elimination of Flux Density Harmonics in the Air-Gap of Surface PM Motors” to Chaithongsuk et al. (hereinafter Chaithongsuk; provided by Applicant on 11/26/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Chaithongsuk teaches a method for forming a rotor structure (FIG. 3), comprising:
providing a plurality of magnet units (Page 1738 Column 1 Paragraph 3), wherein each of the plurality of magnet units comprises a magnet component having a plurality of tooth portions (FIG. 1, magnets); and
dividing an ideal sinusoidal air-gap magnetic field wave into N segments (FIG. 6; N=5), wherein when a center line of a tooth portion of the plurality of tooth portions is in a corresponding segment of the ideal sinusoidal air-gap magnetic field wave, an area of the tooth portion is equal to an area of the corresponding segment of the ideal sinusoidal air gap magnetic field wave (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Chaithongsuk teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the magnet component further comprises a plurality of grooves (FIG. 2, between magnets) respectively arranged between two adjacent tooth portions, and the plurality of grooves are symmetrically arranged relative to an axis d of a rotor (FIG. 2, π/2, center of pole).
Regarding claim 3, Chaithongsuk teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a width of the tooth portion decreases as a distance between the tooth portion and an axis d of a rotor increases in a circumferential direction of the rotor (FIG. 2(b)).
Regarding claim 4, Chaithongsuk teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the magnet component further comprises a yoke portion (FIG. 1, ROTOR), and one end of each of the plurality of tooth portions is connected with the yoke portion.
Regarding claim 5, Chaithongsuk teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein when a center line of a groove of the plurality of grooves is in a corresponding segment of the ideal sinusoidal air-gap magnetic field wave, a sum of the area of the tooth portion and an area of a corresponding portion of the yoke portion is equal to the area of the corresponding segment of the ideal sinusoidal air gap magnetic field wave (Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Chaithongsuk teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein N is equal to a number of the plurality of tooth portions (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Chaithongsuk teaches a rotor structure (Page 1738 Column 1 Paragraph 3), wherein the rotor structure is formed by the method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Chaithongsuk teaches a motor structure (Page 1738 Column 1 Paragraph 3), comprising the rotor structure according to claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 7, wherein the magnet component further comprises a plurality of grooves (FIG. 2, between magnets) arranged between two adjacent tooth portions, and the plurality of grooves are symmetrically arranged relative to an axis d of a rotor (FIG. 2, π/2, center of pole).
Regarding claim 12, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 7, wherein a width of the tooth portion decreases as a distance between the tooth portion and an axis d of a rotor increases in a circumferential direction of the rotor (FIG. 2(b)).
Regarding claim 13, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 11, wherein the magnet component further comprises a yoke portion (FIG. 1, ROTOR), and one end of each of the plurality of tooth portions is connected with the yoke portion.
Regarding claim 14, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 13, wherein when a center line of a groove of the plurality of grooves is in a corresponding segment of the ideal sinusoidal air-gap magnetic field wave, a sum of the area of the tooth portion and an area of a corresponding portion of the yoke portion is equal to the area of the corresponding segment of the ideal sinusoidal air gap magnetic field wave (Abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 7, wherein N is equal to a number of the plurality of tooth portions (FIG. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaithongsuk in view of European Patent No. 2 479 872 to Storath (provided by Applicant on 11/26/2025).
Regarding claim 8, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 7.
Chaithongsuk does not teach a rotor punching sheet, wherein the plurality of magnet units are arranged on the rotor punching sheet.
However, Storath teaches a rotor punching sheet comprising a laminated rotor core (FIG. 2, 1; Paragraph [0002]), wherein a plurality of magnet units (FIG. 2, 4) are arranged on the rotor punching sheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor structure of Chaithongsuk with the laminated rotor core of Storath to reduce eddy current losses in the rotor.
Regarding claim 16, Chaithongsuk teaches the motor structure according to claim 10.
Chaithongsuk does not teach a rotor punching sheet, wherein the plurality of magnet units are arranged on the rotor punching sheet.
However, Storath teaches a rotor punching sheet comprising a laminated rotor core (FIG. 2, 1; Paragraph [0002]), wherein a plurality of magnet units (FIG. 2, 4) are arranged on the rotor punching sheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor structure of Chaithongsuk with the laminated rotor core of Storath to reduce eddy current losses in the rotor.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaithongsuk in view of Chinese Patent No. 102157998 to Surong et al. (hereinafter Surong; provided by Applicant on 5/15/2024).
Regarding claim 9, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 7.
Chaithongsuk does not teach the magnet component being a line-shaped magnet component or a V-shaped magnet component.
However, Surong teaches a rotor magnet component (FIG. 1; 1a-1e) being a line-shaped magnet component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor structure of Chaithongsuk with the line-shaped magnet component of Surong to have a simpler fabrication of the magnet unit.
Regarding claim 17, Chaithongsuk teaches the rotor structure according to claim 10.
Chaithongsuk does not teach the magnet component being a line-shaped magnet component or a V-shaped magnet component.
However, Surong teaches a rotor magnet component (FIG. 1; 1a-1e) being a line-shaped magnet component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor structure of Chaithongsuk with the line-shaped magnet component of Surong to have a simpler fabrication of the magnet unit.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834