DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 15 recites the limitation "the verifier". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweet et al. (US 2015/0026767) in view of Ahmed et al. (US 2016/0328254).
With respect to claim 1, Sweet discloses:
a shared memory ([0064]); and
wherein the processor is configured to execute a server virtual machine and a plurality of guest virtual machines on a hypervisor in the processor (Fig. 7, “VM server” corresponds to Server Virtual Machine),
wherein the server virtual machine is configured to store data to be transmitted to at least one of the first guest virtual machine or the second guest virtual machine in the shared memory, and to transmit a security key to at least one of the first guest virtual machine or the second guest virtual machine ([0223], the security control module is in the virtual machines, see e.g. Fig. 9B; “commands” corresponds to data to be transmitted; [0225]).
Sweet does not specifically disclose: a processor configured to perform signal processing for display mounted in a vehicle,
wherein a first guest virtual machine of the plurality of guest virtual machines is configured to operate for a first display, and a second guest virtual machine of the plurality of guest virtual machines is configured to operate for a second display.
However, Ahmed discloses: a processor configured to perform signal processing for display mounted in a vehicle (Abstract),
wherein a first guest virtual machine of the plurality of guest virtual machines is configured to operate for a first display, and a second guest virtual machine of the plurality of guest virtual machines is configured to operate for a second display (Abstract; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ahmed to develop a high reliability, highly configurable, user interface as Sweet suggests using an embedded computing device in an automobile ([0208], Sweet) and by incorporate the user interface of Ahmed to provide a highly configurable display system that support different applications and high degree of user customizations.
With respect to claim 2, Sweet discloses: wherein at least one of the first guest virtual machine or the second guest virtual machine is configured to receive the data stored in the shared memory, and to decrypt the received data based on the security key ([0261]).
With respect to claim 3, Sweet discloses: wherein the server virtual machine is configured to store data to be transmitted to at least one of the first guest virtual machine or the second guest virtual machine in the shared memory, to encrypt a symmetric key, and to transmit a security key including the encrypted symmetric key to at least one of the first guest virtual machine or the second guest virtual machine ([0223]).
With respect to claim 7, Sweet discloses: wherein the server virtual machine and the plurality of guest virtual machines comprise respective security interface to decrypt the encrypted data received from the shared memory, or to store the encrypted data in the shared memory ([0221], VM includes the security module).
With respect to claim 10, Sweet discloses: wherein the server virtual machine is configured to change data shared with the first guest virtual machine and the second guest virtual machine based on a sharing policy ([0263]).
With respect to claim 11, Sweet discloses: wherein in response to the sharing policy being updated, the server virtual machine is configured to set data to be shared with the first guest virtual machine and the second guest virtual machine (id.).
With respect to claim 20, it recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Claim(s) 8, 14, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweet et al. (US 2015/0026767) in view of Ahmed et al. (US 2016/0328254) further in view of Chang et al. (US 2013/0117567).
With respect to claim 8, Sweet and Ahmed do not specifically disclose: wherein the verifier in the hypervisor is configured to: receive digital signature and hash value of the respective security interfaces in the server virtual machine and the plurality of guest virtual machines, and a public key of an external server; and calculate hash value based on the public key of the server and the digital signature of the respective security interfaces, and compare the calculated hash value with the received hash value to verify integrity of the server virtual machine and the plurality of guest virtual machines.
However, Chang discloses: wherein the verifier in the hypervisor is configured to: receive digital signature and hash value of the respective security interfaces in the server virtual machine and the plurality of guest virtual machines, and a public key of an external server; and calculate hash value based on the public key of the server and the digital signature of the respective security interfaces, and compare the calculated hash value with the received hash value to verify integrity of the server virtual machine and the plurality of guest virtual machines ([0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang to increase the security of a user’s data in connections with the applications in the virtual machines of the combination of Sweet and Ahmed.
With respect to claim 14, Chang discloses: a secured storage device configured to store a digital signature and a public key of an external server; and a security executor configured to receive the encrypted data from the server, to decrypt the encrypted data from the server based on the digital signature and the public key of the server, and to transmit the decrypted data to the server virtual machine or at least one of the plurality of guest virtual machines ([0068]-[0070]).
With respect to claim 15, Chang discloses: wherein the verifier executed in the hypervisor is configured to: access the secured storage device and receive the digital signature and hash value of the respective security interfaces of the server virtual machine or the plurality of guest virtual machines, and a public key of the server; calculate hash value based on the public key of the server and the digital signature of the respective security interfaces of the virtual machines; and compare the calculated hash value with the received hash value to verify integrity of the server virtual machine and the plurality of guest virtual machines (id.).
With respect to claim 16, Chang discloses: a secured storage device configured to store a digital signature and a public key of an external server; and a security executor configured to receive encrypted data from the server, to decrypt the encrypted data from the server based on the digital signature and the public key of the server, and to transmit the decrypted data to the server virtual machine, wherein the server virtual machine is configured to encrypt the decrypted data received from the server, to store the encrypted data in the shared memory, and to transmit a security key to at least one of the first guest virtual machine or the second guest virtual machine ([0068]-[0070]).
With respect to claim 18, it recites similar limitations as claims 1 and 14 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
With respect to claim 19, it recites similar limitations as claim 16 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 9, 12, 13, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, alone or in any reasonable combination with the limitations of the independent claims at least do not specifically disclose a server virtual machine that stores data to be transmitted in a shared memory for transmitting identical data to a first guest virtual machine and a second guest virtual machine, and to transmit a security key to the first guest virtual machine and the second guest virtual machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mittal et al. (US 2020/0219469): A computing device hosts different types of applications in operating systems. A first of the operating systems runs driving-critical applications, and a second of the operating systems can run non-driving-critical applications. The first operating system has direct access to display hardware on the computing device, and can include security features to prevent it from being compromised. Outputs generated by the non-driving-critical applications in the second operating system are sent to the first operating system, where the outputs are combined with outputs from the driving-critical applications, to create a series of composite images for display on the dashboard screen. Either the first operating system or the second operating system can control the whole dashboard screen based on predetermined configurations.
/WISSAM RASHID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195