DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2022/018180, filed 17 November 2022, which claims foreign priority to KR1020210160623, filed 19 November 2021.
The preliminary amendment filed 08 July 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Title and Abstract Objection
The abstract and title of the disclosure is objected to because the word “novel” should not be included per 37 CFR 1.72(a), also see MPEP 606. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: the use of parentheses marks in claim 1 “(where…alkyl)” is unnecessary, and should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (WO 2005/034963, cited in IDS submitted 03 July 2024).
Huang et al. disclose a method for preventing cancer in humans or other animals, the method comprising administering an effective amount of Rh2 ginsenoside (claim 1). The structure of ginsenoside-Rh2 is as follows:
(p.7). Ginsenoside-Rh2 is identical to the compound of Formula 2 recited in claim 5. Huang et al. disclose the method is used to prevent multiple myeloma (claim 7).
Ginsenoside Rh2 reads on the compound of Formula 1, wherein A1 is a C1 alkyl substituted with hydroxy (i.e. hydroxymethyl), A2 to A4 are each hydrogen, R2-R6 are each methyl (i.e. C1 alkyl), R7 is hydrogen, and n is 2.
Thus, the disclosure of Huang et al. anticipates claims 1-6 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (“Discovery of selective anti-cancer ginsenosides targeting polo-like kinases, cited in IDS submitted 03 July 2024; full google machine translation cited in PTO-892) in view of Armoiry et al. (Journal of Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics, 2008, vol. 33, pp. 219-226, cited in IDS submitted 07 October 2025).
Kim et al. teach testing the activity of multiple ginsenosides against multiple myeloma cell lines, including testing the combination of ginsenoside with lenalidomide, immunoadjuvant (p.4). Ginsenoside-Rh2 and compound K were particularly effective at inhibiting cell proliferation in ARH77 multiple myeloma cell line (p.5, figure 1). To investigate the combination and synergistic effects of lenalidomide and ginsenoside components, mice were treated with lenalidomide monotherapy and combination therapy with ginsenoside compound K (p.9). Kim et al. teach Rh2 and compound K inhibited MM cells in a dose-dependent manner (p.9, Results). They showed minimal cytotoxicity towards primary healthy peripheral blood-derived stem cells and mesenchymal stem cells.
Kim et al. do not expressly disclose the co-administration of Rh2 with lenalidomide (present claim 8).
Armoiry et al. teach lenalidomide is an immunomodulatory drug derived from thalidomide, with improved anti-inflammatory and anti-neoplastic properties, yet less cytotoxic (abstract). In relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma (MM), lenalidomide, combined with standard dose dexamethasone, is superior to dexamethasone in terms of time to progression, response rate and overall survival (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer ginsenoside Rh2 with lenalidomide to treat multiple myeloma.
According to MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, ginsenoside-Rh2 was observed to have a positive effect on inhibiting cell proliferation in ARH77 multiple myeloma while lenalidomide functions as an immunoadjuvant and anti-neoplastic agent. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for the treatment of multiple myeloma.
Additional motivation lies in the express teaching where Kim et al. discuss testing the combination of ginsenoside with lenalidomide as an immunoadjuvant. Kim et al. teach treating mice with lenalidomide monotherapy and combination therapy with ginsenoside compound K to investigate the combination and synergistic effects of lenalidomide and ginsenoside components. Kim et al. found ginsenoside Rh2 and compound K were both highly bioactive towards multiple myeloma cell lines. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to also substitute ginsenoside compound K with ginsenoside Rh2, since they are art-recognized alternatives, and combine it with lenalidomide with a reasonable expectation of success for treating multiple myeloma.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. and Armoiry et al. as applied to claims 1-9 above, and further in view of Huang et al (cited above).
Kim et al. teach as discussed above.
Kim et al. do not expressly disclose the co-administration of Rh2 with lenalidomide (present claim 8).
Armoiry et al. teach as discussed above.
Huang et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer ginsenoside Rh2 with lenalidomide to treat or prevent multiple myeloma.
According to MPEP 2144.06: “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Combining known therapies into a single therapy is a commonly applied method for identifying improved therapeutic outcomes with minimal adverse effect for the patient because each monotherapy is already known to be effective. Here, ginsenoside-Rh2 was observed to have a positive effect on inhibiting cell proliferation in ARH77 multiple myeloma, and for preventing multiple myeloma, while lenalidomide functions as an immunoadjuvant and anti-neoplastic agent. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the two drugs wherein they each produce different effects for treating or preventing multiple myeloma.
Additional motivation lies in the express teaching where Kim et al. discuss testing the combination of ginsenoside with lenalidomide as an immunoadjuvant. Kim et al. teach treating mice with lenalidomide monotherapy and combination therapy with ginsenoside compound K to investigate the combination and synergistic effects of lenalidomide and ginsenoside components. Kim et al. found ginsenoside Rh2 and compound K were both highly bioactive towards multiple myeloma cell lines. Thus, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to also substitute ginsenoside compound K with ginsenoside Rh2, since they are art-recognized alternatives, and combine it with lenalidomide with a reasonable expectation of success for treating or preventing multiple myeloma.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699