DETAILED ACTION
The supplemental claim amendments dated 12/23/2024 are under consideration.
Priority
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/CA2022/051694 (filed 11/16/2022); which claims foreign priority to CANADA 3139296 (filed 11/16/2021).
Priority to the CANADA 3139296 application is not recognized. First, it is noted that the body of the present specification is 10 pages longer than the entire certified copy of the foreign priority document, which includes fewer drawings and cover page documents. The CANADA 3139296 application does not disclose “total telomere length” or “average telomere length” as “telomere parameters”. The CANADA 3139296 application also does not disclose a “classification model” consisting of “a) nuclear telomere distribution, a/c ratio, and total telomere length; b) a/c ratio and telomere numbers; c) a/c ratio and nuclear telomere distribution, or d) a/c ratio and telomere aggregates”.
The present claims are given the earliest effective PCT/CA2022/051694, which is 11/16/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the 5/15/2024 drawings include references to colors, in particular Fig. 1; however, no color copies are provided. It is unclear if applicant intends the application to include color figures.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the amendments dated 12/23/2024 are objected to because they are redundant in view of the same amendments filed 5/15/2024. The 12/23/2024 amendments are not entered.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the at least telomere”, which is a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 49 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the sample” rather “the test sample”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims include the element that are introduced as “optional”. Claim scope is not limited by claim language that makes optional but does not require elements as part of the claims. MPEP 2111.04.
Terms in parentheticals, such as “3D”, are interpreted as being abbreviations for the preceding term.
In claim 41, the claim states “”the plurality of plasma cells previously obtained from a test sample from a subject having smoldering multiple myeloma (SMM)”. The language is interpreted as not requiring an active method step of “obtaining the plurality of plasma cells”, but rather put forth the source of the plasma cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 41,42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more.
The claims are drawn to methods, one of the four statutory categories.
The claim(s) recite(s):
“applying a classification model to the 3D telomere organization sample signature to obtain an output classification of stable SMM or high-risk SMM, the classification model consisting of the telomere parameters: a) nuclear telomere distribution, a/c ratio, and total telomere length; b) a/c ratio and telomere numbers; c) a/c ratio and nuclear telomere distribution, or d) a/c ratio and telomere aggregates” (claim 41);
“providing the clinical outcome prognosis or the diagnosis to the subject according to the output classification, the clinical outcome prognosis or the diagnosis being an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM, wherein the subject with increased likelihood of high-risk SMM is likely to progress to multiple myeloma (MM) within 2 years and the subject with increased likelihood of stable SMM is not likely to progress to MM within 5 years” (claim 41);
“comparing the 3D telomere organization monitoring signature to a 3D telomere organization signature obtained from a previous sample from the subject” (claim 55);
“providing an updated clinical outcome prognosis or an updated diagnosis to the subject having an increased likelihood of stable SMM” (claim 55);
“providing the subject the personalized treatment plan to be administered to the subject when the subject has an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM or monitoring the subject when the subject has an increased likelihood of stable SMM determined according to the method of claim 41” (claim 58);
“applying a classification model to the 3D telomere organization sample signature to obtain an output classification of stable SMM or high-risk SMM” (claim 60); and
“providing the clinical outcome prognosis or the diagnosis to the subject according to the output classification (claim 60).
The “applying” steps broadly encompass an abstract idea as they relate to the consideration of a two or three pieces of data. This amount of data may be considered by the human mind.
The “providing” steps broadly encompass an abstract as it coordinates human behavior relating to conveying medical information between individuals.
The “comparing” steps broadly encompass an abstract idea as it involves the consideration of a limited amount of data that may be considered by the human mind.
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not involve:
improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field;
applying or using the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; or
effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
The claimed limitations add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exceptions. While claims 52-54 further comprises treating a subject, the treating is conditioned on the type of diagnosis or prognosis. None of the claims require treating a patient in some manner across all embodiments. For example, claim 52 focuses on subjects having high-risk SMM, but requires nothing be done to subjects with stable SMM. Furthermore, the treating of claim 54, which is “subsequently monitored” is not an active method step that is a particular treatment or prophylaxis that integrates a judicial exception.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims encompass the use of well-known assays as described in paragraphs 226-235 of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41,42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 41, the claims recites “the 3D telomere organization sample signature comprising at least one telomere parameter selected from total telomere length, average telomere length, telomere numbers, telomere aggregates, a/c ratio, nuclear volume, and nuclear telomere distribution”. The claim also recites “applying a classification model to the 3D telomere organization sample signature to obtain an output classification of stable SMM or high-risk SMM, the classification model consisting of the telomere parameters: a) nuclear telomere distribution, a/c ratio, and total telomere length; b) a/c ratio and telomere numbers; c) a/c ratio and nuclear telomere distribution, or d) a/c ratio and telomere aggregates”. It is unclear if the “applying” step is intended to further limit the scope of “at least one telomere parameter” to including at least one combination of “a) nuclear telomere distribution, a/c ratio, and total telomere length; b) a/c ratio and telomere numbers; c) a/c ratio and nuclear telomere distribution, or d) a/c ratio and telomere aggregates”. If not, the claim is incomplete as it does not require collecting all of the information required for the classification model.
Claims 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 and 60 depend from claim 41 and are rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 41, the claim recites “the clinical outcome prognosis or the diagnosis being an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM” and is based on the “output classification” obtained through the “applying” step. The recitation of “an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM” lacks proper antecedent basis as the “output classification” is for generic “stable SMM or high-risk SMM”.
Claims 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 and 60 depend from claim 41 and are rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 43, the claim recites “the prognosis or the diagnosis is provided to the subject or the subject's medical professional at time of SMM diagnosis”. It unclear how a prognosis or diagnosis is to be provided at the time of SMM diagnosis when the sample is “from a subject having smoldering multiple myeloma (SMM)”. In order to practice the “assaying” step the subject must have SMM. In other words, the subject would have to be known to have SMM, i.e., be diagnosed, with SMM prior to carrying out the method. If it is unknown whether a patient has SMM at the time of the method, it is unclear how one knows if they are infringing the method until after they have completed.
Regarding claim 48, the claim recites “the one or more of…telomere parameter”. The recitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 50, the claim recites the at least one telomere parameter of the classification model is selected to have a particular accuracy of distinguishing between stable SMM and high-risk SMM. It is unclear what is the scope of the telomere parameters having the different claimed accuracies. For example, it is unclear what is the scope of telomere parameters having an accuracy of at least 75% versus the scope of telomere parameters that have an accuracy of 100%. It is further unclear what, if any additional elements, are required by the classification model in order to achieve any of the recited accuracies.
Regarding claim 55, the claims states “assaying the plurality of plasma cells according to the assaying step of claim 41”. The assaying step of claim 41 obtains a “3D telomere organization sample signature”. It is unclear a “3D telomere organization monitoring signature” is obtained from a process that generates “3D telomere organization sample signature”.
Regarding claim 59, the claim recites “the clinical outcome prognosis or the diagnosis being an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM” and is based on the “output classification” obtained through the “applying” step. The recitation of “an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM” lacks proper antecedent basis as the “output classification” is for generic “stable SMM or high-risk SMM”.
Regarding claim 60, the claim recites “the clinical outcome prognosis or the diagnosis being an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM” and is based on the “output classification” obtained through the “applying” step. The recitation of “an increased likelihood of stable SMM or an increased likelihood of high-risk SMM” lacks proper antecedent basis as the “output classification” is for “stable SMM or high-risk SMM”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 57-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mateos (N Engl J Med. 2013. 369:438-447).
Regarding claims 57, 58 and 59, Mateos teaches treating patients classified as high-risk SMM with a personalized regimen of lenalidomide and dexamethasone (Fig. 1).
The Mateos reference and claim 58 and 59 treat the same patients, i.e., high-risk SMM patients. It is noted that the claim does not require performing the method of claim 41 but rather treating patients that have high-risk SMM. Mateos teaches treating the same classification of patients and there is no indication that the high-risk SMM patients of Mateos are distinguishable from those of claim 58 classified based on the method of claim 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangel-Pozzo (Cancers. 2021. 13:1969, 16 pages).
Regarding claims 41, 56 and 60, Rangel-Pozzo teaches assaying plasma cells from SMM subjects using a 3D telomere FISH protocol and analyzed for 3D images (p. 3 of 16, 2.1. Sample Acquisition and Patient Population, 2.2. Sample Preparation, 2.3. Immunostaining and Telomere Hybridization, 2.5. Image Acquisition and Nuclear Architecture Analysis). The parameters of the telomeres assayed include telomere numbers, telomere aggregates, a/c ratio, etc. (Table 2).
Rangel-Pozzo teaches:
“In the SMM patient group, five different telomere parameters identified patients with stable or progressive disease and allowed us to stratify this group of SMM patients into high-risk SMM versus low-risk SMM. Similar results were observed for MM patients. This risk stratification has the potential to guide evidence-based treatment decisions of SMM patients with a high risk of progression or MM patients with active disease.” (p. 13 of 16).
It is noted that high-risk SMM versus low-risk SMM as described by Rangel-Pozzo is based on:
“Fifteen of the 20 SMM patients remained stable for 5 years, while five progressed to full stage multiple myeloma within 1 to 3 years from the point of diagnosis. They were stratified as indolent SMM (stable SMM) and high-risk SMM (SMM progression), respectively”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have applied a “classification model” to the telomeric data obtained from plasma cells to provide a clinical outcome or diagnosis of the subject in view of the notion of classifying and risk stratification of SMM subjects based on the teachings of Rangel-Pozzo. It would have been prima facie obvious to have selected one or more of the parameters from Table 2 with the most significant p values, including telomere numbers, a/c ratio and/or total telomere intensity (which is proportional to telomere length, p. 8 of 16). One would recognize that combining parameters provides more information regarding the plasma cells and would increase the accuracy of a prognosis and/or diagnosis of high-risk SMM versus low-risk/stable SMM.
Regarding claim 42, Rangel-Pozzo teaches the plasma cells are from bone marrow (p. 3 of 16, 2.1. Sample Acquisition and Patient Population).
The claim does not require obtaining a sample of bone marrow or obtaining plasma cells bone marrow. There is no indication that plasma cells from the blood versus bone marrow are structurally different in the context of SMM.
Regarding claim 43, it would have been obvious that at the time of diagnosing SMM to have also performed the above assaying step in order to also provide a prognosis or diagnosis of the type of SMM the patient has (e.g., stable SMM or high-risk SMM).
Regarding claim 44, Rangel-Pozzo teaches the steps of claim 44 as described on p. 3 of 16, sections 2.2. Sample Preparation, 2.3. Immunostaining and Telomere Hybridization, 2.5. Image Acquisition and Nuclear Architecture Analysis.
Regarding claim 45, Rangel-Pozzo further teaches staining cell samples for CD138 and/or CD56 (p. 3 of 16, 2.3. Immunostaining and Telomere Hybridization).
Regarding claim 46, Rangel-Pozzo teaches the 3D imaging of claim 46 as described on p. 3 of 16, section 2.5. Image Acquisition and Nuclear Architecture Analysis.
Regarding claim 47, Rangel-Pozzo teaches the cells analyzed are interphase cells (p. 3 of 16, 2.5. Image Acquisition and Nuclear Architecture Analysis).
Regarding claim 48, Rangel-Pozzo teaches the telomere parameters are averages or ratios (p. 3 of 16, 2.5. Image Acquisition and Nuclear Architecture Analysis).
Regarding claim 49, Rangel-Pozzo teaches the samples are bone marrow plasma cells from subjects as noted above, which is broadly encompassed by a “diagnostic sample” in view of paragraph 103 of the instant specification.
Regarding claim 50, Rangel-Pozzo teaches a number of telomere parameters as describes above and as encompassed by the claim.
Regarding claim 51, one would readily recognize that the subjects of Rangel-Pozzo are humans.
Regarding claims 52-54 and 57, Rangel-Pozzo teaches patients with SMM are not treated but monitored (p. 13 of 16). Rangel-Pozzo further teaches their technique can guide treatment decisions for those with a high risk of progression (p. 13 of 16). Thus it would have been obvious to have monitored those with stable SMM and to treat those at risk of progressing to MM with one or more known treatments for MM in view of Rangel-Pozzo.
Regarding claim 55, Rangel-Pozzo renders obvious the method of claim 41 as described above. It would have been prima facie obvious to have repeated the method at later time points to determine if patients still had stable SMM or were at high risk of MM or if the risk level decreased, for example as a result of treatment.
Regarding claim 58, it would have been prima facie obvious to have provided a personal treatment plan of monitoring to individuals identified with the method of Rangel-Pozzo of having stable SMM.
Regarding 59, Rangel-Pozzo renders obvious the method of claim 41 as described above. The method of claim 41 is encompassed by claim 59.
Double Patenting
Claim 41-60 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 and 23 (7/30/2025) of copending Application No. 18/861,552 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are of sufficient breadth so as to encompass the pending claims of the ‘552 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
-
-
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
-
-
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682