DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “Flavor-adding kitchenware” which should be amened to “A flavor-adding kitchenware.”
Claim 1 recites “till a temperature ranging” which should be amended to “until a temperature ranging…”
Claim 2 recites “connected to the diffuser” which should be amended to “connected to the medium diffuser” for consistency.
Claim 4 recites “The The flavor” which should be amended to “The flavor”
Claim 5 recites “The flavor-adding kitchenware of Claim 4” which should be amended to “The flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 4.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a gas flow driver operable to drive a gas” in claim 1. In particular, the claim limitation “a gas flow driver” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “to drive a gas” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “a gas flow driver” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In this case, in para 0022, the specification states: the gas flow driver 3 may also be a blower fan or another equivalent structure in some other implementations, therefore the gas flow driver encompasses a blower or any other structures in the disclosure which positively perform the function, and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baker (US20200170448).
Fig. 1 of Baker
Fig. 4 of Baker
Regarding claim 1, Baker teaches Flavor-adding kitchenware for a user to heat a surface of a food ingredient having proteins and/or carbohydrates, the flavor-adding kitchenware comprising:
a base (22);
a gas flow driver (50) operable to drive a gas to flow toward the surface of the food ingredient ([0026] fuel 34, smoke for the heating chamber 1; where auger 50 moves fuel that is understood to subsequently move the smoke created by the fuel)
a medium diffuser (60) disposed at the base (22), operable to diffuse a medium (62) whose specific heat capacity is higher than the gas (34) and mix the medium (62) with the gas (34) which is flowing to form a mixed fluid ([0026, 0030] where it is understood that smoke and the sprayed liquid would mix);
and a heater (32) disposed at the base (22), operable to heat the gas which is flowing, the medium, or the mixed fluid, till a temperature ranging from 100° C. to 200° C. ([0027] The heat source 30 may sustain a temperature inside the cooking device 10 of around 100 to 800 degrees Fahrenheit for cooking the food items) to contribute a flavor to the surface of the food ingredient ([0030] flavor of the food item, increase moisture within the food item, increase cooking efficiency of the food item).
Regarding claim 2, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 1
further comprising at least one medium storage (64) that is detachably fitted to the base (22) and an opener (28) disposed at the base (22), wherein a predetermined amount of the medium (62) is sealed in the medium storage (64) so that when the medium storage (64) is mounted corresponding to the opener (28),
a discharge port (70 Fig. 4, tube 70 connected to reservoir 64) connected to the diffuser (60) is formed at the medium storage (64).
Regarding claim 4, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 1,
wherein the heater is an electric heater ([0026] One or more heating elements 32 (e.g., electrical heating elements)) disposed downstream of the gas flow driver (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 4,
wherein the medium diffuser (60) has a medium spout (72, 74) disposed downstream of the electric heater (32),
and at least one medium canister (64; where it is understood that the medium canister is the same element as a medium storage as recited in claim 2) communicating with the medium spout (70, 72).
Regarding claim 7, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 1,
further comprising an outlet temperature sensor ([0029] a cabinet temperature sensor for determining the temperature inside the chamber 14) disposed downstream of the heater (32), the outlet temperature sensor [0029](a cabinet temperature sensor for determining the temperature inside the chamber 14) being operable to measure an outlet temperature of the mixed fluid which has been mixed by the medium diffuser and heated by the heater (32; where the temperature inside the chamber 14 is understood to be the temperature of the gas and fluid solution in the chamber).
Regarding claim 8, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 7,
further comprising a controller (56), the controller being operable to receive the outlet temperature measured by the outlet temperature sensor ([0029]), and control, based on the outlet temperature, the gas flow driver and the heater ([0049] Accordingly, the activation of the pump 66 by the controller 76 may be varied by a user through usage of the application 128 in addition to or in lieu of usage of the input device 84 and/or a predetermined activation sequence. The spritzing patterns may be based on any variable, including but not limited to, the temperature within the heating chamber 14, the type of food item, the type of fluid utilized within the spritzer assembly 60, user preferences, user instructions, food temperature (which may be measured by the probe 58)) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US20200170448) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chen (US11116359B2).
Regarding claim 3, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 5, but is silent on
wherein the medium storage further comprises a heated portion in thermally conductive connection to the heater, the heated portion being configured to heat the medium stored in the medium storage.
Chen teaches wherein the medium storage (12) further comprises a heated portion (122) in thermally conductive connection to the heater (121), the heated portion being configured to heat the medium stored (123) in the medium storage (12; Col. 8 lines 10-30).
Baker and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of kitchenware. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Baker to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have the medium storage include a heated portion in order to be able to provide steam to the cooked food to provide a satisfying taste, aroma, texture, and/or appearance for foods where dry heating is not satisfactory (Chen Col. 1 lines 40-55).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker (US20200170448) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Vassallo (EP1625817A1).
Regarding claim 6, Baker teaches the flavor-adding kitchenware of claim 5, but is silent on wherein the medium diffuser further has a spicery canister, and a spicery releasing port communicating with the spicery canister and corresponding to the medium spout.
Fig. 4 of Vassallo
Vassallo teaches wherein the medium diffuser (20, 21, 10) further has a spicery canister (20; [0014] an external reservoir 20 containing a flavoring substance, a sauce or any similar ingredient adapted), and a spicery releasing port (21) communicating with the spicery canister (20) and corresponding to the medium spout (10, Fig. 4 [0014] reservoir is connected via a respective conduit 21 to said inner conduits 10, possibly via a manifold-like distribution chamber provided inside said apparatus 1, wherein said distribution chamber may be the same afore described steam-box 12).
Baker and Vassallo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of kitchenware. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Baker to incorporate the teachings of Vassallo to have the medium diffuser having a spicery canister in order to aid in giving the food a particular taste, flavor or a more appealing appearance (Vassallo [0014]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/6/2026