DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-15, 18, 20-21, 23-24 and 26 are pending in the instant application. Claims 18, 20-21 and 23-24 are amended and claims 2, 16-17, 19, 22, 25 and 27-31 are cancelled via the amendment filed May 15th, 2024.
Priority
This is a 35 U.S.C. 371 National Stage filing of Application No. PCT/US22/80024 filed November 17th, 2022 which claims priority to 63280571, filed November 17th, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 05/15/2024, 10/08/2024 and 12/10/2025 were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary
skill in the art. Claim 1 recites “for deterring intruders…” which is intended use and the claim limitation is presumed met by a solution comprising an organic acid having a pKa of 6 or less; and water; wherein the solution has a pH between about 4.5 and about 6.5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-9, 13-14, 18, 20-21, 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crowe et al (US 2017/0045336 A1, published February 16th, 2017, as cited on the IDS dated 05/15/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Crowe teaches a composition comprising propionic acid, ammonia and water, in a pH range from approximately 5.60 to 5.80 (claim 6). Claim 1 recites “for deterring intruders” which is intended use and the claim limitation is presumed met by the solution of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Crowe teaches that the composition has a pH of approximately 5.60 to 5.80.
Regarding claim 4, propionic acid is of formula (I), wherein A is alkyl and B is alkyl.
Regarding claims 6-7, A is alkyl.
Regarding claims 8-9, B is alkyl.
Regarding claim 14, Crowe also teaches that the composition comprises citric acid (claim 3). Regarding claim 13, citric acid is a tricarboxylic acid.
Regarding claim 18, as seen above, Crowe teaches that ammonia is also in the composition.
Regarding claims 20-21, Crowe further teaches that ethoxylated alcohol is also in the composition (claim 2). Ethoxylated alcohol is a narrow range ethoxylate (NREs), as evidenced in paragraph [0031] of the instant specification.
Regarding claim 24, Crowe further teaches that the composition also includes a dye (claim 3).
Regarding claim 26, Crowe further teaches that the composition further comprises a propellant. Crowe teaches that the system is a stand-alone deterrent system with a tank having pressurized gas therein to cause the fluid to be dispersed through the nozzle (paragraph [0041]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10-11 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reo et al (US 2018/0326069 A1, published November 15th, 2018)
Regarding claim 1, Reo teaches a solution comprising water and formic acid at a pH of 3.5-5.0 (claims 1 and 11). Claim 1 recites “for deterring intruders” which is intended use and the claim limitation is presumed met by the solution of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, as seen above, Reo teaches that the solution is at a pH of 3.5-5.0.
Regarding claims 4-5, formic acid is of Formula I, wherein A is bond and B is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 10, B is hydrogen.
Regarding claim 11, formic acid is a fatty acid.
Regarding claim 15, Reo also teaches that the solution comprises ethylene glycol.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 12, 14 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marcq et al (US 2014/0271999 A1, published September 18th, 2014).
Regarding claim 1, composition comprising water (claim 7), pectin (claim 11), and oxalic acid (claim 15) at a pH of about 2 to about 5).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, A is bond and B is carboxyl.
Regarding claim 12, oxalic acid is dicarboxylic.
Regarding claim 14, as seen above, the acid is oxalic acid.
Regarding claim 23, as seen above, pectin is included in the composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 13-14, 18, 20-21 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10168125 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent claims a composition comprising: propionic acid; ammonia; and water, a content of water in the composition being at least approximately 60% by weight, and a content of propionic acid in the composition being at least approximately 17.5% by weight (claim 1). The patent further claims that the pH of the composition is approximately 5.60 to 5.80 (claim 6). The patent also claims that the composition further comprises citric acid and ethoxylated alcohol (Claim 2).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/A.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699