Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-6 and 8-12 in the reply filed on 6/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first corner grove extending inwardly from the first corner land surface” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first corner grove extending inwardly from the first corner land surface”. Applicant elected figures 1-9. Even though “74” is recited as “a first corner groove”, figures 1-9 shows it as not extending from the corner making the claim and correlating figures unclear when read together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagerberg (USP 6,447,218) in view of (WO 2013/146211).
Regarding claim 1, Lagerberg discloses a cutting insert, comprising: an upper surface comprising a first corner (C1: see below), a second corner (C2), and a first side connected to the first corner and the second corner; a front side surface (F) connected to the first side; a first corner side surface (CS1) connected to the first corner; a front cutting edge (5) located on the first side; and a first corner cutting edge (5’) located at the first corner (figures 1 and 10), a front groove (FG), and a first corner groove (CG1), and a length of the first corner groove is shorter than a length of the front groove (see below). Lagerberg fails to disclose a land. ‘211 discloses a cutting insert having a land (9) around the periphery of the insert adjacent the cutting edge and before reaching the chip breakers (figures 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include a land to Lagerberg’s insert, as taught by ‘211 for the purpose of increasing the thickness of a blade edge portion hence the cutting edge is reinforced as well as increasing the sharpness of cutting edge (see heading “advantage” of ‘211). The modified device of Lagerberg will therefore have a front land surface located at an outer edge of the upper surface and extending along the front cutting edge, a first corner land surface located at an outer edge of the upper surface and extending along the first corner cutting edge, the front groove (FG) will be extending inwardly from with respect to the front land surface and similarly the first corner groove (CG1) will be extending inwardly from with respect to the first corner land surface.
[AltContent: textbox (LC)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CG2)][AltContent: textbox (CG1)][AltContent: textbox (CS1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CS2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C2)][AltContent: textbox (C1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (FG)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (FG1)][AltContent: textbox (FG2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses wherein the first corner groove (CG) extends inwardly from with respect to a boundary between the front land surface and the first corner land surface.
Regarding claim 3, Examiner takes Official Notice that is is old and well known in the machining art to place grooves in any location depending on how fluid is desired to be directed and delivered.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses the claimed invention (i.e. a front groove and a first corner groove), except for a width of the first corner groove being smaller than a width of the front groove and a depth of the first corner groove being the same as a depth of the front groove. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to choose a desired width and depth for each groove depending on the amount of coolant desired to be delivered to that particular area, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose a desired width and depth for each groove depending on the amount of coolant desired to be delivered to that particular area.
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses wherein the front groove (FG) comprises a first front groove (FG1) and a second front groove (FG2) located closer to the first corner (CG) than the first front groove, and a length of the first front groove (FG1) is the same as a length of the second front groove (FG2) (see figure above).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses a second corner side surface (CS2) connected to the second corner (C2); and a second corner cutting edge (5’) located at the second corner, wherein the upper surface further comprises a second corner land surface located at an outer edge of the upper surface and extending along the second corner cutting edge; and a second corner groove (CG2) extending inwardly from with respect to the second corner land surface, and a length of the second corner groove is (CG2) shorter than a length of the front groove (FG) (see figure above).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses wherein the upper surface further comprises a second side (bottom surface) connected to the first corner (C1); and a lateral land surface located at an outer edge of the upper surface and extending along the second side; and a lateral groove (LG) extending inwardly from with respect to the lateral land surface, and a length of the lateral groove (LG) is longer than a length of the first corner groove (CG1) (see figure above).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses wherein the front groove (FG) is separated from the front cutting edge (5) and the first corner groove (C1) is separated from the first corner cutting edge (5’) (see alternate embodiment of claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses a cutting tool comprising: a holder having a rod shape extending from a first end to a second end, and comprising a pocket located at the first end; and the cutting insert being located in the pocket (figure 9).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Lagerberg discloses a method for manufacturing a machined product, the method comprising: rotating a workpiece (14); bringing the cutting tool described in claim 11 into contact with the workpiece being rotated; and separating the cutting tool from the workpiece (figure 9).
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 6/25/26