Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (KR101602160B1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches providing a vertically oriented pultrusion bath that is open to the atmosphere as shown in Fig. 1 (130) with an inlet at the top and a terminal area at the bottom wherein the inlet is larger and higher than the terminal area.
Regarding claims 4-6, the figure of Shin appears to show the reservoir as an upside down cone with the end cut off like a funnel wherein all walls are vertically oriented.
Regarding claim 7, the pultrusion device of Shin further comprises a die immediately following the reservoir (140).
Regarding claim 8, the fibers of Shin appear to be pulled through the die face at roughly a 75 degree angle relative to the die face as shown.
Regarding claim 10, the guide plate of Shin is adjacent to the inlet.
Regarding claim 14, the die of Shin may be considered to be an “outlet insert”.
Regarding claim 15, Shin teaches providing a vertically oriented pultrusion bath that is open to the atmosphere as shown in Fig. 1 (130) with an inlet at the top and a terminal area at the bottom wherein the inlet is larger and higher than the terminal area. Further the invention of Shin comprises an upper guide plate near the upper end of the reservoir (120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR101602160B1) as applied to claims 1, 4-8, 10 and 14-15 above.
Regarding claim 2, the teachings of Shin are as shown above. Shin fails to teach the use of an inner guide plate as claimed but instead uses an exterior one (120). However, the shifting of the guide plate of Shin to inside the reservoir would be considered a mere change in scale of a prior art object combined with a rearrangement of parts wherein the court has long held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Further claims drawn to structures that are the same as those of the prior art that are merely shifted in location but do not modify the operation of the device were held to be unpatentable distinctions. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9, the teachings of Shin are as shown above. Shin fails to teach wherein the angle employed is as claimed. However, this would constitute a mere change in shape of the reservoir to widen the opening and a rearrangement of the location of the guide plate wherein the Court has long held that mere changes in the shape of a prior art product in the absence of a new and unexpected result arising from the change in shape are not patentable over the prior art provided shape. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Further claims drawn to structures that are the same as those of the prior art that are merely shifted in location but do not modify the operation of the device were held to be unpatentable distinctions. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 11, as with the rejection of claim 2, providing an inner guide plate would constitute a mere rearrangement of parts and a change of scale of the guide plate. Further, using two plates instead of one would constitute a mere duplication of parts wherein the court has long held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). This duplication would be in addition to the rearrangement and change in shape as described above.
Regarding claim 12, it is unclear exactly what is intended to be meant by one aperture “matching” another but reasonably with two apertures in succession through which the same fiber passes through, those tow apertures match in that they at least align to allow the passage of the same fiber. If two guide plates were employed in Shin this would necessarily be how the device would function.
Regarding claim 13, all of the apertures of two distinct plates, even if they are identical are technically “different”.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR101602160B1) as applied to claims 1, 4-8, 10 and 14-15 above and further in view of Straub et al. (“Comparison of the Processing of Epoxy Resins in Pultrusion with Open Bath Impregnation and Closed-Injection Pultrusion” Journal of Composite Science, 2019, 3, 87, pp. 1-11).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Shin are as shown above. Shin fails to teach wherein the reservoir comprising a guiding shaft within the reservoir that is used to guide rovings as they pass through the reservoir. However, Straub teaches that it is known to provide guide bars in the portions of a pultrusion chamber that are considered to be “straight through processes” (Fig. 1a) wherein those of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the guide bars maintain tension on the rovings as well as provide spread for the fibers so as to allow infiltration of the coating material into the roving bundle as well as provide direction to the fiber roving as it passes through the reservoir. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the guide bars of Straub in the invention of Shin in order to control the direction of the fiber roving within the injection chamber as well as to spread the fibers under tension so as to allow for resin infiltration.
Response to Arguments
The applicants’ arguments are generally moot in view of new grounds of rejection, all of which are based upon a primary reference that was not previously applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717