DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-14, 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 11-14, 16-19, 23 of copending Application No. 18/709,614 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the claims listed above can be found in the corresponding application claims.
Application
18/709614
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
7
7
8
11
10
12
11
13
12
14
13
16
14
17
17
18
18
19
19
23
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Norman et al (US 2020/0086028).
Regarding claim 1, Norman discloses a peritoneal dialysis ("PD") system comprising: a PD machine (page 6, para. 0079); a patient line 50 extending from the PD machine (fig. 1; page 7, para. 008); and a filter set 100 in fluid communication with the patient line 50 (fig. 1; page 8, para. 0095), the filter set 100 including a filter membrane (page 8, para. 0097) positioned and arranged such that fresh PD fluid flows through the filter membrane into a filtered fluid compartment 120 (fig. 3; page 8, para. 0097), wherein the filtered fluid compartment includes an outlet 150a to a port 108 (fig. 3), and wherein the port is in fluid communication with a used PD fluid tube 118 positioned and arranged to carry used PD fluid past the filter membrane without contacting the filter membrane (fig. 3; page 8, para. 0099).
Regarding claim 5, Norman discloses that the port 108 extends to used PD fluid tube 118 (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Norman discloses that the outlet 150a is releasably covered by at least one hinged closure flap (fig. 3; page 8, para. 0098: duckbill valves are formed from flaps on a living hinge).
Regarding claim 7, Norman discloses at least one rib 136 located within the filtered fluid compartment for supporting the filter membrane (fig. 6; page 9, para. 0108).
Regarding claim 8, Norman discloses that the filter membrane 140, 142 is a flat sheet filter membrane (fig. 5), and wherein the filter set 100 includes an outer compartment located on an opposing side of the flat sheet filter membrane from the filtered fluid compartment (figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 9, Norman discloses that the filter set 100 includes a fresh PD fluid port 116 positioned and arranged to introduce fresh PD fluid to the outer compartment (figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 11, Norman discloses that the filter set 100 includes a cap 112 cooperating with the filter membrane 140 to form the outer compartment (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Norman discloses that the cap includes at least one vent opening 152 and at least one hydrophobic membrane sealingly covering the at least one vent opening (fig. 4; page 9, para. 0105).
Regarding claim 13, Norman discloses that the filter set 100 includes a flexible tube configured to connect to the patient's transfer set (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Norman discloses that the PD machine is configured to close a used PD fluid valve 150b during a patient fill, urging the filtered fresh PD fluid to flow to the port instead of along the used PD fluid tube (fig. 3; page 8, para. 0099, 0100).
Regarding claim 16, Norman discloses that the PD machine is configured to close a fresh PD fluid valve 150a during a patient drain, urging used PD fluid to flow along the used PD fluid tube instead of into the filtered fluid compartment (page 8, para. 0099, 0100).
Regarding claim 17, Norman discloses that the filter membrane is a sterilizing grade filter membrane (page 8, para. 0092).
Regarding claim 18, Norman discloses a filter set 100 comprising: a port 108; a filtered fluid compartment 110 including an outlet 150a to the port 108; a filter membrane 140 positioned and arranged such that fresh PD fluid flows through the filter membrane into the filtered fluid compartment (page 8, para. 0097); and a used PD fluid tube 118 in fluid communication with the port (fig. 3), the used PD fluid tube positioned and arranged to carry used PD fluid past the filter membrane without contacting the filter membrane (page 8, para. 0100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman in view of Navis (US 6,659,134).
Claim 2 differs from Norman in calling for the patient line to be a dual lumen patient line including a fresh PD fluid lumen and a used PD fluid lumen, the used PD fluid lumen placed in fluid communication with the used PD fluid tube. Navis teaches a patient line for use in peritoneal dialysis wherein the patient line includes a fresh PD fluid lumen 12 (inflow conduit) and a used PD fluid lumen 14 (outflow conduit) which provides improved peritoneal dialysis that is suitable for continuous use, allowing simultaneous inflow and outflow (col. 1, lines 58-60; col. 2, lines 64-65; figs. 1, 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patient line of Norman to be a dual lumen patient line including a fresh PD fluid lumen and a used PD fluid lumen as taught by Navis to provide improved peritoneal dialysis by allowing continuous inflow and outflow. The resulting structure of this modification is the used PD fluid lumen in fluid communication with the used PD fluid tube.
Regarding claim 3, Norman discloses that the filter set 100 includes a fresh PD fluid port 116 for fluid communication with the fresh PD fluid lumen and a used PD fluid port 150b for fluid communication with the used PD fluid lumen (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Norman discloses that the used PD fluid tube 118 is in fluid communication with the used PD fluid port 150b (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Norman discloses a method for priming a filter set 100 connected to patient line 50 (fig. 2), wherein during treatment a tube is located between the filter set 100 and a patient's transfer set (fig. 2), the method comprising: delivering fresh peritoneal dialysis ("PD") fluid through a fresh PD fluid lumen 50 of the patient line to the filter set 100 (page 7, para. 0085); forcing the fresh PD fluid through a filter membrane 140 of the filter set, so that the fresh PD fluid displaces air towards a used PD fluid lumen of the patient line (page 8, para. 0095, 0096) and pulling used PD fluid from the patient, through the patient's transfer set, through the tube, through a used PD fluid portion of the filter set, and into the used PD fluid lumen of the patient line ((page 8, para. 0100).
Claim 19 differs from Norman in calling for the patient line to be a dual lumen patient line including a fresh PD fluid lumen and a used PD fluid lumen. Navis teaches a patient line for use in peritoneal dialysis wherein the patient line includes a fresh PD fluid lumen 12 (inflow conduit) and a used PD fluid lumen 14 (outflow conduit) which provides improved peritoneal dialysis that is suitable for continuous use, allowing simultaneous inflow and outflow (col. 1, lines 58-60; col. 2, lines 64-65; figs. 1, 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patient line of Norman to be a dual lumen patient line including a fresh PD fluid lumen and a used PD fluid lumen as taught by Navis to provide improved peritoneal dialysis by allowing continuous inflow and outflow. The resulting structure of this modification is the used PD fluid lumen in fluid communication with the used PD fluid tube.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783