DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 101834179, English machine translation provided) in view of Manganaro et al (USPN 5,470,564).
Regarding Claim 1:
Lee teaches the method for the treatment of oxidizable contaminants in wastewater, the method comprising: supplying the wastewater (soda) to a contaminant treatment vessel (reactor 130) (see pg. 7, last paragraph); supplying hydrogen peroxide (oxidant, oxidant can be hydrogen peroxide, oxidant can added to reaction apparatus after waste gas) to the contaminant treatment vessel (see pg. 7, last paragraph, pg. 3, last paragraph, pg. 4, 2nd paragraph); and contacting the wastewater in the contaminant treatment vessel with the hydrogen peroxide (oxidation process) (see pg. 7 last paragraph), wherein contacting the wastewater with the hydrogen peroxide reduces a concentration of oxidizable contaminants based on a concentration of oxidizable contaminants in a wastewater feed stream (reduction of sulfide by 80%) (see pg. 7, 5th paragraph).
Lee does not teach the hydrogen peroxide is supplied to the contaminant treatment vessel above a maximum wastewater fill line of the contaminant treatment vessel.
Manganaro teaches a method of supplying hydrogen peroxide to a vessel, wherein the hydrogen peroxide is supplied to the contaminant treatment vessel above a maximum wastewater fill line of the contaminant treatment vessel (with an air gap between the feed line and funneling zone) (see col. 2 lines 50-55, col. 3 lines 14-19).
Lee and Manganaro are analogous inventions in the art of adding oxidants to reaction vessels. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention toad the air gap (supply the hydrogen peroxide above the maximum fill line) as disclosed by Manganaro to the hydrogen peroxide supply of Lee because it ensures that no reactants overflow into the feed lines (see Manganaro col. 3 lines 14-19).
Regarding Claim 2:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wastewater comprises a high alkaline wastewater (pH 10 to 14, alkaline wastewater) (see Lee pg. 8, 1st paragraph, pg. 1, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wastewater comprises a pH of greater than 7 (10 to 14) (see Lee pg. 8, 1st paragraph).
Regarding Claim 4:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wastewater comprises greater than 0.1 mg/l oxidizable contaminants (see Lee pg. 10. Example 2.2, Table 1).
Regarding Claim 5:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wastewater is contacted with the hydrogen peroxide at a temperature less than 70 degrees Celsius (room temperature) (see Lee pg. 6, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wastewater is contacted with the hydrogen peroxide at a temperature of greater than 20 degrees Celsius to less than 50 degrees Celsius (room temperature) (see Lee pg. 6, last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 7:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the hydrogen peroxide is supplied to the contaminant treatment vessel at least half a meter above the maximum wastewater fill line of the contaminant treatment vessel. However it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adjust the height of the air gap and use an height of at least half a meter above the maximum wastewater fill line in order to find an appropriate distance that prevents back flow. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 8:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein contacting the wastewater in the contaminant treatment vessel with the hydrogen peroxide reduces the concentration of oxidizable contaminants in the wastewater (reduces by 80%) (see Lee, pg. 7, 5th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9:
Lee, as modified, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the oxidizable contaminants comprise sulfides (see Lee, pg. 7, 5th paragraph), nitrites, phosphites, or a combination of these.
Claim(s) 10, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 101834179, English machine translation provided) in view of Manganaro et al (USPN 5,470,564) and Horn et al (USPN 5,854,060).
Regarding Claim 10:
Lee teaches the system for the treatment of oxidizable contaminants in wastewater, the system comprising: a contaminant treatment vessel (reactor 130 ); a hydrogen peroxide supply unit (oxidizer feed tank 120) comprising a hydrogen peroxide transfer line in fluid communication with the contaminant treatment vessel, wherein: the hydrogen peroxide transfer line comprises one or more hydrogen peroxide pumps (a pump) and a valve (see pg. 7, 8th paragraph); the hydrogen peroxide transfer line is in fluid communication with the contaminant treatment vessel at a hydrogen peroxide injection point (see pg. 7, last paragraph); a wastewater feed stream in fluid communication with the contaminant treatment vessel (soda feed tank 110); and a contaminant treatment vessel effluent stream in fluid communication with the contaminant treatment vessel, the contaminant treatment vessel effluent stream comprising less oxidizable contaminants regardless of an initial concentration of oxidizable contaminants in the wastewater feed stream.
Lee does not teach wherein the hydrogen peroxide injection point is positioned above a maximum wastewater fill level of the contaminant treatment vessel such that an air gap exists between the wastewater in the contaminant treatment vessel and the hydrogen peroxide injection point. Lee does not teach that the valve is one or more ball valves, and one or more check valves.
Manganaro teaches a hydrogen peroxide supply injection point into a vessel, wherein the hydrogen peroxide injection point is positioned above a maximum wastewater fill level of the contaminant treatment vessel such that an air gap exists between the wastewater in the contaminant treatment vessel and the hydrogen peroxide injection point (with an air gap between the feed line and funneling zone) (see col. 2 lines 50-55, col. 3 lines 14-19).
Lee and Manganaro are analogous inventions in the art of adding oxidants to reaction vessels. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention toad the air gap (supply the hydrogen peroxide above the maximum fill line) as disclosed by Manganaro to the hydrogen peroxide supply of Lee because it ensures that no reactants overflow into the feed lines (see Manganaro col. 3 lines 14-19).
Horn teaches supply lines with at least one ball valve (vented ball valve 220) (see col. 14 lines 47-48) and at least one check valve (check valve 260) (see col. 15 lines 8-11).
Lee, as modified, and Horn are analogous inventions in the art of supplying oxidants. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the unspecified valve of Lee with the ball valve and check valve of Horn because it is the simple substitution of a known valve for other known valves, obviously resulting in the ability to control flow through the supply line and limit flow through the supply line (see Horn col. 15 lines 8-11), with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding Claim 11:
Lee, as modified, teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the contaminant treatment vessel is operable to oxidize the oxidizable contaminants in the wastewater feed stream (see Lee pg. 7, 5th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 13:
Lee, as modified, teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the one or more ball valves are vented ball valves (vented ball valve 220) (see Horn col. 14 lines 47-48).
Regarding Claim 14:
Lee, as modified, teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the hydrogen peroxide supply unit comprises materials of construction that are pickled, passivated, or both (SUS316L material) (see Lee pg. 10, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15:
Lee, as modified, teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the oxidizable contaminants comprise sulfides, nitrite, phosphite, or a combination of these (see Lee, pg. 7, 5th paragraph).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (KR 101834179, English machine translation provided) in view of Manganaro et al (USPN 5,470,564) and Horn et al (USPN 5,854,061) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Krieger (US 2016/0115062).
Regarding Claim 12:
Lee, as modified, teaches the system of claim 10.
The previous combination does not teach the one or more hydrogen peroxide pumps are air diaphragm pumps.
Krieger teaches an air diaphragm pump (see para. 0030).
Lee, as modified, and Krieger are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the unspecified pump of Lee with the air diaphragm pump of Krieger because it is the simple substitution of one pump with another known pump, obviously resulting in the movement of the hydrogen peroxide, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 6/8/2026