DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of specie I figures 2-5 in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged. Furthermore claims 12, 16 and 17 are withdrawn as being directed to different species. In conclusion claims 12, 13, 16 and 17 are withdrawn.
The election/restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al (WO2020027102A1) in view of Peng et al (CN101749431A).
Okada discloses a pair of sliding members (7 and 4) comprising sliding surface (e.g. S) configured to rotate and slide relative to each other, wherein at least one of the sliding surfaces (e.g. S) is provided with introduction grooves (e.g. IG or 43), each of the introduction groove having an opening (e.g. open toward an inner diameter) which communicates with a space on a sealed fluid side (e.g. the inner diameter), at least one of the sliding surfaces is provided with a dynamic pressure generation groove (e.g. 41), the dynamic pressure generation groove communicating with a space on a leakage side (e.g. 41 communicates to outer diameter), the sliding surface provided with the introduction grooves is further provided with a groove portion (e.g. 42) disposed on the sealed fluid side with respect to the dynamic pressure generation groove and allowing a sealed fluid to flow between the introduction grooves adjacent to each other (e.g. see figure 9), relative rotation directions of remaining one of the sliding surfaces with respect to the one of sliding surfaces are a forward rotation direction and a reverse rotation direction which are opposed to each other (e.g. again intended use of rotation is given limited patentable weight when Okada is capable of rotation, see MPEP 2113-2114), each of the introduction grooves is defined by a first side wall (e.g. FW) extending from the opening toward the leakage side, a second side wall (e.g. SW) extending from the opening toward the leakage side while facing the first side wall, a terminal end wall (e.g. EW) connecting leakage ends of the first side wall and the second side wall and the groove portion has a first groove (e.g. 42) extending from an opening of the first side wall in a circumferential direction (e.g. figure 9). Regarding claim 15, wherein the terminal end wall of the introduction groove is disposed on the leakage side with respect to the first groove (e.g. figure 9 shows this, EW to the outer diameter).
Okada discloses the first side wall and the second side wall are inclined from the opening toward the leakage side in the forward rotation direction. Peng discloses in figure 1 introduction groove having first and second side walls that are parallel (e.g. figure 1 side walls of groove open to an outer diameter) and in figure 9 teaches introduction groove that have first and second side walls that are inclined relative to radial direction (e.g. see figure 1 and figure 9). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second walls of the introduction groove of Okada to be inclined as taught by Peng with reasonable expectation of success, since having parallel or inclined is art equivalent see figure 1 and 9 of Peng) and to have incline produces better hydrodynamic effect (e.g. see description of figure 9 in Peng).
Figure 1 of Peng:
Figure 9 of Peng:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al (WO2020027102A1) in view of Tokunaga (US20150115537).
Okada discloses a pair of sliding members (e.g. see figure 1 of Okada, 7 and 4), comprising sliding surfaces (e.g. S) configured to rotate and slide relative to each other, wherein at least one of the sliding surfaces is provided with introduction grooves (e.g. IG) for low-speed rotation (e.g. rotational speed is intended use, limited patentable weight is given in an apparatus claim when the sliding member of Okada are capable of rotation, see MPEP 2113-2114), each of the introduction grooves (e.g. IG) communicating with a space on a sealed fluid side (e.g. inner diameter side, figure 9), at least one of the sliding surfaces is provided with a dynamic pressure generation groove (e.g. e.g. 41) for high speed rotation, the dynamic pressure generation groove (e.g. 41) communicating with a space on a leakage side (e.g. outer diameter side, figure 9), and the sliding surface provided with the introduction grooves is further provided with a groove portion (e.g. groove portion having 43 and 42) disposed on the sealed fluid side with respect to the dynamic pressure generation groove and allowing a sealed fluid to flow between the introduction grooves adjacent to each other (e.g. see figure 9 below), wherein relative rotation directions of remaining one of the sliding surfaces with respect to the one of sliding surfaces are a forward rotation direction and a reverse rotation direction which are opposed to each other (e.g. again rotational direction are intended use and limited patentable weight is given in an apparatus when the sliding elements of Okada are capable of rotation, see MPEP 2113-2114), the groove portion has a first groove (e.g. 42) configured to extend from the introduction groove and generate positive pressure when the sliding surfaces relatively rotate in the forward rotation direction, an end portion (e.g. end of 42) of the first groove extending from each of the introduction grooves is disposed on the leakage side. Regarding claim 3, the first groove extends in an arcuate shape (e.g. arch shape of 42). Regarding claim 7, the one sliding member includes the introduction grooves and the dynamic pressure generation groove (e.g. see figure 9 below). Regarding claim 10, the introduction groove and the dynamic pressure generation groove have equal depth (e.g. see figure 9).
Okada discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose a second groove configured to extend from the introduction groove in a direction opposed to a extending direction of the first groove and generate positive pressure when the sliding surfaces relatively rotate in the reverse rotation direction, and the end portion of the first groove extending from each of the introduction grooves is disposed on the leakage side with respect to an end portion of the second groove extending from adjacent one of the introduction grooves and the first groove extending from each of the introduction groove is disposed to overlap with the second groove extending from adjacent one of introduction grooves in a radial directional view. Tokunaga (figure 5) discloses pair of sliding members (e.g. 3 and 5) with sliding surfaces (e.g. sliding surfaces S), at least one of the sliding members having an introduction groove (13), a first groove (e.g. 10b) extending from the introduction groove in a first circumferential direction, the first groove having a first end portion (e.g. end portion of 10b), a second groove (e.g. 10a) extending from the introduction groove in a second circumferential direction opposite the first circumferential direction, the second groove having a second end portion (e.g. end portion of 10a), the first groove extending from a first side wall (e.g. 1st side wall having 10b) of the introduction, the second groove extending from a second side wall (e.g. 2nd side wall having 10a), the introduction groove having an end wall (e.g. end wall of 13 that extends circumferentially) and the first groove extending from each of the introduction grooves is disposed to overlap with the second groove extending from adjacent one of introduction grooves in a radial direction (e.g. figure 5, 10a of 1st introduction groove 13 overlaps radially with 10b of 2nd introduction groove). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the introduction groove of Okada to have a second grooves which also overlap the first groove as taught by Tokunaga with reasonable expectation of success, to provide proper lubrication action and pressure generation (see. paragraph 0082).
It is noted that annotate figure above of Okada is provided with the teaching or Tokunaga.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada and Tokunaga and further in view of Peng.
Okada discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the first side wall and the second side wall are inclined from the opening toward the leakage side in the forward rotation direction. Peng discloses in figure 1 introduction groove having first and second side walls that are parallel (e.g. figure 1 side walls of groove open to an outer diameter) and in figure 9 teaches introduction groove that have first and second side walls that are inclined relative to radial direction (e.g. see figure 1 and figure 9). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second walls of the introduction groove of Okada to be inclined as taught by Peng with reasonable expectation of success, since having parallel or inclined is art equivalent see figure 1 and 9 of Peng) and to have incline produces better hydrodynamic effect (e.g. see description of figure 9 in Peng).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675