DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the outer lens sheath connected to the connecting member, and the outer lens sheath fixedly connected to at least part of the outer abutting portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 7 each recite the transfer lens sheath and the imaging lens sheath axially abutting against, in opposite directions, a radial outer wall and a radial inner wall of the connecting member, the outer lens sheath is axially separated from the inner lens sheath and the outer lens sheath is radially separated from or connected to the connecting member. As the connecting member is disposed between the imaging lens sheath and transfer lens sheath, it is not clear how the outer lens sheath is connected to the connecting member, if the outer lens sheath and inner lens sheath are axially separated from each other. Is the distal end of the inner lens sheath proximate the connecting member? Is the distal end of the inner lens sheath on a proximal portion of the connecting member? Or is there some other configuration that allows the connecting member to be connected to or separated from the outer lens sheath? The location of the distal end of the inner lens sheath is not clear. Moreover, the claim recites that the inner lens sheath can be separated from or connected to the connecting member. Can the inner lens sheath be completely separate from the connecting member or completely connecting to the connecting member? Is the inner lens sheath separated from the connecting member at one location and connected to it at another location? One is left to guess, which renders claims 1-27 indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Independent claim 26 recites an endoscopic imaging system, comprising a lens base with a dichroscope, a light source, and the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 7, wherein the lens base comprised by the coaxial endoscopic optical system receives light incident from the light source onto the dichroscope. The claim recites both that the lens base is separate from the coaxial endoscopic optical system and it is comprised by the coaxial endoscopic optical system. The structure of the endoscopic imaging system is not clear as two configurations are recited in the same claim. Accordingly, the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites an application of an endoscopic system wherein the endoscopic imaging system is used to optically image a biological body tissue. The claim, which is essentially a use claim, does not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter such that it fails to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. Accordingly, claim 27 is directed at non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (JP 2017/074267 A) in view of Ruiz Corrales (US 2022/0007926 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hirata discloses an endoscopic same axis-maintaining system, comprising: a transfer lens sheath (32; Fig. 1; pages 3-4 - the cylinder 32 includes a front cylinder 32a, a rear cylinder 32b, and a connection cylinder 32c that connects and fixes the front cylinder 32a and the rear cylinder 32b), a connecting member (33; Fig. 1; page 3 - a connection tube 33 for connecting the objective lens unit), and an imaging lens sheath (12; Fig. 1; page 2 - a connecting pipe 12) sequentially arranged along a same optical axis from an image side (Fig. 1); wherein the same optical axis of the transfer lens sheath (32) and the imaging lens sheath (12) is formed with the transfer lens sheath (32) and the imaging lens sheath (12) axially abutting against, in opposite directions, a radial outer wall (Figs. 1 and 27; page 4 - the front portion of the front cylinder 32a constitutes a connection base that can be fitted to the proximal end portion of the connection pipe 33; and the rear portion of the connecting tube 33 is fixed so as to be inserted and fitted into the tip portion of the cylindrical body 32) and a radial inner wall (Figs. 1 and 27; page 3 - , a connection tube 33 for connecting the objective lens unit 2 or another relay lens unit 3) of the connecting member (33), respectively.
However, Hirata does not specifically disclose the transfer lens sheath is sleeved outwards with an inner lens sheath and an outer lens sheath sequentially, coaxially, and radially, and the outer lens sheath is axially separated from the inner lens sheath; and at least part of the outer lens sheath axially extends beyond an imaging lens sheath object-side end, the outer lens sheath is radially separated from or connected to the connecting member, and a gap is present between the outer lens sheath and the inner lens sheath for the outer lens sheath to be axially separated from the inner lens sheath. Ruiz Corrales teaches an analogous endoscope having an inner lens sheath (2; Fig. 7; par. [0072]) and an outer lens sheath (11; Fig. 7; par. [0072]), and the outer lens sheath (11) is axially separated from the inner lens sheath (2; Fig. 7); and at least part of the outer lens sheath (11) axially extends to the distal end of the endoscope (Figs. 2 and 7), and a gap is present between the outer lens sheath (11) and the inner lens sheath (2) for the outer lens sheath to be axially separated from the inner lens sheath. Ruiz Corrales teaches that an electrical resistor (1; par. [0072]) is provided in the gap between the outer lens sheath (11) and the inner lens sheath (2) in order to prevent fogging of the endoscopic device during use (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner lens sheath, outer lens sheath and electrical resistor over the rigid endoscope (1/2/3; Fig. 1) of Hirata in order to prevent fogging of the lenses as taught by Ruiz Corrales. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the transfer lens sheath (32) is sleeved outwards with an inner lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 2) and an outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) sequentially, coaxially, and radially, and at least part of the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) axially extends beyond an imaging lens sheath object-side end (11), and the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) is radially separated from or connected to the connecting member (33).
Regarding claim 5, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales disclose the endoscopic same axis-maintaining system according to claim 1, wherein the transfer lens sheath (32) is in clearance or interference fitting with the inner lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales – 2, interference fitting).
Regarding claim 7, Hirata discloses a coaxial endoscopic optical system, comprising: a transfer mechanism (32; Fig. 1; pages 3-4 - the cylinder 32 includes a front cylinder 32a, a rear cylinder 32b, and a connection cylinder 32c that connects and fixes the front cylinder 32a and the rear cylinder 32b), a connecting member (33; Fig. 1; page 3 - a connection tube 33 for connecting the objective lens unit), and an imaging mechanism (12; Fig. 1; page 2 - a connecting pipe 12) sequentially arranged along a same optical axis from an image side(Fig. 1); wherein the same optical axis of the transfer mechanism (32) and the imaging mechanism (12) is formed with a transfer lens sheath (32) comprised by the transfer mechanism and an imaging lens sheath (12) comprised by the imaging mechanism axially abutting against, in opposite directions, a radial outer wall (Figs. 1 and 27; page 4 - the front portion of the front cylinder 32a constitutes a connection base that can be fitted to the proximal end portion of the connection pipe 33; and the rear portion of the connecting tube 33 is fixed so as to be inserted and fitted into the tip portion of the cylindrical body 32) and a radial inner wall (Figs. 1 and 27; page 3 - , a connection tube 33 for connecting the objective lens unit 2 or another relay lens unit 3) of the connecting member, respectively (33).
However, Hirata does not specifically disclose the transfer lens sheath is sleeved outwards with an inner lens sheath and an outer lens sheath sequentially, coaxially, and radially, and the outer lens sheath is axially separated from the inner lens sheath; and at least part of the outer lens sheath axially extends beyond an imaging lens sheath object-side end, and the outer lens sheath is radially separated from or connected to the connecting member. Ruiz Corrales teaches an analogous endoscope having an inner lens sheath (2; Fig. 7; par. [0072]) and an outer lens sheath (11; Fig. 7; par. [0072]), and the outer lens sheath (11) is axially separated from the inner lens sheath (2; Fig. 7); and at least part of the outer lens sheath (11) axially extends to the distal end of the endoscope (Figs. 2 and 7), and a gap is present between the outer lens sheath (11) and the inner lens sheath (2) for the outer lens sheath to be axially separated from the inner lens sheath. Ruiz Corrales teaches that an electrical resistor (1; par. [0072]) is provided in the gap between the outer lens sheath (11) and the inner lens sheath (2) in order to prevent fogging of the endoscopic device during use (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner lens sheath, outer lens sheath and electrical resistor over the rigid endoscope (1/2/3; Fig. 1) of Hirata in order to prevent fogging of the lenses as taught by Ruiz Corrales. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the transfer lens sheath (32) is sleeved outwards with an inner lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 2) and an outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) sequentially, coaxially, and radially, and at least part of the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) axially extends beyond an imaging lens sheath object-side end (11), and the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) is radially separated from or connected to the connecting member (33; separated from).
Regarding claim 8, Hirata discloses the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 7, wherein a gap (Ruiz Corrales – between 2 and 11) is present between the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) and the inner lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 2) for the outer lens sheath to be axially separated from the inner lens sheath.
Regarding claim 26, Hirata discloses an endoscopic imaging system, comprising a lens base (41; Fig. 26) with a dichroscope (212; Fig. 26; page. 18 – reflects infrared light but transmits visible light), a light source (47; Fig. 26), and the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to .
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 9-10, 12, 17 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (DE 19509885 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales disclose the endoscopic same axis-maintaining system according to claim 1, wherein the connecting member (33; Fig. 1) protrudes outwards radially to form an outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) for the transfer lens sheath (32a) to axially abut against.
However, Hirata does not specifically disclose that the connecting member is concaved inwards radially to form a maintaining portion of the connecting member for the imaging lens sheath to axially abut against and partially extend into. Takahashi teaches an analogous system wherein a connecting member (43; Figs. 18A-18B) is concaved inwards radially (via screw thread on 43; Figs. 18A-18B; see page 19) inward to form a maintaining portion (portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread) of the connecting member (43; Figs. 18A-18B) for the imaging lens sheath (42; Figs. 18A-18B) to axially abut against and partially extend into (43; Figs. 18A-18B; page 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to connect the imaging lens sheath and connecting member with the mechanism and fastening screw taught by Takahashi, thereby providing a strong connection between the two sheaths and proper alignment of the lenses and imaging lenses. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the same optical axis of the transfer lens sheath (32a) and the imaging lens sheath (12) is formed with the transfer lens sheath (32a) and the imaging lens sheath (12) axially abutting against, in opposite directions, the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a) abuts and the maintaining portion (Takahashi - portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread), respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the endoscopic same axis-maintaining system according to claim 2, wherein the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) is radially separated from at least part of the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts), wherein the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) being radially separated from the at least part of the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) is achieved through clearance or interference fitting between the outer lens sheath and the at least part of the outer abutting portion, such that the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) is axially separated from the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts).
Regarding claim 6, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the endoscopic same axis-maintaining system according to claim 2, wherein a first abutting surface (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) formed with the transfer lens sheath (32a) axially abutting against the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – distal end of 32a abuts against the protruded portion of 33) and a second abutting surface (Fig. 1 – proximal end of 12) formed with the imaging lens sheath (12) axially abutting against the maintaining portion (Takahashi - portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread) are axially apart from each other or on radial planes along the same optical axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 7, wherein the connecting member (33; Fig. 1) protrudes outwards radially to form an outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) for the transfer lens sheath (32a) to axially abut against.
However, Hirata does not specifically disclose that the connecting member is concaved inwards radially to form a maintaining portion of the connecting member for the imaging lens sheath to axially abut against and partially extend into. Takahashi teaches an analogous system wherein a connecting member (43; Figs. 18A-18B) is concaved inwards radially (via screw thread on 43; Figs. 18A-18B; see page 19) inward to form a maintaining portion (portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread) of the connecting member (43; Figs. 18A-18B) for the imaging lens sheath (42; Figs. 18A-18B) to axially abut against and partially extend into (43; Figs. 18A-18B; page 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to connect the imaging lens sheath and connecting member with the mechanism and fastening screw taught by Takahashi, thereby providing a strong connection between the two sheaths and proper alignment of the lenses and imaging lenses. Such modification provides a configuration wherein the same optical axis of the transfer lens sheath (32a) and the imaging lens sheath (12) is formed with the transfer lens sheath (32a) and the imaging lens sheath (12) axially abutting against, in opposite directions, the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a) abuts and the maintaining portion (Takahashi - portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread), respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 9, wherein the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) is radially separated from at least part of the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts), wherein the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) being radially separated from the at least part of the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) is achieved through clearance or interference fitting between the outer lens sheath and the at least part of the outer abutting portion, such that the outer lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 11) is axially separated from the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts).
Regarding claim 12, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 9, wherein a first abutting surface (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) formed with the transfer lens sheath (32a) axially abutting against the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – distal end of 32a abuts against the protruded portion of 33) and a second abutting surface (Fig. 1 – proximal end of 12) formed with the imaging lens sheath (12) axially abutting against the maintaining portion (Takahashi - portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread) are axially apart from each other or on radial planes along the same optical axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 9, wherein the connecting member (33) is constructed with a connecting channel (interior of 33; Fig. 1) arranged axially, the imaging lens sheath (12) is partially accommodated in the connecting channel (interior of 33; see Figs. 1 and 27), and the connecting channel (33) protrudes inwards radially (Fig. 1) to form the maintaining portion (Takahashi - portion of 43 just proximal the screw thread) for the imaging lens sheath to axially abut against.
Regarding claim 23, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to
Regarding claim 24, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 23, wherein the lens base (4) is constructed with an accommodating channel (interior of 43; Fig. 1) accommodating at least part of the transfer lens sheath (32/24; Fig. 1), and the accommodating channel (interior of 43; Fig. 1) forms radially inwards a step recess (51; Fig. 1; page. 6) for a transfer lens sheath image-side end to axially abut against.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Duckett (US 2023/0273422 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 11, wherein the transfer mechanism (32; Fig. 1; pages 3-4 - the cylinder 32 includes a front cylinder 32a, a rear cylinder 32b, and a connection cylinder 32c that connects and fixes the front cylinder 32a and the rear cylinder 32b) comprises three or more transfer lens sets (3 sets; Fig. 1), in an odder quantity, disposed at the transfer lens sheath at intervals of the same optical axis (Fig. 1), and a plurality of first isolating rings (34/32; Fig. 21) axially abutted between adjacent two of the transfer lens sets.
However, Hirata does not specifically disclose that the transfer lens set is symmetrically formed by two rod-shaped lens sets. Duckett teaches an endoscopic system wherein transfer lens sets (300; Fig. 3; par. [0039]-[0040]) in a relay lens system (107; Fig. 2) are symmetrically formed by two rod-shaped lens sets (306; Fig. 3). Duckett teaches that use of such sets is preferable when multiple pairs of sets are used in a relay lens system (par. [0039]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the transfer lens sets of Ducket in the system of Hirata, as a substitute of one known relay lens system for another, having the predictable result of imaging the target location, and as taught by Duckett.
Regarding claim 14, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi in view of Duckett disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 13, wherein the outer abutting portion (Fig. 1 – protruded portion of 33 against which the distal portion of 32a abuts) forms a limiting end (Fig. 1 – proximal end of 33) at least partially and axially extending into the transfer lens sheath (Fig. 1), and the limiting end (Fig. 1 – proximal end of 33) axially abuts against the rod-shaped lens set in a transfer lens sheath object-side end (Fig. 1 – 33a abuts on 31a/306 of Duckett).
Regarding claim 18, Hirata in view of Ruiz Corrales in view of Takahashi in view of Duckett disclose the coaxial endoscopic optical system according to claim 14, wherein the transfer lens sheath (32) is in clearance or interference fitting with the inner lens sheath (Ruiz Corrales - 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 19 and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, and claim 16 dependent therefrom, the prior art of record does not specifically disclose, or otherwise render obvious, the coaxial endoscopic optical system wherein the limiting end is circumferentially provided with at least one annular groove, and the annular groove is embedded with a filling layer preventing the transfer lens sheath from being axially separated from the connecting member, in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 19, and claims 20-22 dependent therefrom, the prior art of record does not specifically disclose, or otherwise render obvious, the coaxial endoscopic optical system, wherein the imaging mechanism comprises a first lens set with a positive focal power, a second lens set with a positive focal power, a third lens set with a positive focal power, and a fourth lens set with a positive focal power that are sequentially arranged from an object side along the same optical axis; wherein the first lens set comprises a second lens with a plane facing the object side, the second lens set comprises a fourth lens with a convex surface facing the object side and a fifth lens with a convex surface facing the image side that fit with each other, the third lens set comprises a sixth lens with a convex surface facing the object side and a concave surface facing the image side, and the fourth lens set comprises a seventh lens with a concave surface facing the object side and a convex surface facing the image side and an eighth lens with a convex surface facing the object side and a concave surface facing the image side, wherein a combined focal length f.sub.1 of the first lens set and a conjugate distance T satisfy 0.15≤f1/T≤0.18, a combined focal length f.sub.4 of the fourth lens set and the combined focal length f.sub.1 of the first lens set satisfy 1.8≤f4/f1≤2.2, and a focal length f.sub.41 of the seventh lens and a focal length f.sub.42 of the eighth lens satisfy -1≤f42/f41≤-0.8, in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record does not specifically disclose, or otherwise render obvious, the coaxial endoscopic optical system, wherein the inner lens sheath axially penetrates through the adapter base and extends into the lens base, so as to abut against the step recess formed by the lens base, and the inner lens sheath is axially abutted between the lens base and the outer abutting portion, in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inoue WO 2018135192 A1 Rigid Scope
Bennett et al. US 2014/0200406 A1 Anti-Fogging Device For Endoscope
/RYNAE E BOLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
03/09/26