DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “the method of claim 16.” Claim 16 is a system claim. It is believed that claim 19 should depend upon method claim 17.
Claim 20 depends upon claim 19 and does not cure the deficiencies of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 8 and 12 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minor (US PGPUB 2013/0311102 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Minor discloses a system and method for processing glucose data by efficient glucose database management (e.g. ABSTRACT), comprising: a physical data store containing glucose measurement data and a representation for at least one cluster of the glucose measurement data, wherein the representation approximates a glycemic profile vector array for a cluster of multiple glucose profiles segmented by plural time ranges (e.g. ¶ 68 and Figs. 4-5); and a processor (e.g. 502) and computer memory configured with instructions stored thereon that when executed will cause the processor to: receive glucose measurements (e.g. ¶ 50); convert the glucose measurements into vectorial form (e.g. ¶ 53); search the physical data store by comparing a newly received glucose measurement to a centroid of a cluster using a similarity metric (e.g. ¶ 53); classify the newly received glucose measurement with a cluster having a matched similarity metric based on the comparing (e.g. ¶ 54); and ascribe treatment to the newly received glucose measurement (e.g. ¶ 57).
Regarding claim 2, Minor discloses instructions cause the processor to one or more of: store the classification of the newly received glucose measurement in a data store that is in communication with one or more of a predictive modeling system, a decision support system, an insulin delivery system, an insulin monitoring system, or an automated control system configured to use the classification as input; transmit the classification of the newly received glucose measurement to one or more of a predictive modeling system, a decision support system, an insulin delivery system, an insulin monitoring system, or an automated control system configured to use the classification as input; or monitor, analyze, or influence a concentration of glucose levels in a fluid using the classification of the newly received glucose measurement (e.g. ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 3, Minor discloses instructions cause the processor to receive the glucose measurements from a glucose measurement device (e.g. ¶ 66).
Regarding claim 4, Minor discloses the glucose measurement device (e.g. ¶ 66).
Regarding claim 5, Minor discloses the data store that is in communication with one or more of the predictive modeling system, the decision support system, the insulin delivery system, the insulin monitoring system, or the automated control system; or the one or more of a predictive modeling system, the decision support system, the insulin delivery system, the insulin monitoring system, or the automated control system (e.g. ¶ 57).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Minor discloses instructions cause the processor to: calculate a Euclidean distance between one or more newly received glucose measurement and one or more centroid as the similarity metric (e.g. ¶ 53).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Minor discloses plural clusters generated by: generating an array of glucose measurements for each time range, a plurality of arrays forming a glycemic profile vector; assigning a weight to an array; and applying an iterative hierarchical clustering technique that varies a weight until one or more cluster is generated that approximates one or more glycemic profile vector; and defining a cluster of the plural clusters by a cluster's centroid (e.g. ¶ 50 – 54).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Minor discloses the iterative hierarchical clustering technique computes an R2 value by linear regression for an array and varies a weight to maximize the R2 value (e.g. ¶ 72).
Regarding claim 12, Minor discloses the glucose measurements include plural glucose profiles for an individual, each glucose profile including plural glucose measurements obtained for a predetermined time period, wherein instructions cause the processor to: compile the plural glucose profiles into a single glucose measurement time series for an individual; and classify one or more glucose profile using one or more cluster to generate a sequence of indices representing a classification of one or more glucose profile in the single glucose measurement time series (e.g. ¶ 50 – 54).
Regarding claim 13, Minor discloses instructions cause the processor to: generate, using the sequence of indices, a trace representing glucose variability of he individual (e.g. ¶ 50 – 54).
Regarding claim 14, Minor discloses instructions cause the processor to: generate an approximated Ambulatory Glucose Report (AGP) using the sequence of indices (e.g. ¶ 50 – 54).
Regarding claim 15, Minor discloses one or more glucose profile of the multiple glucose profiles is a continuous monitoring glucose (CGM) profile including glucose measurements obtained over a 24-hour time period (e.g. ¶ 54).
Regarding claim 16, Minor discloses one or more glucose profile of the plural glucose profiles for the individual is a continuous monitoring glucose (CGM) profile including glucose measurements obtained over a 24-hour time period (e.g. ¶ 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minor.
Regarding claims 9 – 11¸ Minor discloses the claimed invention as previously described, but fails to explicitly recite that the plural time ranges includes five time ranges and the specific time ranges and glucose measurements. However, Minor does teach in the background of the invention that these are well known standards (e.g. ¶ 6 – 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Minor with well known standards as claimed, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing for simpler classification and presentation of data.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796