DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-4, 11, 15-17, 29, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2,11-15, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Liu hereafter) (US 20250105977 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang hereafter) (US 20240072869 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Liu teaches, A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory(Liu; fig. 4); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors (Liu; [0100] Referring to FIG. 4, the UE (i.e. the remote unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processor implements a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 2) to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (Spatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state) for communicating with one or more base stations (for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH) (Liu; [0050] When separate DL/UL TCI (which means DL TCI state and UL TCI state are updated or activated separately) is configured, source RS for DL RX spatial filter determination is indicated by a DL TCI state indicated by a DL TCI state ID, while source RS for UL spatial filter determination is indicated by an UL TCI state indicated by an UL TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 are used for simultaneous DL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH and PDSCH, and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state update or activation for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH. UE-dedicated PUCCH refers to the PUCCH resources in RRC connection mode).
receive an indication (receives a DCI or MAC CE) of a subset of the candidate TCI states (activate TCI state ID) for selection for a communication with the one or more base stations (UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC) , the indication of the subset including an indication (joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID) of whether one or more candidate TCI states of the subset of the candidate TCI states are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states ([0049] joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state)) (Liu; [0049] When joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state) is configured, source RS for both DL RX spatial filter determination and UL TX spatial filter determination are indicated by a joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 can be reused for simultaneous joint DL/UL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH. [0062] When a UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC, it is necessary that the CC has been configured with a TCI state pool including a plurality of candidate TCI states each of which is associated with a TCI state ID. It means that the UE updates the TCI state to a TCI state contained in the configured TCI state pool that is associated with a TCI state ID that is the same as the indicated or activated TCI state ID).
Liu fails to explicitly teach the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications (FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2) (Zhang; [0038-0039] An example of a plurality of TCI states 702 activated by the MAC CE 600a is illustrated in FIG. 7A, which depicts the plurality of TCI states 702 as joint TCI states. It should be noted that the plurality of TCI states may alternatively be DL or UL... FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2 (e.g., where each block of TCI states is numbered from left to right as 0, 1, 2, 3, . . . ). As such, the selected TCI state 704 corresponds to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs. [0039] the MAC CE may alternatively activate single TCI states 712 (one TCI state per field), as depicted in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the DCI may include two TCI codepoints (e.g., TCI codepoint 1 and TCI codepoint 2), each of which provides a TCI indication for a corresponding one of the two TRPs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7B, the first TCI codepoint has a value of 2 and the second TCI codepoint has a value of 1. As a result, the selected TCI states 714 correspond to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs)(See fig. 7A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to select a beam used for transmission or reception based on one mapped TCI state of the mapped subset of TCI states (Zhang; [0052]).
Regarding claim 15 Liu teaches, A base station for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory(Liu; fig. 4); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the memory includes instructions executable by the one or more processors(Liu; [0100] Referring to FIG. 4, the gNB (i.e. base unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processors implement a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 3.) to cause the base station to:
transmit an indication of candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (Spatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state) for communicating with one or more base stations (for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH.) (Liu; [0050] When separate DL/UL TCI (which means DL TCI state and UL TCI state are updated or activated separately) is configured, source RS for DL RX spatial filter determination is indicated by a DL TCI state indicated by a DL TCI state ID, while source RS for UL spatial filter determination is indicated by an UL TCI state indicated by an UL TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 are used for simultaneous DL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH and PDSCH, and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state update or activation for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH. UE-dedicated PUCCH refers to the PUCCH resources in RRC connection mode), and
transmit an indication (receives a DCI or MAC CE) of a subset of the candidate TCI states (activate TCI state ID) for selection for a communication with the one or more base stations (UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC) , the indication of the subset including an indication (joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID) of whether one or more candidate TCI states of the subset of the candidate TCI states are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states ([0049] joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state)) (Liu; [0049] When joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state) is configured, source RS for both DL RX spatial filter determination and UL TX spatial filter determination are indicated by a joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 can be reused for simultaneous joint DL/UL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH. [0062] When a UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC, it is necessary that the CC has been configured with a TCI state pool including a plurality of candidate TCI states each of which is associated with a TCI state ID. It means that the UE updates the TCI state to a TCI state contained in the configured TCI state pool that is associated with a TCI state ID that is the same as the indicated or activated TCI state ID).
Liu fails to explicitly teach the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications (FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2) (Zhang; [0038-0039] An example of a plurality of TCI states 702 activated by the MAC CE 600a is illustrated in FIG. 7A, which depicts the plurality of TCI states 702 as joint TCI states. It should be noted that the plurality of TCI states may alternatively be DL or UL... FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2 (e.g., where each block of TCI states is numbered from left to right as 0, 1, 2, 3, . . . ). As such, the selected TCI state 704 corresponds to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs. [0039] the MAC CE may alternatively activate single TCI states 712 (one TCI state per field), as depicted in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the DCI may include two TCI codepoints (e.g., TCI codepoint 1 and TCI codepoint 2), each of which provides a TCI indication for a corresponding one of the two TRPs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7B, the first TCI codepoint has a value of 2 and the second TCI codepoint has a value of 1. As a result, the selected TCI states 714 correspond to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs)(See fig. 7A)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to select a beam used for transmission or reception based on one mapped TCI state of the mapped subset of TCI states (Zhang; [0052]).
Regarding claim 29 Liu teaches, A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (Spatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state) for communicating with one or more base stations (for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH.) (Liu; [0050] When separate DL/UL TCI (which means DL TCI state and UL TCI state are updated or activated separately) is configured, source RS for DL RX spatial filter determination is indicated by a DL TCI state indicated by a DL TCI state ID, while source RS for UL spatial filter determination is indicated by an UL TCI state indicated by an UL TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 are used for simultaneous DL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH and PDSCH, and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state update or activation for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH. UE-dedicated PUCCH refers to the PUCCH resources in RRC connection mode).
receiving an indication (receives a DCI or MAC CE) of a subset of the candidate TCI states (activate TCI state ID) for selection for a communication with the one or more base stations (UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC) , the indication of the subset including an indication (joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID) of whether one or more candidate TCI states of the subset of the candidate TCI states are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states ([0049] joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state)) (Liu; [0049] When joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state) is configured, source RS for both DL RX spatial filter determination and UL TX spatial filter determination are indicated by a joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 can be reused for simultaneous joint DL/UL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH. [0062] When a UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC, it is necessary that the CC has been configured with a TCI state pool including a plurality of candidate TCI states each of which is associated with a TCI state ID. It means that the UE updates the TCI state to a TCI state contained in the configured TCI state pool that is associated with a TCI state ID that is the same as the indicated or activated TCI state ID).
Liu fails to explicitly teach the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications (FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2) (Zhang; [0038-0039] An example of a plurality of TCI states 702 activated by the MAC CE 600a is illustrated in FIG. 7A, which depicts the plurality of TCI states 702 as joint TCI states. It should be noted that the plurality of TCI states may alternatively be DL or UL... FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2 (e.g., where each block of TCI states is numbered from left to right as 0, 1, 2, 3, . . . ). As such, the selected TCI state 704 corresponds to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs. [0039] the MAC CE may alternatively activate single TCI states 712 (one TCI state per field), as depicted in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the DCI may include two TCI codepoints (e.g., TCI codepoint 1 and TCI codepoint 2), each of which provides a TCI indication for a corresponding one of the two TRPs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7B, the first TCI codepoint has a value of 2 and the second TCI codepoint has a value of 1. As a result, the selected TCI states 714 correspond to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs)(See fig. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to select a beam used for transmission or reception based on one mapped TCI state of the mapped subset of TCI states (Zhang; [0052]).
Regarding claim 30 Liu teaches, a method of wireless communication performed by a base station, comprising:
transmitting an indication of candidate transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (Spatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state) for communicating with one or more base stations (for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH.) (Liu; [0050] When separate DL/UL TCI (which means DL TCI state and UL TCI state are updated or activated separately) is configured, source RS for DL RX spatial filter determination is indicated by a DL TCI state indicated by a DL TCI state ID, while source RS for UL spatial filter determination is indicated by an UL TCI state indicated by an UL TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 are used for simultaneous DL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH and PDSCH, and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList1-r16 and simultaneousSpatial-UpdatedList2-r16 are used for simultaneous UL TCI state update or activation for UE-dedicated PUCCH and PUSCH. UE-dedicated PUCCH refers to the PUCCH resources in RRC connection mode), and
transmitting an indication (receives a DCI or MAC CE) of a subset of the candidate TCI states (activate TCI state ID) for selection for a communication with the one or more base stations (UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC) , the indication of the subset including an indication (joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID) of whether one or more candidate TCI states of the subset of the candidate TCI states are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states ([0049] joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state)) (Liu; [0049] When joint DL/UL TCI (which means DL RX spatial filter and UL TX spatial filter are determined by a same indicated TCI state) is configured, source RS for both DL RX spatial filter determination and UL TX spatial filter determination are indicated by a joint DL/UL TCI state indicated by joint TCI state ID. simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 can be reused for simultaneous joint DL/UL TCI state update or activation for PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH. [0062] When a UE receives a DCI or MAC CE to update or activate TCI state ID for a CC, it is necessary that the CC has been configured with a TCI state pool including a plurality of candidate TCI states each of which is associated with a TCI state ID. It means that the UE updates the TCI state to a TCI state contained in the configured TCI state pool that is associated with a TCI state ID that is the same as the indicated or activated TCI state ID).
Liu fails to explicitly teach the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhang teaches, the indication of the subset including one or more fields for TCI state identifications (FIG. 7A, the TCI codepoint is 2) (Zhang; [0038-0039] An example of a plurality of TCI states 702 activated by the MAC CE 600a is illustrated in FIG. 7A, which depicts the plurality of TCI states 702 as joint TCI states. It should be noted that the plurality of TCI states may alternatively be DL or UL...[0039] the MAC CE may alternatively activate single TCI states 712 (one TCI state per field), as depicted in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the DCI may include two TCI codepoints (e.g., TCI codepoint 1 and TCI codepoint 2), each of which provides a TCI indication for a corresponding one of the two TRPs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7B, the first TCI codepoint has a value of 2 and the second TCI codepoint has a value of 1. As a result, the selected TCI states 714 correspond to joint TCI 3 and joint TCI 2, which correspond to two TRPs)(See fig. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhang in order to select a beam used for transmission or reception based on one mapped TCI state of the mapped subset of TCI states (Zhang; [0052]).
Regarding claim 2 Liu-Zhang teaches, The UE of claim 1,
Liu further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
receive the indication of the candidate TCI states via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Liu; [0047] simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1-r16 and simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2-r16 are configured by RRC signaling for simultaneous TCI state update for PDCCH and PDSCH.).
Regarding claims 11 and 24 Liu-Zhang teaches, the UE of claim 1 and 15,
Liu further teaches, wherein the subset of the candidate TCI states comprises a single candidate TCI state, and are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
select the single candidate TCI state for the communication with the one or more base stations based at least in part on the subset of the candidate TCI states comprising the single candidate TCI state (Liu; [0105] If the cell corresponding to a CC is configured with TCI state pool(s) and a setting of (P0, alpha, closed loop index) for PUSCH transmission and a setting of (P0, closed loop index) for PUCCH transmission are associated with each joint DL/UL TCI state or UL TCI state, the (P0, alpha, closed loop index) is updated for PUSCH transmission with that associated with the joint DL/UL TCI state or UL TCI state configured in the CC having the same TCI state ID that is indicated or activated as the new TCI state, and the (P0, closed loop index) for PUCCH transmission is updated with that associated with that associated with the joint DL/UL TCI state or UL TCI state configured in the CC having the same TCI state ID that is indicated or activated as the new TCI state.).
Regarding claims 12 and 25 Liu-Zhang teaches, the UE of claim 1 and 15,
Liu further teaches, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
receive, in a communication subsequent to receiving the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states, an indication of a candidate TCI state of the subset of the candidate TCI states for the communication (Liu; [0012] if the cell corresponding to a CC is not configured with TCI state pool, the PL-RS is updated with the PL-RS associated with indicated or activated joint DL/UL TCI state or UL TCI state. If the cell corresponding to a CC is configured with TCI state pool(s) and a setting of (P0, alpha, closed loop index) for PUSCH transmission and a setting of (P0, closed loop index) for PUCCH transmission).
Regarding claims 13 and 26 Liu-Zhang teaches, the UE of claim 1 and 15,
Liu further teaches, wherein the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states applies to all serving cells configured in a set of serving cells having common candidate TCI states (Liu; [0044] Each carrier (CC) has different BWPs. Each BWP corresponds to a part of a bandwidth of the carrier. The indicated TCI state to a carrier shall apply to all the BWPs in the carrier. If TCI state of a carrier (CC) is activated or updated to a new TCI state with a new ID, the indicated new TCI state shall also apply to all BWPs of the carrier [0038-0044]).
Regarding claims 14 and 27 Liu-Zhang teaches, the UE of claim 13 and 26,
Liu further teaches, wherein the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states applies to all serving cells configured in the set of serving cells based at least in part on:
the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states indicating a cell identification (Liu; [0060] A UE is configured with inter-band CA and joint DL/UL TCI, and 2 CC lists are configured: simultaneousJointTCI-UpdateList1-r17 (i.e. CC list #1)={CC #0, CC #1, CC #2, CC #3}; and simultaneousJointTCI-UpdateList2-r17 (i.e. CC list #2)={CC #4, CC #5, CC #6, CC #7}.), and
the cell identification being indicated in the set of serving cells via a configuration message (Liu; [0063] To support simultaneous TCI state update or activation for a CC without configured TCI state pool, a concept of “reference CC” is introduced. The PDSCH configuration of the reference CC is configured with TCI state pool(s) by RRC signaling.).
Regarding claim 28 Liu-Zhang teaches, the base station of claim 27, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the base station to:
Liu further teaches, transmit an indication of a serving cell in the set of serving cells within the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states (Liu; [0073] TCI state pool is only configured for CC #0 and CC #2. If the UE receives a DCI (or MAC CE) indicating a joint DL/UL TCI state update (i.e. including an indicated new TCI state ID) in CC #2, the UE updates the joint DL/UL TCI state for CC #0 with the TCI state in the TCI state pool configured for CC #0 having the same TCI State ID as the indicated TCI state ID in CC #2; ),
or
transmit, before transmitting the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states, an indication to remove at least one serving cell from the set of serving cells.
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner}
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Zhu hereafter)(US 20240405933 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 16 Liu-Zhang teaches, The claims 1 and 15,
Liu-Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
receive the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states via medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling
However, in the same field of endeavor Zhu teaches, receive the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states via medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (Zhu; [0061]after a definition of QXL types in RRC signaling, a subset of TCI states may be activated with MAC-CE sent to a set of TCI codepoints. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhu in order to indicate a corresponding direction (e.g., DL, UL, or DL and UL) (Zhu; [0049]).
Claims 4, 5, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Bagheri et al. (Bagheri hereafter) (US 20220338235 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 17 Liu-Zhang teaches, The claims 1 and 15,
Liu-Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to receive the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states via a control message, the control message comprising one or more of:
one or more fields for TCI state identifications associated with one or more activated candidate TCI states
However, in the same field of endeavor Bagheri teaches, one or more fields for TCI state identifications associated with one or more activated candidate TCI states (Bagheri; [0176-0180] …the particular predetermined subgrouping of transmission configuration indicator states from the first set, that are included in the second set can be identified in a predetermined bitmap. Still further, the predetermined bitmap can be indicated as part of a medium access control-control element) (See fig. 3),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Bagheri in order to schedule transmissions (Bagheri; [0178]).
a first field for indicating activation of one or more candidate TCI states that are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states,
a second field for indicating activation of one or more candidate TCI states that are uplink only candidate TCI states or downlink only candidate TCI states,
an indication of whether all candidate TCI states identified in the control message are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states or separate uplink only candidate TCI states or downlink only candidate TCI states,
an indication of whether one or more previously configured candidate TCI states are updated via the control message, an indication of an update to the one or more previously configured candidate TCI states,
or
an indication of a type of TCI state that is indicated in the subset of the candidate TCI states.
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner}
Regarding claims 5 and 18 Liu-Zhang-Bagheri teaches, The claims 4 and 17,
Liu-Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein one or more of the first field or the second field comprise a bitmap associated with the one or more fields for the TCI state identifications that are associated with the one or more activated candidate TCI states.
Bagheri further teaches, wherein one or more of the first field or the second field comprise a bitmap associated with the one or more fields for the TCI state identifications that are associated with the one or more activated candidate TCI states (Bagheri; [0173] the size of the selection field can be associated with the second downlink control information format having the second size is smaller than the size of the selection field associated with the first downlink control information format having the first size, so as to enable the selection field associated with the second downlink control information format to distinguish between fewer associated transmission configuration indicator states than the selection field associated with the first downlink control information format.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Bagheri in order to schedule transmissions (Bagheri; [0178]).
Claims 6-8, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Zhang-Bagheri as applied to claims 4 and 17 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (Luo hereafter) (US 20240088974 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 19 Liu-Zhang-Bagheri teaches, The claims 4 and 17,
Liu-Zhang-Bagheri fails to explicitly teach wherein the first bit of the second field indicates, based at least in part on the first bit of the first field not indicating activation of the candidate TCI state that is the joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI state, whether one or more associated fields of the one or more fields indicate a candidate TCI state for an uplink only TCI state, for a downlink only TCI state.
However, in the same field of endeavor Luo teaches, wherein the first bit of the second field indicates, based at least in part on the first bit of the first field not indicating activation of the candidate TCI state that is the joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI state, whether one or more associated fields of the one or more fields indicate a candidate TCI state for an uplink only TCI state, for a downlink only TCI state (Luo; [0103] TCI field which includes a plurality of bits for indicating one TCI state. A bit number is a maximum of a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for uplink transmission, and a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission. …the TCI field of the DCI is fixed to include T+max (M, N) bits, where T indicates a bit number used as the second field portion; M indicates a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for uplink transmission; and N indicates a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission. That is to say, the T bits are used as the identifiers to identify max (M, N) bits indicating that TCI state corresponds to which one of the beam that may be used for downlink transmission and also uplink transmission, the beam that may be used for downlink transmission, and the beam that may be used for uplink transmission. In case that the network device transmits the separate beam indication information through the MAC CE and the DCI, the T identifiers indicate the separate uplink beam indication or the separate downlink beam indication.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang-Bagheri to include the above recited limitations as taught by Luo in order to indicate the TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission and also uplink transmission (Luo; [0086]).
or
wherein a first bit of the second field is ignored based at least in part on a first bit of the first field indicating activation of a candidate TCI state that is a joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI state,
or
for an uplink only TCI state and a downlink only TCI state.
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner.}
Regarding claims 7 and 20 Liu-Zhang-Bagheri-Luo teaches, The UE of claims 6 and 19,
Liu-Zhang-Bagheri fails to explicitly teach, wherein the control message comprises:
a content indication field that indicates whether the control message includes an indication of an additional TCI state to use for another of an uplink only TCI state or a downlink only TCI state
Luo further teaches, wherein the control message comprises: a content indication field that indicates whether the control message includes an indication of an additional TCI state to use for another of an uplink only TCI state or a downlink only TCI state (Luo; [0086] the TCI field of the DCI is fixed to include T+max (M, N) bits, where T indicates a bit number used as the second field portion; M indicates a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for uplink transmission; and N indicates a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang -Bagheri to include the above recited limitations as taught by Luo in order to indicate the TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission and also uplink transmission (Luo; [0086]).
Regarding claims 8 and 21 Liu-Zhang-Bagheri teaches, The UE of claims 4 and 17
Liu-Zhang -Bagheri fails to explicitly teach, wherein the control message does not include the second field based at least in part on a configuration to activate or deactivate downlink only TCI states and uplink only TCI states together
Luo further teaches, wherein the control message does not include the second field based at least in part on a configuration to activate or deactivate downlink only TCI states and uplink only TCI states together (Luo;[0085]the first field portion includes a plurality of bits, where a bit number is a maximum of a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for uplink transmission, and a bit number for indicating one TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang-Bagheri to include the above recited limitations as taught by Luo in order to indicate the TCI state corresponding to the beam that may be used for downlink transmission and also uplink transmission (Luo; [0086]).
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Zhang-Bagheri as applied to claims 4 and 17 above, and further in view of Cao (Cao hereafter) (US 20230096215 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 22 Liu-Zhang-Bagheri teaches, the claims of 4 and 17
Liu-Zhang-Bagheri fails to explicitly teach, wherein the control message comprises: a third field for indicating whether candidate TCI states indicated in the first field or the second field are activated or deactivated.
However, in the same field of endeavor Cao teaches, wherein the control message comprises: a third field for indicating whether candidate TCI states indicated in the first field or the second field are activated or deactivated (Cao; [0075] FIG. 9 shows an example of a particular form of MAC CE signaling. In the Figure, R represents a reserved bit, and the ID of the target cell is represented by the PCI-Index. Oct2 to OctN represent the bitmap of the TCI states, each bit corresponds to a TCI state. For example, from a lowest bit of Oct2 to a highest bit of OctN, each bit sequentially corresponds to a TCI state in a corresponding position in a case where the TCI states are arranged in an ascending or descending order of TCI state IDs. For example, in a case where a certain bit is equal to 1, a TCI state corresponding to the bit is activated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang-Bagheri to include the above recited limitations as taught by Cao in order to perform the handover process with respect to the target cell (Cao; [0081]).
Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu-Zhang-Bagheri as applied to claims 4 and 17 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Wang hereafter) (US 20230164786 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 23 Liu-Zhang-Bagheri teaches, the claims of 4 and 17
Liu-Zhang-Bagheri fails to explicitly teach, wherein the UE is configured for multiple transmission reception point (TRP) communication with the one or more base stations, and wherein the control message comprises: a first TCI state identification for a first joint uplink/downlink TCI state associated with a first TRP and a second TCI state identification for a second joint uplink/downlink TCI state associated with a second TRP
However, in the same field of endeavor Wang teaches, a first TCI state identification for a first joint uplink/downlink TCI state associated with a first TRP and a second TCI state identification for a second joint uplink/downlink TCI state associated with a second TRP (Wang; [0138] CORESET is configured with two active TCI states, then the first TCI state is associated with the first TRP, and the second TCI state is associated with the second TRP. [0156] the default PUCCH spatial relation/pathloss reference signal dynamically may follow the indicated TCI state. The default spatial relation/pathloss reference signal of the PUCCH may follow the indicated TCI state/QCL assumptions for PDSCH reception in the latest slot where the PDSCH reception with one TCI state, whose associated TRP-TCI has the same value as associatedTRP-PUCCH, is performed),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Liu-Zhang-Bagheri to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to follow the TCI/QCL assumption of one CORESET. (Wang; [0133]).
or
one or more of a third TCI state identification for an uplink only TCI state, a downlink only TCI state, or both downlink only and uplink only TCI states for the first TRP or the second TRP.
{Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “either...or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416