DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apelt (WO 2018/108411 A1 – translation provided by Applicant) in view of Litvin et al. (USPG Pub No. 2012/0055035), hereinafter “Litvin”, and Schultz et al. (USPG Pub No. 2006/0146384), hereinafter “Schultz”.
Regarding claim 12, Apelt discloses an optical system for generating a 360° laser line (see Fig. 3(c), Paragraph 10), comprising: a first cone optical unit (40) which is configured in a form of a first negative cone section with a first cone axis (at 44) and which has a conical first inner lateral surface with a first opening angle (Paragraph 55), a conical first outer lateral surface (at 38), and a first cone vertex (see annotated Fig. 3(c) below, Paragraphs 24, 25); a second cone optical unit (40c) which is configured in a form of a second negative cone section with a second cone axis (at 44) and which has a conical second inner lateral surface (inner surface at 40c) with a second opening angle and a second outer lateral surface (see annotated Fig. 3(c) below, Paragraphs 24, 25, 55). Each cone optical unit presents each recited parameter.
Apelt discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify and a third cone optical unit which has a third cone axis, a cone shell with an opening angle, and a second cone vertex, wherein the opening angle of the cone shell differs from 90°. In the same field of endeavor, Litvin discloses and a third cone optical unit (7) which has a third cone axis, with an opening angle, and a second cone vertex, wherein the opening angle differs from 90° (see Fig. 4, Paragraphs 89, 90). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical system of Apelt with and a third cone optical unit which has a third cone axis, with an opening angle, and a second cone vertex, wherein the opening angle differs from 90° of Litvin for the purpose of refracting and dispersing an incident ray of light (Paragraph 89) within an optical system that provides accuracy, thermal stability, alignment sensitivity, and robustness (Paragraph 12). Apelt and Litvin disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify a cone shell, of the cone shell. Since there is no further limiting description of the cone shell, it is capable of being interpreted as a holding or mounting element of the third cone optical unit or a coating. With either interpretation, the feature is widely known in the art. Schultz is presented to provide further evidence of said knowledge. In the same field of endeavor, Schultz discloses a cone shell, of the cone shell (Paragraphs 80-83). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical system of Apelt and Litvin with a cone shell, of the cone shell of Schultz for the purpose of coating the axicon to provide the desired optical effect such as filtering, antireflection, etc. (Paragraphs 80-83).
Regarding claim 13, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 12, Schultz further discloses wherein the cone shell has at an angle of incidence of 90°-α to a surface normal (N) a ratio of transmittance (T) to reflectance (R) of 50:50 ± 10% (Paragraphs 39-41, 80-83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt and Litvin with the teachings of Schultz for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12. The configuration of the “cone shell” is contingent upon the materials used and/or the desired optical effect. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 13, Schultz further discloses wherein the cone shell has at an angle of incidence of 3*α - 90° to the surface normal (N) a transmittance (T) of greater than 90% (Paragraphs 39-41, 80-83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt and Litvin with the teachings of Schultz for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12. The configuration of the “cone shell” is contingent upon the materials used and/or the desired optical effect. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 15, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 12, Litvin further discloses wherein the first opening angle of the conical first inner lateral surface (61) matches the opening angle of the cone (7) (see Fig. 4). In addition, Schultz further discloses cone shell (Paragraphs 80-83). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt with the teachings of Litvin and Schultz for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 12, Litvin further discloses wherein the first cone vertex of the first cone optical unit coincides with the second cone vertex of the third cone optical unit (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt and Schultz with the teachings of Litvin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 12, Litvin further discloses wherein the first cone optical unit is integrated into a basic body which has a conical recess for the third cone optical unit and wherein a conical shape of the conical recess corresponds to the third cone optical unit (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt and Schultz with the teachings of Litvin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, Apelt further discloses wherein the second cone optical unit (40c) is integrated into the basic body and is formed in one piece with the first cone optical unit (40) (see Fig. 3(c)).
Regarding claim 19, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 12, Litvin further discloses wherein the first cone axis of the first cone optical unit, the second cone axis of the second cone optical unit, and the third cone axis of the third cone optical unit are disposed coaxially to one another (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt and Schultz with the teachings of Litvin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 12, Litvin further discloses further comprising a cylindrical optical unit which is formed in one piece with the third cone optical unit (see Fig. 4 – axicon 7 is referred to as a convex refractive cone lens, Fig. 5 – combination of lens 3 and axicon 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the optical system of Apelt and Schultz with the teachings of Litvin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12. Furthermore, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 21, Apelt further discloses a laser system for generating a 360° laser line (Paragraph 10), comprising: a beam source (18); and the optical system as claimed in claim 12 (see Fig. 3(c)).
Regarding claim 22, Apelt, Litvin and Schultz teach the optical system set forth above for claim 21, Litvin further discloses wherein a laser beam generated by the beam source has a beam distribution in a form of a Gaussian distribution or a Lorentz distribution or a Bessel distribution (Paragraphs 11, 100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the laser system of Apelt and Schultz with the teachings of Litvin for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that none of the references, alone or in combination, disclose or teach “a third cone optical unit which has … a cone shell with an opening angle, … wherein the opening angle of the cone shell differs from 90°”.
Fig. 3(c), along with the corresponding disclosure, of Apelt teaches an optical system for generating a 360° laser line comprising first and second cone optical units as recited in independent claim 12. Apelt teaches the optical system however does not specify “and a third cone optical unit which has a third cone axis, a cone shell with an opening angle, and a second cone vertex, wherein the opening angle of the cone shell differs from 90°”. Paragraph 55 of Apelt teaches that it is well known, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include additional optical elements that provide further beam-shaping, beam-directing and/or other properties to influence the laser light as desired. Additionally, Fig. 4 and Paragraphs 89, 90 of Litvin teach an axicon 7, interpreted as the third cone optical unit, which has a third cone axis, with an opening angle, and a second cone vertex with an opening angle differing from 90° in order to provide an axicon that refracts and disperses an incident ray to achieve a wider dispersion of the laser light from the optical system; also providing an optical system that provides accuracy, thermal stability, alignment sensitivity, and robustness (Paragraph 12).
Apelt and Litvin teach the optical system but do not specify a cone shell. Schultz is presented solely to provide further evidence that this feature is widely known in the art. Paragraphs 80-83 of Schultz teaches occupying a surface of an optical element with a coating in order to obtain the desired optical effect. A coating placed on the surface of an axicon takes the shape of said axicon including the opening angle, see Fig. 23 and Paragraph 175 of Schultz. Thus, this limitation is absent of a new and unexpected result.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner has combined three references, reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For these reasons, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/31/2026