DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boemmel et al. (DE 102011056335). Regarding Claim 14, Boemmel discloses a coupling (3) configured to receive two plug-in connectors (16, 17) which face one another, make direct electrical contact with one another and each have at least one fastener (26) configured to fasten to a mating plug-in connector, the coupling comprising: a sleeve-like housing (12) which extends along an axial direction (Fig. 10) and has a first end (Fig. 10), a second end (Fig. 10) facing away from the first end, and an interior space (Fig. 10); wherein a first opening (15) for inserting a first plug-in connector (16) having a first fastener (26) is provided at the first end, wherein a second opening (15a) for inserting a second plug-in connector (17) having a second fastener (26) is provided at the second end, wherein a first coupling fastener (28) is arranged at the first end and is configured to interact with the first fastener of the first plug-in connector in such a way that the first plug-in connector can be captively coupled to the coupling, wherein a second coupling fastener (28) is arranged at the second end and is configured to interact with the second fastener of the second plug-in connector in such a way that the second plug-in connector can be captively coupled to the coupling.
Regarding Claim 15, Boemmel discloses the housing being torsionally stiff and/or rigid (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 16, Boemmel discloses (i) the first coupling fastener being configured to form a positive and/or non-positive and/or frictional connection to the first fastener, and/or (ii) the second coupling fastener being configured to form a positive and/or non-positive and/or frictional connection to the second fastener (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 17, Boemmel discloses (i) the first coupling fastener being formed as an outwardly or inwardly projecting bolt or projection or pin or as a toothed rack, and the bolt or projection (27) or pin or the toothed rack is configured to interact with a first fastener (26) formed as a lever element or as a sliding element for captive coupling between the coupling and the first plug-in connector, and/or (ii) wherein the second coupling fastener being formed as an outwardly or inwardly projecting further bolt or as a further projection or further pin (27) or as a further toothed rack, and the further bolt or further projection or further pin or the further toothed rack is configured to interact with a second fastener (26) formed as a further lever element or further sliding element for captive coupling between the coupling and the second plug-in connector.
Regarding Claim 18, Boemmel discloses a stop (28) being provided in the interior space of the housing, and the stop is configured to block a displacement of the first plug-in connector and/or the second plug-in connector along its respective plug-in directions beyond the stop.
Regarding Claim 19, Boemmel discloses a base plate (18) being provided in the interior space, the base plate extending substantially along a radial direction, which runs perpendicularly to an axial direction (Fig. 10), and wherein the base plate, viewed along the axial direction, is spaced from the first opening and from the second opening in each case by at least 20% of a length of the interior space.
Regarding Claim 20, Boemmel discloses the base plate having at least one through-opening (Fig. 10) for: (i) passage of a contacting section of a male contact element including a pin (21) or a contact blade, of the first plug-in connector, and/or (ii) for passage of a contacting section of a male contact element including a pin (21) or a contact blade, of the second plug-in connector.
Regarding Claim 21, Boemmel discloses (i) a first seal (4) being provided at the first end, which is configured to, in interaction with the first plug-in connector, seal the interior space from the first opening against an external environment of the coupling, and/or (ii) a second seal (4) being provided at the second end, which is configured to, in interaction with the second plug-in connector, seal the interior space from the second opening against the external environment of the coupling.
Regarding Claim 22, Boemmel discloses at least one fastening apparatus (32) being provided on the housing configured to fasten the coupling to or in a wall (8).
Regarding Claim 23, Boemmel discloses a first section (Fig. 10) of the interior space, in which the first plug-in connector can be received, having a first cross-section, wherein a second section (Fig. 10) of the interior space, in which the second plug-in connector can be received, has a second cross-section, and wherein the first cross-section and the second cross-section have an identical shape or have shapes that are mirror-symmetrical relative to one another.
Regarding Claim 24, Boemmel discloses a plug-in connector arrangement, comprising: a first plug-in connector (16); a second plug-in connector (17); and a coupling (3) including: a sleeve-like housing (12) which extends along an axial direction (Fig. 10) and has a first end (Fig. 10), a second end (Fig. 10) facing away from the first end, and an interior space (Fig. 10); wherein a first opening (15) for inserting the first plug-in connector having a first fastener (26) is provided at the first end, wherein a second opening (15a) for inserting the second plug-in connector having a second fastener (26) is provided at the second end, wherein a first coupling fastener (28) is arranged at the first end and is configured to interact with the first fastener of the first plug-in connector in such a way that the first plug-in connector can be captively coupled to the coupling, wherein a second coupling fastener (28) is arranged at the second end and is configured to interact with the second fastener of the second plug-in connector in such a way that the second plug-in connector can be captively coupled to the coupling, wherein the first plug-in connector has a first plug-in connector housing (housing of 16) having a first contact chamber (Fig. 10) and a female contact element (24) arranged in the first contact chamber, wherein the first fastener of the first plug-in connector includes a lever element (26) and/or a sliding element, wherein the second plug-in connector has a second plug-in connector housing (housing of 17) having a second contact chamber (Fig. 10) and a male contact element (21) arranged in the second contact chamber, wherein the second fastener of the second plug-in connector includes a further lever element (26) and/or a further sliding element, wherein the first plug-in connector is inserted into the interior space through the first opening and is captively coupled to the coupling by a coupling between the first fastener and the first coupling fastener, wherein the second plug-in connector is inserted into the interior space through the second opening and is captively coupled to the coupling by a coupling between the second fastener and the second coupling fastener, and wherein the male contact element of the second plug-in connector is electrically connected to the female contact element of the first plug-in connector, and plugged together.
Regarding Claim 25, Boemmel discloses the first plug-in connector housing being mirror-symmetrical, along a first longitudinal axis (Fig. 10), and/or the second plug-in connector housing being mirror-symmetrical, along a second longitudinal axis (Fig. 10).
Regarding Claim 26, Boemmel discloses (i) the first plug-in connector housing and the second plug-in connector housing being identical parts, or (ii) the first plug-in connector housing and the second plug-in connector housing being mirror-symmetrical relative to one another (Fig. 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connector arrangements, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having plug-in connectors, couplings and fasteners.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831