DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/17/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urlass et al (US Patent No. 6765312) in view of Lovas (US Publication No. 20200144811) and further in view of Maekawa (US Publication No. 20190071038).
Regarding claim 16, Urlass discloses a method (i.e., such as a method for controlling the two-battery system; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) for monitoring an energy supply (i.e., such as an energy supply; for example, the schematic circuit diagram of a two-battery system 1 is illustrated in FIG. 1. Two-battery system 1 includes a starter battery 2, an electrical-system battery 3; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) of a motor vehicle (i.e., such as a motor vehicle; for example, this tap constitutes an external-start aiding point, which may be arranged at an arbitrary location in the motor vehicle, but, e.g., in the direct vicinity of the starter battery; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), wherein at least one supply path (i.e., such as the two parallel supply paths 9 and 10, the path line of switch 9 and the path line of switch 10; for example, the two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5.; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) is provided, which supplies a safety-relevant consumer (i.e., such as a safety-relevant consumer 7; for example, the start-relevant consumers 7 may be connected to starter battery 2 via a relay K1, and may be connected to electrical-system battery 3 via a relay K2. In addition, starter battery 2 and electrical-system battery 3 may be interconnected by a third relay K3, which is arranged between the two relays K1, K2. Relay K1 is in the form of a normally closed contact, i.e., in the release state, relay K1 is closed and start-relevant consumers 7 are therefore connected to starter battery 2. However, relays K2 and K3 take the form of normally open contacts, i.e., in the release state, starter battery 2 and start-relevant consumers 7 are separated from the electrical-system battery; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) with electrical energy (i.e., such as the electrical energy provided by 2 and 3; for example, the schematic circuit diagram of a two-battery system 1 is illustrated in FIG. 1. Two-battery system 1 includes a starter battery 2, an electrical-system battery 3; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), wherein the supply path (i.e., such as the two parallel supply paths 9 and 10, the path line of switch 9 and the path line of switch 10; for example, the two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5.; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) includes at least two parallel-connected current-carrying components (i.e., such as the two parallel switches 9 and 10; for example, this electronic pole terminal 9 has a very low resistance in the switched-through state, and a very high resistance in the blocked state, so that electronic pole terminal 9 is represented as an ideal switch. However, there is a technologically necessary parasitic diode that allows a parasitic or stray current to flow, which is why the polarity must be taken into account in the interconnection configuration. In FIG. 1, this parasitic diode is therefore illustrated in parallel with the ideal switch, which together form electronic pole terminal 9. The configurations of electronic pole terminal 9 also apply analogously to electronic pole terminal 10, which is arranged between starter 4 and electrical-system battery 3. The fact that high-load starting consumers 6 are permanently assigned to starter battery 2 may provide the advantage, that relay K1 may not have to carry the high current and, as such, may be dimensioned to be smaller or may have a lower rating; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) protecting the consumer (i.e., such as the total consumers as of 6-8; for example, the schematic circuit diagram of a two-battery system 1 is illustrated in FIG. 1. Two-battery system 1 includes a starter battery 2, an electrical-system battery 3, a starter 4, a generator 5, high-load starting consumers 6, start-relevant consumers 7, electrical-system consumers 8; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), the method (i.e., such as a method for controlling the two-battery system; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) comprising the following steps: ascertaining (i.e., such as ascertaining; for example, if the electrical-system control unit now ascertains from a voltage measurement at starter battery 2, that the starter battery has been discharged by a highly-loaded electrical system, then K3 is opened, and the discharging is therefore prevented. The voltage measurement at electrical-system battery 3 allows the electrical-system control unit to in turn recognize, as of when the electrical system is no longer so highly loaded, and to then reconnect starter battery 2 for charging, using K3. The method for a starting procedure using electrical-system battery 3 is principally identical, except that the switchover of the start-relevant consumers to electrical-system battery 3 occurred prior to the starting procedure; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) at least one electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable of the voltage that is generated by the 5, consequently, varying the current flows in the switches 9 and 10; for example, the further refinement for controlling relays K1-3 is the use of a controllable generator 5. A generator 5 having a controllable controller may adjust its voltage. Therefore, if the output voltage of this generator 5 is predetermined by a control unit, it is possible to switch relay K3 with almost no-load current. To this end, the same voltage is ideally selected for both sides of the relay. Starter battery 2 determines the one side, and the other side is accordingly adjusted by generator 5, the reduction in the generator output voltage being limited by the highest occurring battery voltage. Therefore, a large current may not flow during the switching phase; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), describing a functionality (i.e., such as the function of driving switches 9-10 and relays K1-K3 based upon the variable voltage measurements; for example, after the starting procedure is terminated, it may be ensured that starter battery 2 is no longer loaded. The switching necessary for this is a function of how the starting procedure was implemented; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) of the supply path (i.e., such as the two parallel supply paths 9 and 10, the path line of switch 9 and the path line of switch 10; for example, the two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5.; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+); sensing (i.e., such as detecting; for example, if the test of the battery charges reveals that the charge of the starter battery is not sufficient, because, e.g., too low a voltage or an already unsuccessful starting attempt was detected, then start-relevant consumers 7 may be powered by electrical-system battery 3; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) at least one electrical measured variable (i.e., such as the variable voltage measurements; for example, in the simplest case, an electrical-system control unit, which obtains its information from data present in the electrical system, via a CAN bus, and from battery-voltage measurements, assumes this task. Thus, the battery charges are first measured prior to the starting phase. If this test reveals that the charge of starter battery 2 is sufficient for the starting operation, then relays K1-K3 remain in their neutral position. There are then two principal procedures for controlling starter 4. On one hand, the two electrical pole terminals 9, 10 may always be switched through, so that the voltage for starter 4 is supplied by both starter battery 2 and electrical-system battery 3; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), which is applied (i.e., such as the variable voltage measurements drive the parallel switches 9 and 10 as well as relays K1-K3; for example, the battery charges are first measured prior to the starting phase. If this test reveals that the charge of starter battery 2 is sufficient for the starting operation, then relays K1-K3 remain in their neutral position. There are then two principal procedures for controlling starter 4. On one hand, the two electrical pole terminals 9, 10 may always be switched through, so that the voltage for starter 4 is supplied by both starter battery 2 and electrical-system battery 3. As an alternative, only electronic pole terminal 9 may normally be switched through, while electrical-system battery 3 is only switched on by electronic pole terminal 10 in the case of cold starting. However, it is theoretically possible to use just one battery or both batteries together for starting; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) to at least one of the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the two parallel switches 9 and 10; for example, this electronic pole terminal 9 has a very low resistance in the switched-through state, and a very high resistance in the blocked state, so that electronic pole terminal 9 is represented as an ideal switch. However, there is a technologically necessary parasitic diode that allows a parasitic or stray current to flow, which is why the polarity must be taken into account in the interconnection configuration. In FIG. 1, this parasitic diode is therefore illustrated in parallel with the ideal switch, which together form electronic pole terminal 9. The configurations of electronic pole terminal 9 also apply analogously to electronic pole terminal 10, which is arranged between starter 4 and electrical-system battery 3. The fact that high-load starting consumers 6 are permanently assigned to starter battery 2 may provide the advantage, that relay K1 may not have to carry the high current and, as such, may be dimensioned to be smaller or may have a lower rating; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+); determining (i.e., such as determining the sufficient voltage; for example, the starter battery 2 determines the one side, and the other side is accordingly adjusted by generator 5, the reduction in the generator output voltage being limited by the highest occurring battery voltage. Therefore, a large current may not flow during the switching phase. As in the above-described example embodiments, the charge of the two batteries is determined prior to the initiation of the starting procedure, e.g., by having the electrical-system control unit take a voltage measurement. If this check test reveals that electrical-system battery 3 is sufficiently charged, then relays K1-K3 remain in their neutral position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), as a function (i.e., such as the function of driving switches 9-10 and relays K1-K3 based upon the variable voltage measurements; for example, after the starting procedure is terminated, it may be ensured that starter battery 2 is no longer loaded. The switching necessary for this is a function of how the starting procedure was implemented; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) of the measured variable (i.e., such as the variable voltage measurements; for example, in the simplest case, an electrical-system control unit, which obtains its information from data present in the electrical system, via a CAN bus, and from battery-voltage measurements, assumes this task. Thus, the battery charges are first measured prior to the starting phase. If this test reveals that the charge of starter battery 2 is sufficient for the starting operation, then relays K1-K3 remain in their neutral position. There are then two principal procedures for controlling starter 4. On one hand, the two electrical pole terminals 9, 10 may always be switched through, so that the voltage for starter 4 is supplied by both starter battery 2 and electrical-system battery 3; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+), the electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable of the voltage that is generated by the 5, consequently, varying the current flows in the switches 9 and 10; for example, the further refinement for controlling relays K1-3 is the use of a controllable generator 5. A generator 5 having a controllable controller may adjust its voltage. Therefore, if the output voltage of this generator 5 is predetermined by a control unit, it is possible to switch relay K3 with almost no-load current. To this end, the same voltage is ideally selected for both sides of the relay. Starter battery 2 determines the one side, and the other side is accordingly adjusted by generator 5, the reduction in the generator output voltage being limited by the highest occurring battery voltage. Therefore, a large current may not flow during the switching phase; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+); and checking (i.e., such as checking; for example, the motor vehicle is connected to an electronic ignition lock, then a start-enabling control device initially checks if the start-relevant consumers receive a sufficient supply voltage. If this is the case, then the start-enabling control device generates a terminal (50)-signal, and the electronic pole terminal of the starter battery, and possibly that of the electrical-system battery, are switched through, so that the starter line, which carries a voltage, supplies the starter with a starter voltage and starts the motor or engine. The electronic pole terminals are then blocked again, and the starter line is switched off-circuit. Regardless of the configuration of the ignition lock, it may be ensured that the starter line is only connected in circuit in the immediate starting phase, and is otherwise switched off-circuit. As in the above-described example embodiments, the charge of the two batteries is determined prior to the initiation of the starting procedure, e.g., by having the electrical-system control unit take a voltage measurement. If this check test reveals that electrical-system battery 3 is sufficiently charged, then relays K1-K3 remain in their neutral position. However, if starter battery 2 is charged and electrical-system battery 3 is discharged, then start-relevant consumers 7 are switched to starter battery 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) at least the electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable of the voltage that is generated by the 5, consequently, varying the current flows in the switches 9 and 10; for example, the further refinement for controlling relays K1-3 is the use of a controllable generator 5. A generator 5 having a controllable controller may adjust its voltage. Therefore, if the output voltage of this generator 5 is predetermined by a control unit, it is possible to switch relay K3 with almost no-load current. To this end, the same voltage is ideally selected for both sides of the relay. Starter battery 2 determines the one side, and the other side is accordingly adjusted by generator 5, the reduction in the generator output voltage being limited by the highest occurring battery voltage. Therefore, a large current may not flow during the switching phase; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+); wherein the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the two parallel switches 9 and 10; for example, this electronic pole terminal 9 has a very low resistance in the switched-through state, and a very high resistance in the blocked state, so that electronic pole terminal 9 is represented as an ideal switch. However, there is a technologically necessary parasitic diode that allows a parasitic or stray current to flow, which is why the polarity must be taken into account in the interconnection configuration. In FIG. 1, this parasitic diode is therefore illustrated in parallel with the ideal switch, which together form electronic pole terminal 9. The configurations of electronic pole terminal 9 also apply analogously to electronic pole terminal 10, which is arranged between starter 4 and electrical-system battery 3. The fact that high-load starting consumers 6 are permanently assigned to starter battery 2 may provide the advantage, that relay K1 may not have to carry the high current and, as such, may be dimensioned to be smaller or may have a lower rating; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) and the supply path (i.e., such as the two parallel supply paths 9 and 10, the path line of switch 9 and the path line of switch 10; for example, the two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) are arranged at least partially (i.e., such as arranged at least partially within the control unit of the motor vehicle; for example, when the starter battery is discharged, the electronic pole terminal between the starter and the starter battery prevents an external start from occurring any longer in the engine compartment. To this end, the starter battery is assigned a tap, e.g., in the form of a busbar, which may then connect an external battery to the starter battery. This tap constitutes an external-start aiding point, which may be arranged at an arbitrary location in the motor vehicle, but, e.g., in the direct vicinity of the starter battery; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) in a control unit (i.e., such as a control unit; for example, the further refinement for controlling relays K1-3 is the use of a controllable generator 5. A generator 5 having a controllable controller may adjust its voltage. Therefore, if the output voltage of this generator 5 is predetermined by a control unit, it is possible to switch relay K3 with almost no-load current. To this end, the same voltage is ideally selected for both sides of the relay. Starter battery 2 determines the one side, and the other side is accordingly adjusted by generator 5, the reduction in the generator output voltage being limited by the highest occurring battery voltage. Therefore, a large current may not flow during the switching phase; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+).
Urlass does not explicitly disclose including a measure of an electrical resistance.
Lovas discloses a method of modulating a circuit breaker (i.e., such as the apparatus 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]); wherein including a measure (i.e., such as measuring the resistance via block 112; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of an electrical resistance (i.e., such as an electrical resistance; for example, while modulating the field-effect power switches via the diagnostic pattern, current and voltage drop across the field-effect power switches are measured and used to calculate actual resistance; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the resistance calculation circuitry in Urlass, as taught by Lovas, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Neither Urlass nor Lovas explicitly discloses wherein the supply path includes at least two redundant parallel-connected current- carrying components protecting the consumer.
Maekawa discloses a power source device (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0042]- [0063]); wherein the supply path (i.e., such as the supply path 611, 621, 612, 622; see for example fig. 1, para. [0042]- [0063]) includes at least two redundant parallel-connected current-carrying components (i.e., such as at least two redundant/N+1 parallel-connected current-carrying components 86, 87, 81-83, 80; see for example fig. 1, para. [0042]- [0063]) protecting (i.e., such as protecting loads; see for example fig. 1, para. [0042]- [0063]) the consumer (i.e., such as the consumer 96, 97, 90; see for example fig. 1, para. [0042]- [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the N+1 power supply scheme in Urlass, as taught by Maekawa, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards eliminating single points of failure and ensuring continuous operational uptime.
Regarding claim 17, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Lovas further discloses the method of modulating the circuit breaker (i.e., such as the apparatus 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]); wherein a measure (i.e., such as measuring variable voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, while modulating the field-effect power switches via the diagnostic pattern, current and voltage drop across the field-effect power switches are measured and used to calculate actual resistance; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of a voltage drop (i.e., such as the voltage drop; for example, the assessment of the actual usage of the power source via the power-related parameter can include measuring a voltage drop and current associated with sequential activation of current flow through each current path of the plurality of current paths, while disabling current flow through at least one of the remaining pluralities of current paths. The voltage drops and the current associated with the sequential activation of current flow can be measured using different amplifiers; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) and a measure (i.e., such as measuring variable voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, while modulating the field-effect power switches via the diagnostic pattern, current and voltage drop across the field-effect power switches are measured and used to calculate actual resistance; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of a current (i.e., such as the current; for example, the assessment of the actual usage of the power source via the power-related parameter can include measuring a voltage drop and current associated with sequential activation of current flow through each current path of the plurality of current paths, while disabling current flow through at least one of the remaining pluralities of current paths. The voltage drops and the current associated with the sequential activation of current flow can be measured using different amplifiers; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) flowing through the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switches Q1-Q3; for example, as previously described, a field-effect power switch (e.g., Q1, Q2, Q3) can be in each of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can modulate the use of the current paths via a predefined switching pattern associated with the field-effect power switches that selectively disables current flow to less than all of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can include a sequencer circuit 110 used to generate and provide the predefined switching pattern; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) are sensed (i.e., such as sensed via block 106; for example, the electronic circuit breaker can be assessed using the power access circuitry 106. The power access circuitry 106 monitors circuit access of power via the power source by modulating use of the plurality of current paths of the electronic circuit breaker. The modulated use of the current paths can include selective disablement of current flow relative to less than all of the plurality of current paths; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) as a measured variable (i.e., such as measuring the variable resistance of the switches Q1-Q3 based upon current and voltage; for example, the apparatus 100 includes a battery management system (BMS) 104 having the electronic circuit breaker with three field-effect power switch switches Q1, Q2, Q3 and the diagnostics provided by the power access circuitry 106. The R4 represent current measurement shunt resistor, resistors RQ1, RQ2, RQ3 represents internal resistance of switches Q1, Q2, Q3 and R0, C1 represent load. The control circuitry 102 and the power access circuitry 106 activate and deactivate Q1, Q2, Q3 switches using gate control signals; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) at the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switches Q1-Q3; for example, as previously described, a field-effect power switch (e.g., Q1, Q2, Q3) can be in each of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can modulate the use of the current paths via a predefined switching pattern associated with the field-effect power switches that selectively disables current flow to less than all of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can include a sequencer circuit 110 used to generate and provide the predefined switching pattern; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) and the electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable in terms of voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, when some of switches are activated, current from the battery flows through shunt resistor R4 and active Qn switches into the load. This current is measured by amplifier A1. Another amplifier A2 is used to measure voltage drop along all field-effect power switches. Both amplifiers can send measured values of voltage drop and current to the control circuitry 102, where resistance calculation is performed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]), which includes a measure (i.e., such as measuring variable voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, while modulating the field-effect power switches via the diagnostic pattern, current and voltage drop across the field-effect power switches are measured and used to calculate actual resistance; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of a total resistance (i.e., such as the actual total resistance of switches Q1-Q3; for example, the assessing actual usage of the power source can include determining the actual resistance of the circuit breaker using a voltage drop and current associated with the modulated use of the plurality of current paths and comparing the actual resistance values to expected resistance values according to the number of active field-effect power switches; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of the parallel-connected components (i.e., such as the parallel switches Q1-Q3; for example, as previously described, a field-effect power switch (e.g., Q1, Q2, Q3) can be in each of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can modulate the use of the current paths via a predefined switching pattern associated with the field-effect power switches that selectively disables current flow to less than all of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can include a sequencer circuit 110 used to generate and provide the predefined switching pattern; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]), is ascertained (i.e., such as can be determined from variable power usage; for example, the assessing actual usage of the power source can include determining the actual resistance of the circuit breaker using a voltage drop and current associated with the modulated use of the plurality of current paths and comparing the actual resistance values to expected resistance values according to the number of active field-effect power switches; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) from the measured variables (i.e., such as the measured variables in terms of voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, when some of switches are activated, current from the battery flows through shunt resistor R4 and active Qn switches into the load. This current is measured by amplifier A1. Another amplifier A2 is used to measure voltage drop along all field-effect power switches. Both amplifiers can send measured values of voltage drop and current to the control circuitry 102, where resistance calculation is performed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]).
Regarding claim 18, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Lovas further discloses the method of modulating the circuit breaker (i.e., such as the apparatus 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]); wherein the electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable in terms of voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, when some of switches are activated, current from the battery flows through shunt resistor R4 and active on switches into the load. This current is measured by amplifier A1. Another amplifier A2 is used to measure voltage drop along all field-effect power switches. Both amplifiers can send measured values of voltage drop and current to the control circuitry 102, where resistance calculation is performed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) is compared (i.e., such as comparing the circuit breaker current with a threshold value to see if it is below or above the predetermined certain parameter; for example, the electronic circuit breaker current may be below a threshold, and thus any voltage drops along the electronic circuit breaker may be below a threshold. The below threshold current and voltage drop may impact the ability of the power access circuitry 106 to assess the power usage. In order to increase resolution, the power access circuitry 106 can deactivate more than one field-effect power switch at a time during the diagnostics; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) to a threshold value (i.e., such as a threshold value; for example, the electronic circuit breaker current may be below a threshold, and thus any voltage drop along the electronic circuit breaker may be below a threshold. The below threshold current and voltage drop may impact the ability of the power access circuitry 106 to assess the power usage. In order to increase resolution, the power access circuitry 106 can deactivate more than one field-effect power switch at a time during the diagnostics; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) which includes a nominal resistance (i.e., such as the expected resistance value; for example, the actual usage of power, e.g., actual resistance, is compared to the expected usage such as comparing an expected resistance calculated using defined resistances of the one or more field-effect power switches that are active. As previously described, and as may be appreciated, to activate a switch includes or refers to decreasing internal resistance to lowest possible value and thus allows current to flow though. A faulty field-effect power switch may allow current to flow through when deactivated and/or may not allow current to flow through when activated; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]), and, in the event (i.e., such as in case a potential fault the 102 places the circuit breaker in a safe-mode operation; for example, the apparatus 100 includes vehicle electronics and a safety-module circuit coupled to the vehicle electronics. The safety-module circuit can include the BMS 104 or another circuit in communication with the control circuitry 102. The vehicle electronics and safety-module circuit cooperatively use the signal indicative of the diagnostic result to cause the vehicle electronics to enter into a safety vehicle-operation mode; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of a significant deviation (i.e., such as the scenario of a potential fault; for example, a faulty field-effect power switch may allow current to flow through when deactivated and/or may not allow current to flow through when activated; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]), error information (i.e., such as the error information; for example, the BMS 104 can place the vehicle in a safety vehicle-operation mode that includes at least one of outputting an alert, disabling a function and/or limiting a value of a function provided by the electronics (e.g., notify driver of error on screen, limit speed, limit gears, turn off car, output message to external circuitry). As may be appreciated, a vehicle placed in a safety vehicle-operation mode can be limited in speed and/or gears, which is sometimes referred to as a “limp mode.”; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) is generated (i.e., such as outputting an alert; for example, the BMS 104 can place the vehicle in a safety vehicle-operation mode that includes at least one of outputting an alert, disabling a function and/or limiting a value of a function provided by the electronics (e.g., notify driver of error on screen, limit speed, limit gears, turn off car, output message to external circuitry). As may be appreciated, a vehicle placed in a safety vehicle-operation mode can be limited in speed and/or gears, which is sometimes referred to as a “limp mode.”; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Lovas further discloses the method of modulating the circuit breaker (i.e., such as the apparatus 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]); wherein the measured variable (i.e., such as the measured variables in terms of voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, when some of switches are activated, current from the battery flows through shunt resistor R4 and active on switches into the load. This current is measured by amplifier A1. Another amplifier A2 is used to measure voltage drop along all field-effect power switches. Both amplifiers can send measured values of voltage drop and current to the control circuitry 102, where resistance calculation is performed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) is supplied (i.e., such as A1 and A2 are feeding the power access circuitry 106; for example, when some of switches are activated, current from the battery flows through shunt resistor R4 and active Qn switches into the load. This current is measured by amplifier A1. Another amplifier A2 is used to measure voltage drop along all field-effect power switches. Both amplifiers can send measured values of voltage drop and current to the control circuitry 102, where resistance calculation is performed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) to a parameter estimator (i.e., such as the diagnostic circuit 108 in the power access circuitry 106/the parameter estimator-assessor via crossing the expected switch resistance value against the actual switch resistance value; for example, the apparatus 100 can include power access circuitry 106 and control circuitry 102. The control circuitry 102 can include a microcontroller (MCU) that includes and/or uses the power access circuitry 106 to selectively activate and deactivate field-effect power switches of the electronic circuit breaker to assess the electronic circuitry breaker. For example, using the power access circuitry 106, the control circuitry 102 applies a diagnostic pattern to the electronic circuit breaker and analyses the results to detect faults within the circuit breaker and to improve EMC behavior. As illustrated, the power access circuitry 106 can include a resistance calculation circuit 112 that calculates the actual resistance based on the voltage drop and current through each of the modulated current paths. A diagnostics circuit 108 can compare the actual resistance to an expected resistance according to the number of field-effect power switches that are activated and the defined resistance values of the field-effect power switches. The expected resistance values are calculated by a datasheet or pre-calculated values stored in a table, such as a memory of the power access circuitry 106 or control circuitry 102; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]), wherein the characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable in terms of voltage, current, resistance, etc.; for example, when some of switches are activated, current from the battery flows through shunt resistor R4 and active Qn switches into the load. This current is measured by amplifier A1. Another amplifier A2 is used to measure voltage drop along all field-effect power switches. Both amplifiers can send measured values of voltage drop and current to the control circuitry 102, where resistance calculation is performed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) is constantly updated (i.e., such as the block 110 constantly updates the data fed to the block 106; for example, The power access circuitry 106 can include a sequencer circuit 110 used to generate and provide the predefined switching pattern. The apparatus illustrated by FIG. 1 can allow for electronic circuit breaker resistance modulation and measurement by using predefined switching patterns generated by the sequencer circuit 110. Measured current and voltage drop along this circuit breaker is used to determine actual resistance, which is compared with an expected resistance value. The expected resistance value can be calculated according to number of active switches and resistance of every switch given by datasheet or pre-calculated values stored in the table. This approach can be used to detect fault of any switching element within the electronic circuit breaker; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) by the parameter estimator (i.e., such as diagnostic circuit 108 in the power access circuitry 106/the parameter estimator-assessor via crossing the expected switch resistance value against the actual switch resistance value; for example, the apparatus 100 can include power access circuitry 106 and control circuitry 102. The control circuitry 102 can include a microcontroller (MCU) that includes and/or uses the power access circuitry 106 to selectively activate and deactivate field-effect power switches of the electronic circuit breaker to assess the electronic circuitry breaker. For example, using the power access circuitry 106, the control circuitry 102 applies a diagnostic pattern to the electronic circuit breaker and analyses the results to detect faults within the circuit breaker and to improve EMC behavior. As illustrated, the power access circuitry 106 can include a resistance calculation circuit 112 that calculates the actual resistance based on the voltage drop and current through each of the modulated current paths. A diagnostics circuit 108 can compare the actual resistance to an expected resistance according to the number of field-effect power switches that are activated and the defined resistance values of the field-effect power switches. The expected resistance values are calculated by a datasheet or pre-calculated values stored in a table, such as a memory of the power access circuitry 106 or control circuitry 102; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) in the presence (i.e., such as the presence of a switch when it is ON, the new measured resistance variable value of one, or two or all of the switches Q1-Q3, whenever a switch is activated to be included in the total resistance calculations executed by the block 112; for example, the expected resistance value can be calculated according to number of active switches and resistance of every switch given by datasheet or pre-calculated values stored in the table. This approach can be used to detect fault of any switching element within the electronic circuit breaker; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) of a new measured variable (i.e., such as the new measured resistance variable value of one, or two or all of the switches Q1-Q3, whenever a switch is activated to be included in the total resistance calculations executed by the block 112; for example, the expected resistance value can be calculated according to number of active switches and resistance of every switch given by datasheet or pre-calculated values stored in the table. This approach can be used to detect fault of any switching element within the electronic circuit breaker; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]).
Regarding claim 26, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Urlass further discloses the method (i.e., such as a method for controlling the two-battery system; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+); wherein a semiconductor switch (i.e., such as a semiconductor switch; for example, the electronic pole terminal 9 may be in the form of a switchable, power semiconductor, in particular a CMOS power transistor; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) and/or a fuse are used as the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the two parallel switches 9 and 10; for example, this electronic pole terminal 9 has a very low resistance in the switched-through state, and a very high resistance in the blocked state, so that electronic pole terminal 9 is represented as an ideal switch. However, there is a technologically necessary parasitic diode that allows a parasitic or stray current to flow, which is why the polarity must be taken into account in the interconnection configuration. In FIG. 1, this parasitic diode is therefore illustrated in parallel with the ideal switch, which together form electronic pole terminal 9. The configurations of electronic pole terminal 9 also apply analogously to electronic pole terminal 10, which is arranged between starter 4 and electrical-system battery 3. The fact that high-load starting consumers 6 are permanently assigned to starter battery 2 may provide the advantage, that relay K1 may not have to carry the high current and, as such, may be dimensioned to be smaller or may have a lower rating; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+). Also, Lovas furthermore discloses the method of modulating the circuit breaker (i.e., such as the apparatus 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]); wherein a semiconductor switch (i.e., such as a semiconductor switch; for example, electronic circuit breakers are made of serval semiconductor power switches, herein referred to as field-effect power switches. The field-effect power switches can have drains and sources connected in parallel with separate gate control. The number of field-effect power switches can vary from two to more than ten switches; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]) and/or a fuse (i.e., such as a fuse; see for example fig. 3, para. [0060]) are used as the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switches Q1-Q3; for example, as previously described, a field-effect power switch (e.g., Q1, Q2, Q3) can be in each of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can modulate the use of the current paths via a predefined switching pattern associated with the field-effect power switches that selectively disables current flow to less than all of the plurality of current paths. The power access circuitry 106 can include a sequencer circuit 110 used to generate and provide the predefined switching pattern; see for example fig. 1, para. [0037]- [0049]).
Regarding claim 30, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Urlass further discloses the method (i.e., such as a method for controlling the two-battery system; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+); wherein the supply path (i.e., such as the two parallel supply paths 9 and 10, the path line of switch 9 and the path line of switch 10; for example, the two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) is arranged (i.e., such as arranged within the control unit of the motor vehicle; for example, when the starter battery is discharged, the electronic pole terminal between the starter and the starter battery prevents an external start from occurring any longer in the engine compartment. To this end, the starter battery is assigned a tap, e.g., in the form of a busbar, which may then connect an external battery to the starter battery. This tap constitutes an external-start aiding point, which may be arranged at an arbitrary location in the motor vehicle, but, e.g., in the direct vicinity of the starter battery; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) between an on-board power subsystem (i.e., such as the on-board power subsystem 1 with respect to feeder 3; for example, the two-battery system 1 includes a starter battery 2, an electrical-system battery 3, a starter 4, a generator 5, high-load starting consumers 6, start-relevant consumers 7, electrical-system consumers 8, two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5. Start-relevant consumers 7 may be connected to starter battery 2 via a relay K1, and may be connected to electrical-system battery 3 via a relay K2. In addition, starter battery 2 and electrical-system battery 3 may be interconnected by a third relay K3, which is arranged between the two relays K1, K2. Relay K1 is in the form of a normally closed contact, i.e., in the release state, relay K1 is closed and start-relevant consumers 7 are therefore connected to starter battery 2. However, relays K2 and K3 take the form of normally open contacts, i.e., in the release state, starter battery 2 and start-relevant consumers 7 are separated from the electrical-system battery. Electronic pole terminal 9 is arranged between starter 4 and starter battery 2. Electronic pole terminal 9 may be in the form of a switchable, power semiconductor, in particular a CMOS power transistor; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) for at least one safety-relevant consumer (i.e., such as safety-relevant consumer 7; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) and a further on-board power subsystem (i.e., such as the on-board power subsystem 1 with respect to feeder 2; for example, the two-battery system 1 includes a starter battery 2, an electrical-system battery 3, a starter 4, a generator 5, high-load starting consumers 6, start-relevant consumers 7, electrical-system consumers 8, two electronic pole terminals 9, 10, and three relays K1-K3. High-load starting consumers 6 are permanently connected to starter battery 2. In the same manner, electrical-system consumers 8 are permanently connected to electrical-system battery 3, and the electrical-system battery is permanently connected to generator 5. Start-relevant consumers 7 may be connected to starter battery 2 via a relay K1, and may be connected to electrical-system battery 3 via a relay K2. In addition, starter battery 2 and electrical-system battery 3 may be interconnected by a third relay K3, which is arranged between the two relays K1, K2. Relay K1 is in the form of a normally closed contact, i.e., in the release state, relay K1 is closed and start-relevant consumers 7 are therefore connected to starter battery 2. However, relays K2 and K3 take the form of normally open contacts, i.e., in the release state, starter battery 2 and start-relevant consumers 7 are separated from the electrical-system battery. Electronic pole terminal 9 is arranged between starter 4 and starter battery 2. Electronic pole terminal 9 may be in the form of a switchable, power semiconductor, in particular a CMOS power transistor; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+) for at least one non-safety-relevant consumer (i.e., such as non-safety-relevant consumer 6; see for example fig. 1, Col. 4 lines 18+).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urlass et al (US Patent No. 6765312) in view of Lovas (US Publication No. 20200144811) and in view of Maekawa (US Publication No. 20190071038) and further in view of Nakamura et al (US Publication No. 20130253722).
Regarding claim 20, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Neither Urlass nor Lovas nor Maekawa explicitly discloses wherein the threshold value is selected variably, using a thermal resistance model.
Nakamura discloses an electric power distribution device (i.e., such as a vehicle electric power distribution device 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]); wherein the threshold value (i.e., such as the threshold value; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]) is selected variably (i.e., such as selected variably as of in setting the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th threshold value; for example, The first control unit sets a second threshold value that defines an upper limit temperature of the main electric wires, and a first threshold value as a value lower than the second threshold value. In a case where the estimated temperature of each of the main electric wires exceeds the first threshold value, the first control unit transmits a forcible shutoff signal to the second control unit. In a case where the estimated temperature of each of the main electric wires exceeds the second threshold value, the first control unit performs control to shut off each of the first switches. The second control unit sets a fourth threshold value that defines an upper limit temperature of the branch electric wires, and a third threshold value lower than the fourth threshold value. In a case where the estimated temperature of each of the branch electric wires exceeds the third threshold value, the second control unit performs electric power reduction control for each of the second switches and supplies the electric power to each of the branch electric wires. In a case where the estimated temperature of each of the branch electric wires exceeds the fourth threshold value, or in a case where the forcible shutoff signal is transmitted, the second control unit shuts off each of the second switches; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]) using a thermal resistance model (i.e., such as the thermal resistance model block 31-n; for example, the branch electric wire distributor 12 includes: a plurality (illustrated as n pieces in FIG. 1) of branch electric wire switches (second switches) 31-1 to 31-n; and the branch electric wire control unit (second control unit) 32. The respective electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n are connected to loads RL1 to RLn through branch electric wires 51-1 to 51-n, respectively. The branch electric wire control unit 32 is connected to input control switches SW1 to SWn which operate drive and stop of the respective loads RL1 to RLn. The respective electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n are, for example, semiconductor elements, and each thereof includes a branch electric wire current sensor (second current sensor) 31S that detects a current flowing through one of the branch electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n, which corresponds thereto. Then, the respective branch electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n are turned on in the case where the drive signal is outputted from the main electric wire control unit 22, and are turned off in the case where the output of the drive signal is stopped. Note that, as each of the branch electric wire current sensors 31S, for example, there can be employed one of a type using a shunt resistor, and one of a type using a multi-source FET; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the thermal resistance model in Urlass, as taught by Nakamura, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 21, Urlass in view of Lovas and in view of Maekawa and further in view of Nakamura and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Nakamura have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses the electric power distribution device (i.e., such as a vehicle electric power distribution device 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]); wherein a temperature (i.e., such as a temperature; for example, based on the currents detected by the respective branch electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n, the branch electric wire control unit 32 arithmetically operates the temperatures of the branch electric wires 51-1 to 51-n by such a temperature estimation logic in equations (1) to (3). The branch electric wire control unit 32 sets a fourth threshold value Tth4, which defines an upper limit temperature of the branch electric wires 51-1 to 51-n, and a third threshold value Tth3 lower than the fourth threshold value Tth4. Then, for example, in the case where the overcurrent flows through the branch electric wire 51-1, and the temperature of the branch electric wire 51-1 reaches the third threshold value Tth3, then the branch electric wire control unit 32 performs PWM control (electric power consumption reduction control) for the branch electric wire switch 31-1 in a desired duty ratio. As a result, the current flowing through the branch electric wire 51-1 is reduced, and heat generation of the electric wire is suppressed; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]) of at least one of the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switches 31-1 to 31-n; for example, the respective electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n are, for example, semiconductor elements, and each thereof includes a branch electric wire current sensor (second current sensor) 31S that detects a current flowing through one of the branch electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n, which corresponds thereto. Then, the respective branch electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n are turned on in the case where the drive signal is outputted from the main electric wire control unit 22, and are turned off in the case where the output of the drive signal is stopped. Note that, as each of the branch electric wire current sensors 31S, for example, there can be employed one of a type using a shunt resistor, and one of a type using a multi-source FET; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]) is sensed (i.e., such is sensed via sensors 31s; for example, each thereof includes a branch electric wire current sensor (second current sensor) 31S that detects a current flowing through one of the branch electric wire switches 31-1 to 31-n, which corresponds thereto; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]) and/or used for ascertaining (i.e., such as to ensure the determination of certain threshold values; for example, in the case where the temperature of the branch electric wire 51-1 further rises from the third threshold value Tth3 and reaches the fourth threshold value Tth4, the branch electric wire control unit 32 changes the branch electric wire abnormality signal, which is to be transmitted via the communication line 42 to the main electric wire control unit 22 of the main electric wire distributor 11, from Lo to Hi; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]) the threshold value (i.e., such as the threshold value; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0042]).
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urlass et al (US Patent No. 6765312) in view of Lovas (US Publication No. 20200144811) and in view of Maekawa (US Publication No. 20190071038) and further in view of Shimada (US Publication No. 20220255543).
Regarding claim 22, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Neither Urlass nor Lovas nor Maekawa explicitly discloses wherein the parameter estimator is used to recursively solve an equation system U=I*R, where U is a voltage drop at the at least one of the current-carrying components, I is a measure of a current flowing through at least one of the components, and R is the electrical characteristic variable, to ascertain the electrical characteristic variable.
Shimada discloses an electronic device (i.e., such as the voltage comparator circuit 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]); wherein the parameter estimator (i.e., such as the parameter estimator 100; for example, the voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) is used to recursively solve (i.e., such as to recursively solve; for example, The voltage source 140 in FIG. 4B includes resistors R31 and R32, a current source CS1, and switches SW31 and SW32. The current source CS1 generates a constant current Ic; Vref1=(R31+R32) *Ic; Vref2=R32*Ic; ΔV=R31*Ic; see for example fig. 4B para. [0073]) an equation system U=I*R (i.e., such as Vsc=Rs*I; for example, In the configuration above, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) where U (i.e., such as U is the Vsc as of in Vsc=Rs*I; for example, In the configuration above, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) is a voltage drop (i.e., such as the voltage drop Vsc as of in Vsc=Rs*I; for example, In the configuration above, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) at at least one of the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switch circuit 120; for example, the amplifier circuit 110, the input switch circuit 120, the chopper inverter type comparator 130 and the voltage source 140 are not limited to the configurations in FIG. 2; see for example fig. 2, para. [0068]), I (i.e., such as I; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) is a measure (i.e., such as the measuring of I; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) of a current (i.e., such as the current I; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) flowing through at least one of the components (i.e., such as switches SW31 and SW32; for example, the voltage source 140 in FIG. 4B includes resistors R31 and R32, a current source CS1, and switches SW31 and SW32. The current source CS1 generates a constant current Ic; see for example fig. 4B, para. [0073]), and R (i.e., such as the resistor Rs; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) is the electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable Rs; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]), to ascertain (i.e., such as to ensure the determination of parameters Vsc, Rs, and I; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]) the electrical characteristic variable (i.e., such as the electrical characteristic variable in terms of voltage, current, resistance, power, etc.; for example, a voltage drop Vsc=Rs*I proportional to the current I is generated at the sensing resistor Rs. The voltage comparator circuit 100 detects whether the voltage drop Vcs is higher than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth or lower than the predetermined threshold voltage Vth. The output Scomp of the voltage comparator circuit 100 is at a first level when the current I is greater than a threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs, and is at a second level when the current I is smaller than the threshold current Ith=Vth/Rs; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the mathematical analysis in Urlass, as taught by Shimada, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 24, Urlass in view of Lovas and in view of Maekawa and further in view of Shimada and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Shimada have been discussed above as well.
Shimada further discloses the electronic device (i.e., such as the voltage comparator circuit 100; see for example fig. 1, para. [0075]); wherein for offset compensation (i.e., such as the amplifier circuit 110 includes a first input node IN1 and a second input node IN2, and amplifies a voltage difference Vx between voltages at the first input node IN1 and the second input node IN2. The amplifier circuit 110 has a gain g and an input offset voltage Vofs. In sum, an output voltage Vamp of the amplifier circuit 110 is expressed as equation (1) below, Vamp=g*(Vx+Vofs) +Vref, in which Vref is a reference voltage; see for example fig. 2, para. [0036]); an estimated value (b1) (i.e., such as the estimated value (b1) is the fixed value of R31 and R32 multiplied by the constant current Ic in order to generate the constant baseline reference values as of Vref1=(R31+R32) *Ic, Vref2=R32*Ic, and ΔV=R31*Ic; see for example fig. 4B, para. [0073]); al is an amplification factor (i.e., such as the al is the gain factor g; for example, The amplifier circuit 110 has a gain g and an input offset voltage Vofs. In sum, an output voltage Vamp of the amplifier circuit 110 is expressed as equation (1), Vamp=g*(Vx+Vofs) +Vref; see for example fig. 2, para. [0036]). As for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 22. {See rejection of claim 22}
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urlass et al (US Patent No. 6765312) in view of Lovas (US Publication No. 20200144811) and in view of Maekawa (US Publication No. 20190071038) and further in view of Bernardon et al (US Publication No. 20030231048).
Regarding claim 23, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Neither Urlass nor Lovas nor Maekawa explicitly discloses wherein the parameter estimator includes comprises at least one prediction and/or one correction of systematic measurement errors of the measured variable.
Bernardon discloses a driving circuit (i.e., such as the op-amp 17; see for example fig. 4, para. [0045]- [0059]); wherein the parameter estimator (i.e., such as the parameter estimator op-amp 17; see for example fig. 4, para. [0045]- [0059]) includes comprises at least one prediction (i.e., such as prediction via choosing appropriate values; for example, using a fully differential input amplification stage 18 for the op-amp 17, the null point of the op-amp 17 is given by the null point of the circuit 1, namely Vnp=Vdd-R*(Ibias/2). This null point is set near to the threshold voltage VT of the external PMOS FET 12. This can be achieved by choosing appropriate values for R and/or Ibias. Then, the PMOS FET 12 is driven near its threshold value, and the transconductance of the PMOS FET 12 is very low for low output currents of the PMOS FET 12, where most accuracy is needed. Thus, at low load current demands, a voltage near the threshold voltage at the gate of the external PMOS is supplied, and this implies that the output voltage and external null point is near the desired value; see for example fig. 4, para. [0057]) and/or one correction (i.e., such as the correction can be done via setting the null point near to the desired output voltage; for example, the output voltage of the negative feedback system as shown in FIG. 4 becomes Vout=(Vnp+A*Vin)/ (1+A*. beta.). For large values of A, Vout.apprxeq. Vin/. beta... This is equivalent to the usual case when using an op-amp as amplification stage 17 with zero null point voltage (Vnp=0). The steady state error at the output of this system is given by the equation Ess= (Vin-. beta. *Vnp)/ (. beta.+. beta.sup.2*A). According to the above equation, in case of Vnp=Vin/. beta., the steady state error Ess becomes zero independent of the open circuit gain A. On the other hand, as already mentioned, Vin/. beta. apprxeq. Vout for large values of A. Therefore, by setting the null point near to the desired output voltage, the Vinop-amp required becomes very small thereby causing a much smaller systematic error at the output than in the conventional case; see for example fig. 4, [0053]) of systematic measurement errors (i.e., such as systematic measurement errors; for example, the conventional basic control theory always assumes that the null point is set to zero. Therefore, in order to achieve a certain output voltage different from zero, a certain amount of voltage between the input terminals of the op-amp is required. This required voltage difference is reflected to the output voltage as a systematic error Ess=Vinop-amp/. beta. The steady state error at the output of this system is given by the equation Ess= (Vin-. beta. *Vnp)/ (. beta.+. beta.sup.2*A); see for example fig. 1, para. [0055]) of the measured variable (i.e., such as the measured variable of voltage, current, etc.; for example, the further advantage of the driver circuit 1, compared to a conventional transistor output stage of an operational amplifier, is that it is insensitive to line variations, i.e. variations of the operating potentials Vdd or Vss. When a variation of Vdd or Vss occurs, the current flows through both branches 2 and 3 of the input amplification stage remain constant, because the currents depend only on the voltage difference. DELTA.V=V1-V2 between the voltages V1 and V2 inputted into the differential amplification stage at lines 9 and 10, respectively. This implies that the voltage across the load resistor 6 remains constant without requiring a variation of input voltages V1 or V2 for balancing line variations. In fact, no systematic error occurs due to line variations, thus maintaining the external PMOS FET 12 always properly biased; see for example fig. 1, para. [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the amplifier analysis in Urlass, as taught by Bernardon, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urlass et al (US Patent No. 6765312) in view of Lovas (US Publication No. 20200144811) and in view of Maekawa (US Publication No. 20190071038) and in view of Shimada (US Publication No. 20220255543) and further in view of Larsen et al (US Patent No. 6575027).
Regarding claim 25, Urlass in view of Lovas and in view of Maekawa and further in view of Shimada and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Shimada have been discussed above as well.
Neither Urlass nor Lovas nor Maekawa nor Shimada explicitly discloses wherein a measuring resistor arranged upstream of a branching into at least two parallel paths is used to sense the measure of the current flowing through the at least one of the current-carrying components, and/or a measuring amplifier including a differential amplifier is used to sense the measure of the voltage dropping at the at least one of the current-carrying components.
Larsen discloses a sensor interface circuit (i.e., such as the flow sensing bridge circuit 100; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+); wherein a measuring resistor (i.e., such as a measuring resistor; for example, the flow of current through the circuit is controlled by operational amplifier stages U1 and U2, transistor Q1, reference voltage source 52 and current measuring resistor R.sub.r. Current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed at the negative end of the circuit over the center to preserve the positive supply voltage headroom for operational amplifier U1; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) arranged upstream (i.e., such as upstream; for example, Operational amplifier U4 serves as a level translator. Its positive node can be connected to +2.5 volt reference voltage source 52 and its negative node to the common juncture point of upstream sense element R.sub.U and downstream sense element R.sub.D. The output of operational amplifier U4 can drive the base of PNP transistor Q2 so that the junction point of upstream sense element R.sub.U and downstream sense element R.sub.D will be at +2.5 volt (i.e. virtual +2.5 volt). All resistors associated with the precision current source of FIG. 4 as shown are 0.1%, 25 ppm per degree Celsius precision components. Other component values may also be used; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) of a branching (i.e., such as the branch of Q1 and the branch of Q2; for example, the ideal current source 20 provides a constant current source regardless of the load being driven by the circuit. This is because the feedback control circuit comprised of operational amplifier U2, transistor Q1, current reference resistor R.sub.r and scaling components R3, R4, R6 and R7, maintains the voltage drop across current reference resistor R.sub.r at 1.2775 volt nominal. As long as the circuit parameters remain within the linear operating range of component values, the value of the current through current reference resistor R.sub.r will remain a precisely controlled and constant value. The circuit comprising operational amplifier U3 and transistor Q2 produces a virtual ground at variable resistor RV1. The virtual ground is produced by comparing the voltage at the wiper of RV1 to ground potential at the positive input node of operational amplifier U3. The output of operational amplifier U3 drives transistor Q2 and is controlled in such a fashion as to reduce to zero the voltage between the positive and the negative nodes of operational amplifier U3; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) into at least two parallel paths (i.e., such as the two parallel paths of U3 and U1; see for example fig. 5, Col. 8 lines 65+) is used to sense (i.e., such as to be sensed via the measuring resistor R; for example, the flow of current through the circuit is controlled by operational amplifier stages U1 and U2, transistor Q1, reference voltage source 52 and current measuring resistor R.sub.r. Current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed at the negative end of the circuit over the center to preserve the positive supply voltage headroom for operational amplifier U1; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) the measure of the current (i.e., such as measuring the current flowing through R via Q1 and Q2; for example, the flow of current through the circuit is controlled by operational amplifier stages U1 and U2, transistor Q1, reference voltage source 52 and current measuring resistor R.sub.r. Current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed at the negative end of the circuit over the center to preserve the positive supply voltage headroom for operational amplifier U1; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) flowing through the at least one of the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switches Q1 and Q2; for example, the flow of current through the circuit is controlled by operational amplifier stages U1 and U2, transistor Q1, reference voltage source 52 and current measuring resistor R.sub.r. Current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed at the negative end of the circuit over the center to preserve the positive supply voltage headroom for operational amplifier U1; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+), and/or a measuring amplifier (i.e., such as a measuring amplifier U2 as getting fed by U1 which is controlled by the switch Q1, and U3 which is controlled by the switch Q2; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) including a differential amplifier (i.e., such as differential amplifier U3; for example, the virtual +2.5V source 56 is connected to the positive node of op-amp U3 through a resistor of value R/2 58; the positive node is also connected to the +2.5V REF 52 through a resistor of value 2R 54. This topology forms a carefully balanced differential amplifier which rejects any common mode voltage variation caused by changes in the +2.5V source 56. The output-input transfer function of an amplifier described above is given by e.sub.out =2*(V.sub.D -V.sub.U)+2.5V REF [EQN.2], where V.sub.D is the downstream sensor voltage, V.sub.U is the upstream sensor voltage; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) is used to sense (i.e., such as to sense; for example, where V.sub.D is the downstream sensor voltage, V.sub.U is the upstream sensor voltage; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) the measure (i.e., such as the measure; for example, a voltage drop across a current measuring resistor R.sub.r is produced to measure the current that will flow through sense elements R.sub.U and R.sub.D. However, the placement of current measuring resistor R.sub.r is changed from the prior art (shown in FIG. 2) where the current measuring resistor R.sub.r followed the emitter of transistor Q1. In the embodiment of the present invention shown in FIG. 4, current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed to be in contact with the emitter of transistor Q2 so as to be at the negative end of the circuit. This is necessary because the improved mass flow sensor circuit of the present invention raises the pedestal reference voltage by +2.5 volts; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) of the voltage dropping (i.e., such as the voltage drop; for example, a voltage drop across a current measuring resistor R.sub.r is produced to measure the current that will flow through sense elements R.sub.U and R.sub.D. However, the placement of current measuring resistor R.sub.r is changed from the prior art (shown in FIG. 2) where the current measuring resistor R.sub.r followed the emitter of transistor Q1. In the embodiment of the present invention shown in FIG. 4, current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed to be in contact with the emitter of transistor Q2 so as to be at the negative end of the circuit. This is necessary because the improved mass flow sensor circuit of the present invention raises the pedestal reference voltage by +2.5 volts; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+) at the at least one of the current-carrying components (i.e., such as the switches Q1 and Q2; for example, the transistor Q1, reference voltage source 52 and current measuring resistor R.sub.r. Current measuring resistor R.sub.r is placed at the negative end of the circuit over the center to preserve the positive supply voltage headroom for operational amplifier U1. Since the mass flow interface circuit 100 is referenced at 2.5 volts, the voltage drop on each of sense elements R.sub.D and R.sub.U is approximately 5 volts, the emitter voltage of transistor Q1 is at +7.5 volts, and the base voltage of transistor Q1 is at 8.2 volts and transistor Q2 produces a virtual ground at variable resistor RV1. The virtual ground is produced by comparing the voltage at the wiper of RV1 to ground potential at the positive input node of operational amplifier U3. The output of operational amplifier U3 drives transistor Q2 and is controlled in such a fashion as to reduce to zero the voltage between the positive and the negative nodes of operational amplifier U3; see for example fig. 4, Col. 8 lines 65+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the amplifiers circuitry in Urlass, as taught by Larsen, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urlass et al (US Patent No. 6765312) in view of Lovas (US Publication No. 20200144811) and in view of Maekawa (US Publication No. 20190071038) and further in view of Channing (US Patent No. 3638108).
Regarding claim 27, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa have been discussed above as well.
Neither Urlass nor Lovas nor Maekawa explicitly discloses wherein at least one measuring point for sensing a measure of current and/or voltage of both the at least one of the current-carrying components and a supply line, is arranged at a start and/or at an end of the supply line.
Channing discloses a booster-automobile electrical system tester (i.e., see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+); wherein at least one measuring point (i.e., such as measuring points of voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) for sensing (i.e., such as sensing the voltage reading via the voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) a measure (i.e., such as measuring the voltage via the voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) of current and/or voltage (i.e., such as measuring the voltage via the voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) of both the at least one of the current-carrying components (i.e., such as measuring the voltage via the voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25 of switches 62 and 49; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) and a supply line (i.e., such as the supply lines cables 20, 21, 25, and 27; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+), is arranged (i.e., such as the supply lines cables 20, 21, 25, and 27 are arranged as cables 20 and 25 are the hot lines of batteries 18 and 66, and cables 21 and 27 are the cold lines of batteries 18 and 66; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) at a start (i.e., such as the supply lines cables 20, 21, 25, and 27 are arranged as cables 20 and 25 are the hot lines (+ start) of batteries 18 and 66, and cables 21 and 27 are the cold lines (- end) of batteries 18 and 66; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) and/or at an end (i.e., such as the supply lines cables 20, 21, 25, and 27 are arranged as cables 20 and 25 are the hot lines (+ start) of batteries 18 and 66, and cables 21 and 27 are the cold lines (- end) of batteries 18 and 66; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) of the supply line (i.e., such as the supply lines cables 20, 21, 25, and 27 are arranged as cables 20 and 25 are the hot lines (+ start) of batteries 18 and 66, and cables 21 and 27 are the cold lines (- end) of batteries 18 and 66; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the sensor device in Urlass, as taught by Channing, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 28, Urlass in view of Lovas and further in view of Maekawa and further in view of Channing and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Lovas have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Urlass as modified by Maekawa and the teachings of Urlass as modified by Channing have been discussed above as well.
Channing further discloses the booster-automobile electrical system tester (i.e., see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+); wherein a measuring point (i.e., such as measuring points of voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) for voltage measurement (i.e., such as measuring the voltage via the voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) and/or current measurement (i.e., such as measuring the voltage via the voltmeter 17 at terminals 21/27 and 20/25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) is arranged (i.e., such as the supply lines cables 20, 21, 25, and 27 are arranged as cables 20 and 25 are the hot lines of batteries 18 and 66, and cables 21 and 27 are the cold lines of batteries 18 and 66; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) at the at least one contact (i.e., such as the point of contact via cable 24; for example, Polarity protector 13 is equipped with connecting cables 20 and 21 having conventional clips 22 attached thereto for connecting cables 20 and 21, and thereby polarity protector 13, to electrical system 16 of automobile 12. A remote control means 23 is connected to polarity protector 13 and consists of remote-control switch 26 coupled to polarity protector 13 by a cable 24. As may be seen from FIG. 2, remote control means 23 is in a series operational relationship with polarity protector 13 so that concurrent closure of remote-control switch 26 and sensing of correct polarity of electrical system 16 by polarity protector 13 is required before booster battery 18 will be connected into electrical system 16. Cables 25 and 27 are also provided to connect booster battery 18 to the circuitry of polarity protector 13; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+) of the control unit (i.e., such as the remote control means 23; for example, Polarity protector 13 is equipped with connecting cables 20 and 21 having conventional clips 22 attached thereto for connecting cables 20 and 21, and thereby polarity protector 13, to electrical system 16 of automobile 12. A remote control means 23 is connected to polarity protector 13 and consists of remote-control switch 26 coupled to polarity protector 13 by a cable 24. As may be seen from FIG. 2, remote control means 23 is in a series operational relationship with polarity protector 13 so that concurrent closure of remote-control switch 26 and sensing of correct polarity of electrical system 16 by polarity protector 13 is required before booster battery 18 will be connected into electrical system 16. Cables 25 and 27 are also provided to connect booster battery 18 to the circuitry of polarity protector 13; see for example fig. 2, Col. 3 lines 38+).
Claims 1-15 and 29 are cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838