Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 16, 20, 22, 24, 46 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (US 2020/0117350).
As per claim 1 Zhu et al discloses: A first terminal 100 configured for screen projection, wherein the first terminal 100 comprises a first processor 101 and a first display screen 104-2, the first terminal 100 is communicatively connected to a second terminal 200 {figure 1(b)}, and the first processor 101 is configured for: generating a first display interface, and controlling the first display screen 104-2 to display the first display interface; creating a virtual display screen {figure 4B}; creating a second display interface, and controlling the virtual display screen to display the second display interface {figure 4B}; and projecting to the second terminal 200 the second display interface corresponding to the virtual display screen, thereby causing the second terminal 200 to display the second display interface {figure 4B & [0115] As shown in FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B, when the first terminal projects an application installed on the first terminal onto the display of the second terminal through single-source display, the first terminal 100 stores generated to-be-displayed display content in a screen container of a memory before the first terminal 100 establishes the connection to the second terminal 200.}; wherein in the controlling the virtual display screen to display the second display interface, the first processor 101 is configured for: creating a floating window, wherein the floating window is a moveable window displayed in the first terminal 100, and is configured to display the second display interface that is projected to the second terminal 200; and displaying, on the floating window by using the floating window as a carrier, the second display interface that is displayed on the virtual display screen {figure 4B & [0091] In this embodiment of this application, to reduce a security risk of user privacy disclosure occurring when the second terminal 200 displays the display content of the first terminal 100, independent screen locking windows may be disposed on the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 200.}.
As per claim 2 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 1, wherein after the creating the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for: assigning a first screen identification to the virtual display screen, wherein the first screen identification is different from a second screen identification, and the second screen identification is a screen identification assigned to the first display screen 104-2 by the first processor 101 {figure 5A & [0117] Different display identifiers (Display ID) may be used to distinguish between the screen container 2 and the screen container 1.}.
As per claim 3 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 1, wherein in the creating the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for:
obtaining a screen resolution corresponding to a second display screen sent by the second terminal 200, and determining a target resolution of the virtual display screen based on the screen resolution {[0117] After the first terminal 100 establishes the connection to the second terminal 200, the first terminal 100 may identify related specification information of the display of the second terminal 200 connected to the first terminal, for example, resolution and dots per inch (Dots Per Inch, DPI) of the display of the second terminal 200.}; and creating the virtual display screen based on the target resolution {[0119] Certainly, in a multi-source projection system shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B, the display content in the screen container 1 may be the same as the display content in the screen container 2 (for example, both the display content in the screen container 1 and the display content in the screen container 2 are video pictures that are being played). Alternatively, the first terminal 100 may convert the display content in the screen container 1 into display content that matches the specification information of the second terminal 200, to store the display content in the screen container 2 (for example, adjust a resolution value of a picture A in the screen container 1 to a resolution value that matches the display of the second terminal 200, and store the converted picture A in the screen container 2).}.
As per claim 4 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 1, wherein in the controlling the virtual display screen to display the second display interface, the first processor 101 is configured for: obtaining terminal type information sent by the second terminal 200, and determining a landscape/portrait mode corresponding to the terminal type information; and displaying, based on the landscape/portrait mode, the second display interface on the virtual display screen { figure 4B & [0103] As one of motion sensors, an accelerometer sensor may detect a value of an acceleration in each direction (usually, in three axes), may detect a value and a direction of gravity when the sensor is stationary, and may be used in a posture identification application of the mobile phone (for example, screen switching between a landscape mode and a portrait mode, a related game, and magnetometer posture calibration), a function related to vibration identification (such as a pedometer or a knock), and the like.}.
As per claim 6 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 5, wherein in the displaying, on the floating window by using the floating window as the carrier, the second display interface that is displayed on the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for: determining a first screen identification corresponding to the virtual display screen, and determining a first storage identification corresponding to the first screen identification; and obtaining screen data from a first storage area corresponding to the first storage identification, and displaying on the floating window, based on the screen data, the second display interface that is displayed on the virtual display screen {figure 5A; [0117] Different display identifiers (Display ID) may be used to distinguish between the screen container 2 and the screen container 1. & [0197] The terminal may further include a storage module 1301, configured to store program code and data of the terminal.}
As per claim 7 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 4, wherein the first processor 101 is configured for: determining, based on the terminal type information, a target display interface from a plurality of second display interfaces; wherein the plurality of second display interfaces are pre-stored, and sizes of icons are different in the plurality of second display interfaces; and displaying the target display interface on the virtual display screen {figure 9-15}.
As per claim 9 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 6, wherein in the projecting to the second terminal 200 the second display interface corresponding to the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for: obtaining a projection instruction; determining, in response to the projection instruction carrying the first screen identification, the first storage identification corresponding to the first screen identification; and obtaining first screen recording data from the first storage area corresponding to the first storage identification, and projecting, to the second terminal 200 by sending the first screen recording data to the second terminal 200, the second display interface corresponding to the virtual display screen {figure 5A; [0117] Different display identifiers (Display ID) may be used to distinguish between the screen container 2 and the screen container 1. & [0197] The terminal may further include a storage module 1301, configured to store program code and data of the terminal.}.
As per claim 10 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 9, wherein in the projecting, to the second terminal 200 by sending the first screen recording data to the second terminal 200, the second display interface corresponding to the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for: obtaining, by encoding the first screen recording data, a video stream corresponding to the virtual display screen; and projecting, by sending the video stream to the second terminal 200, the second display interface to the second terminal 200 {figure 8}.
As per claim 16 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 1, wherein in the creating the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for: creating the virtual display screen in response to a screen creation operation acting on the first display screen 104-2 {figures 4A & 4B}; or in the creating the virtual display screen, the first processor 101 is configured for: receiving a screen creation instruction sent by the second terminal 200, and creating the virtual display screen based on the screen creation instruction.{figures 4A & 4B}
As per claim 20 Zhu et al discloses: A second terminal 200 configured for screen projection configured for screen projection, wherein the second terminal 200 {figure 1(b)} comprises a second processor and a second display screen, the second terminal 200 is communicatively connected to a first terminal 100, and the second processor is configured for: receiving a second display interface projected to the second terminal 200, and displaying the second display interface, wherein the second display interface is displayed on a virtual display screen {figure 4B}, the virtual display screen is created by a first processor 101 of the first terminal 100, the first processor 101 further generates a first display interface and controls a first display screen 104-2 to display the first display interface {figure 4B & [0115] As shown in FIG. 4A and FIG. 4B, when the first terminal projects an application installed on the first terminal onto the display of the second terminal through single-source display, the first terminal 100 stores generated to-be-displayed display content in a screen container of a memory before the first terminal 100 establishes the connection to the second terminal 200.}; the first display interface, the first processor creates a floating window, the floating window is a moveable window displayed in the first terminal and is configured to display the second display interface that is projected to the second terminal 200, and the second display interface that is displayed on the virtual display screen is displayed on the floating window by using the floating window as a carrier {figure 4B & [0091] In this embodiment of this application, to reduce a security risk of user privacy disclosure occurring when the second terminal 200 displays the display content of the first terminal 100, independent screen locking windows may be disposed on the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 200.}.
As per claim 22 Zhu et al discloses: The second terminal 200 configured for screen projection according to claim 20, wherein the second processor is configured for: sending to all potential first terminals 100 first address information corresponding to the second terminal 200, thereby receiving second address information and terminal identifications sent by all the potential first terminals 100; displaying the terminal identifications; and determining, in response to a selection operation acting on a terminal identification, a potential first terminal 100 corresponding to the selection operation as the first terminal 100, thereby creating a communication connection between the second terminal 200 and the first terminal 100 {figure 5A & [0117] Different display identifiers (Display ID) may be used to distinguish between the screen container 2 and the screen container 1.}.
As per claim 24 Zhu et al discloses: The second terminal 200 configured for screen projection according to claim 20, wherein after the displaying the second display interface, the second processor is configured for: sending, to the first terminal 100 in response to a touch control operation 104-1 {[0099] The touchscreen 104 may include a touchpad 104-1 and a display 104-2. The touchpad 104-1 may collect a touch event (for example, an operation performed by a user on or near the touchpad 104-1 by using any proper object such as a finger or a stylus) performed by the user of the mobile phone 300 on or near the touchpad 104-1, and send collected touch information to another component such as the processor 101} acting on the second display screen, touch control information corresponding to the touch control operation 104-1, thereby causing the first terminal 100 to control the virtual display screen based on the touch control information; wherein the touch control information comprises a touch control coordinate; in the sending to the first terminal 100 the touch control information corresponding to the touch control operation 104-1, the second processor is configured for: receiving a controlled screen resolution corresponding to the first display screen 104-2 sent by the first terminal 100; obtaining a screen conversion ratio by performing a calculation on a master controlling screen resolution and the controlled screen resolution, wherein the master controlling screen resolution corresponds to the second display screen {[0117] After the first terminal 100 establishes the connection to the second terminal 200, the first terminal 100 may identify related specification information of the display of the second terminal 200 connected to the first terminal, for example, resolution and dots per inch (Dots Per Inch, DPI) of the display of the second terminal 200.}; and obtaining a target coordinate by converting the touch control coordinate based on the screen conversion ratio, thereby sending the target coordinate to the first terminal 100 {[0119] Certainly, in a multi-source projection system shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B, the display content in the screen container 1 may be the same as the display content in the screen container 2 (for example, both the display content in the screen container 1 and the display content in the screen container 2 are video pictures that are being played). Alternatively, the first terminal 100 may convert the display content in the screen container 1 into display content that matches the specification information of the second terminal 200, to store the display content in the screen container 2 (for example, adjust a resolution value of a picture A in the screen container 1 to a resolution value that matches the display of the second terminal 200, and store the converted picture A in the screen container 2).}.
As per claim 46 Zhu et al discloses: A screen projection control method, applied to a first terminal 100, wherein the first terminal 100 comprises a first display screen 104-2, the first terminal 100 is communicatively connected to a second terminal 200, and the method comprises: generating a first display interface, and controlling the first display screen 104-2 to display the first display interface; creating a virtual display screen; creating a second display interface, and controlling the virtual display screen to display the second display interface; and projecting to the second terminal 200 the second display interface corresponding to the virtual display screen, thereby causing the second terminal 200 to display the second display interface {figures 4A & 4B}; wherein the controlling the virtual display screen to display the second display interface comprises: creating a floating window, wherein the floating window is a moveable window displayed in the first terminal 100, and is configured to display the second display interface that is projected to the second terminal 200; and displaying, on the floating window by using the floating window as a carrier, the second display interface that is displayed on the virtual display screen.{figure 4B & [0091] In this embodiment of this application, to reduce a security risk of user privacy disclosure occurring when the second terminal 200 displays the display content of the first terminal 100, independent screen locking windows may be disposed on the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 200.}.
As per claim 49 Zhu et al discloses: An electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured for storing an executable instruction of the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform, through executing the executable instruction, the screen projection control method according to claim 46. {figure 2}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (US 2020/0117350). As per claim 8 Zhu et al discloses: The first terminal 100 configured for screen projection according to claim 5, wherein after the second terminal 200 displays the second display interface, the first processor 101 is configured for: hiding/displaying the floating window in response to obtaining a hide/display instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen {figure 8};
Regarding claim 8 Zhu et al is silent as to: obtaining, in response to obtaining a move instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, movement information corresponding to the move instruction; and moving the floating window based on the movement information; or determining, in response to obtaining a zoom-in/zoom-out instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, an adjustment size corresponding to the zoom-in/zoom-out instruction; and adjusting window size information of the floating window based on the adjustment size. With respect to claim 8 Zhu et al: Official notice is taken of the fact that obtaining, in response to obtaining a move instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, movement information corresponding to the move instruction; and moving the floating window based on the movement information; or determining, in response to obtaining a zoom-in/zoom-out instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, an adjustment size corresponding to the zoom-in/zoom-out instruction; and adjusting window size information of the floating window based on the adjustment size is notoriously old and well known in the computer/mobile device art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to the first terminal of Zhu et al with obtaining, in response to obtaining a move instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, movement information corresponding to the move instruction; and moving the floating window based on the movement information; or determining, in response to obtaining a zoom-in/zoom-out instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, an adjustment size corresponding to the zoom-in/zoom-out instruction; and adjusting window size information of the floating window based on the adjustment size as taught in the art. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a first terminal with obtaining, in response to obtaining a move instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, movement information corresponding to the move instruction; and moving the floating window based on the movement information; or determining, in response to obtaining a zoom-in/zoom-out instruction corresponding to the virtual display screen, an adjustment size corresponding to the zoom-in/zoom-out instruction; and adjusting window size information of the floating window based on the adjustment size so as to provide a user friendly device able to access multiple applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts in the paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4 the following:
From the above description, Zhu’s screen locking window covers the current display interface, and is used for locking the screen to avoid user privacy disclosure. Since the screen locking window makes the terminal enter the screen-locked state, those skilled in the art understand that the screen locking window of Zhu needs to cover all the display interface and thus is fixed in the terminal and is not moveable. Furthermore, the screen locking window of Zhu only serves as a cover, and is used for covering the display interface that is projected to the second terminal to avoid user privacy disclosure. That is, the screen locking window of Zhu prevents the displaying of the display interface that is projected to the second terminal, rather than being configured for displaying in the first terminal the second display interface that is projected to the second terminal.
First, it seems that applicant is trying to define a computer window, to mean something other than the known and art recognized definition. That meaning is a graphical control element consisting of a visual area containing some of the graphical user interface of the program it belongs to and generally, has a rectangular shape that can overlap with the area of other windows, be sizable and move on and along a computer desktop. Second, it seems that applicant is ascribing more than the intended meaning to the phrase screen locking, which is clearly defined and disclosed in the specification of Zhu. In [0124] Zhu discloses:
For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the second terminal 200 is a desktop computer. When the second terminal 200 is in a screen-locked state, a screen locking button 21 may be disposed on a display interface of the second terminal 200, and the screen locking button 21 is for triggering locking of the screen of the second terminal.
So, screen locking in Zhu refers to toggle button 21 not that a window is something other than a movable and sizeable graphic interface. Therefore, contrary to applicant’s assertion the applied prior art discloses, as required by the claims, creating and displaying a floating window.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD