DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/710,911. Claims 1 and 8-10 are pending in the application.
The applicant’s amendment filed September 3, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 USC § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. In particular, the limitation “a through-thickness thermal conductivity of at least 4 W/mK,” which was added by amendment, is not supported by the specification. MPEP § 2163(II)(A)(3)(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dufaure et al (US 2011/0281051) in view of Nosker et al (US 2017/0218141).
Dufaure et al teaches a composite comprising a thermoplastic polymer matrix and expanded graphite (par. 49-50, 61). The expanded graphite has a surface area of 15-30 m2/g (par. 50). Expanded graphite is graphitic carbon. The polymer matrix includes polyphthalamide (par. 23).
The amount of graphite is 1-50 % by weight (par. 51). The graphite has a particle size of 20-500 µm (par. 16). The polymer includes polyphthalamide (par. 23). Polyphthalamide is an aromatic polymer.
The limitation regarding the method of measuring the surface area is a product by process type limitation. Product by process limitations are examined based upon the structure implied by the process. Since Dufaure et al teaches a surface area within the claimed range, the limitation regarding the method of measuring surface area is also satisfied.
Dufaure et al does not teach graphene.
However, Nosker et al teaches a composite comprising graphene and graphite in a thermoplastic polymer matrix (par. 8-9). Graphene reinforces the polymer matrix by inhibiting crack propagation and further provides conductivity (par. 6). The total amount of graphene and graphite is 10-50 % by weight, of which at least 50 % is graphene (par. 9). The resulting amount of graphene is about 5-50 % by weight.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the graphene of Nosker et al with the polymer composite of Dufaure et al in order to obtain protection against crack propagation and additional conductivity.
Dufaure et al does not teach the thermal conductivity of a composite comprising both graphite and graphene. However, the combination of teachings from Dufaure et al and Nosker et al have rendered obvious the instantly claimed composite including all ingredients and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed thermal conductivity to naturally arise.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dufaure et al in view of Nosker et al and Chandrasekhar et al (US 2011/0040007).
Dufaure et al in view of Nosker et al teaches expanded graphite as discussed above. Dufaure et al in view of Nosker et al does not teach the thickness of the graphite.
However, Chandrasekhar et al teaches expanded graphite having a thickness of less than 0.1 µm (100 nm)(par. 48). The expanded graphite provides thermal conductivity (par. 48).
Dufaure et al is silent regarding the thickness of the expanded graphite. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the graphite thickness of Chandrasekhar et al with the graphite of Dufaure et al in view of Nosker et al in order to obtain a thickness which is suitable for providing thermal conductivity.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the invention provides an unexpected benefit of higher thermal conductivity.
However, the claims are not deemed patentable over the references of record because they are not commensurate in scope with the probative value of data in the examples. There appears to be only one example within the claimed range (Table 2, Ex. 2). See In re Clemens, 206 USPQ 289 (CCPA 1980).
Dufaure et al does not teach the thermal conductivity of a composite comprising both graphite and graphene. However, the combination of teachings from Dufaure et al and Nosker et al have rendered obvious the instantly claimed composite including all ingredients and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that a person of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed thermal conductivity to naturally arise.
Examiner’s Information