DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/16/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 05/16/2024 is acknowledged and has been approved for entry by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 67 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains an obvious typo where the claim is dependent to a cancelled claim 48. The examiner suggests amending the claim to recite dependency to claim 49. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-55, 57-58, 60-62, 64-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2021/0357555 A1), in view of Mark et al. (EP 3221128 B1).
Regarding claims 49-50, Liu discloses a non-transitory tangible computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause a system to perform the above-disclosed method for design optimization and/or performance prediction of a material system. This to include tow laminate composite models, see at least [0043], [0064] – (construed as a computer-implemented method for forming a fiber-reinforced composite device comprising one or more fiber-comprising tows having a tow width). The method to include generating a representation of the anisotropic elastic material system computed from boundary conditions, the tow to include multiple layers, see at least [0010], [0582], [0932], [1009] – (construed as forming a first preform model comprising one or more anisotropic tow layup portions including one or more fiber-comprising tows, and one or more isotropic material paths in the prolongation of one or more of the fiber-comprising tows). The method to further include geometric structural descriptors as build process parameters, see at least [0029], [0146] – (construed as receiving one or more mold geometrical components); and a forming of a voxel mesh using displacement vectors, see at least [0529] – (construed as receiving one or more molding force vector parameters; and forming an intermediate device model by deforming the first preform model against the one or more mold geometrical components using the one or more molding force vector parameters). Wherein once the displacement vector is formed the mesh (of the composite) is deformed by adding displacements to nodes coordinates, see at least [0530] – (the deformed mesh is construed as forming a second preform model by adjusting the first preform model by forming a tow layup adjustment vector comprising one or more vectors (V 1. .N) extending from one or more tows of the first preform model to one or more tows of the second preform model as a function of one or more position transformation vectors (U 1. .N) extending from one or more tows of the first preform model to one or more tows the intermediate device model).
Liu does not explicitly disclose adjusting including arranging, along a longitudinal axis of the tow, gaps separating one or more tows by cutting one or more of the tows into a first tow and a second tow, adjusting the length of one or more of the first tows and the second tows, forming a gap along the longitudinal axis, and arranging one or more reservoirs and void regions, the forming including manufacturing a physical embodiment of the second preform model by: transmitting the second preform model to one or more systems to form for applying an elongate fiber tow onto an object surface; depositing the one or more fiber-comprising tows with the one or more systems for applying an elongate fiber tow; and forming the one or more reservoirs comprising the isotropic material.
Mark discloses a machine implemented method for generating three-dimensional toolpath instructions to include forming of one or more prepregs, see at least [0020], [0067] – (construed as fiber-comprising tows having a tow width). The method to include toolpath strategies to distribute gaps to limit propagation of cracks or other modes of failure. And by example, in at least FIGS 15A-B, 19I, gaps separate reinforcement members. In FIG 15, the bottommost L-shaped member is construed as a first tow and topmost L-shaped member is construed as a second tow. Likewise, in FIG 19I the leftmost reinforcement member is construed as a first tow and rightmost reinforcing member is construed as a second tow. Their extrudate paths being adjusted to have along the longitudinal axis of the tow, gaps separating the tows. Mark further discloses, for each of a set of shells or layers defining a portion of a 3D printed part, first isotropic fill tool paths may be generated for controlling an isotropic solidifying head to solidify, along the isotropic fill tool paths, a substantially isotropic fill material, see [0005]. And where the fill material is used to fill the gaps, see at least [0222] - (in this instance it is considered, the gaps act as reservoirs for the isotropic fill material and thusly corresponds to forming the reservoir comprises depositing a path comprising the isotropic material with a fused deposition manufacturing system, the reservoir having a dimension in a first direction (X) and a second direction (Y) of at least one tow width.).
Thus, one of ordinary skill would readily envision having a process where: “adjusting including arranging, along a longitudinal axis of the tow, gaps separating one or more tows by cutting one or more of the tows into a first tow and a second tow, adjusting the length of one or more of the first tows and the second tows, forming a gap along the longitudinal axis, and arranging one or more reservoirs and void regions, the forming including manufacturing a physical embodiment of the second preform model by: transmitting the second preform model to one or more systems to form for applying an elongate fiber tow onto an object surface; depositing the one or more fiber-comprising tows with the one or more systems for applying an elongate fiber tow; and forming the one or more reservoirs comprising the isotropic material”. And would have good reason to form the aforementioned processing steps, as Mark suggests forming one or more tows having gaps within the reinforcing members limits the propagation of cracks and provides for beneficial stacking of complementary patterns, see [0203], [0217].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s method as claimed and reasonably suggested by Mark to provide the method with the aforementioned benefits.
Regarding claim 51, as previously discussed, modified Liu discloses forming the gap/reservoir being filled with isotropic fill material, see the rejection of claim 49. And further includes the use of a fused deposition modelling FDM deposition head, the deposition head being configured to translate and rotate for applying the material of the elongate fiber tow, see Mark [0040] – (construed as depositing the fiber-comprising tows and the forming the reservoirs comprises one or more of translating and rotating a deposition head of the system for applying an elongate fiber tow).
Regarding claim 52, modified Liu discloses the controlling deposition operations include setting rules for groups of layers such as previously existing groups. That is, deposition over an existing prepreg group, see Mark [0121] – [0122] – (construed as receiving at least a portion of a layup of one or more target fiber-reinforced composite device comprising one or more tow).
Regarding claims 53-54, modified Liu discloses the method includes using real-time responses for design optimization and/or performance prediction of the material system; and to have the modeling method to capture data on length and time scales, see Liu [0052], [0264] – (construed as receiving one or more tow trajectory specification joining one or more tow of the first preform model to one or more tow of a target fiber-reinforced composite device and wherein the forming the tow layup adjustment vector further comprises adjusting the tow layup vector as a function of the position of one or more tows of the target fiber-reinforced composite device; and wherein one or more of the molding force vector parameter has a norm that decreases over a portion of a time wherein the force is applied).
Regarding claim 55, modified Liu discloses the tow design includes alternating the material such that adjacent materials are different. This includes forming “sandwich” panels to increase moment of inertia about the entire surface of the part, see Mark [0034], FIGS 19H-J – (construed as the first preform model comprises a portion comprising a sandwich wherein at least a first layup of an isotropic material is sandwiched between at least a first layup comprising an anisotropic material and a second layup comprising an anisotropic material.).
Regarding claims 57-58, as previously discussed, modified Liu discloses the first preform model includes the use of gaps, see the rejection of claim 49 – (corresponds with void region and thus is construed as adjusting the first preform model comprises forming one or more void region); and adjusting the first preform model comprises: cutting one or more tow into a first tow and a second tow; forming a gap along the longitudinal axis separating the first tow from the second tow; and filling the gap with an isotropic material, see the rejection of claim 49 and Mark FIG. 19I.
Regarding claim 60, modified Liu discloses for a surface interaction test, the most important parameter is the surface temperature because it affects the viscosity of the resin in the composite, see Liu [1009]. Thus, one as a matter of routine experimentation seek to optimize the surface interaction of the composite with respect to temperature and viscosity. It be considered the claimed: “deforming the first preform model further comprises: measuring the temperature of the one or more mold geometrical components at one or more temperature sensor positions that are spatially distant from the one or more temperature adjusting positions; estimating one or more viscosity values at one or more positions within one or more of the first preform model; and adjusting a temperature at one or more temperature adjusting positions at a surface of the one or more mold geometrical components, wherein each of the one or more temperature adjusting positions has a spatial position and a spatial extent within the volume of the one or more mold geometrical component” would be met. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Liu’s method to further include the aforementioned claim limitations as not only does Lui contemplate such functionality. But provides a reasonable pathway to using a measured temperature to arrive at a desirable viscosity.
Regarding claim 61, modified Liu discloses a volume infill generation rule may be applied defining second isotropic fill tool paths for controlling the isotropic solidifying head to solidify the substantially isotropic fill material as a volume infill of the part, see Mark [0010] – (construed as deforming the first preform model further comprises adding a volume of fluid comprising a thermoplastic resin into the volume enclosed within the one or more mold geometrical component).
Regarding claim 62, modified Liu discloses forming the tow to have different spacing amongst adjacent tow layers, see at least Mark FIG. 19H-J – (construed as the first preform model comprises, in a sequential arrangement comprising three or more parallel tows, adjusting a first spacing between a first tow and a second tow adjacent to the first tow so that the first spacing is different from a second spacing between the second tow and a third tow adjacent to the second tow).
Regarding claim 64, modified Liu discloses forming a particular shape wherein in cross-section, the height of the composite swaths corresponds to the fill material layer height. This being suitable for enabling tightly packed build-up in the vertical direction. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Liu as claimed since: Mark reasonably suggests such an embodiment is suitable for allowing tightly packed fill layers in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 65, modified Liu discloses one of the data structures most amenable to division into layers for additive manufacturing is the surface mesh of cells or polygons having edges, faces and vertices stored as a geometry file, see Mark [0075]; and where fill material is deposited so that the outer surfaces of the part are formed, see Mark [0244] – (construed as adjusting the first preform model comprises forming one or more resin layer against one or more surface of the first preform model).
Regarding claim 66, modified Liu discloses collecting data of response fields of the material volume of the elements computed from a material model of the material system over a predefined set of material properties and boundary conditions; applying machine learning to the collected data of response fields to generate clusters that minimize a distance between points in a nominal response space within each cluster; computing an interaction tensor of interactions of each cluster with each of the other clusters. This being usable for the design optimization and/or performance prediction of the material system, see Liu [0010]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Liu as claimed since: Liu reasonably suggests such an embodiment is suitable for optimizing the design and/or performance prediction of the material system.
Regarding claims 67-68, modified Liu discloses a non-transitory tangible computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause a system to perform the above-disclosed method for design optimization and/or performance prediction of a material system, see Liu [0043] – (construed as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having collectively stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computer system, cause the computer system to at least form a fiber-reinforced composite device).This to further include having one or more processors to cause a system to perform design optimization and/or performance prediction of a material system. The system to have one or more deposition nozzles – (construed as deposition feet), see Liu [0043], Mark [0002] – (construed as a system for applying an elongate fiber tow onto an object surface, the system comprising: one or more processors; one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions to form a fiber-reinforced composite device; and one or more filament deposition feet).
Claims 56, 59, 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2021/0357555 A1), in view of Mark et al. (EP 3221128 B1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Luijten et al. (WO 2021176404A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 56, 59, as previously discussed modified Liu discloses adjusting the first preform model, for one or more tow of the anisotropic tow layup portions, see rejection of claim 49; but does not explicitly disclose the adjusting comprises one or more of: measuring one or more distance separating the tow from an external contour of one or more of the first preform model and the second preform model; measuring, in one or more direction with respect to a local direction along the longitudinal axis of the tow in the first preform model, one or more of a mold surface derivative and a mold surface radius of curvature.
Luijtens discloses a computer-implemented method for manufacturing elongate fiber tow models. The method to include forming of one or more path comprising one or more elongate fiber tow model comprises a path extremity longitudinal distance from a surface-based component's contour, see [0010], [0021], [0035] – (construed as the adjusting comprises one or more of: measuring one or more distance separating the tow from an external contour of one or more of the first preform model and the second preform model). Luijtens further discloses the simulating step comprises deforming one or more of the one or more surface-based components in one or more three-dimensional direction at one or more surface location. For example, the simulating step comprises forming instructions to adjust a computer-controlled compression molding process – (construed as the deforming the first preform model against the one or more mold geometrical component comprises a plurality of deforming steps further comprising adjusting the geometric contour of the one or more mold geometrical component in one or more of the steps of the plurality of deforming steps). Luijtens suggests such a method contributes to an improved and diversified fiber layout patterning capability, see [0003]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Liu’s method as claimed and reasonably suggested by Luijtens to provide a means for improved and diversified fiber layout patterning capability as suggested by Luijtens.
Regarding claim 63, Luijtens further discloses forming of one or more path comprising one or more elongate fiber tow model comprises forming one or more dimensional value of tow-free space enclosed by one or more path. The one or more dimensional value of tow-free space is estimated, for example using a computation on a processor, in 2 or 3 spatial dimensions. This being suitable for ascertaining whether a threshold value has been deviated from, see [0020]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Liu as claimed since: Luijtens reasonably suggests doing so and such an embodiment provides a means for correcting a dimensional value of the tow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749