DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, 13-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as
being anticipated by Lepper et al. (US 2020/0263811 hereinafter "Lepper").
In regards to claim 1, Lepper discloses a pass through assembly confirmation quick
connector (see figs. 19-35), comprising:
a pass through tube (104) having a cylindrical outer surface;
a tubular locking ring (102) disposable on the outer surface of the pass through tube;
a twist-lock mount (187, 171) releasably connecting the pass through tube and the
locking ring, wherein twisting the locking ring relative to the pass through tube moves the
locking ring between an unlocked position and a locked position; and
a confirmation ring (108) releasably connected to the locking ring, the confirmation ring
securing the locking ring in the locked position (see paragraphs [0093-0096]).
In regards to claim 2, Lepper further discloses the twist-lock mount includes at least one
locking member (187) projecting from the outer surface of the pass through tube, and at least one
female receptor (171) disposed on an inner surface of the locking ring, each female receptor
corresponding to one of the at least one locking member, and each locking member being
received in its corresponding female receptor (shown in fig. 34).
In regards to claim 3, Lepper further discloses each female receptor includes an inlet
slot (171) and a ramp (168) adjacent the slot.
In regards to claim 7, Lepper further discloses the confirmation ring includes opposite
first and second surfaces, an inner edge, and an outer edge, the first surface including a pair of
circumferentially opposed clips (122) along the outer edge and extending in an axial direction
away from the first surface.
In regards to claim 9, Lepper further discloses the confirmation ring includes a pair of
circumferentially opposed verification tabs (138) along the outer edge and extending in an axial
direction away from the first surface.
In regards to claim 10, Lepper further discloses the locking ring includes two
circumferentially opposed tab receivers (160), the verification tabs of the confirmation ring being
insertable into the tab receivers of the locking ring.
In regards to claim 11, Lepper further discloses the confirmation ring includes a pair of
circumferentially opposed stop tabs (126) along the inner edge and extending in an axial
direction away from the first surface.
In regards to claim 13, Lepper further discloses the confirmation ring is disk-shaped
(shown in fig. 20).
In regards to claim 14, Lepper further discloses the pass through tube includes an
annular flange (184) extending radially from the cylindrical outer surface, and a sealing ring
(161) is adjacent the annular flange.
In regards to claim 15, Lepper further discloses a cooperative indication surface (172,
144) partly formed on the locking ring and partly formed on the confirmation ring, wherein the
part of the indication surface on the locking ring is adjacent to and aligned with the part of the
indication surface on the confirmation ring when the confirmation ring is connected to the
locking ring (shown in fig. 34).
In regards to claim 17, Lepper discloses a pass through assembly, comprising:
the pass through assembly confirmation quick connector of claim 1 (see above);
a surface member (106) having first and second sides and including an opening (124)
sized to receive the pass through tube;
the pass through tube being inserted into the opening (shown in fig. 19);
the locking ring being disposed on the pass through tube in the unlocked position,
wherein twisting the locking ring moves the locking ring to the locked position and draws the
locking ring against the first side of the surface member and simultaneously urges a portion of
the pass through tube against the second side of the surface member (shown in fig. 19); and
the confirmation ring being connected to the locking ring to secure the locking ring in the
locked position (shown in fig. 19).
In regards to claim 18, Lepper further discloses the surface member is one or more of a
housing wall, a boundary wall, and a mounting plate (shown in fig. 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepper as
applied to claim 2 above.
In regards to claims 4 and 5, Lepper discloses the connector of claim 2 but does not
disclose two pairs of said locking members and two pairs of said female receptors; wherein one
pair of locking members is circumferentially offset 90 degrees from the other pair of locking
members, and the one pair of locking members is spaced from the other pair of locking members
in an axial direction of the pass through tube; wherein one pair of female receptors is
circumferentially offset 90 degrees from the other pair of female receptors.
However, providing additional three identical locking members and female receptors
each spaced ninety degrees from another is no more than duplication of working parts which has
been held to be a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124
USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Accordingly, it would have been no more than an obvious matter of engineering design
choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide three identical
locking members and female receptors each spaced 90 degrees from another in order to ensure
proper alignment, producing no new and unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claims 6, 8, 12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but
would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base
claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lepper dies bit disclose a confirmation ring that is releasably connected to the locking ring and that secures the locking ring in the locked position (see remarks page 11). The examiner disagrees. Paragraph [0093] of Lepper states “The locking wedge 146 includes a planar surface 147 that extends radially and may define a stop to prevent unwanted unfastening between the grommet 108 and the lock ring 110 (e.g., rotation in a counterclockwise direction) (emphasis added)”. Further, paragraph [0096] states “ In general, the lock ring 110 may be selectively fastened to the grommet 108, for example, to form a secondary seal in addition to the primary seal 148” (emphasis added). Therefore, the confirmation ring is releasably connected to the locking ring and secures it in the locked position and the limitation has been met.
Applicant argues that Lepper does not disclose “twisting the locking ring relative to the pass-through tube moves the locking ring between an unlocked position and a locked position” (see remarks page 11). The examiner disagrees. The lock ring “110” can be rotated relative to the until the tube until the alignment features align and the ring is then further rotated until it reaches the locked position. Thus, the limitation has been met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 06/05/2026