Application Status
Claims 1, 5-7, 14-17, 21-25, 27, and 32-33 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Power of Attorney
It is noted that a Power of Attorney is not on record for the instant application. The Applicant is encouraged to file a Power of Attorney in the event that the Examiner needs to communicate with an authorized representative for the Applicant during the prosecution of the case.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited on the information disclosure statements were considered and have been made of record to the extent that each was provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites dependency from claim 4, but claim has been cancelled. Therefore, the claim is indefinite as the limitations of the claim cannot be determined. As claim 6, depends from claim 5 it is also included in this rejection.
For the purpose of compact prosecution claim 5 will be examined as depending from claim 1.
Claim 7 recites a measurement from baseline of the centralized pain by b. generalized pain score. The instant specification discloses that as used herein, the term "generalized pain score" refers to any score or value that represents pain not limited to any specific part of the body (para 0050). The instant specification further discloses that in some embodiments the generalized pain score is determined from a score from one or more questions from the Short Form Health Survey (SF-36) and that in some embodiments, the generalized pain score is an EQ-5D-5L item 4 (pain/discomfort) score (para 0006). Claim 7 also recites that the efficacy can be measured by a change in baseline based on the SF-36 (options c-e) and the EQ-5D-5L (options (f-g). This renders the limitations of the claim indefinite because it is unclear to the ordinary artisan what the intended definition for a “generalized pain score” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16, 17, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacDonald (U.S. Patent No. 7,988,967 B2) as evidenced by Hassaballa (NeuroRehabilitation. 2020;47(3):285-297; PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 17, 32, and 34, MacDonald teaches a method of treating pain associated with an NGF-related condition or disease wherein said pain is inhibited, ameliorated, or reduced by inhibition of NGF, comprising administering an isolated human antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof which specifically binds human nerve growth factor (NGF), wherein the antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises a.) a heavy chain CDR1 (HCDR1) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 86, a heavy chain CDR2 (HCDR2) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 88, and a heavy chain CDR3 (HCDR3) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 90; and b.) a light chain CDR1 (LCDR1) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 94; a light chain CDR2 (LCDR2) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 96, and a light chain CDR3 (LCDR3) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 98 (claim 12), wherein the NGF-related condition or disease is selected from the group consisting of inflammatory pain, post-operative incision pain, neuropathic pain, fracture pain, gout joint pain, post-herpetic neuralgia, pain resulting from burns, cancer pain, osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis pain, sciatica, and pains associated with sickle cell crises (claim 14).
MacDonald further teaches an isolated human antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that specifically binds human nerve growth factor (NGF), wherein the antibody comprises the three heavy chain CDRs (HCDR1, HCDR2 and HCDR3) contained within any one of the HCVR sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 100 and 108; and the three light chain CDRs (LCDR1, LCDR2 and LCDR3) contained within any one of the LCVR sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 92, 102 and 110 (claims 1-11), SEQ ID NO: 108 and 110 contain CDR SEQ ID NO: 86, 88, 90, 94, 96, and 98 have 100% sequence identity to the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 and 10 respectively.
As evidenced by Hassaballa, central pain is a form of neuropathic pain (intro para 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 15, 21-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacDonald (U.S. Patent No. 7,988,967 B2; IDS entered 12/29/2025) as evidenced by Hassaballa (NeuroRehabilitation. 2020;47(3):285-297; PTO-892) as applied to claims 1, 16, 17, 32, and 34 above and further in view of Kösehasanoğullari (Arch Rheumatol. 2018 Nov 30;34(2):196-203; PTO-892) and Wolfe (Semin Arthritis Rheum. 2016 Dec;46(3):319-329;
The teachings of MacDonald regarding claims 1, 16, 17, 32, and 34 are detailed above.
MacDonald does not teach wherein the subject is suffering from fibromyalgia;
Regarding claims 15 and 24, Kösehasanoğullari teaches that the scores of neuropathic pain scales such as painDETECT and LANSS were significantly elevated in the fibromyalgia patients compared to the control group, and these findings suggest that FMS may have a neuropathic pain component (abstract/ conclusion). Kösehasanoğullari teaches further teaches that the opinion that FMS is a neuropathic pain syndrome is supported by the benefits seen in FMS patients with therapies used for the treatment of neuropathic pain syndrome (intro para 1).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 21-22, Wolfe teaches that the fibromyalgia criteria have good sensitivity and specificity (abstract/ conclusion) and that the 2011 criteria also introduced a fibromyalgia severity (FS) score—the sum of the WPI and SSS—which permitted a quantitative measurement of the severity of fibromyalgia symptoms (page 320, col 2, para 3). Wolfe further teaches that the 2010/2011 criteria discriminate based on the levels of WPI and SSS but can easily and appropriately be modeled by the 0–31 FS score and that by criteria definition, it is impossible to satisfy the 2010/2011 criteria with an FS score < 12 (page 320, col 2, para 4). Wolfe further teaches that the mean and median FS scores were 18.7 and 19.1 among positive ACR and clinical cases and were 8.5 and 8.2 among controls (page 324, col 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 7, Wolfe teaches the 2010/2011 criteria led to misclassification when applied to regional pain syndromes, but when a modified widespread pain criterion (the “generalized pain criterion”) was added misclassification was eliminated (abstract/ results).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to treat fibromyalgia that has been classified by FS score as taught by Kösehasanoğullari and Wolfe in the method of treating neuropathic pain with an anti-NGF antibody as taught by MacDonald. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to do so because Kösehasanoğullari teaches that fibromyalgia can be considered a neuropathic pain syndrome and that patients with fibromyalgia benefit from neuropathic pain therapies. It would be further obvious to use an FS score above 9 at baseline as Wolfe teaches that control subjects were below this threshold, and further that it is impossible to get a diagnosis of fibromyalgia by the 2011 criteria with a score below 12 so that a baseline score of 13 guarantees the patient has diagnostically confirmed fibromyalgia as assessed by quantitative measurement. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to reduce centralized pain in a subject with fibromyalgia by administering fasinumab.
Claims 1, 14, 16-17, 23, 25, 27, and 32-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geba (US 2020/0048337 A1; IDS entered 12/29/2025) and Sánchez-Robles (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2021, 22: 10325; PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1 and 16-17, Geba teaches a method for treating a subject having pain in the knee joint or the hip joint, wherein the subject is non-responsive to analgesic treatment or is intolerant to the analgesic treatment, comprising: administering a pharmaceutical composition to the subject, wherein the composition comprises a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-nerve growth factor (NGF) antibody that binds specifically to NGF or an antigen binding fragment thereof; and the method reduces pain in the knee joint or the hip joint of the subject (claim 1), wherein the anti-NGF antibody or the antigen binding fragment thereof comprises a heavy chain variable region (HCVR)/light chain variable region (LCVR) amino acid sequence pair of SEQ ID NOs: 2/10 (claim 6), wherein the pain is the result of the subject having osteoarthritis (claim 22). SEQ ID NO: 2 and 10 have 100% sequence identity to the instant claimed same SEQ ID NO.
Regarding claim 14 and 23, Geba teaches that in the adult, NGF is a pain mediator that sensitizes neurons and is not required as a survival factor but has a role in the development and survival of both peripheral and central neurons during the developing nervous system has been well characterized (para 0004).
Regarding claim 25, Geba teaches wherein the subject is diagnosed with moderate-to-severe pain in the index joint in the knee and/or hip, defined as a Western Ontario and McMaster-Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) pain subscale score of ≥4 (claim 3).
Regarding claim 27 and 33, Geba teaches wherein the composition is administered to the patient at a frequency of about every 4 weeks (Q4W), or every 8 weeks (Q8W) (claim 8). Geba further teaches a method of treating a subject having pain in the knee joint or the hip joint, comprising: diagnosing the patient as non-responsive to analgesic treatment or as suffering from a side-effect from analgesic treatment; and administering to the patient a pharmaceutical composition comprising 1.0 mg of an anti-nerve growth factor (NGF) antibody that binds specifically to NGF or an antigen binding fragment thereof; whereby the pharmaceutical composition reduces pain in the knee joint or the hip joint of the subject and wherein the occurrence of one or more adverse events in the patient is reduced relative to patients treated with higher doses of the NGF antibody (claims 21 and 23).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, Geba teaches wherein antibody is fasinumab (claim 9).
Geba does not teach the subject has centralized pain.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Sánchez-Robles teaches that peripheral and central sensitization are known to play an important role in osteoarthritis (OA) pain, and the OA population is likely to be a heterogeneous mix of pain states (section 3, para 1). Sánchez-Robles further teaches that NGF has been implicated in the pathogenesis of OA pain due its ability to facilitate peripheral and central sensitization (section 3, para 3). Sánchez-Robles further teaches that fasinumab has demonstrated efficacy in clinical trials in individuals with painful OA and low back pain by decreasing pain and improving physical function (section 3.2; table 3).
Regarding claim 25, Sánchez-Robles teaches that the endpoints of the clinical studies used WOMAC, physical function and PGA-OA (section 3.2, first para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a patient with centralized pain from advanced OA as taught by Sánchez-Robles with the method of administering fasinumab to an OA patient as taught by Geba. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sánchez-Robles teaches that peripheral and central sensitization are known to play an important role in osteoarthritis (OA) pain, and the OA population is likely to be a heterogeneous mix of pain states and further that NGF is implicated in this process. Sánchez-Robles further teaches that fasinumab has demonstrated clinical efficacy in individuals with painful OA. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to reduce centralized pain in a patient with OA with the anti-NGF antibody fasinumab.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16, 17, 32, and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 7,988,967 B2 as evidenced by Hassaballa (NeuroRehabilitation, 2020, 47(3):285-297; PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1, 16, 17, 32, and 34, the patented claims teach a method of treating pain associated with an NGF-related condition or disease wherein said pain is inhibited, ameliorated, or reduced by inhibition of NGF, comprising administering an isolated human antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof which specifically binds human nerve growth factor (NGF), wherein the antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises a.) a heavy chain CDR1 (HCDR1) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 86, a heavy chain CDR2 (HCDR2) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 88, and a heavy chain CDR3 (HCDR3) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 90; and b.) a light chain CDR1 (LCDR1) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 94; a light chain CDR2 (LCDR2) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 96, and a light chain CDR3 (LCDR3) domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 98 (claim 12), wherein the NGF-related condition or disease is selected from the group consisting of inflammatory pain, post-operative incision pain, neuropathic pain, fracture pain, gout joint pain, post-herpetic neuralgia, pain resulting from burns, cancer pain, osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis pain, sciatica, and pains associated with sickle cell crises (claim 14).
The patented claims further teach an isolated human antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that specifically binds human nerve growth factor (NGF), wherein the antibody comprises the three heavy chain CDRs (HCDR1, HCDR2 and HCDR3) contained within any one of the HCVR sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 100 and 108; and the three light chain CDRs (LCDR1, LCDR2 and LCDR3) contained within any one of the LCVR sequences selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 92, 102 and 110 (claims 1-11), SEQ ID NO: 108 and 110 contain CDR SEQ ID NO: 86, 88, 90, 94, 96, and 98 have 100% sequence identity to the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 and 10 respectively.
As evidenced by Hassaballa, central pain is a form of neuropathic pain (intro para 1).
Claims 1, 16-17, 25, 27, and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,472,870 B2 in view of Sánchez-Robles (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2021, 22: 10325; PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1, 16-17, 27, and 32-34, the patented claims teach a method of reducing pain, or for improving physical function of a knee joint or a hip joint in a patient suffering from osteoarthritis while avoiding the risk of development of an arthropathy associated with treatment with an anti-nerve growth factor (NGF) antibody, or an antigen-binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to NGF, the method comprising: diagnosing the patient as non-responsive to analgesic treatment or as suffering from a side-effect from analgesic treatment or as having a prior history of opioid addiction; and
administering to the patient a pharmaceutical composition comprising 1.0 mg of an anti-nerve growth factor (NGF) antibody or an antigen binding fragment thereof that binds specifically to NGF wherein the administering is at intervals of every eight weeks;
whereby the pharmaceutical composition reduces pain, or improves physical function in the patient and wherein the occurrence of one or more adverse events in the patient, including development of arthropathy, is reduced relative to patients treated with higher doses of the NGF antibody; wherein the anti-NGF antibody or the antigen binding fragment thereof comprises a heavy chain variable region (HCVR)/light chain variable region (LCVR) amino acid sequence pair of SEQ ID NOs: 2/10, wherein the subject has a Kellgren-Lawrence [K-L] grading of ≥2 on a scale of 0-4, prior to initiation of the treatment (claim 1).
The patented claims do not teach the subject has centralized pain.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Sánchez-Robles teaches that peripheral and central sensitization are known to play an important role in osteoarthritis (OA) pain, and the OA population is likely to be a heterogeneous mix of pain states (section 3, para 1). Sánchez-Robles further teaches that NGF has been implicated in the pathogenesis of OA pain due its ability to facilitate peripheral and central sensitization (section 3, para 3). Sánchez-Robles further teaches that fasinumab has demonstrated efficacy in clinical trials in individuals with painful OA and low back pain by decreasing pain and improving physical function (section 3.2; table 3).
Regarding claim 25, Sánchez-Robles teaches that the endpoints of the clinical studies used WOMAC, physical function and PGA-OA (section 3.2, first para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a patient with centralized pain from advanced OA as taught by Sánchez-Robles with the method of administering fasinumab to an OA patient as taught by the patented claims. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sánchez-Robles teaches that peripheral and central sensitization are known to play an important role in osteoarthritis (OA) pain, and the OA population is likely to be a heterogeneous mix of pain states and further that NGF is implicated in this process. Sánchez-Robles further teaches that fasinumab has demonstrated clinical efficacy in individuals with painful OA. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to reduce centralized pain in a patient with OA with the anti-NGF antibody fasinumab.
Claims 1, 16, 25, 27, and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-20, 24-25, and 27-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,804 B2 as evidenced by Hassaballa (NeuroRehabilitation. 2020;47(3):285-297; PTO-892) in view of Dakin (Arthritis & Rheumatology, 2019, 71(11): 1824-34; IDS entered 12/29/2025).
Regarding claims 1 and 32, the patented claims teach a method of treating pain associated with a human nerve growth factor (NGF)-related condition or disease wherein the pain is inhibited, ameliorated, or reduced by inhibition of NGF, comprising: injecting a subject suffering from pain with an injectable formulation, comprising: a polysorbate; a diluent; and 0.01 to 20 mg/kg body weight of the subject of a human antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that specifically binds human nerve growth factor (NGF), comprising: a) a heavy chain variable region (HCVR) of SEQ ID NO: 24; and b) a light chain variable region (LCVR) of SEQ ID NO:26 (claims 17, 1-4, 7-16, 24), wherein the NGF-related condition or disease is selected from the group consisting of inflammatory pain, post-operative incision pain, neuropathic pain, fracture pain, gout joint pain, post-herpetic neuralgia, pain resulting from burns, cancer pain, osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis pain, sciatica, and pains associated with sickle cell crises (claim 20). SEQ ID NO: 24 and 26 have 100% sequence identity to the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 and 10 respectively.
As evidenced by Hassaballa, central pain is a form of neuropathic pain (intro para 1).
Regarding claim 16, the patented claims teach a method for treating osteoarthritis in a human subject in need thereof, comprising: administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-human nerve growth factor (NGF) antibody, or antigen-binding fragment thereof, wherein at least one symptom associated with osteoarthritis is prevented, ameliorated or improved, wherein the antibody or antigen-binding fragment comprises: a) a heavy chain variable region (HCVR) of SEQ ID NO: 24; and b) a light chain variable region (LCVR) of SEQ ID NO: 26 (claim 28). SEQ ID NO: 24 and 26 have 100% sequence identity to the instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 and 10 respectively.
Regarding claim 27, the patented claims teach wherein the pain associated with the NGF-related condition or disease is inhibited without significant impairment of motor coordination, and wherein human antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is injected in an amount of 1 mg (claims 18-19, 25, 27)
The patented claims do not teach administration every 4 weeks or evaluation of pain reduction or physical improvement using a particular system as recited in claim 25.
Regarding claims 25 and 27, Dakin teaches administration of fasinumab every 4 weeks with efficacy and end points measured by change from baseline in scores of WOMAC and PGA (abstract/ methods) which provided improvements in OA pain and function even in patients with little benefit from other analgesics (abstract/ conclusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat use the dosing timing and clinical evaluation system as taught by Dakin in the method of treating a patient with centralized neuropathic pain by administering an anti-NGF antibody as taught by the patented claims and evidenced by Hassaballa. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because that patented claims and Dakin are both drawn to treatment of osteoarthritis with fasinumab. Dakin teaches improvements in OA pain and function with treatment every 4 weeks at 1 mg of fasinumab which is the same dose with the same antibody and goal as the patented claims. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to reduce centralized pain caused by neuropathic pain in a patient with OA with the anti-NGF antibody fasinumab administered every 4 weeks at 1 mg.
Claims 1, 7, 17, 25, 27, and 32-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-10, 31-32, 34, and 36-38 of copending Application No. 18/307,309 in view of Sánchez-Robles (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2021, 22: 10325; PTO-892).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, the copending claims teach a method for treating or reducing pain associated with osteoarthritis of the knee and/or hip in a subject with lower risk for adjudicated arthropathy, destructive arthropathy, or joint replacement surgery, the method comprising: (a) selecting a subject having osteoarthritis of the knee or hip, wherein the subject to be treated has no more than 2 large joints that exhibit osteoarthritis, wherein the large joints are selected from the group consisting of knee joint, hip joint, and shoulder joint; (b) administering to the subject one or more doses of an anti-NGF antibody or antigenbinding fragment thereof; (c) determining whether the subject is a candidate for continued treatment with the antiNGF antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, comprising comparing the level of serum alkaline phosphatase in the subject at a timepoint after the start of treatment with the anti-NGF antibody to a baseline level of serum alkaline phosphatase in the subject prior to or at the start of treatment, wherein a subject is identified as a candidate for continued treatment if the subject does not have an increase in the level of serum alkaline phosphatase that is above a threshold value, wherein the threshold value is an increase of 20 U/L relative to the baseline level of serum alkaline phosphatase in the subject; and d) administering one or more additional doses of the anti-NGF antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof to the subject who was identified as a candidate for continued treatment (claims 1-7), wherein the anti-NGF antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises a heavy chain variable region (HCVR) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2 and a light chain variable region (LCVR) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:10 (claims 31-32). SEQ ID NO: 2 and 10 have 100% sequence identity to the instant claimed same SEQ ID NO.
Regarding claims 7 and 25, the copending claims teach wherein step (c) further comprises measuring the level of pain in the subject and identifying the subject as a candidate for continued treatment if the subject exhibits a decrease in pain at a timepoint after the start of treatment relative to a baseline level of pain in the subject prior to or at the start of treatment (claim 8), wherein the level of pain is measured using:(a) the Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) pain subscale score; (b) the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) for joint pain; and/or (c) the Patient Global Assessment (PGA) of knee and/or hip pain (claim 9-10).
Regarding claims 27 and 33, the copending claims teach wherein the anti-NGF antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is administered every four weeks (Q4W) or every eight weeks (QSW) (claims 15 and 39-40), wherein the anti-NGF antibody or antigen- binding fragment thereof is administered at a dose of about 1 mg (claims 36-38).
Regarding claims 32 and 34, the copending claims teach wherein the anti-NGF antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof is fasinumab (claim 34).
The copending claims do not teach the subject has centralized pain.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Sánchez-Robles teaches that peripheral and central sensitization are known to play an important role in osteoarthritis (OA) pain, and the OA population is likely to be a heterogeneous mix of pain states (section 3, para 1). Sánchez-Robles further teaches that NGF has been implicated in the pathogenesis of OA pain due its ability to facilitate peripheral and central sensitization (section 3, para 3). Sánchez-Robles further teaches that fasinumab has demonstrated efficacy in clinical trials in individuals with painful OA and low back pain by decreasing pain and improving physical function (section 3.2; table 3).
Regarding claim 25, Sánchez-Robles teaches that the endpoints of the clinical studies used WOMAC, physical function and PGA-OA (section 3.2, first para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a patient with centralized pain from advanced OA as taught by Sánchez-Robles with the method of administering fasinumab to an OA patient as taught by the copending claims. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so because Sánchez-Robles teaches that peripheral and central sensitization are known to play an important role in osteoarthritis (OA) pain, and the OA population is likely to be a heterogeneous mix of pain states and further that NGF is implicated in this process. Sánchez-Robles further teaches that fasinumab has demonstrated clinical efficacy in individuals with painful OA. The ordinary artisan has a reasonable expectation of success to reduce centralized pain in a patient with OA with the anti-NGF antibody fasinumab.
Conclusion
/AMBER K FAUST/ Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/GARY B NICKOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643