DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
wherein said at least two billets comprise, at each flap, a front billet and a rear billet, as it pertains to claim 7.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayr (US 20150135655 A1) in view of Standerker (EP 3034459 B1).
Re-claim 6:
Mayr discloses:
A saddle for horse riding comprising: (abstract and figs)
a supporting frame associated with at least one covering body (Fig 1, para0001)
adapted to define a seat for the rider, (2, fig 1)
said supporting frame having a front region, (see front, fig 1)
comprising a gullet iron, (1, para0030)
and a rear region, (see rear, fig 1)
comprising at least one rear cantle, (see rear cantle of 2, fig 1)
said saddle for horseback riding having, laterally with respect to said seat, respective flaps, (4, para0030)
Mayr doesn’t disclose:
said saddle comprising at least two billets which are arranged on opposite sides with respect to said seat and are configured to fix said saddle to a girth, wherein each flap is associated, at a surface intended during use to be directed toward a horse, with a sheet element, an engagement body being accommodated between each flap and the corresponding sheet element and defining a plurality of seats which are configured to be selectively engaged by a respective billet.
Standerker discloses:
A saddle for horse riding (abstract and figs)
Said saddle for horseback riding having respective flaps (4, fig 2)
said saddle comprising at least two billets (71, fig 10)
which are arranged on opposite sides with respect to said seat and are configured to fix said saddle to a girth, (para0057-0058)
wherein each flap is associated, at a surface intended during use to be directed toward a horse, with a sheet element, (3+8, fig 2+5)
an engagement body (78+79, fig 10)
being accommodated between each flap and the corresponding sheet element (see 78+79 are between 4 and 3+8, fig 5)
and defining a plurality of seats which are configured to be selectively engaged by a respective billet. (para0055-0059)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the saddle of Mayr such that it comprises the features as taught by Standerker to provide for individual fit of billets for the optimal comfort of the horse and rider (para0058).
Re-claim 7:
Mayr as modified discloses claim 6 and Standerker further discloses:
wherein said at least two billets comprise, at each flap, (para0055-0059)
a front billet and a rear billet, (see left and right billets 71, fig 10)
said plurality of seats being engageable selectively by a respective rear billet of said front and rear billets. (para0055-0059)
Re-claim 8:
Mayr as modified discloses claim 6 and Standerker further discloses:
wherein said engagement body comprises an elongated band which is fixed stably to said sheet element. (para0031, fig 10)
Re-claim 9:
Mayr as modified discloses claim 6 and Standerker further discloses:
wherein said seats are mutually spaced apart along a direction of extension that is substantially parallel to an axis of longitudinal extension of the saddle. (see fig 10+5 how the seats are spaced apart along a direction of extension that is parallel to an axis of longitudinal extension of the saddle)
Re-claim 10:
Mayr as modified discloses claim 6 and Standerker further discloses:
wherein said seats are defined by loops which extend around a respective axis that is substantially vertical during use. (78+79 form loops and are vertically oriented, para0055-0059)
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHADA MOHAMED ALGHAILANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643