DETAILED ACTION
Specification / Drawings
The specification and/or drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the instant application does not include the figures mentioned in the specification. Specifically, the specification mentions “Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4” on page 16, lines 18-19, “Figures 3 through 7” on page 25, lines 11-15, and “Figures 5, 6, or 7” on page 37, lines 10-12, and no corresponding drawings are presented.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 6 recites “the catalyst” which lacks antecedent basis. Applicant is suggested amend the limitation “wherein the catalyst for the hydrogenation in d) comprises” in claim 6 to state “is conducted in the presence of a catalyst comprising
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen (US 10,767,127 B2, cited in IDS dated 05/16/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Sorensen discloses a catalytic fast pyrolysis process comprising:
a) feeding biomass, catalyst, and optionally transport fluid to a catalytic pyrolysis process fluidized bed reactor maintained at reaction conditions to manufacture a raw fluid product stream containing renewable aromatics (col. 9, lines 31-40 and 50-51);
b) feeding the raw fluid product stream of a) to a solids separation and stripping system to produce separated solids and a fluid product stream (col. 9, lines 40-43),
c) feeding the fluid product stream of b) to a fractionation system in order to recover a fraction boiling at 185°C or higher (col. 9, lines 43-61),
d) hydrogenating at least a portion of the fraction generated in c) with hydrogen at hydrogenation conditions to produce a hydrogenated fraction containing naphthenes (decalin, substituted decalin) (col. 8, line 58 - col.9, line 3; col. 9, lines 61-64), and
e) recovering a jet fuel blendstock (col. 9, lines 64 - col. 10, line 2).
Sorensen does not teach that the fraction recovered in step (c) boils at “180°C to 300°C.” However, the claimed range overlaps the boiling range of the corresponding fraction disclosed by Sorensen (185°C or higher) and is, therefore, considered prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05. I.
Regarding Claim 2, Sorensen discloses that suitable materials for the biomass include wood, forestry waste, corn stover, agricultural waste, municipal solid waste, food processing waste, animal manures, and cellulosic waste (col. 11, line 29 – col 12, line 8).
Regarding claim 3, Sorensen discloses that the renewable aromatics include benzene, toluene, xylenes, phenols, naphthols, benzofuran, ethylbenzene, styrene, naphthalene, methylnaphthalene, or combinations thereof (col. 9, lines 51-55).
Regarding claim 4, while Sorensen discloses that the renewable aromatics may include naphthalene, methylnaphthalene, naphthalenols (naphthols), and phenols, the reference does not explicitly teach that the renewable aromatics comprise at least 25 volume % naphthalene, substituted naphthalenes, naphthalenols, methyl naphthalenols, and naphthalene diols, and at least 3 weight% xylenols, and less than 15 weight % the sum of phenanthrene, anthracene, and other materials. However, the instant application and the Sorensen disclose the same or substantially the same feedstocks (see rejection of claim 2) and the catalytic pyrolysis process (Sorensen, col. 15, line 39 – col. 16, line 5; Spec., pg. 17, line 12 - pg.18, line 5). Therefore, absent evidence to the contrary, it is reasonably expected that the pyrolysis products in the instant application and Sorensen have the same composition, including the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Sorensen discloses that a portion of the fluid product stream of (b) is hydrotreated to remove heteroatoms (col. 16, lines 27-34 and 48-56)
Regarding claim 6, Sorensen discloses that the hydrogenation is conducted in the presence of a catalyst which may comprise Ni, Co, Fe, Ag, Pt, Pd, Ru, Rh, Ir, Mo, W, or combinations thereof, deposited on oxide supports including oxides of Al or Si and zeolite (col. 17, lines 3-11).
Regarding claim 7, Sorensen discloses that the hydrogenation may be conducted at a temperature of 40-350 °C and a hydrogen pressure of from 0.1 MPa to 40 MPa (col. 16, lines 62-66). The claimed ranges of “200°C to 400°C” and “4.0 MPa to 12 MPa” overlap the temperature and pressure ranges taught by Sorensen and are, therefore, considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Sorensen discloses that the hydrogenation may be conducted at a liquid hourly space velocity of 0.1 to 19 hr-1 and a gas-to-liquid ratio of 1 to 25 m3/m3 (col. 16, line 66 – col. 17, line 2). The claimed ranges of “greater than 0.1 hr-1” and “0.1 to 20:1” overlap the liquid hourly space velocity and volumetric gas-to-liquid ratio ranges taught by Sorensen and are, therefore, considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Sorensen does not explicitly disclose that the hydrogenated fraction in (d) comprises at least 50% by weight hydrocarbons with from 10 to 16 carbon atoms. However, Sorensen suggests that the hydrogenated fraction can be used as jet fuel blendstock (col. 9, 63-66), which implicitly suggests that the fractionation step can be optimized to produce a fraction having a boiling point range suitable for jet fuel. Furthermore, Sorensen discloses that the fuel blendstock may comprise at least 90 wt% hydrocarbons with 9-16 carbon atoms (col. 9, lines 3-6; col. 10, lines 7-10 and 18-21). Therefore, the reference is interpreted to suggest embodiments where a fraction primarily containing 10-16 carbons is produced in case jet fuel is the desired product.
Regarding claim 10, Sorensen discloses that the hydrogenated fraction may comprise decalin, substituted decalins, tetralin, and substituted tetralins (col. 8, line 58 – col. 9, line 3).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, Sorensen does not explicitly teach that the hydrogenated fraction comprises 30 to 98 wt% naphthenes, from 3 to 50 wt% tetralins, no more than 30 wt% naphthalenes and alkyl naphthalenes, no more than 0.1 wt% sum of acenaphthenes, acenaphthylenes, fluorenes, phenanthrenes, and anthracenes. However, the instant application and the Sorensen disclose the same or substantially the same feedstocks (see rejection of claim 2), the catalytic pyrolysis process (Sorensen, col. 15, line 39 – col. 16, line 5; Spec., pg. 17, line 12 - pg.18, line 5), fractionation (Sorensen, col. 9, lines 58-63; Spec., pg. 21, line 14 – pg. 22, line 2), and hydrogenation process (Sorensen, col. 16, line 54 – col. 17, line 36; Spec., pg. 25, line 18 – pg. 26, line 7). Therefore, absent evidence to the contrary, it is reasonably expected that the hydrogenated fraction in the instant application and Sorensen have the same composition, including the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 12, Sorensen discloses feeding the fluid product stream of (b) to a quench vapor/liquid separation system utilizing hydrocarbon quench or cooling to produce a liquid phase stream comprising oxygenates, and C9+ aromatics, and entrained char, coke, ash, catalyst fines, and a vapor phase stream comprising carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, hydrogen, olefins, and aromatics, said aromatics of the vapor phase stream comprising benzene, toluene, xylenes, phenols, naphthols, benzofuran, ethylbenzene, styrene, naphthalene, methylnaphthalene, or combinations thereof, prior to fractionating in (c) (col. 9, lines 43-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. No prior art of record, individually or in combination, teaches or suggests a process for preparing renewable jet fuel blendstock, as required by claim 1, in conjunction with the recycling feature of claim 13 or the hydrogenation configuration of claim 14. Sorensen (US 10,767,127 B2), applied in the rejection above, fails to provide guidance on recycling 3-ring species to the pyrolysis step. The reference also fails to teach or reasonably suggest operating the hydrogenation in two stages such that (i) a first hydrogenation is operated at 2-7 MPa with a CoMo catalyst, producing a partially hydrogenated stream of partially hydrogenated aromatic rings, reducing xylenols to benzene, toluene, and xylenes, and reducing naphthalenes to naphthenes, and (ii) a second hydrogenation of aromatics to alkanes is operated at 2-8 MPa that is higher than the pressure of the first hydrogenation.
Conclusion
/JASON Y CHONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1772