Claims 1-20 are pending.
Amendments of 09/06/2026 are entered.
Response to Arguments
Arguments presented in Remarks 09/06/2026 have been fully considered, however they are not moot in view of a new ground of rejections with new reference Damnjanovic et al. (US 2023/0317535) to address both amendments and arguments directed to said amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 2021/0298034) in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 2023/0317535).
As to claim 1:
He discloses:
A method, (See Abstract) comprising:
detecting, by a user equipment (UE), at least one relay node;
(See ¶0225, remote UE 115 performs discovery procedure wherein the UE discovers the relay UE node)
receiving, by the UE, a configuration for controlling the at least one relay node from the network node; (¶0184-0186, the base station configures transmission parameters (resources sets, QoS, priority etc.) for communication using the relay node. This configuration information is received at the UE and is used for employing the relay UE to transmit subsequent communication to the base station)
receiving, by the UE, a scheduling from the network node, wherein the scheduling is scheduled based on the configuration; (See ¶0186, 0187, 0237-0238based on analysis of resources configured in the configuration, the base station performs scheduling by sending scheduling information to the remote UE).
and performing, by the UE, data transmission or data reception with the at least one relay node and the network node based on the scheduling. (See ¶0182, Fig. 5, 0264-0267, 0305, 0316, 0317, transmission to/from the UE to the network node (base station) then occur based on scheduling by the base station)
Regarding transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a relay node information to a network node, wherein the relay node information comprises information of the at least one relay node, wherein the configuration received by the UE is configured based on the relay node information:
Reference He in ¶0225, already discloses the remote UE 115 performs discovery procedure wherein the UE discovers the relay UE node. Reference He is silent on the step of reporting to a network node of the relay node information of the detected nodes and that the configuration received by the UE is determined based on the reported relay node information .
Damnjanovic, in a related field of configuring relay connections in a wireless system, discloses for a system of configuring side links with relay nodes, transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a relay node information to a network node, wherein the relay node information comprises information of the at least one relay node, wherein the configuration received by the UE is configured based on the relay node information. See at least Fig. 6, all steps. Specifically, ¶0079-0080, the UE performs relay node discovery and determines relay UE candidate(s). The remote UE 602 may transmit a message (e.g., a relay UE found report) to the base station 604 informing the base station about the found relay UE(s) and their presence/availability/channel quality. ¶0081-0082, based on the information provided by the remote UE, the base station determines and provisions a sidelink configuration for facilitating the relay connection, namely the resources and setups for sidelink channel by the remote UE can make use to transmit/receive data with the base station via the relay UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the discovery procedure described in He to have the remote UE transmits a message (e.g., a relay UE found report) to the base station informing the base station about the found relay UE(s) and their presence/availability/channel quality, based on which said configuration is determined. Both He and Damnjanovic already disclose relay discover procedure to detect available relay UEs and both are interested in setting up reliable relay sidelink for the remote UE, it is necessary for the base station to know which relay UE it needs to configure resources for. Furthermore, the benefit further includes providing a more suitable or better candidate as a relay node (by analysis of the relay reports pertaining availability and quality of each potential relay nodes), See ¶0081 of Damnjanovic.
As to claim 11:
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transmitter, (¶0708, 0271, processor, transmitter, receiver)
a receiver, receiving a configuration for controlling the at least one relay node from the network node (¶0184-0186, the base station configures transmission parameters (resources sets, QoS, priority etc.) for communication using the relay node. This configuration information is received at the UE and is used for employing the relay UE to transmit subsequent communication to the base station) and receiving a scheduling from the network node, wherein the scheduling is scheduled based on the configuration; (See ¶0186, 0187, 0237-0238based on analysis of resources configured in the configuration, the base station performs scheduling by sending scheduling information to the remote UE).
and a processor, detecting the at least one node (See ¶0225, remote UE 115 performs discovery procedure wherein the UE discovers the relay UE node)
and performing data transmission or data reception with the at least one relay node and the network node based on the scheduling. (See ¶0182, Fig. 5, 0264-0267, 0305, 0316, 0317, transmission to/from the UE to the network node (base station) then occur based on scheduling by the base station)
Regarding transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a relay node information to a network node, wherein the relay node information comprises information of the at least one relay node, wherein the configuration received by the UE is configured based on the relay node information:
Reference He in ¶0225, already discloses the remote UE 115 performs discovery procedure wherein the UE discovers the relay UE node. Reference He is silent on the step of reporting to a network node of the relay node information of the detected nodes and that the configuration received by the UE is configured based on the relay node information .
Damnjanovic, in a related field of configuring relay connections in a wireless system, discloses for a system of configuring side links with relay nodes, transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a relay node information to a network node, wherein the relay node information comprises information of the at least one relay node, wherein the configuration received by the UE is configured based on the relay node information. See at least Fig. 6, all steps. Specifically, ¶0079-0080, the UE performs relay node discovery and determines relay UE candidate(s). The remote UE 602 may transmit a message (e.g., a relay UE found report and/or relay UE measurement report) to the base station 604 informing the base station about the found relay UE(s) and their presence/availability/channel quality. ¶0081-0082, based on the information provided by the remote UE, the base station determines and provisions a sidelink configuration for facilitating the relay connection, namely the resources and setups for sidelink channel by the remote UE can make use to transmit/receive data with the base station via the relay UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the discovery procedure described in He to have the remote UE transmits a message (e.g., a relay UE found report) to the base station informing the base station about the found relay UE(s) and their presence/availability/channel quality, based on which said configuration is determined. Both He and Damnjanovic already disclose relay discover procedure to detect available relay UEs and both are interested in setting up reliable relay sidelink for the remote UE, it is necessary for the base station to know which relay UE it needs to configure resources for. Furthermore, the benefit further includes providing a more suitable or better candidate as a relay node (by analysis of the relay reports pertaining availability and quality of each potential relay nodes), See ¶0081 of Damnjanovic.
As to claims 2, 12:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 1/11, further comprising: transmitting, by the UE/transmitter, the configuration to the at least one relay node; wherein the configuration comprises a relay node identification (ID) of the at least one relay node. (See He, ¶0307, receiving by the relay UE over the sidelink from the remote UE an indication of channel resources configured by the base station for sidelink transmission. Per ¶0080 of Damnjanovic, configuration from base station includes ID of the prospective relay UE(s))
As to claims 3, 13:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 2/12, wherein the relay node ID is unique in a cell or in an area. (¶0104 of Damnjanovic, each relay node has ID that uniquely identifies them)
As to claims 4, 14:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 2/12, wherein the relay node ID is associated with the UE. (See ¶0104 of Damnjanovic, relay node ID is used by the remote UE to compile report to the base station as potential candidate, thus being associated with the remote UE as potential partner)
As to claims 7, 17:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 1/11, wherein the relay node information comprises a capability information of an aggregated group formed by the at least one relay node or a capability information of an aggregated group formed by the UE and the at least one relay node. (See Damnjanovic, ¶0080-0081, the UE forms a list, i.e. group, of relay candidates with associated information as it performs discovery and aggregates presence/availability/quality information for each discovery. ¶0081, “the base station 604 may perform a relay UE selection to determine whether the relay UE 606 has met the threshold/criteria ”, i.e. capability evaluation)
As to claims 8, 18:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 7/17, wherein the configuration for controlling the at least one relay node is configured based on the capability information. ((See Damnjanovic, ¶0080-0081, the UE forms a list, i.e. group, of relay candidates with associated information as it performs discovery and aggregates presence/availability/quality information for each discovery. ¶0081, “the base station 604 may perform a relay UE selection to determine whether the relay UE 606 has met the threshold/criteria ”, i.e. capability evaluation)
As to claims 9, 19:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 7/17, wherein the relay node comprises a unique local identification (ID) within the aggregated group. (¶0104 of Damnjanovic, an identifier for each of the one more relay devices (e.g., a UE ID of the relay device))
Claim(s) 5-6, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 2021/0298034) in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 2023/0317535) and in further view of Jung et al. (US 2016/0337889)
As to claims 5, 15:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 1/11, however is silent on the relay node comprises a semi-static relay node identification (ID).
Jung, in a related field of relay function setup, discloses a UE performing relay discovery, wherein each node can be identified with an IP address, See ¶0297 of Jung, IP address of the UE is a type of semi-static ID as they are static until ISP reassignment or reset)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the nodes in the network of He/Damnjanovic have their identifiers being IP addresses. He and Damnjanovic already disclose each nodes have their own unique identifier. Using IP addresses as identifier is a well known practice in the art with known efficacy, thus within reach of one of ordinary skill in the art as a viable design option. Furthermore, using IP addresses, a semi-static identifier, can avoid exposing the group’s permanent idenifiers for security reason. IP addresses can mask real ID while serves as one.
As to claim 6, 16:
He in view of Damnjanovic and Jung discloses all limitations of claim 5/15, further comprising: receiving, by the UE/receiver, the semi-static relay node ID from the at least one relay node; (See ¶0232-0235 of Jung, exchange of IDs between the UEs during discovery procedure. See also DAmnjanovic, ¶0079-0081) and transmitting, by the UE, the relay node information with the semi-static relay node ID to the network node. (See Jung, ¶0318, report includes ID of relay UE and is transmitted to the base station. Damnjanovic, ¶0079-0080, the UE performs relay node discovery and determines relay UE candidate(s). The remote UE 602 may transmit a message (e.g., a relay UE found report and/or relay UE measurement report) to the base station 604 informing the base station about the found relay)
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 2021/0298034) in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 2023/0317535) and in further view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0389900).
As to claims 10, 20:
He in view of Damnjanovic discloses all limitations of claim 9/19, however is silent on the unique local ID is assigned by the network node, the UE or a master relay node.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses a network with UEs performing relaying functions, wherein ID of each UE can be a local ID type that is assigned by the base station itself (See Fig. 7, step S710 and ¶0125 of Lee).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the relay UEs in the system of He/Damnjanovic wherein ID of each UE can be a local ID type that is assigned by the base station itself. Lee states in ¶0125, “The local ID of the remote UE may be used for uniquely identifying the remote UE among all connected UEs including the relay UE and all remote UEs connected thereto.”, as such advantageously serves to distinguish one relay from another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2011074555 - A mobile communication system wherein it is arranged that "Macro eNB ID" used for identifying a relay node (RN) be identical with "eNB ID" used for identifying a radio base station (DeNB) and wherein the radio base station (DeNB) comprises an allocation unit (22) that is adapted to allocate, upon activation of the relay node (RN), a "Cell Identity" used for identifying any cell under the charge of the relay node (RN) in such a manner that the "Cell Identity" is neither identical with a "Cell Identity" used as the "Cell Identity" used for identifying any cell under the charge of another relay node (RN) connected to the radio base station (DeNB) nor identical with a "Cell Identity" used as the "Cell Identity" used for identifying any cell under the charge of the radio base station (DeNB).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645