DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et. al (US 2020/0213977 A1) (hereinafter as Xu)
Regarding Claim 1. Xu teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a first resource configuration for a discovery procedure from a network node (the relay device may inform the remote device of the resource for transmitting the discovery information, or the remote device may notify the relay device of the resource for receiving the discovery information. In this way, a resource for the remote device monitoring the discovery information is a resource for the relay device transmitting the discovery information, pars [0137-0166]);
transmitting, by the UE, the first resource configuration for the discovery procedure from the network node to a relay node; and performing, by the UE, the discovery procedure with the relay node (the electronic device 200 serving as a relay device transmits resource indication information to the electronic device 300 serving as a remote device, and the electronic device 300 serving as a remote device may also transmit the resource indication information to the electronic device 200 serving as a relay device, pars [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claim 2. Xu further teaches the method of Claim l, further comprising:
reporting, by the UE, a capability of the relay node or a joint capability of the relay node and the UE to the network node (resource carrying discovery information according to the resource indication information is reported, the configuring the assistance measurement configuration, the electronic device 300 transmitting the discovery request message, the electronic device 200 receiving the discovery response message from other relay devices, and the electronic device 200 generating the packaged discovery response message, including downlink capability information, pars [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claim 3. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, by the UE, a request for a discovery procedure to the network node before receiving the first resource configuration for the discovery procedure from the network node (the type of the electronic device 300 may be determined according to whether the electronic device 300 has a capability of receiving downlink data through the side link, such as the first type (type 1) and the second type (type 2), pars [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claim 4. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, by the UE, a set up message to the network node via the relay node ( the transceiver circuit 320 may transmit the resource indication information to the electronic device 200 through a discovery request message. The resource indication message is used to indicate a resource for the electronic device 300 receiving the discovery response message, pars [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claim 5. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the performing comprises performing the discovery procedure via a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) link or a non-3GPP link (the electronic device 200 needs to package and transmit the discovery response message to the network side device that provides a service to the electronic device 200, par [0200], In 3GPP specifications, the discovery procedure refers to the process by which a UE (User Equipment) or network entity identifies and connects to other UEs, network functions, or services which is similarly discussed here by Xu).
Regarding Claim 6. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the performing comprises performing the discovery procedure via an existing protocol stack or a simplified protocol stack (various types of signal processing of layers and protocols can be used, pars [0137-0166] and [0280])
Regarding Claim 7. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising: receiving, a second resource configuration for a local communication from a network node (the wireless communication interface 2412 may support another type of wireless communication scheme, such as short-range wireless communication scheme, a near field communication scheme and a wireless local area network (LAN) scheme, pars [0137-0166] and [0296]); and
performing the local communication with the relay node based on the second resource configuration in an event that at least one condition is met (the wireless communication interface 2412 may support another type of wireless communication scheme, such as short-range wireless communication scheme, a near field communication scheme and a wireless local area network (LAN) scheme, pars [0137-0166] and [0296]).
Regarding Claim 8. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 7, wherein the at least one condition comprises at least one of that an uplink (UL) carrier associated with the second resource configuration is out-of-range (OOC), a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of a downlink (DL) carrier associated with the second resource configuration is smaller than a threshold, a transmission power of the UE is smaller than a threshold and the UE does not transmit on a specific beam direction (RSRP information is reported, pars [0080] and [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claim 9. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, by the UE, a request for a local communication to the network node (the wireless communication interface 2412 may support another type of wireless communication scheme, such as short-range wireless communication scheme, a near field communication scheme and a wireless local area network (LAN) scheme, pars [0137-0166] and [0296]); and
receiving, a second resource configuration for the local communication from the network node (the processing circuit 210 may select multiple resources with higher priorities. In addition, the processing circuit 210 may also select resources according to the reference signal receiving power RSRP information regarding the electronic device 200 and/or a range of D2D communication and the priority information, thus different resources (first and second resources) are disclosed, pars [0087] and [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claim 10. Xu further teaches the method of Claim 9, wherein the request for the local communication and a request for the discovery procedure are the same or different (the information may be reported periodically, may be reported together with the resource indication information, or may be reported separately from the resource indication information, pars [0080] and [0137-0166]).
Regarding Claims 11-20, these apparatus claims comprise limitations substantially the same, as those discussed in claims 1-10 above, same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY MEJIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451