DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“guide device” in claim 1, where the “device” is the placeholder and “guide” is the functional language;
“power supply device” in claim 16, where the “device” is the placeholder and “power supply” is the functional language;
“hydraulic supply device” in claim 17, where the “device” is the placeholder and “hydraulic supply” is the functional language; and
“operating device” in claim 18, where the “device” is the placeholder and “operating” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the snow groomer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted to read --the snow generator.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kircher et al. (US6161769. Kircher hereinafter).
With respect to claim 11, Kircher discloses a snow generating apparatus (Figs. 1-47, especially the embodiment in Figs. 36-38. 500) comprising: a snow generator (Col. 31, line 55 to Col. 33, line 20) configured to (capable of) cover a run with snow; a housing chamber (52, 540) configured to (capable of) be laid underground in the run (Col. 31, line 55 to Col. 33, line 20; Figs. 1, 14-18, 36-38A); and a lifting system (542, 544, 546, 552, 556) configured to (capable of) move the snow generator in a moving (upward) direction from a lowered (retracted) position to a lifted (extended) position (Figs. 1, 14-18, 36-38A), the lifting system comprising: a guide device (542, 546, 558, 568, 566), and a slide (544) slidably coupled to the guide device to move between the lowered position and the lifted position, wherein the slide defines an elongated shape (Figs. 36-38A), the slide extends in the moving direction and, when in the lowered position, the slide at least partly extends into the housing chamber.
With respect to claim 12, Kircher discloses wherein the guide device has a length (thickness of 542, 546) measured parallel to the moving direction which is smaller than a (longitudinal) length of the slide measured parallel to the moving direction.
With respect to claim 13, Kircher discloses wherein when in the lifted position, the slide (upper portion of 544) extends outside of the housing chamber.
With respect to claim 14, Kircher discloses wherein the guide device is fixed (542 is welded; 546 is trapped in) to the housing chamber (Fig. 36).
With respect to claim 15, Kircher discloses wherein the guide device comprises a train of guide rollers (558, 568, 566. Fig. 37) (rotatably) slidably engageable by the slide.
With respect to claim 16, Kircher discloses the snow generating apparatus of Claim 11, further comprising a power supply device (560 and drive mechanism leading to 544) at least partly mounted in the housing chamber and connected to the snow generator to (capable of) supply the snow generator with power.
With respect to claim 18, Kircher discloses the snow generating apparatus of Claim 11, further comprising an operating device (560 and drive mechanism leading to 544) configured to (capable of) move the slide between the lowered position and the lifted position, the operating device comprising a screw (unmarked nut on 558 in Fig. 37 and 544) mounted along the slide parallel to the moving direction and a nut screw (552) coupled to the screw and mounted to rotate around a longitudinal axis of the screw to move the screw in the moving direction.
With respect to claim 19, Kircher discloses wherein an assembly (530, 532, 550) defined by the snow generator and the slide is entirely located inside of the housing chamber when arranged in the lowered position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kircher.
With respect to claim 17, Kircher discloses the snow generating apparatus of Claim 11 except for a hydraulic supply device at least partly mounted in the housing chamber connected to the snow generator to hydraulically supply the snow generator.
However, Kircher teaches a hydraulic supply device (800 in embodiment and modification in Fig. 45; Col. 39, lines 35-62) at least partly mounted in the housing chamber connected to the snow generator to hydraulically supply the snow generator. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a hydraulic supply device, as taught by Kircher, in embodiment in Fig. 45, to replace the power supply of Kircher, in order to provide as alternative power supply system (Fig. 45; Col. 39, lines 35-62). A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the hydraulically power supply because the selection of a known device based on its suitability for its intended purpose is sufficient since only the expected results would be attained. Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the hydraulically power supply because such a change is a mere alternative and functionally equivalent power supply system. And because such a change would only produce an expected result, i.e, providing power to the snow generator. The use of alternative and functionally equivalent power supply system would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art based on the economics and availability of components.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kircher in view of Miscovich (US3583637).
With respect to claim 20, Kircher discloses wherein the housing chamber defines a trapdoor configured to move between a closed position and an open position in association with the assembly being moved between the lowered position and the lifted position.
However, Miscovich teaches an underground sprayer (Figs. 1-3. Miscovich’s sprayer is similar to Kircher’s snow generator), comprising a housing chamber (underground well. Fig. 1) defines a trapdoor (70) configured to (capable of) move between a closed (covered) position and an open position (Fig. 1) in association with the assembly (lifting system including cylinder 32) being moved between the lowered position (phantom in FIG. 1) and the lifted position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a trapdoor, as taught by Miscovich, to Kircher’s snow generating apparatus, in order to safely house the snow generating apparatus underground (Figs. 1 and 3; Col. 3, lines 29-47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a snow generating apparatus: Ash ‘689, Dupre ‘103, Fairbank, Ash ‘127, Rumney et al., Dupre ‘151, Ratnik et al., Dupre ‘163, Werner and Dupre ‘137.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 January 8, 2026