DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 13 August 2026 have been entered. Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 14 are pending. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection to the specification and claims previously applied in the office action dated 14 May 2026.. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 previously applied in the office action dated 14 May 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has not made an amendment regarding the 112(f) Claim Interpretations applied in the Office Action dated 14 May 2026. Applicant has not provided any reason to withdraw the 112(f) claim interpretation, so the interpretation detailed in the Office Action dated 14 May 2026 is maintained for the terms “distance sensor”, “digital scale assembly”, “digital length measurement assembly”, “processing module”, “display module” in Claims 1, 11, 12, 13 (and their dependent claims).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112674724A) in view of Zhang (CN 112914555A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses An anthropometric growth apparatus for measuring the anthropometry of an infant ([Abstract]; Figure 1); comprising:
a base (Figure 1, Feature 4; [Page 4, 2nd to last paragraph] “4. Measuring bed lower shell”)
a digital scale assembly mounted to the base (Figure 4 and Figure 5, Features 22 and 29 within the Feature 4 “Measuring bed lower shell” structure; [Page 4, 2nd to last paragraph] “22. Load cell and 29. “Lower shell weighing bracket”), and configured to measure a weight of the infant ([Page 6, “2. Weight information collection” Section] “…baby is put into the measuring bed, the weighing sensor 22 detects the baby's weight…”;
a digital length measurement assembly mounted to the base (Figure 1, Figure 4, and Figure 5 including Features 3, 19, and 13 [Page 4, 2nd to last paragraph] “height measurement slide 3…distance measurement baffle 19…distance measurement sensor 13” mounted on Feature 4, ”Measuring bed lower shell”) and configured to measure a length of the infant ([Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “distance measurement sensor 13…the height of the baby can be calculated from the information of this position and the position information of the feet.”); and
a head circumference measurement assembly mounted to the base (Figure 1 and Figure 2, Feature 1 mounted on Feature 4, ”Measuring bed lower shell”); which includes an array of distance sensors (Figure 1 and Figure 2, [Page 5, Paragraph 1] “a plurality of imaging cameras 7…arranged at opposite positions…ring-shaped structure”; ([Page 6, “Head Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “Carry out image acquisition io obtain baby's head image data, and construct 3D data model”; [Page 8, 2nd Full Paragraph] “The 3D data model is used to obtain…head circumference.”)(Examiner notes that the cameras are broadly sensing distance information in a contactless way in order to make the 3D data model of the head, which shows distances between points, and ultimately the circumference of the head.) provided on a support configured to position the array of distance sensors at a selected distance from a head of the infant ([Page 5, Paragraph 1] “a plurality of imaging cameras 7…arranged at opposite positions…ring-shaped structure”; ([Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “…slide the head detection mechanism 1 to the appropriate position above the baby’s head…”) for non-invasive measurement of a head circumference of the infant in use ([Page 6, “Head Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “Carry out image acquisition io obtain baby's head image data, and construct 3D data model”; [Page 8, 2nd Full Paragraph] “The 3D data model is used to obtain…head circumference.”)
Wang does not disclose wherein the support is pivotally attached to the base so as to be collapsible against the base.
Figure A: Examiner-Annotated Figure 1, showing the camera bracket’s circular pin-type attachment to the base.
Zhang teaches a medical limb measuring device that uses a flat examination surface on which a portion of the subject’s body may be placed, with a camera bracket moveably aligned above it allowing a camera thereon to make measurements of the body part. Specifically for Claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein the support (Figure 1, “camera bracket 41”) is pivotally attached to the base (Figure 1, “camera bracket 41” shown with a pin connection to the base near feature 8, with a flat surface “third support structure 3” part of the overall base that also gives a resultant pivot relative to the camera bracket, as highlighted in Figure A above.)(Examiner notes that a pin connection (like a bolt, pin, or screw), drawn as a circle on a drawing, pivotally attaches on member to another.) so as to be collapsible against the base (Figure 1, “camera bracket 41” shown with a pin connection, as highlighted in Figure A above, with multiple collapse options: telescoping into itself toward the base ([Page 5, Line 292] “telescopic arm to adjust the length to adjust the distance between the camera and the background plate 3”), rotation of the bracket about the pinned connection at the bottom of the bracket, or rotation of the “third support structure” that dictates an angle adjustment between the flat examination surface of the base and the camera.)(Examiner note that if the pin (bolt or screw) connection is loosened, or the camera bracket is pressed, it could be collapsible against the base through rotation or by being snapped, it is collapsible onto the base.).
Zhang provides a motivation to combine at [Page 2 – Page 3, Lines 114 – 121] including “The third support structure can always keep the camera bracket perpendicular to the plane of the background board to obtain the best camera angle and effect and avoid errors...inclined shooting mode, and standing shooting mode from different angles of the background board, the accuracy of limb measurement is improved…” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that having a bracket with the camera measurement devices on it that can be moved to different angles relative to the examination surface would be useful for obtaining different effective measurement angles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the baby measuring device with a bracket structure holding measurement cameras for measuring a human body part disclosed in Wang with the rotatable pinned bracket holding cameras to measure a human body part taught by Zhang creating a single baby measurement device that can align its cameras relative to the baby using a rotatable pinned camera bracket.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the support for the array of distance sensors is moveable (Figures 1 and 2; [Page 4, Bottom Paragraph] “…the head detection mechanism 1 is slidably installed on the measuring bed”; [Page 5, Paragraph 1] “a plurality of imaging cameras 7…arranged at opposite positions…ring-shaped structure”) from a stowed condition in which it is at least partially received within a complementarily shaped receiving formation defined in the base (Figure 1, physical stop at the back of the base, with the right angle receiving formation.)(Examiner notes that this shape is broadly complementary, as the right angle end stop matches the right angle relationship of the side and rear panels of “head detection mechanism 1”.) and an operative condition in which it extends transversely from the base so as to be operatively above and extend at least partially around the circumference of the infant's head in use ([Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “…slide the head detection mechanism 1 to the appropriate position above the baby’s head…”)(Examiner note that the “head detection mechanism 1” always extends transversely from the base, and it can be translated back and forth for alignment with the baby’s head.)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 2. For the remainder of Claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the support includes at least one curved arm ([Page 5, Paragraph 1] “ring-shaped structure”; Figure 1 and Figure 3 where arch of 1 is collectively a curved arm on the base 4) with the distance sensors equally circumferentially spaced along the curved arm ([Page 5, Paragraph 1] “a plurality of imaging cameras 7…arranged at opposite positions…ring-shaped structure.”)(Examiner notes that the cameras are spaced equally relative to the ring at their opposite positions.)
Regarding Claim 5, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the digital length measurement assembly (Figure 1, Figure 4, Figure 5, and Figure 7 including Features 3, 19, and 13 [Page 4, 2nd to last paragraph] “height measurement slide 3…distance measurement baffle 19…distance measurement sensor 13”) includes a reference board attached at or near an end of the base (Figure 1, “height measurement slide 3” on “Measuring bed lower shell” base 4) and extending transversely therefrom in use (Figure 1, ““height measurement slide 3” on “Measuring bed lower shell” base 4, shown extending transversely from the base.) and an infant height distance sensor at or near the opposite end of the base (Figure 5, “distance measurement sensor 13” closer to the left end of “measuring bed lower shell” base 4, Figure 1), the infant height distance sensor being configured to measure a distance of a portion of the infant’s body ([Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “distance measurement sensor 13 determines the position of the baby’s feet”), or a target placed at or adjacent the infant, from the infant height distance sensor for use in calculating a length of the infant ([Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “distance measurement sensor 13…the height of the baby can be calculated from the information of this position and the position information of the feet.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 9, Wang discloses wherein the digital scale assembly (Figure 4 and Figure 5, Features 22 and 29 within the Feature 4 “Measuring bed lower shell” structure; [Page 4, 2nd to last paragraph] “22. Load cell and 29. “Lower shell weighing bracket”), includes a flat, weighing platform on which the infant is placed for weight measurement in use with a weight sensor on the flat weighing platform (Figure 1, Figure 4, and Figure 5; flat platform “measuring bed” above “load cell 22”; [Page 6, “2. Weight information collection” Section] “…baby is put into the measuring bed, the weighing sensor 22 detects the baby's weight…”)
Regarding Claim 11, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 11, Wang discloses further including a processing module ([Page 6, Paragraph 2] “human-computer interaction terminal data analysis and processing system includes 3D data fusion software…”) in communication with the digital scale, the digital length measurement, and the head circumference measurement assemblies to receive signals from the digital scale, the digital length measurement, and the head circumference measurement assemblies ([Page 6, Paragraph 2] “functions of communicating with multiple cameras and communicating with the controller…can obtain…camera data…weighing data and slide position data from the controller…”) and process the signals to determine the weight, length and head circumference of the infant ([Page 6, Paragraph 2] “…processing this information…software can obtain…the child's head, weight and height.”).
Claims 6 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112674724A) in view of Zhang (CN 112914555A), further in view of Tsai (GB 2215059 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the digital length measurement assembly is moveable ([Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “…the sliding height measurement slide 3 slides, the distance measurement baffle 19 slides synchronously…”), and an operative condition in which the assembly extends transversely from the base and is arranged to measure the length of the infant in use (Figure 1, Figure 4, Figure 5, and Figure 7, Features 3, 19, and 13; [Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “the distance measurement sensor 13 determines the position of the baby's feet…”).
Wang does not particularly disclose between a stowed condition in which the length measurement assembly is collapsed within or against the base.
Tsai teaches a device for measuring height using a flat plate height measuring mechanism that can extend transversely from a flat base, slides in a channel, and can be foldably stowed ([Abstract]; Figures 1 and 2). Specifically for Claim 6, Tsai teaches length measurement assembly ([Page 4, Line 31] “flat measuring plate member 23”; Figs 1 and 2, “flat measuring plate member 23” of “measuring frame 2”) is moveable between a stowed condition in which the length measurement assembly is collapsed within or against the base ([Page 6, Lines 14 – 16] “the measuring plate member can be folded flat against the frame member so that the device is compact when not in use.”; Fig 1 and 2 “flat measuring plate member 23” would be folded against “measuring support 1”.)
Wang and Tsai both disclose and teach flat plate height measuring mechanisms that slide in a channel on a flat base and contact a portion of the body to measure the height of a human: Wang with the flat surface of “Measuring bed lower shell” 4 with the flat “height measurement slide 3” contacting the bottom of a baby’s foot, and Tsai with the “measuring support 1” and “flat measuring plate member 23” contacting the top of a human’s head. Tsai provides a motivation to combine at [Page 6, Lines 14 – 16] with “the measuring plate member can be folded flat against the frame member so that the device is compact when not in use.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that including a slidable height measuring plate member on a frame with a hinge would be useful for stowing the plate out of the way within the base when not in use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the slidable flat height measuring plate with a digital sensor disclosed in Wang with the Tsai’s hinge mechanism for stowing a slidable flat height measuring plate, creating a single slidable flat height measuring plate mechanism that can be conveniently be stowed using a hinge on the plate for storage or to obtain a flat working surface when not in use.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 5. For the remainder of Claim 7, Wang discloses the reference board and the infant height distance sensor of the digital length measurement assembly (Figure 1, Figure 4, and Figure 5 including Features 3, 19, and 13 [Page 4, 2nd to last paragraph] “height measurement slide 3…distance measurement baffle 19…distance measurement sensor 13” mounted on Feature 4, ”Measuring bed lower shell”); moveable between a stowed condition and an operative condition (Figure 1, tracks at the sides identified in Figure 6 as “14. Slide slot”; [Page 3, Last Paragraph] including “the height measurement slide plate passes through the slide grooves on both sides of the measuring bed shell”)(Examiner notes that the extent of the slots could allow for the stowed condition out of use could be the slide plate slid all the way to the right in Figure 1, such that the slide plate is located at a greater height that the baby being inserted into the measurement device. Then in-use, the plate is slid to the left to meet the baby’s feet to measure the height.)
Wang does not particularly disclose are pivotally attached to the base.
Tsai teaches wherein the reference board and the infant height distance sensor of the digital length measurement assembly ([Page 4, Line 31] “flat measuring plate member 23”; Figs 1 and 2, “flat measuring plate member 23” of “measuring frame 2”) [Page 4, Line 31] “flat measuring plate member 23”; [Page 6, Lines 9 – 11] “sliding the measuring frame...locating of the measuring plate member…accurately measure his or her body height”)(Examiner notes that the measuring plate location relative to the measuring frame is serving as an analog distance sensor, and the measuring plate is the reference board.) are pivotally attached to the base (Fig 1, Fig 2, “measuring plate member 23 is hinged on “engagement pins 232” on “measuring support 1”) so as to be moveable between a stowed condition and an operative condition ([Page 6, Lines 14 – 16] “the measuring plate member can be folded flat against the frame member so that the device is compact when not in use.”)
The motivation for Claim 7 to combine Wang with Tsai is the same as that described in more detail in Claim 6. In summary, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the slidable flat height measuring plate with a digital sensor disclosed in Wang with the Tsai’s hinge mechanism for stowing a slidable flat height measuring plate, creating a single slidable flat height measuring plate mechanism that can be conveniently be stowed using a hinge on the plate for storage or to obtain a flat working surface when not in use.
Regarding Claim 8, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 5. For the remainder of Claim 8, Wang discloses wherein the base has recesses defined therein (Figure 1, tracks at the sides identified in Figure 6 as “14. Slide slot”) and configured to receive the reference board and distance sensor in a stowed condition (Figure 1, tracks at the sides identified in Figure 6 as “14. Slide slot”; [Page 3, Last Paragraph] including “the height measurement slide plate passes through the slide grooves on both sides of the measuring bed shell”)(Examiner notes that the extent of the slots could allow for the stowed condition out of use could be the slide plate slid all the way to the right in Figure 1, such that the slide plate is located at a greater height that the baby being inserted into the measurement device. Then in-use, the plate is slid to the left to meet the baby’s feet to measure the height.)
For a more specific teaching of a stowed condition such that the item is stowed with the recess, Tsai teaches wherein the base (Fig 1 and 2 “measuring support 1”) has recesses (Fig 1 and 2, “open frame 22” recess and “measuring channels” 12 recess ) defined therein and configured to receive (Fig 1 and 2, “open frame 22” recess 22 in measuring frame 2 that can receive the measuring plate member 23 that is hinged on “engagement pins 232”; [Page 4, Lines 27 – 31]) the reference board and distance sensor ([Page 4, Line 31] “flat measuring plate member 23”; [Page 6, Lines 9 – 11] “sliding the measuring frame...locating of the measuring plate member…accurately measure his or her body height”)(Examiner notes that the measuring plate location relative to the measuring frame is serving as an analog distance sensor, and the measuring plate is the reference board.) in a stowed condition ([Page 6, Lines 14 – 16] “the measuring plate member can be folded flat against the frame member so that the device is compact when not in use.”)
The motivation for Claim 8 to combine Wang with Tsai is the same as that described in more detail in Claim 6. In summary, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the slidable flat height measuring plate with a digital sensor disclosed in Wang with the Tsai’s hinge mechanism for stowing a slidable flat height measuring plate, creating a single slidable flat height measuring plate mechanism that can be conveniently be stowed using a hinge on the plate for storage or to obtain a flat working surface when not in use.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112674724A) in view of Zhang (CN 112914555A), further in view of Chen (CN 205748596U).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 10, Wang does not particularly disclose further including a digital foot length measurement assembly.
Chen teaches a baby measuring device platform that measures a baby’s height, weight, and foot length, including a foot length measuring device. Specifically for Claim 10, Chen teaches further including a digital foot length measurement assembly (Figure 1, “foot length measuring device 7”; [Page 3, Next-to-Last Paragraph] “…the foot length of the baby is measured by the foot length measuring device”).
Chen provides a motivation to combine at [Page 2, “Background Technique” Section] “…the measurement of the height and foot length of the baby is also very important to know whether the baby is healthy…” and [Page 2, “Utility model content” Section, Paragraph 1] with “…can measure the height, the weight and the foot length of the baby, and the measured items can be completed by one device, and the operation is simple and convenient.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that foot length measurement would be a useful metric for baby health that could be included on the flat foot-contacting portion of a baby measuring device platform, for convenient all-in-one height and foot length measurement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flat foot-contacting baby height measurement plate in the baby measurement device disclosed in Wang with the Chen’s taught foot length measurement using the flat foot-contacting baby height measurement plate, creating a single baby measurement device platform that can measure height, head circumference, and foot length baby anthropomorphic elements in an all-in-one convenient device.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112674724A) in view of Zhang (CN 112914555A), further in view of Yuanzheng (CN 201361035Y)
Regarding Claim 12, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 11. For the remainder of Claim 12, Wang does not particularly disclose further including a display module on the base that is in communication with the processing module and configured to display the weight, length and head circumference of the infant in use.
Yuanzheng teaches an automatic infant examination instrument that can measure body weight, body length, sitting height, head circumference, and chest circumference, display results on an on-instrument monitor, and transmit measurements to an external PC for further analysis (Figure 1, [0006] – [0007]). Specifically for Claim 12, Yuanzheng teaches further including a display module on the base (Figure 1, “display control instrument 1” with a “display window 2” mounted on a “measuring board bed 9”) that is in communication with the processing module ([0007] “…signal output terminal connected with the data port of the microprocessor of the display control unit…”) and configured to display the weight, length and head circumference of the infant in use ([0006] “measured…displays the corresponding evaluation results…”; [0007] “…weight…body length…head circumference data…).
Yuanzheng provides a motivation to combine at [0006] “…automatically measure the infant’s weight, body length, siting height, head circumference…Displays the corresponding evaluation results, and prints the evaluation results…an intelligent physical examination for infants and young children.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that being able to display the measurement results on a display as there are obtained would be useful for attaining a quick, “automatic”, and informative measurement process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electronic baby measurement device that transmits information to a processor for analysis disclosed in Wang with Yuanzheng’s taught monitor connected to the baby measurement device base that displays results, creating a single electronic baby measurement device that can display results on a monitor for quick, “automatic”, informative measurement results.
Regarding Claim 13, Wang in view of Zhang discloses as described above, The anthropometric growth apparatus as claimed in claim 11. For the remainder of Claim 13, Wang discloses the processing module ([Page 6, Paragraph 2] “human-computer interaction terminal data analysis and processing system includes 3D data fusion software…”)
Wang does not particularly disclose is configured to transmit the weight, length and head circumference of the infant to a processing module of an external computing device for further processing.
Yuanzheng teaches is configured to transmit the weight, length and head circumference of the infant to a processing module of an external computing device for further processing ([0006] “…measured index data can be transmitted to the PC for various analysis, printing…and communication transmission…”).
Yuanzheng provides a motivation to combine at [0014] with “work with the PC network to realize the automatic collection of basic data of various growth and development indicators of infants and young children…which improves work efficiency and realizes the construction of human body database.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that being able to transmit the data to an external PC for further data processing would allow for eventual aggregation of data from multiple subjects, allowing for the study of measurement trends in a database.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electronic baby measurement device that broadly transmits information to a processor to calculate measurements disclosed in Wang with Yuanzheng’s taught monitor that transmits determined measurements to an external PC for further processing into a database, creating a single electronic baby measurement device that can aggregate results on an external processor database and further analyze trends for multiple subjects.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112674724A) in view of Zhang (CN 112914555A), further in view of Sakai (US 2007/0291283 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang in view of Zhang discloses The anthropomorphic growth apparatus as claimed in claim 1. For the remainder of Claim 14, Wang discloses wherein the support for the array of distance sensors ([Page 5, Paragraph 1] “a plurality of imaging cameras 7…arranged at opposite positions…ring-shaped structure”; [Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “…slide the head detection mechanism 1 to the appropriate position above the baby’s head…”) includes curved arm (Figure 1, [Page 5, Paragraph 1] “a plurality of imaging cameras 7…arranged at opposite positions…ring-shaped structure”; [Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “…slide the head detection mechanism 1 to the appropriate position above the baby’s head…”) movably attached to the base (Figure 2, Feature 1, can slide on the “head sliding optical axis 8” on the slider; [Page 6, “Height Information Collection” Section, Paragraph 1] “…slide the head detection mechanism 1 to the appropriate position above the baby’s head…”)
Wang does not specifically disclose two arms pivotally attached to the base.
Sakai teaches a linear measurement apparatus with at least one noncontact distance measuring sensor on a frame that can tilt the frame with respect to the measured object on the flat surface within the frame, and the upper portion of the frame with the sensors consists of two independently-adjustable sections that can control the distance between two arms ([Abstract]; [0170]; Figs 1 – 3, Fig. 25., Fig. 28; [0165]). Specifically for Claim 14, Sakai teaches two arms (Fig. 25, “extendable connection part 62” on the “extendable leg 63a”/“extendable leg 63b” and “center shaft 64”; [0165] “)(Examiner notes that there are two individual arms that are independently adjustable to change the distance between them that is indicated by the “center shaft 64”; [0165] “…the frame 14 has a pair of extendable legs 63 a and 63 b vertically standing on the bed 16 and an extendable connection part 62 of which both ends are connected to the legs 63 a and 63 b…”) pivotally attached to the base (Fig. 28, “frame 14” is pivotable on “shafts 82” and “respective rotation bases 80”; [0170] “Fig. 28…another modification applicable to all of the above-described embodiments and modifications…the lower portions of the respective legs 3 a and 3 b of the frame 14 are pivotally attached to respective rotation bases 80 so that the frame 14 can be swung about coaxially aligned shafts 82 within a predetermined angular range”).
Sakai provides a motivation to combine at [0166] with “By virtue of the frame-size adjustment mechanism, objects of various sizes can be measured. Especially, with the extendable connection part 62 being applied in the above-described first or second embodiment, the distance-interval between the first and second sensors 6 a and 6 b in a direction parallel to the first and second measurement lines is adjustable” and at [0170] with “This modification includes a frame-inclination adjustment mechanism (supporting-member-inclination adjustment mechanism) for permitting an inclination of the frame (supporting member) 14 to be adjusted with respect to the measured object 15.” A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that having the ability to adjust the distance between the sensors by having two arms that can also be tilted would be useful for obtaining images at a particular desired angle without needing to adjust the object being measured.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the baby measuring device with an adjustable curved ring bracket structure holding measurement cameras for measuring a human body part disclosed in Wang with the adjustable bracket structure holding measurement sensors with two adjustable arms that can be tilted, creating a single baby measurement device that can align its cameras relative to the baby using a rotatable, width-adjustable pair of camera brackets.
It is noted that Wang in view of Sakai combined without Zhang would also disclose the elements of Claim 1, with Sakai teaching wherein the support is pivotally attached to the base so as to be collapsible against the base (Fig. 28, “frame 14” is pivotable on “shafts 82” and “respective rotation bases 80”; [0170] “Fig. 28…another modification applicable to all of the above-described embodiments and modifications…the lower portions of the respective legs 3 a and 3 b of the frame 14 are pivotally attached to respective rotation bases 80 so that the frame 14 can be swung about coaxially aligned shafts 82 within a predetermined angular range”) and a motivation to combine provided by Sakai at [0170] with “This modification includes a frame-inclination adjustment mechanism (supporting-member-inclination adjustment mechanism) for permitting an inclination of the frame (supporting member) 14 to be adjusted with respect to the measured object 15.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant argues at [Page 8, “Claim Rejections – 35 U..S.C. 103” Section] – [Page 9, 2nd Paragraph] that Wang discloses an imaging camera from which images are subsequently processed, such that the camera itself does not sense or measure distance and is an imaging sensor in combination with image processing instead of a “distance sensor”. As recited, it is not required that all of the processing capabilities be located onboard the sensor itself, such that the imaging cameras disclosed by Wang broadly sense the information that is required to determine a distance associated with the infant’s head circumference measurement. Rather, it is recited that the distance sensors are functionally “for non-invasive measurement of a head circumference of the infant in use”, which is the function performed by the mounted cameras that are used to calculate the circumference of the infant’s head. A camera (or set of cameras) that obtains scaled imaging information that is used to calculate distance measurements is broadly a “distance sensor” as recited. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 9, 3rd Full Paragraph] that the term “distance sensor” as used in Claim 1 should be interpreted to mean “a sensor configured to measure distance” equivalent with “ultrasonic, infrared, light emitting diode (LED) time-of-flight or laser sensors” to “directly measure distance”. As recited in Applicant’s specification at ([Page 7, Lines 13 – 14]), “distance sensors (111) may be ultrasonic, infrared, light emitting diode (LED) time-of-flight or laser sensors.” There is nothing particularly indicated that the distance sensors have to be one of these types, nor is it particularly recited that a “distance sensor” does not obtain the distance information through imaging means and processing. A camera (or set of cameras) that obtains scaled imaging information that is used to calculate distance measurements is broadly a “distance sensor” as recited. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 9, Bottom] – [Page 11, 1st Paragraph] that Zhang does not disclose that the camera bracket 41 is intended to fully collapse against the base at the pin (bolt or screw) connection, and that it is taught as a support structure that may pivot to facilitate adjustment of the camera orientation. As recited, the limitation of Claim 1 merely requires that the element is “collapsible” against a base. It is not positively recited that the support is particularly configured to be rotated to a fully colinear position with the base such that it is completely flat. Rather, with the broad recitation of “collapsible”, which includes any connection that would allow for the element to be collapsed against the base, and the angle of “collapse” is not specified. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 11, 1st Full Paragraph] that there is no motivation to replace Wang’s sliding head measurement support with Zhang’s adjustable rotating camera bracket. As discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above, Zhang provides a motivation to combine at [Page 2 – Page 3, Lines 114 – 121] including “The third support structure can always keep the camera bracket perpendicular to the plane of the background board to obtain the best camera angle and effect and avoid errors...inclined shooting mode, and standing shooting mode from different angles of the background board, the accuracy of limb measurement is improved…”. Wang already provides linear adjustment, and a person with ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to substitute a rotating adjustment mechanism for a sliding mechanism in order to obtain images at different angles relative to the measurement surface to get alternative angles of the head circumference (depending on the infant’s position). The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 11, 1st Full Paragraph] that a skilled person would not look to Zhang, which “relates to a limb measurement apparatus and not an apparatus for measuring the anthropometry of an infant, in particular a head circumference of an infant”. The Merriam-Webster definition of “anthropometry” is “the study of human body measurements especially on a comparative basis.“ Zhang relates to an apparatus for measuring limbs (human body measurements, or “anthropometry”), and Wang relates to an apparatus for measuring a head circumference of an infant (also human body measurements, or “anthropometry”). These apparatuses both relate to accommodating human body parts within a measurement apparatus to measure them, indicating that a person with ordinary skill in the art would look to them for elements to solve issues associated with measuring human body elements. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 12, 1st Paragraph] – [Page 13, Top] that neither Wang nor Zhang recognize the clinical problem of measuring a new-born or pre-term infant that is solved by pivoting distance sensors into place while the infant remains connected to medical wiring or respiratory support. Applicant argues that Wang’s measurement assembly always extends transversely from the base and is incapable of collapsing against the base to be compact enough to fit into an incubator or around life support devices. As recited, the limitation of Claim 1 merely requires that the element is “collapsible” against a base. It is not positively recited that the support is particularly configured to be rotated to a fully colinear position with the base such that it is completely flat. Rather, with the broad recitation of “collapsible”, which includes any connection that would allow for the element to be collapsed against the base, and the angle of “collapse” is not specified. There is nothing particularly recited that the apparatus is fitted into an incubator or actively accommodates life support devices. The argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues at [Page 12, 1st Full Paragraph] summarily argues that that Chan and/or Yuanzheng do not cure the deficiencies of Wang and Zhang regarding claim 1. Based on the 35 U.S.C 103 analysis herein and the discussion of arguments above, Wang in view of Zhang discloses all of the elements of Claim 1, such that Claim 1 and its dependent claims are not patentable over 35 U.S.C. 103. The argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA JO MONTGOMERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791