DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As per the rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 USC § 101. The applicant argues that:
“Claims that do not recite matter that falls within the above-enumerated groups of abstract ideas should not be treated as reciting abstract ideas. Id.
In view of this, under Prong One of Step 2A, Applicant's amended independent claim 1 recites, for example, "wherein the displayed plan information is generated based on the basic information on the user that is transmitted to an artificial intelligence (AI) agent and a response to the basic information on the user received from the Al agent." Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A and Step 2B, if the claim is eligible at Prong One of Step 2A, the eligibility analysis concludes, and there is no need to analyze additional elements under the eligibility analysis. Without acquiescing in any way to the Examiner's grounds of rejection, Applicant hereby amends the claims in an effort to expedite prosecution by clarifying the patent- eligible subject matter.”
…
“Moreover, Applicant notes that the Examiner has clearly ‘oversimplified the [technical] component of the claims and downplayed the invention's benefits.’ See Enfish LLC v. Microsoft Corp. (Fed. Cir. 2016). The presently recited claim elements provide a particular solution to a particular problem in the art, and the claimed solution is not appreciated in the prior art. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully asserts that the claimed invention is novel and nonobvious, and the deficiencies of the cited art discussed below provide an additional indication that the recited claim elements are not routine or conventional in the relevant field. Therefore, Applicant submits that the elements recited by independent claim 1 relate to an improvement at the time of invention to computer functionality itself, and so the claims are directed to subject matter that clearly provides significantly more than any underlying abstract idea.”
Regarding applicant’s arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner contends that applicant’s arguments contain nothing more than assertions without clear evidence to support those assertions. For example, the assertion that “…the present recitations of at least amended independent claim 1 amount to significantly more than merely an abstract idea such as a mental steps or processes, especially in view of the specifically recited technical solution directed toward a particular configuration of the various technical elements set forth by the particular claim recitations” or the assertion that “…the presently recited claims, taken as a whole, recite significant claim elements that cannot be satisfied by mental steps or processes, are not merely abstract ideas as defined by case law, and the claimed subject matter relates to a specific improvement in a computer-related technology including technical structural elements.” These arguments fail to provide specific evidence to support them and are presented as generic statements of fact. The examiner, for example contends that the applicant has failed to provide any evidence to support the assertion that the recited elements “cannot be satisfied by mental steps.” Further, the applicant has asserted a “technical solution” and “non-obvious improvement in computer functionality” without specifically explaining what is the “technical solution” or “non-obvious improvement,” the argument simply asserts the existence of a “technical solution directed toward a particular configuration of the various technical elements set forth by the particular claim recitations.” Notwithstanding the lack of evidence to support the assertions made in applicant’s Remarks, the examiner contends that, even in view of the amended language of independent claim 1, the claims are directed to an abstract idea of developing a future plan using basic information on a user and correcting and updating the future plan based on a user’s reaction to the presented future plan. The amendment incorporating the use of an artificial intelligence (AI) agent constitutes an additional element that is recited at such a high-level of generality that this limitation is merely a post-solution step. Therefore, this step is an insignificant extra-solution activity and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of an AI agent requires that the recitation is provided with sufficient specificity regarding what kind of specific technological environment the AI agent employs to process the data and how the processed data and the AI agent are used to provide an improvement to such technological environment. As it stands, the recited AI agent is generally appended to the claim by simply reciting it as a post-solution step, without significantly more. Additionally, the examiner contends that the examiner has clearly not “oversimplified the [technical] component of the claims and downplayed the invention's benefits,” as argued by the applicant. As mentioned before, the applicant has failed to provide clear reasoning as to what is the “technical solution” and/or what constitutes the “invention’s benefits.” The examiner has clearly stated his position that the claim provides nothing more than mental processes, and has provided clear examples to support this reasoning, without “oversimplifying” the technical component of the claim. As it is currently recited, it is the examiner’s position that the alleged “technical component” is simply generic components that are generally appended to the claim without significantly more. Therefore, the recited claims 1-20 stand rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
As per the rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 9, 12, 13 and 15-20 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1). The applicant argues that:
“Applicant respectfully submits that Gnanasambandam clearly does not teach or suggest, inter alia, ‘displaying plan information, the plan information representing a future plan and being generated based on basic information on a user and an ideal plan of the user in consultation on the future plan of the user through a voice interaction, and correcting the future plan and updating the plan information in accordance with information on reaction of the user to the plan information that has been displayed, wherein the displayed plan information is generated based on the basic information on the user that is transmitted to an artificial intelligence (AI) agent and a response to the basic information on the user received from the Al agent,’ as recited by amended independent claim 1 (emphasis added), and the Office Action does not assert otherwise.”
Regarding applicant’s arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner contends that applicant’s arguments simply assert that the Gnanasambandam (hereinafter “Nathan”, as referenced in the rejection below) reference fails to teach the recited elements without any explanation or evidence regarding the alleged lack of teaching. As it stands, the examiner has shown that Nathan teaches all the limitations of the recited claim 1, including the amended claim recitation involving “wherein the displayed plan information is generated based on the basic information on the user that is transmitted to an artificial intelligence (AI) agent and a response to the basic information on the user received from the Al agent.” It is the examiner’s position that the recited element involves, generally, the use of an AI agent to process and generate information. The examiner contends that, in general, this functionality is a well known functionality of AI agents and Nathan provides extensive teaching of the use of an AI engine to perform processing and generation of information, as recited in the claim. For example, Nathan teaches:
[0094] …The predicates and individual elements may be generated based on data that is input to the artificial intelligence engine…
[0257] …the cognitive intelligence platform provides several core features… coaching using artificial intelligence…
These and other citations provided in the rejection below, regarding the artificial intelligence engine and the cognitive intelligence platform, which includes the AI engine, provide sufficient teaching of the newly added limitation regarding the use of an “AI agent.” Therefore, the examiner contends that the claims 1, 3-7, 9, 12, 13 and 15-20 stand rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1), even in view of the newly added limitations to the independent claims.
As per the rejection of claims 2, 8, 10, and 11 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. §103, the applicant’s arguments simply state that the rejections in view of Nathan and Reece, for claims 2 and 14; and in view of Nathan and Bereza for claims 8, 10 and 11, do not “teach or suggest every element of the claimed invention” because of the alleged deficiency of Nathan regarding the language of the independent claims. Therefore, as stated in the response to arguments above the examiner contends that the claims 2, 8, 10, and 11 and 14 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, for the same reasons as stated in the response to arguments above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The Supreme Court has long held that “[l]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable.” Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014) (quoting Assoc. for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116 (2013) (internal quotation marks omitted)). The “abstract ideas” category embodies the longstanding rule that an idea, by itself, is not patentable. Alice Corp., 134S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972).
In Alice, the Supreme Court sets forth an analytical “framework for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas [or mental processes ] from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts.” Id. at 2355 (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1296–97 (2012)). The first step in the analysis is to “determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts.” Id. If the claims are directed to a patent-ineligible concept, the second step in the analysis is to consider the elements of the claims “individually and ‘as an ordered combination’” to determine whether there are additional elements that “‘transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298, 1297). In other words, the second step is to “search for an ‘inventive concept’—i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept] itself’”. Id. (brackets in original) (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294). The prohibition against patenting an abstract idea “‘cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment’ or adding ‘insignificant post-solution activity.’” Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610–11 (2010) (citation omitted).
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03. Independent Claim 1 recites the information processing method of displaying plan information representing a future plan, correcting the future plan and updating the plan information based on a detected user reaction to the plan information. Independent claim 1 is directed to a process. A process is a statutory category of invention. Independent Claim 19 recites an information processing device that acquires information on a reaction of a user, basic information of the user and an ideal plan of the user in consultation on a future plan, generates plan information representing the future plan and further updates the plan information based on a reaction of the user. An apparatus is a Statutory category of invention. Independent claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and therefore is a statutory category of invention. Dependent claims 2-18 are dependent on claim 1 and therefore recite its respective statutory class.
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim. In applying the framework set out in Alice, examiner found Applicant’s claims 1, 19 and 20 are directed to a patent-ineligible abstract concept of updating generated plan information representing a future plan for a user, based on a user reaction to said plan information. The steps of Applicant’s claims 1-20 are an abstract concept that would fall under the judicial exception of mental processes. Specifically, the claims recite the step of “displaying plan information, the plan information representing a future plan and being generated based on basic information on a user and an ideal plan of the user in consultation on the future plan of the user through a voice interaction.” The claim limitation recites simply the presentation of data, such as a “plan information representing a future plan” that is generated based on basic information of the user and information gathered about an ideal plan of the user gathered through a voice interaction. As such, the claim limitation can be represented by a person-to-person consultation, such as a mentor-mentee session or a patient-doctor consultation where the generation of the plan information may represent a treatment or care plan that is developed by one of the participants, and that uses information gathered from the other participant of the consultation session. Therefore, this step is directed to a mental process. Furthermore, the step of “correcting the future plan and updating the plan information in accordance with information on reaction of the user to the plan information that has been displayed” recites steps that are directed to mental processes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, correcting and updating the plan information based on a reaction of the user may be performed by a human such as a mentor or doctor/physician that is in consultation with a mentee or patient and may adjust a care plan based on a reaction of the mentee or patient to a presented care plan, such that the adjusted care plan may be better fitting for the mentee or patient. Therefore, the above steps are also directed to mental processes. Finally, the step of “wherein the displayed plan information is generated based on the basic information on the user that is transmitted to an… agent and a response to the basic information on the user received from the… agent” recites steps that are directed to mental processes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited step amounts to nothing more than using an agent to interpret information. Although the agent may be an “artificial intelligence (AI)” agent, the claim does not provide sufficient recitation regarding how the agent processes and/or interprets the information, such that a human is capable of interpreting the basic information on the user and provide a future plan and/or corrections to the future plan, as shown above regarding the mentor/mentee consultation example. The use of an AI agent appears to be an additional element which requires further analysis provided below. Therefore, the above steps are also directed to mental processes. Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the step of “an acquisition unit that acquires information on reaction of a user, basic information on the user, and an ideal plan of the user in consultation on a future plan of the user through a voice interaction.” The limitation recites language that is directed to acquiring data or information. Thus, the recited elements are directed to mental processes. Furthermore, the claim recites the limitation of “a generation unit that generates plan information representing the future plan based on the basic information and the ideal plan which have been acquired”. As noted from the analysis of independent claim 1, the recited generation of a plan information may represent a treatment or care plan that is developed by one of the participants in a consultation session between a mentor-mentee or a patient-doctor, and that uses information gathered from the other participant of the consultation session. Thus, the limitation recites a mental process. Finally, the claim recites “an update unit that corrects the future plan and updates the plan information in accordance with the information on reaction to the plan information that has been generated”. The recitation is directed to correcting and updating the plan information which may be performed by a human such as a mentor or doctor/physician that is in consultation with a mentee or patient and may adjust a care plan based on a reaction of the mentee or patient to a presented care plan, such that the adjusted care plan may be better fitting for the mentee or patient. Thus, the recited limitation is directed to a mental process. The claims recite limitations that taken in combination, recite at least a series of mental processes.
Step 2A, Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d).
independent Claim 1 recites “a computer” as an additional element beyond the judicial exception. However, this additional element does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional element constitutes a generic computer environment. Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357. The Claims need meaningful limitations that go beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the steps are all abstract and the Claim as a whole is abstract. “[S]imply appending generic computer functionality to lend speed or efficiency to the performance of an otherwise abstract concept does not meaningfully limit claim scope for purposes of patent eligibility.” CLS Bank, 2013 U.S. App. LEXIS 9493, at *29 (citing Bancorp, 687 F.3d at 1278, and Dealertrack, Inc. v. Huber, 674 F.3d 1315, 1333-34 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (finding that the claimed computer-aided clearinghouse process is a patent-ineligible abstract idea)); SiRF Tech., Inc. v. Int'l Trade Comm'n, 601 F.3d 1319, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (“In order for the addition of a machine to impose a meaningful limit on the scope of a claim, it must play a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed, rather than function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly, i.e., through the utilization of a computer for performing calculations.”). Further, the claims recite “…an artificial intelligence (AI) agent” as an additional element beyond the judicial exception. The examiner has found, however, that the use of a “…an artificial intelligence (AI) agent” step provides no further detail and is recited at such a high-level of generality that this limitation is merely a post-solution step. Therefore, this step is an insignificant extra-solution activity and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Additionally, dependent claims 2-18 do not provide any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims simply describe multiple form and situations of interaction that may be represented by person-to-person interaction, such as, for example, detecting a “line of sight” of the user, which may be performed by a human by simple observation. Therefore, the dependent claims simply recite a series of mental processes without significantly more.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
At step 2A, prong two, the additional elements of the “computer” and “artificial intelligence (AI) agent” were found to be a generic computer environment and post-solution activity. At Step 2B, the re-evaluation of the generic computer environment consideration takes into account whether or not the generic computer environment is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Here, the step of using a computer to perform the processing method comprising the claimed steps is recited at such a high level of generality that the claimed is simply attaching the generic computer to the steps that may otherwise be performed by a human. Likewise, the recitation of AI agent provides no further detail as to how the AI agent is employed such that the AI agent appears to perform as a generic AI agent that simply processes data and generates further data, and thus is well-understood, routine and conventional. Therefore, this limitation remains a generic computing environment and post-solution activity, even upon reconsideration and does not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, and therefore do not provide an inventive concept. Additionally, dependent claims 2-18 do not add an inventive concept.
In conclusion, Examiner notes that none of recited steps in Applicant's claims 1-20 refer to a specific machine by reciting structural limitations of any apparatus or to any specific operations that would cause a machine to be the mechanism to perform these steps. Although the claims may be processed by a computing system, the computing system is merely a general purpose computing system. Therefore, all of the claims 1-20 are abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 12, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gnanasambandam Nathan (WO 2021/150607 A1; hereinafter “Nathan”).
As per claims 1 and 20, Nathan discloses:
An information processing method performed by a computer and non- transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to execute a method, the method comprising: display plan information (Nathan; Fig. 9B, items 920 & 922; p. 0247-0249 - the cognitive agent states: “Congrats on taking the first step toward better health! Based upon your interest, I have some recommended health improvement initiatives for you to consider,” and presents the health improvement initiatives), the plan information representing a future plan and being generated based on basic information on a user and an ideal plan of the user in consultation on the future plan of the user (Nathan; Fig. 60A, item 6002; p. 0507 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 provided a care plan 6002 that was originally generated for the patient for a medical condition of the patient. The care plan 6002 may include an action instruction pertaining to the medical condition of the user 6000, such as an instruction to read certain recommended content for the medical condition, schedule an appointment with a physician, perform a certain test for the medical condition, etc; see also p. 0511 - If the cognitive intelligence platform 102 receives the input data 6010, 6012, and/or 6014 when the care plan 6002 is presented to the user 6000 on the user device 104, and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 detects a negative emotion (e.g., angry) and/or tone (e.g., hostile), the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan 6002 to generate an updated care plan 6020) through a voice interaction (Nathan; Fig. 14, item 1408; p. 0258 – audio input interface; see also p. 0559 - cognitive intelligence platform 102 may process a video recording using a machine learning model that has been trained to identify patterns between images of certain facial expressions, certain body language, certain emotions (e.g., happy, angry, sad, etc.), certain tones of voice, and/or the like); and correct the future plan and update the plan information in accordance with information on reaction of the user to the plan information that has been displayed (Nathan; Fig. 9B, items 924 (reaction of the user), 928 & 930 (updated care plan); p. 0184 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 relates actions, the sequences of subsequent actions (and reactions), desired sub-outcomes, and outcomes, in a way that is transparent and logical (e.g., explainable). The cognitive intelligence platform 102 can plot a next best action sequence and a planning basis (e.g., health care plan template, or a financial goal achievement template), also in a manner that is explainable (updating plan information); see also Fig. 60A-E, 61 & 62; p. 0507-0538 – [0507] FIG. 60A-E show examples of modifying a care plan based on a detected emotion of the patient, a detected tone of the patient, a different medical outcome entered by a physician… [0511] If the cognitive intelligence platform 102 receives the input data 6010, 6012, and/or 6014 when the care plan 6002 is presented to the user 6000 on the user device 104, and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 detects a negative emotion (e.g., angry) and/or tone (e.g., hostile), the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan 6002 to generate an updated care plan 6020… [0513] the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may track the detected conditions and/or tones of the users in reaction to care plans that are presented on the user device 104… if the detected emotion (e.g., happy) and/or tone (e.g., cheerful) is positive, the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan to generate an updated care plan 6020. The updated care plan 6020 may include a different subset of health artifacts than the care plan 6002…); wherein the displayed plan information is generated based on the basic information on the user that is transmitted to an artificial intelligence (AI) agent and a response to the basic information on the user received from the Al agent (Nathan; p. 0094 - …The predicates and individual elements may be generated based on data that is input to the artificial intelligence engine…; see also p. 0257 - …the cognitive intelligence platform provides several core features… coaching using artificial intelligence…; see also p. 0089-0090 - The cognitive intelligence platform has the ability to extract concepts, relationships, and draw conclusions from a given text posed in natural language (e.g., a passage, a sentence, a phrase, and a question) by performing conversational analysis which includes analyzing conversational context… the cognitive intelligence platform implements an intuitive conversational cognitive agent that engages in a question and answering system that is human-like in tone and response; see also p. 0134 - The critical thinking engine 108 represents a set of instructions executing within the cognitive intelligence platform 102 that execute tasks using artificial intelligence, such as recognizing and interpreting natural language (e.g., performing conversational analysis), and making decisions in a linear manner (e.g., in a manner similar to how the human left brain processes information)).
As per claim 3, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the information on reaction relates to an utterance content of the user (Nathan; p. 0509 - spoken words 6012 and/or the text 6010 may be processed by a machine learning model that is trained on training data that identifies patterns between the spoken words and/or text and certain emotions and/or tones (e.g., attitude of the user 6000 towards the subject presented on the user device 104). The tones may include cheerful, pessimistic, optimistic, sarcastic, hostile, and the like; see also p. 0184 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 can utilize a critical thinking engine 108 and a natural language database 122 (e.g., a linguistics and natural language understanding system) to relate conversation material to actions).
As per claim 4, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the future plan relates to a life plan (Nathan; p. 0237 - In FIG. 8B, the screenshot 851 is seen in response to the user’s selection of Diabetes (element 824). Example elements displayed in screenshot 851 include: Know How YOUR Body Works (element 852); Know the Current Standards of Care (element 864); Expertise: Self-Assessment (element 866); Expertise: Self-Care/Treatment (element 868); and Managing with Lifestyle (element 870). Managing with Lifestyle (element 870) focuses and tracks actions and lifestyle actions that a user can engage in. As a user’s daily routine helps to manage diabetes, managing the user’s lifestyle is important. The cognitive agent 110 can align a user’s respective health plan based on a health assessment at enrollment. In various embodiments, the cognitive agent 110 aligns the respective health plan with an interest of the user, a goal and priority of the user, and lifestyle factors of the user — including exercise, diet and nutrition, and stress reduction).
As per claim 5, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the plan information is a life plan chart (Nathan; Fig. 66; p. 0616 - FIG. 66 shows an example of providing a user interface 6600 that provides dynamic charting and personalization of a care plan in real-time or near real-time…; see also Fig. 63B for example display showing patient information in the form of charts).
As per claim 6, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the voice interaction is created between the user and the AI agent (Nathan; p. 0089-0090 - The cognitive intelligence platform has the ability to extract concepts, relationships, and draw conclusions from a given text posed in natural language (e.g., a passage, a sentence, a phrase, and a question) by performing conversational analysis which includes analyzing conversational context… the cognitive intelligence platform implements an intuitive conversational cognitive agent that engages in a question and answering system that is human-like in tone and response; see also p. 0134 - The critical thinking engine 108 represents a set of instructions executing within the cognitive intelligence platform 102 that execute tasks using artificial intelligence, such as recognizing and interpreting natural language (e.g., performing conversational analysis), and making decisions in a linear manner (e.g., in a manner similar to how the human left brain processes information)).
As per claim 7, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 6, wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to ask the user a question about information lacked in the plan information, and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with a response of the user and the plan information is updated in processing of the updating (Nathan; p. 0246-0250 - The cognitive agent 110 prompts the user to fill out the health assessment… The cognitive agent 110 receives the user’s response as another originated question and undergoes an initial round of analysis (and additional rounds of analysis as needed) as described above. In the example screen shot 926, the cognitive agent 110 determines additional information is needed and prompts the user for additional information; see also p. 0449).
As per claim 9, Nathan discloses:
The information processing method according to claim 7, wherein, in the processing of asking, a content of the question is changed in accordance with an attribute of the user (Nathan; p. 0199-0201 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 inserts first set of follow-up questions in the workspace associated with the originating question. The follow up questions are based on the identified parameters (attribute of the user), which in turn are based on the specifics of the originating question (e.g., related to an identified micro theory)… After identifying the first set of follow up questions, in this example first round of analysis, the cognitive intelligence platform 102 determines which follow up question can be answered using available data and which follow-up question to present to the user).
As per claim 12, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 6, wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to determine whether the voice interaction is in a chat phase or in a consultation phase, and, when determining that the voice interaction is in the consultation phase, gives a question or a response to the user (Nathan; p. 0245 - FIGS. 9A-9B illustrate aspects of a conversational stream, in accordance with various embodiments. In particular, FIG. 9A displays an example conversational stream between a user and the cognitive agent 110. The screen shot 902 is an example of a dialogue that unfolds between a user and the cognitive agent 110, after the user has registered with the cognitive intelligence platform 102 (chat phase). In the screen shot 902, the cognitive agent 110 begins by stating “Welcome, would you like to watch a video to help you better understand my capabilities” (element 904). The cognitive agent provides an option to watch the video (element 906). In response, the user inputs text “that’s quite impressive” (element 908). In various embodiments, the user inputs text using the input box 916, which instructs the user to “Talk to me or type your question”. (consultation phase); see also p. 0182 for general examples of how a “consultation phase“ may be conducted through a conversation between the user and the cognitive agent, via voice, to have technical discussions focused on specific topics related to health).
As per claim 13, Nathan discloses:
The information processing method according to claim 6, wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to give a response for making a check to the user when a certainty factor of semantic analysis on an utterance content of the user is low or the plan information greatly changes (Nathan; p. 0212-0213 - In the example illustrated in FIG. 4, in response to receiving the originating questions (line 402), the cognitive intelligence platform 102 (e.g., the cognitive agent 110 in conjunction with the critical thinking engine 108) parses the originating question (semantic analysis) to determine at least one parameter: location. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 categorizes this parameter, and a corresponding dynamically formulated question in the second set of follow-up questions. Accordingly, in lines 404 and 406, the cognitive agent 110 responds by notifying the user “I can certainly check this...” and asking the dynamically formulated question “I need some additional information in order to answer this question, was this an in-home glucose test or was it done by a lab or testing service?”).
As per claim 15, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying comprises displaying a history of updates in a timeline in response to the updating of the plan information (Nathan; p. 0616-0617 - FIG. 66 shows an example of providing a user interface 6600 that provides dynamic charting and personalization of a care plan in real-time or near real-time, in accordance with various embodiments. The user interface 6600 may be generated and provided by the cognitive intelligence platform 102 to a computing device of a medical personnel. As depicted, the medical personnel may enter natural language patient notes in a section of the user interface 6600 designated for charting for the patient. The medical personnel entered “Performed a blood glucose test for Mr. Jones”. The patient notes or patient data may be transmitted to the cognitive intelligence platform 102 and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may perform intelligent charting in real-time or near real-time by analyzing the patient data in view of a patient graph for the patient and Diabetes and a knowledge graph for Diabetes. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may identify a medical code for the blood glucose test (“12345”) using metadata included in a node representing the blood glucose test in the knowledge graph for Diabetes, in a lookup table, or the like. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may also identify other medical codes for other tests that may be performed for the medical condition (Diabetes) for which the patient is visiting the medical personnel. The medical codes may be presented in conjunction together on the user interface 6600. For example, the user interface 6600 presents, in another section, “Code: 12345 - Blood Glucose Test / Other Codes for Tests for Diabetes: 9876 -A1 c test”. Based on the dynamic charting and identification of another test to perform for the patient for Diabetes, the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may update a patient graph and may modify the care plan for the patient. As depicted, in yet another section of the user interface 6600, the user interface 6600 presents “Modified Care Plan: A blood glucose test has been completed for Mr. Jones. / Perform an A1c test next.” The statement “Perform an Alc test next” represents an action instruction that is personalized for the patient based on the patient graph for Diabetes for the patient in view of the changes that result from the dynamic charting in real-time or near real-time. To that end, it should be understood that the modified care plan may be generated and presented on the user interface 6600 in real-time or near real-time; p. 0575 - The patient graph may include elements (e.g., health artifacts) and branches representing relationships between the elements. The elements may be represented as nodes in the patient graph. The elements may represent interactions and/or actions the user has had and/or performed pertaining to the condition (history of updates)).
As per claim 16, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 15, wherein a computer further executes processing of calculating a score for the ideal plan of the plan information that has been updated, and wherein the score calculated in the timeline is displayed in the display processing (Nathan; p. 0616-0617 - FIG. 66 shows an example of providing a user interface 6600 that provides dynamic charting and personalization of a care plan in real-time or near real-time, in accordance with various embodiments. The user interface 6600 may be generated and provided by the cognitive intelligence platform 102 to a computing device of a medical personnel. As depicted, the medical personnel may enter natural language patient notes in a section of the user interface 6600 designated for charting for the patient. The medical personnel entered “Performed a blood glucose test for Mr. Jones”. The patient notes or patient data may be transmitted to the cognitive intelligence platform 102 and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may perform intelligent charting in real-time or near real-time by analyzing the patient data in view of a patient graph for the patient and Diabetes and a knowledge graph for Diabetes. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may identify a medical code for the blood glucose test (“12345”) using metadata included in a node representing the blood glucose test in the knowledge graph for Diabetes, in a lookup table, or the like. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may also identify other medical codes for other tests that may be performed for the medical condition (Diabetes) for which the patient is visiting the medical personnel. The medical codes may be presented in conjunction together on the user interface 6600. For example, the user interface 6600 presents, in another section, “Code: 12345 - Blood Glucose Test / Other Codes for Tests for Diabetes: 9876 -A1 c test”. Based on the dynamic charting and identification of another test to perform for the patient for Diabetes, the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may update a patient graph and may modify the care plan for the patient. As depicted, in yet another section of the user interface 6600, the user interface 6600 presents “Modified Care Plan: A blood glucose test has been completed for Mr. Jones. / Perform an A1c test next.” The statement “Perform an Alc test next” represents an action instruction that is personalized for the patient based on the patient graph for Diabetes for the patient in view of the changes that result from the dynamic charting in real-time or near real-time. To that end, it should be understood that the modified care plan may be generated and presented on the user interface 6600 in real-time or near real-time).
As per claim 17, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 16, wherein the score is graphically displayed in the display processing (Nathan; p. 0616-0617 - FIG. 66 shows an example of providing a user interface 6600 that provides dynamic charting and personalization of a care plan in real-time or near real-time, in accordance with various embodiments. The user interface 6600 may be generated and provided by the cognitive intelligence platform 102 to a computing device of a medical personnel. As depicted, the medical personnel may enter natural language patient notes in a section of the user interface 6600 designated for charting for the patient. The medical personnel entered “Performed a blood glucose test for Mr. Jones”. The patient notes or patient data may be transmitted to the cognitive intelligence platform 102 and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may perform intelligent charting in real-time or near real-time by analyzing the patient data in view of a patient graph for the patient and Diabetes and a knowledge graph for Diabetes. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may identify a medical code for the blood glucose test (“12345”) using metadata included in a node representing the blood glucose test in the knowledge graph for Diabetes, in a lookup table, or the like. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may also identify other medical codes for other tests that may be performed for the medical condition (Diabetes) for which the patient is visiting the medical personnel. The medical codes may be presented in conjunction together on the user interface 6600. For example, the user interface 6600 presents, in another section, “Code: 12345 - Blood Glucose Test / Other Codes for Tests for Diabetes: 9876 -A1 c test”. Based on the dynamic charting and identification of another test to perform for the patient for Diabetes, the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may update a patient graph and may modify the care plan for the patient. As depicted, in yet another section of the user interface 6600, the user interface 6600 presents “Modified Care Plan: A blood glucose test has been completed for Mr. Jones. / Perform an A1c test next.” The statement “Perform an Alc test next” represents an action instruction that is personalized for the patient based on the patient graph for Diabetes for the patient in view of the changes that result from the dynamic charting in real-time or near real-time. To that end, it should be understood that the modified care plan may be generated and presented on the user interface 6600 in real-time or near real-time).
As per claim 18, Nathan discloses:
The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the voice interaction is created between the user and a person in charge (Nathan; p. 0092-0093 - Accordingly, some embodiments of the present disclosure address the issues of reviewing the EMRs, by cognifying unstructured data. Unstructured data may include patient notes entered into one or more EMRs by a physician. The patient notes may explain symptoms described by the patient or detected by the physician, vital signs, recommended treatment, risks, prior health conditions, familial health history, and the like. The patient notes may include numerous strings of characters arranged into sentences. The sentences may be organized in one or more paragraphs. The sentences may be parsed and indicia may be identified (unstructured data representing interaction between patient and doctor)).
As per claim 19, Nathan discloses: An information processing device comprising: circuitry configured to: acquire information on reaction of a user, basic information on the user, and an ideal plan of the user in consultation on a future plan of the user through a voice interaction (Nathan; Fig. 9B, items 920 & 922; p. 0247-0249 - the cognitive agent states: “Congrats on taking the first step toward better health! Based upon your interest, I have some recommended health improvement initiatives for you to consider,” and presents the health improvement initiatives; see also Fig. 60A, item 6002; p. 0507 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 provided a care plan 6002 that was originally generated for the patient for a medical condition of the patient. The care plan 6002 may include an action instruction pertaining to the medical condition of the user 6000, such as an instruction to read certain recommended content for the medical condition, schedule an appointment with a physician, perform a certain test for the medical condition, etc; see also p. 0511 - If the cognitive intelligence platform 102 receives the input data 6010, 6012, and/or 6014 when the care plan 6002 is presented to the user 6000 on the user device 104, and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 detects a negative emotion (e.g., angry) and/or tone (e.g., hostile), the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan 6002 to generate an updated care plan 6020; see also Fig. 14, item 1408; p. 0258 – audio input interface; see also p. 0559 - cognitive intelligence platform 102 may process a video recording using a machine learning model that has been trained to identify patterns between images of certain facial expressions, certain body language, certain emotions (e.g., happy, angry, sad, etc.), certain tones of voice, and/or the like); generate plan information representing the future plan based on the basic information and the ideal plan which have been acquired (Nathan; Fig. 9B, items 920 & 922; p. 0247-0249 - the cognitive agent states: “Congrats on taking the first step toward better health! Based upon your interest, I have some recommended health improvement initiatives for you to consider,” and presents the health improvement initiatives; see also Fig. 60A, item 6002; p. 0507 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 provided a care plan 6002 that was originally generated for the patient for a medical condition of the patient. The care plan 6002 may include an action instruction pertaining to the medical condition of the user 6000, such as an instruction to read certain recommended content for the medical condition, schedule an appointment with a physician, perform a certain test for the medical condition, etc); and correct the future plan and update the plan information in accordance with the information on reaction to the plan information that has been generated(Nathan; Fig. 9B, items 924 (reaction of the user), 928 & 930 (updated care plan); p. 0184 - The cognitive intelligence platform 102 relates actions, the sequences of subsequent actions (and reactions), desired sub-outcomes, and outcomes, in a way that is transparent and logical (e.g., explainable). The cognitive intelligence platform 102 can plot a next best action sequence and a planning basis (e.g., health care plan template, or a financial goal achievement template), also in a manner that is explainable (updating plan information); see also Fig. 60A-E, 61 & 62; p. 0507-0538 – [0507] FIG. 60A-E show examples of modifying a care plan based on a detected emotion of the patient, a detected tone of the patient, a different medical outcome entered by a physician… [0511] If the cognitive intelligence platform 102 receives the input data 6010, 6012, and/or 6014 when the care plan 6002 is presented to the user 6000 on the user device 104, and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 detects a negative emotion (e.g., angry) and/or tone (e.g., hostile), the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan 6002 to generate an updated care plan 6020… [0513] the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may track the detected conditions and/or tones of the users in reaction to care plans that are presented on the user device 104… if the detected emotion (e.g., happy) and/or tone (e.g., cheerful) is positive, the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan to generate an updated care plan 6020. The updated care plan 6020 may include a different subset of health artifacts than the care plan 6002…), wherein the displayed plan information is generated based on the basic information on the user that is transmitted to an artificial intelligence (AI) agent and a response to the basic information on the user received from the Al agent (Nathan; p. 0094 - …The predicates and individual elements may be generated based on data that is input to the artificial intelligence engine…; see also p. 0257 - …the cognitive intelligence platform provides several core features… coaching using artificial intelligence…; see also p. 0089-0090 - The cognitive intelligence platform has the ability to extract concepts, relationships, and draw conclusions from a given text posed in natural language (e.g., a passage, a sentence, a phrase, and a question) by performing conversational analysis which includes analyzing conversational context… the cognitive intelligence platform implements an intuitive conversational cognitive agent that engages in a question and answering system that is human-like in tone and response; see also p. 0134 - The critical thinking engine 108 represents a set of instructions executing within the cognitive intelligence platform 102 that execute tasks using artificial intelligence, such as recognizing and interpreting natural language (e.g., performing conversational analysis), and making decisions in a linear manner (e.g., in a manner similar to how the human left brain processes information)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan in view of Reece (US PG Pub 20210264921).
As per claim 2, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends. Although Nathan discloses the processing of video recordings to generate emotion (reaction) data by tracking facial features of the patient, such as disclosed in p. 0559, Nathan fails to disclose wherein the information on reaction relates to a line of sight of the user. Reece does teach wherein the information on reaction relates to a line of sight of the user (Reece; p. 0058 - Video processing component 346 can also extract other conversation features from the video data, such as facial expressions, body postures or gestures, eye gaze directions, etc; see also p. 0067 - the conversation features can include an embedding of the audio, video, or textual versions of the audio, tone, sound level, emotional characteristics (e.g., supportive, agreeable, combative, engaged, enthusiastic, passionate, uncertainty, etc.), effectiveness ratings, physical reactions or movements (e.g., eye gaze directions, participant postures, participant gestures, participant head positions, laughter, nodding, facial expressions, etc.)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nathan to include wherein the information on reaction relates to a line of sight of the user, as taught by Reece, in order to provide conversation analysis indicators using acoustic, video, and text data of a multiparty coaching conversation that may occur via videoconference. The rich acoustic/video data generated by the videoconference can be analyzed to quantify the underlying coaching relationship, and guide further developments in the relationship. For example, the effectiveness of the coach may be identified, and further effectiveness of scores may be determined to identify areas for improvement. Additionally, the mentee may be evaluated. For example, the communication skills of the mentee can be evaluated by performing computational methods (e.g., neural network based analysis) on the acoustic/video data. Tracking these conversation analysis indicators throughout an individual conversation, and across multiple conversations, may encourage skill development in the coach and the mentee (Reece; p. 0033-0035).
As per claim 14, Nathan discloses: The information processing method according to claim 6, upon which claim 14 depends. Nathan, however, fails to disclose wherein a computer further executes processing of identifying a decision maker in accordance with a number of utterances contributing to the plan information when there is a plurality of users, and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with an utterance content of the decision maker who has been identified in the processing of the updating. Reece does teach wherein a computer further executes processing of identifying a decision maker in accordance with a number of utterances contributing to the plan information when there is a plurality of users (Reece; p. 0064-0067 - …block 402 includes recording a multi-participant coaching conversation (e.g., a coaching conversation between a coach and a mentee)… The segmented utterances from block 404 can be passed to annotator 405. Annotator 405 can identify conversation features through interfaces where humans identify the conversation features, algorithms for identifying conversation features, and/or machine learning modules trained to identify conversation features… For example, the conversation features can include an embedding of the audio, video, or textual versions of the audio, tone, sound level, emotional characteristics (e.g., supportive, agreeable, combative, engaged, enthusiastic, passionate, uncertainty, etc.), effectiveness ratings, physical reactions or movements (e.g., eye gaze directions, participant postures, participant gestures, participant head positions, laughter, nodding, facial expressions, etc.); and/or identify particular significant phrases or word choices (e.g., mm-hmm, yes, yah, oh my god, huh, uhh, etc.), segment turn length, gaps or delays in speaking, sentence length, topic choice, who is choosing the topics (decision maker), shared knowledge, mistakes or self-corrections, active listening, use of humor, participant biometrics, etc.; see also p. 0161 - … turn length, conversation percentage (e.g., percent of total conversation during which a speaker was active)…), and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with an utterance content of the decision maker who has been identified in the processing of the updating (Reece; p. 0186 - In response to the conversation analysis indicators, process 2100 updates the user profiles associated with the underlying conversation. In the illustrated implementation, process 2100 updates a mentee profile and a coach profile. More specifically, process 2100 includes determining an updated progress score for a mentee based on the conversation analysis indicators and determining a performance score for a coach based on the conversation analysis indicators. The progress score defines a user's progress in professional development as defined by goals set by the mentee, coach, or a third party. The performance score can signify a coach's effectiveness in increasing the progress score of her mentees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nathan to include wherein a computer further executes processing of identifying a decision maker in accordance with a number of utterances contributing to the plan information when there is a plurality of users, and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with an utterance content of the decision maker who has been identified in the processing of the updating, as taught by Reece, in order to provide conversation analysis indicators using acoustic, video, and text data of a multiparty coaching conversation that may occur via videoconference. The rich acoustic/video data generated by the videoconference can be analyzed to quantify the underlying coaching relationship, and guide further developments in the relationship. For example, the effectiveness of the coach may be identified, and further effectiveness of scores may be determined to identify areas for improvement. Additionally, the mentee may be evaluated. For example, the communication skills of the mentee can be evaluated by performing computational methods (e.g., neural network based analysis) on the acoustic/video data. Tracking these conversation analysis indicators throughout an individual conversation, and across multiple conversations, may encourage skill development in the coach and the mentee (Reece; p. 0033-0035).
Claims 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nathan in view of Bereza (US PG Pub 20180321826).
As per claim 8, Nathan discloses:
The information processing method according to claim 7, upon which claim 8 depends. Nathan, however, fails to disclose wherein, in the processing of asking, a question is asked to the user based on a region to which a line of sight of the user is directed and one or a plurality of utterance contents of the user, which are the information on reaction. Bereza does teach wherein, in the processing of asking, a question is asked to the user based on a region to which a line of sight of the user is directed and one or a plurality of utterance contents of the user, which are the information on reaction (Bereza; p. 0502-0504 - Optionally, as depicted in FIG. 22F, before performing the action from the voice command, device 2200 updates photo viewing interface 2203 to include visual indication 2240 that identifies thumbnail 2211 as the item that user 2222 was looking at when providing voice command 2236. Confirmation prompt 2242 is also displayed asking the user to confirm that the action should be carried out on the identified content. If input selecting delete button 2244 is received, the identified content is deleted and photo viewing interface 2203 is updated (e.g., updated to show that the photo associated with thumbnail 2211 has been deleted by no longer displaying thumbnail 2211, rearranging the remaining thumbnails, and displaying any additional thumbnail to fill the space created by removal of thumbnail 2211); see also p. 0511 - the electronic device prompts (2312) the user to provide clarification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nathan to include wherein, in the processing of asking, a question is asked to the user based on a region to which a line of sight of the user is directed and one or a plurality of utterance contents of the user, which are the information on reaction, as taught by Bereza, in order to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for using image data to enhance user interactions, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such devices (Bereza; p. 0028).
As per claim 10, Nathan discloses:
The information processing method according to claim 6, upon which claim 10 depends. Nathan, however, fails to disclose wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to give a response in accordance with a region and a content of a question when the user asks the question about the region to which a line of sight of the user for the plan information is directed.
Bereza does teach wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to give a response in accordance with a region and a content of a question when the user asks the question about the region to which a line of sight of the user for the plan information is directed (Bereza; p. 0502-0504 - FIG. 22E depicts another example of device 2200 receiving a voice command (e.g., voice command 2236). Like voice command 2224 (FIG. 22B), voice command 2236 (“Delete it.”) specifies a requested function (“delete”) (although the example does not explicitly show the request of the function in the form of a question, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide a request in the form of a question, such as “can you please delete it?”) but is ambiguous about what item the function should be performed with or on. Upon receiving voice command 2236, device 2200 analyzes captured image data to determine an item at which user 2222 was looking when the voice command 2236 was received (e.g., an item on the display of device 2200 that direction 2238 indicates user 2222 was looking at). If device 2200 determines that user 2222 was looking at thumbnail 2211 based on captured image data of user 2222, device 2200 deletes the photo associated with thumbnail 2211 and updates photo viewing interface to remove thumbnail 2211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nathan to include wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to give a response in accordance with a region and a content of a question when the user asks the question about the region to which a line of sight of the user for the plan information is directed, as taught by Bereza, in order to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for using image data to enhance user interactions, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such devices (Bereza; p. 0028).
As per claim 11, Nathan discloses:
The information processing method according to claim 6, upon which claim 11 depends. Nathan, however, fails to disclose wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to ask the user a question regarding correction of the future plan about the region to which a line of sight of the user for the plan information is directed, and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with a response of the user and the plan information is updated in the processing of the updating. Bereza does teach wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to ask the user a question regarding correction of the future plan about the region to which a line of sight of the user for the plan information is directed, and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with a response of the user and the plan information is updated in the processing of the updating (Bereza; p. 0502-0504 - Optionally, as depicted in FIG. 22F, before performing the action from the voice command, device 2200 updates photo viewing interface 2203 to include visual indication 2240 that identifies thumbnail 2211 as the item that user 2222 was looking at when providing voice command 2236. Confirmation prompt 2242 is also displayed asking the user to confirm that the action should be carried out on the identified content. If input selecting delete button 2244 is received, the identified content is deleted and photo viewing interface 2203 is updated (e.g., updated to show that the photo associated with thumbnail 2211 has been deleted by no longer displaying thumbnail 2211, rearranging the remaining thumbnails, and displaying any additional thumbnail to fill the space created by removal of thumbnail 2211); see also p. 0511 - the electronic device prompts (2312) the user to provide clarification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Nathan to include wherein a computer further executes processing of causing the AI agent to ask the user a question regarding correction of the future plan about the region to which a line of sight of the user for the plan information is directed, and wherein the future plan is corrected in accordance with a response of the user and the plan information is updated in the processing of the updating, as taught by Bereza, in order to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for using image data to enhance user interactions, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such devices (Bereza; p. 0028).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art made of record and not relied upon includes:
Kumar (US PG Pub 20170300637) discloses mechanisms… for implementing a personalized patient care plan (PPCP) system. The PPCP system obtains personal and medical information about the patient and generates a patient registry record in a patient registry. The PPCP system generates a PPCP for the patient, comprising a sequence of goals for the patient, based on an analysis of the obtained personal and medical information. Each goal has an associated patient action to be performed by the patient. The PPCP system monitors performance of the goals to determine, for each goal, whether the associated patient action is performed by the patient. In response to determining that the patient did not perform an associated patient action, the PPCP system modifies a goal of the personalized patient care plan to replace the associated patient action with a replacement patient action that is more likely to be performed by the patient (Kumar; Abstract).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODRIGO A CHAVEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658