DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-14 and 23-56 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 30, 2026.
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-8 and 15-22 in the reply filed on July 30, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the currently pending claims do not lack unity. This is not found persuasive because non-elected Groups 2-6 do not have the same or corresponding technical features as the invention of Group 1, as described in the restriction requirement, which would require extensive searching for technical features not described in Group 1 (claims 1-22). Additionally, claim 1 is a generic claim for the species of claims 8-14. Claims 8-14 each describe unique technical features of different device segments and dimensions, which are not linked so as to form a single general inventive concept. Claim 8 has been elected and will be examined below. Claims 9-14 are directed to non-elected species comprising distinct technical features, as the segment dimensions differ from claim 8. This would pose a serious would require extensive searching, as prior art that may teach the segments and dimensions of one species may not corresponds the segments and dimensions of another species. Further, as described in the prior art rejections below, as written, any shared technical features of the elected subject matter do not make a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 16, 2024 and December 8, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “its” in line 3. It is unclear what is meant by the term “its” in claim 1, which renders the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, “its proximal end” is meant to refer to the proximal end of the balloon. Further clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites “its” in line 5. It is unclear what is meant by the term “its” in claim 1, which renders the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, “its distal end” is meant to refer to the distal end of the balloon. Further clarification is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the range" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the range" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 16-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200276417 A1 (Rentschler et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Rentschler teaches a tissue biopsy balloon device ([0213]), comprising:
a balloon that when inflated increases in diameter step-wise along at least a longitudinal axis from its proximal end to a region of maximum diameter and decreases in diameter step-wise along at least its longitudinal axis from the region of maximum diameter to its distal end and comprises a textured surface ([0117] “balloons having exterior surfaces that are at least partially texture”; [0129]; [0220] “the balloon 2500 includes an elongate body 2502 extending along a longitudinal axis 2555. The elongate body 2502 generally includes a middle portion 2504 and tapering end portions 2506A, 2506B”; [0234]; Figs. 25A, 26A-26B, and 27A-27B depict a balloon with a step-wise increase in diameter on the proximal tapering end portion, a maximum diameter in a middle portion with a textured portion, and a step-wise decrease in diameter on distal tapering end portion when inflated [0234, 0236]);
a hollow member operable to extend, position, and retract the balloon and to inject and remove a fluid to inflate or deflate the balloon ([0044] “forming the air supply port and the balloon port may include puncturing each of the elongate tubular body and the inflatable balloon with a hollow conduit such that the hollow conduit extends between the internal volume of the balloon and the air supply lumen.”); and
a positioning member operable to position the hollow member and the balloon ([0197-0198] “More generally, balloons in accordance with the present disclosure may be used in conjunction with any medical device adapted to be inserted into a physiological lumen. In certain implementations, the medical device may include a lumen running its length. The device lumen may serve as a tool or catheter port such that tools and/or catheters can be threaded down the length of the medical device and out of a distal end of the device.”; “a first medical device 1000 in the form of a catheter delivery tool. As illustrated, the medical device 1000 includes a proximal hub 1004 from which each of a catheter tool channel 1006 and a balloon insufflation channel 1008. A distal portion 1010 of the catheter tool channel 1006 extends from the hub 1004 and includes a balloon 1002 that may be selectively inflated and deflated by providing air to or allowing air to escape from the balloon 1002 via the balloon insufflation channel 1008”).
Regarding claim 2, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the balloon comprises one or more materials from the group consisting of silicone, latex, polyester, nylon, polyurethane and medical grade plastic ([0125-0126] “the balloon material may include one or more of low-density polyethylene (LDPE), latex, polyether block amide (e.g., PEBAX®), silicone, polyethylene terephthalate (PET/PETE), nylon, polyurethane, and any other thermoplastic elastomer, siloxane, or other similar non-rigid materials”; [0006] “Balloons commonly used in the art for DBE procedures are conventionally made of smooth latex-like materials”).
Regarding claim 3, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the hollow member comprises one or more materials from the group consisting of silicone, latex, polyurethane, and medical grade plastic ([0015] “the flexible tubular body is formed from at least one of Nylon, PFA, PET, PTFE, FEP, HDPE, TPPE, and Hytrel Thermoplastic Polyester Elastomer with Everglide”; [0026]; [0316]).
Regarding claim 4, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the positioning member comprises one or more materials from the group consisting of silicone, latex, polyurethane, and medical grade plastic ([0357] “the stent 6700 may be molded using silicone or other polymer materials with the texturing included on the surface as part of the molding process”; The positioning member may be a medical device, such as a stent, comprising silicone and/or polymers; [0383]).
Regarding claim 5, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the positioning member comprises one or more items from the group consisting of catheter, endoscope, lumen, sheath, forceps, and snare ([0119] “the foregoing balloons may be incorporated into an overtube assembly that may be coupled to an endoscope (or similar elongate medical device) to facilitate transit of the endoscope within a physiological lumen of a patient”; [0124] “the balloon 102 is disposed around an endoscope 101 or similar tubular body of the medical device 100 such that the balloon 102 forms a toroidal or spherical shape having a central lumen.”; [0197] “The device lumen may serve as a tool or catheter port such that tools and/or catheters can be threaded down the length of the medical device and out of a distal end of the device.”; [0341] “a snare, biopsy forceps, or other endoscope gastroenterology tools”).
Regarding claim 6, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the fluid comprises one or more items from the group consisting of sterile water, saline, liquid nitrogen, contrast, radiopaque fluid, carbon dioxide, and oxygen ([0123] “air or a similar fluid medium may be provided to the balloon 102 to inflate the balloon”; Air comprises oxygen.).
Regarding claim 7, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the balloon when inflated is in the range of about 2.0-300 mm in length with a maximum diameter between 2.0-30.0 mm ([0229] “the balloon 2500 may have an overall length from and including about 10 mm to and including about 100 mm. In such implementations, the middle portion 2504 of the balloon may be from and including about 5 mm to and including about 90 mm and the end portions 2506A, 2506B may each be from and including about 2 mm to and including about 10 mm. The middle portion 2504 may also have a resting/partially inflated diameter from and including about 2 mm to and including about 50 mm, with the diameter corresponding to the surface of the middle portion 2504 from which the protrusions extend.”).
Regarding claim 8, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the balloon, when inflated, comprises:
a proximal first segment that is about 0.5-29.5 mm in length with a distally increasing diameter and wherein the proximal first segment forms an angle of about 30-45 degrees outwards from the longitudinal axis of the balloon (Fig 26B depicts a first proximal segment (end portion) 2606A with a longitudinal angle of approximately 45 degrees and distally increasing diameter; [0229] “the end portions 2506A, 2506B may each be from and including about 2 mm to and including about 10 mm”);
a second segment, located distal to the proximal first segment, that is about 0.5- 297.7 mm in length with a diameter of about 0.5-29.5 mm ([0131] “protrusions of adjacent longitudinal rows may be aligned with each other. Similarly, all rows may be spaced uniformly (e.g., all rows may be spaced 1000 μm apart)”; [0154] “b may be from and including about 50 μm to and including about 3000 μm, h may be from and including about 25 μm to and including about 3000 μm, and t may be from and including about 25 μm to and including about 2500 μm.”; [0222] “if spacing between protrusions is relatively narrow (e.g., from around 25 μm to around 400 μm, or from around 5% to 50% of the width of the protrusions)”; A second segment is a more proximal segment of the middle portion where there is not a protrusion present with a length of approximately 50% of the width of protrusions which can be 3000 microns (length of second segment would be 1.5mm).; [0234] “The middle portion 2604 may also have a resting/partially inflated diameter from and including about 2 mm to and including about 50 mm, with the diameter corresponding to the surface of the middle portion 2604 from which the protrusions extend.”);
a third segment, located distal to the second segment, that is about 0.5-29.5 mm in length with a distally increasing diameter and wherein the third segment forms an angle of about 30-45 degrees outwards from the longitudinal axis of the balloon ([0154] “b may be from and including about 50 μm to and including about 3000 μm, h may be from and including about 25 μm to and including about 3000 μm,”; [0234] “The middle portion 2604 may also have a resting/partially inflated diameter from and including about 2 mm to and including about 50 mm, with the diameter corresponding to the surface of the middle portion 2604 from which the protrusions extend.”; A third segment is a portion of the middle portion where there is a protrusion, which can be at approximately a 30 degree angle, as shown in figure 2E and a 45 degree angle in Fig. 2G.);
a fourth segment, located distal to the third segment, that is about 0.5-297.7 mm in length with a diameter of about 2.0-30.0 mm ([0131] “protrusions of adjacent longitudinal rows may be aligned with each other. Similarly, all rows may be spaced uniformly (e.g., all rows may be spaced 1000 μm apart)”; [0154] “b may be from and including about 50 μm to and including about 3000 μm, h may be from and including about 25 μm to and including about 3000 μm.”; [0222] “if spacing between protrusions is relatively narrow (e.g., from around 25 μm to around 400 μm, or from around 5% to 50% of the width of the protrusions)”; A fourth segment is a more distal segment of the middle portion where there is not a protrusion present with a length of approximately 50% of the width of protrusions which can be 3000 microns (length of second segment would be 1.5mm); [0234] “The middle portion 2604 may also have a resting/partially inflated diameter from and including about 2 mm to and including about 50 mm, with the diameter corresponding to the surface of the middle portion 2604 from which the protrusions extend.”.); and
a distal fifth segment that is about 1.4-30.0 mm in length with a distally decreasing diameter and wherein the distal fifth segment forms an angle of about 30-45 degrees inwards towards the longitudinal axis of the balloon (Fig 26B depicts a fifth distal segment (end portion) 2606B with a longitudinal angle of approximately 45 degrees and a distally decreasing diameter; [0229] “the end portions 2506A, 2506B may each be from and including about 2 mm to and including about 10 mm”).
Regarding claim 16, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the balloon device further comprises two stoppers comprising a first stopper positioned proximally to the balloon and a second stopper positioned distally to the balloon ([0220] “The elongate body 2502 generally includes a middle portion 2504 and tapering end portions 2506A, 2506B, each of which terminates in a respective annulus 2507A, 2507B”).
Regarding claim 17, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 16, wherein the stoppers comprise pyramids ([0220] “The elongate body 2502 generally includes a middle portion 2504 and tapering end portions 2506A, 2506B, each of which terminates in a respective annulus 2507A, 2507B”; The balloon devices comprises pyramid-like tapered end portions.).
Regarding claim 18, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the textured surface comprises at least one clinical agent ([0377] “the textured portion 7020 may be formed by applying a coating or similar treatment onto the tool shaft 7014A”).
Regarding claim 19, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the textured surface comprises raised abrasive nubs ([0117] “the current disclosure relates to balloons having exterior surfaces that are at least partially textured. Texturing of the balloons is achieved by the inclusion of multiple pillar-like protrusions extending from the surface of the balloon.”; [0166] “outer surfaces of protrusions in accordance with the present disclosure may instead be selectively roughened or textured to provide additional friction/adhesion”).
Regarding claim 20, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the textured surface comprises one or more sample collection wells ([0151] “the protrusions may be hollow. The ends of the protrusions distal to the surface of the balloon 102 may also be formed in various shapes. For example and without limitation, the distal ends of the protrusions may be flat, rounded (including either of convex or concave), pointed, or mushroomed”; [0155] “FIGS. 2K and 2L are a cross-sectional view and a plan view, respectively, of a protrusion 200K extending from the balloon 102 and having a truncated, square-based pyramid shape including a square recess 202K extending into the protrusion 200K from a top surface 204K of the protrusion 200K”; [0157]; [0172-0173] “engagement of the protrusions with biological tissue.”; [0180]; Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 22, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein the balloon device comprises a guidewire channel through which one or more guidewires can be extended ([0199] “the guidewire or catheter may be inserted into a physiological lumen with the balloon in the deflated state. The balloon may be subsequently inflated to engage the physiological lumen and at least partially anchor the guide wire or catheter within the physiological lumen.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200276417 A1 (Rentschler et al.) in view of US 20210100987 A1 (Schultz et al.).
Regarding claim 15, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1, wherein balloon device further comprises a sheath encasing the balloon ([0243] “FIG. 32 illustrates a sheath or outer balloon 3200 within which multiple and independently inflatable internal balloons 3204A, 3204B may be disposed”).
Rentschler does not explicitly teach wherein the sheath has an inner diameter in the range of about 0.25-4.0 mm and an outer diameter in the range of about 0.5-5.0 mm.
However,
Schultz teaches wherein the sheath has an inner diameter in the range of about 0.25-4.0 mm and an outer diameter in the range of about 0.5-5.0 mm ([0172] “the sheath balloon may have a 1-5 mm (3-15 Fr) inner diameter, e.g., with an outer diameter being 3.1 mm (9.3 Fr).”; [0139] “the unexpanded diameter of the sheath balloon may be less than 3.9 mm.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device taught by Rentschler to include inner and outer diameters dimensions of 0.25-4.0 mm and 0.5-5.0 mm respectively. One would have been motivated to make this modification because when the device is placed in a blood vessel of a patient, the device can slide through a small orifice without damaging the insertion site, as suggested by Schultz [0139].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200276417 A1 (Rentschler et al.) in view of US 20050113798 A1 (Slater et al.).
Regarding claim 21, Rentschler teaches the balloon device of claim 1.
Rentschler does not explicitly teach wherein the balloon device comprises one or more silk threads affixed to the balloon along the longitudinal axis.
However,
Slater teaches wherein the balloon device comprises one or more silk threads affixed to the balloon along the longitudinal axis (the proximal 1606 and distal ends 1608 of the tubular balloon material 1588 are further reinforced by silk thread 1610”; [0293]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device taught by Rentschler to include silk threads. One would have been motivated to make this modification because silk threads are used to reinforce the balloon material, as suggested by Slater [0280].
Conclusion
/EVELYN GRACE PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791